Nokia Nokia E71, Messenger of Steel!

davidmak
post Nov 8 2008, 01:17 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Hi guys,

I got myself an E71 too. Its an AP set from Taiwan but it doesn't matter since I could change the product codes. They ran out of Singaporean APs so most of the units are from other countries. The phone is nice and its great. Happy to join you guys.
davidmak
post Nov 8 2008, 11:09 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I wonder how many have the following problem:

When you connect your phone to the PC via Mass Storage mode and when you're done and disconnected, the memory card will be inaccessible from the phone. It will remain so until you restart the phone. I read that it is one of the software bug. Any comments?
davidmak
post Nov 9 2008, 08:23 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 9 2008, 12:39 AM)
I only have one problem - when I press on menu (whether is the left key or the home key), sometimes it wont load. I can resolve this by off and on the phone and try again.
Yeah, I read that it is a software bug but I have not encounter that problem yet. I only have the memory card missing problem after connecting to PC as mass storage. You have that problem?

Added on November 9, 2008, 8:25 am
QUOTE(scofield @ Nov 9 2008, 04:05 AM)
have anyone tried using fring on your e71?
Yes it works. Just download from Fring's website. It has a version meant for E71.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Nov 9 2008, 08:25 AM
davidmak
post Nov 9 2008, 02:26 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(scofield @ Nov 9 2008, 12:13 PM)
my problem is, the pc suite doesnt detect my memory card anymore..no idea why but it detect my memory card if i select the mass storage option..i did encounter the 'wont load the menu' issue..i just turn off and on the phone and its back to normal..
Strange mine behaves normally even on PC Suite. I read somewhere that there are comments that the E71's card reader may be the issue. Some reported to have fix the issue if you reinsert the memory card properly. I don't think it is the memory card problem. Hope this is can be solved via the coming software update.
davidmak
post Nov 10 2008, 09:27 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(jameslee_84 @ Nov 10 2008, 01:09 AM)
don think there's a multiple tab browser function in the native E71 browser.
Yeah confirm on that too. No multi-tab function. And its not really smart when it comes to going back to previous pages. It looks like it had to redownload again.
davidmak
post Nov 10 2008, 09:04 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(couldplay @ Nov 10 2008, 06:11 PM)
Do u think if  i change from P1 to E71 is downgrade or upgrade?might getting it really soon...
Well although you may be trading off the touch screen but you will be getting more improvements from other areas. Its a good update in my opinion unless your a touchscreen fan and must have a Nokia, then I suggest ExpressMusic 5800. But then its a lifestyle phone and not business-like.
davidmak
post Nov 11 2008, 09:30 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(pxd @ Nov 10 2008, 10:04 PM)
Aaaah ... in the dilemma of getting E71 ... should I go for it? Or should I go for E66? (I have read through tons of reviews/comments and now headache, even tested the phone in one of the Nokia concept store. E71 is on the plus side as it has much much longer battery life for usage and the handy qwerty-board. They are both very identical except for accelerometer that is only on E66.)

Furthermore, should I go for APset or avaxx/zitron set? Any user that knows more between the two would be great. (As I can see the price difference is around 300, which is not too much, not too little.)

Thanks everyone and appreciated.
For one, battery life is important. Good handphone usage experience is nothing when you keep having to go back to the wall plug. Both E66 and E71 has its advantages but I can go without the accelerometer because there's not much use other than automatic rotating of pictures and assuming you have the right games - interactive game play. So its more like a feel good feature.

On the other hand thumbboard (full keyboard) is the key word for E71 if you like texting and IM-ing. Also screen wise, the E71 gives you the large display impression due to the wide aspect ratio. Its essentially the same display but by going wide, it gives you an impression of more space. Browsing internet web pages is improved. However, if you like games you'll have a hard time finding 320x240 versions of it because most games are at 240x320 meaning optimized for E66's kind of display.

If this doesn't hinder you or you're sure that your favorite S60/java programs are well supported on the E71, then E71 it is. Try to aim for original set as the price is around RM16xx-1700 (not cheap but not expensive too). AP sets are around RM13xx-14xx.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Nov 11 2008, 09:31 AM
davidmak
post Nov 11 2008, 02:35 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(pxd @ Nov 11 2008, 11:32 AM)
Now it is time for another dilemma, original sets or APset, ah .. the slight 300 ..
Definitely original already unless you're prepared for the uncertainties of an AP set. First the E71 is in demand and in loose supplies so AP dealers source E71s from other countries other than Singapore. I don't know if this is right but I feel that AP originating from Singapore is good since we commonly share the same product region so language and firmware updates are not a problem. Also they are not branded.

There are currently 2 origins of AP phones in Lowyat - one from Taiwan (unknown product code) and the other is Telecom Italia Mobile (TIM) branded. The latter has the TIM logo imprinted onto the E71 but it has a generic English qwerty keyboard. Although it doesn't support Chinese characters, you can request the AP dealer to reflash a local region firmware. So the download is the logo thingy.

The Taiwanese handset however is original cosmetic wise but the keyboard however has Chinese character pronunciations on it (meant for the region). The alphabetical characters are not marked in white but blue so visibility is not good until you get used to it. Software is Taiwanese region based but the product code can always be reflashed to obtain the local Singapore APAC firmware.

So unless you can get hold of a Singapore-based AP phone, I would have to suggest a original set for less headache. Apart from these irregularities, I like my AP E71 (from Taiwan) very much.
davidmak
post Nov 11 2008, 03:27 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(prince_william @ Nov 11 2008, 02:42 PM)
i guys.i will be buying this phone end of this week,but i still do not know which colour looks better.any opinion?
I would have to go with the conventional way and get the steel grey. White keyboard means yellowish and stains.

davidmak
post Nov 11 2008, 04:59 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(prince_william @ Nov 11 2008, 03:31 PM)
yeah true also hmmm.how i wish there is a version of black steel casing.that'll be cool  smile.gif
Let the AP guys release a AAA or super A grade replacement casing/shell. Hehehehe!
davidmak
post Nov 11 2008, 08:44 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Guys guys! New firmware update is available for Nokia E71 now! Its version 110.07.127. You will need to update your Nokia Software Updater (NUS) first before proceeding. Your current NUS version will prompt for an update. Good luck guys!
davidmak
post Nov 11 2008, 08:59 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(jameslee_84 @ Nov 11 2008, 08:52 PM)
if there really is a new software update, then i guess there won't be a language barrier no more. just change product code and reflash it. Voila, u got urself one that can support the language u want but provided that the software is really available.
Yes, just reflash product code to a Singapore APAC version and you're good to go.
davidmak
post Nov 12 2008, 11:34 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I have upgraded mine as I have reported here yesterday. Improvements are really minor as mentioned in many articles and forums. The camera improvement seem to be related to the color reproduction. Seriously speaking, it is almost the same to me but I can see that the pinkish tint is fixed.

I have not tried the memory card mode and the missing memory card problem yet. But there's a new problem. Go to Menu > Tools > Settings > Phone > Call > Browse to Image in Video Call. When you select other than None, it will caution that memory is not enough and please close some applications. No amount of restart will fix it. Not sure if this is my problem.

davidmak
post Nov 12 2008, 01:19 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(onich4n @ Nov 12 2008, 11:39 AM)
i didn't activate any security lock and encryption before. still can't update.
If you are using an AP set, you might wanna check your product code (accessible when you remove the battery and check the stickers). Then I suggest you refer few pages back and cross check with the E71 list of product codes. If yours aren't a Singaporean firmware, there are instructions to alter your product code to the one corresponding to a Singaporean firmware or other regions. Then come back to NUS and try again.
davidmak
post Nov 12 2008, 02:08 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Nov 12 2008, 02:05 PM)
How about the stability of the latest firmware? I'm on firmware 100.07.76 and it's rock stable. If the latest firmware is not as stable (and it's apparently so according to some users in other forums), then it's a dilemma whether to upgrade or not. sweat.gif
I think it should be the same as the previous version as this is not a major update as stated by many. In fact, I encounter instability with the previous version too when too much 'stress' causes it to reset.
davidmak
post Nov 12 2008, 09:49 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Nov 12 2008, 07:19 PM)
just updated my firmware..
damn mafan.. sweat.gif
took so long..
Yeah not to mention that I had to re-install some of the application as it didn't really 'stick'. Now my installation log is so messy. Sucks that we had to hack it in order to clear the log. Also this new firmware will break all previous hacks.
davidmak
post Nov 13 2008, 08:56 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(tchiaming @ Nov 12 2008, 11:10 PM)
wow.... have to download 109.3mb for the software.... y didn't nokia do it in such a way where we dun have to leave our phone idle during downloading? we can always download first n install it later on our phone rite?  sweat.gif
If it would allow you to download and install at a later date, that means you will have the ROM images. Also it doesn't want regular consumers to choose to upgrade/downgrade ROM versions (although you will need Phoenix). The safer way is to download and straight upload to your phone for upgrade.

QUOTE(jameslee_84 @ Nov 13 2008, 08:45 AM)
U very lucky to get the Finland set bro. Its the first grade. Best set available. But y never get another leather case for your gf? The red leather case look rather hip and chic for female user.
Honestly speaking, I do not think there are any grade differentiation by looking at the country of origin. Obviously Nokia has started outsourcing assembly process to other countries but you will all expect the same level of quality from Nokia. Although, I will have to agree that parts may be sourced from different vendors/subcontractors of the region of origin, the range of quality is ultimately decided by Nokia.

I think this has been discussed and put into rest before.

davidmak
post Nov 13 2008, 09:00 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Nov 13 2008, 08:53 AM)
how to check which region?
u mean the nokia email? or the message box email?
cos my nokia email sudah kong.
cant load up at all.. had to reinstall..  laugh.gif
Region of origin is derived from the Product Code sticker located at the battery compartment of your phone. Cross check that code with E71 product code database. Refer few pages back for the link.
davidmak
post Nov 13 2008, 03:33 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(rayzs @ Nov 13 2008, 12:54 PM)
my set doesnt contain chinese and b.melayu..even the booklet in italian language...lol..wuteva it is, im proud to be one of the e71 user..yup..my 1st e-series...huhu
Yeah my first E-series ever! Never lift an eye on Nokia's business line of phones before until E71. Anyway you can fix your language thing, just use Nemesis to recode the product code to the one corresponding to Singapore APAC region and you will get the language desired.

Now Singapore APAC region product code doesn't mean that it comes from Singapore. It is internationally recognized to identify Singapore as the 'star' country in SEA. So Singapore is used to identified the region over here.
davidmak
post Nov 13 2008, 09:40 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ Nov 13 2008, 03:42 PM)
But the thing that makes me sad is the headset..Previously i was using the N95..The headset was awesome..But the E71 headset seem like something was missing..N i just found out that the missing part was the Bass...The E71 headset is just rubbish(need to get a stereo bluetooth headset )...Btw,do they sell 2.5mm->3.5mm converter?
Maybe you should use a pair of better earphones. Of course you need one that has integrated mic for the handsfree thing but if you only want music, a good pair will do (assuming you have the 2.5mm-3.5mm jack converter).

0.0235sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:19 PM