Nokia Nokia E71, Messenger of Steel!

jameslee_84
post Nov 11 2008, 08:52 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Nov 11 2008, 08:44 PM)
Guys guys! New firmware update is available for Nokia E71 now! Its version 110.07.127. You will need to update your Nokia Software Updater (NUS) first before proceeding. Your current NUS version will prompt for an update. Good luck guys!
if there really is a new software update, then i guess there won't be a language barrier no more. just change product code and reflash it. Voila, u got urself one that can support the language u want but provided that the software is really available.

Added on November 11, 2008, 8:55 pm
QUOTE(pxd @ Nov 11 2008, 06:37 PM)
Aiks, it's really too bad for KL-ian. Anyway, been seeing posts/comments and seems that Penang really enjoys the goodness of lowest pricing. How come?!
Beats me, but u have to source real hard for it. I went to a kawan's kawan's kawan's place..... so, i think he doesn't want to profit so much since he knew my kawan's kawan's kawan, and therefore my friend bought it for that price. My own set i bought original from Singapore.

KL already have the best of most things, so Penang shud have some once in awhile rite? thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by jameslee_84: Nov 11 2008, 08:55 PM
davidmak
post Nov 11 2008, 08:59 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(jameslee_84 @ Nov 11 2008, 08:52 PM)
if there really is a new software update, then i guess there won't be a language barrier no more. just change product code and reflash it. Voila, u got urself one that can support the language u want but provided that the software is really available.
Yes, just reflash product code to a Singapore APAC version and you're good to go.
pxd
post Nov 11 2008, 10:02 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(jameslee_84 @ Nov 11 2008, 08:52 PM)
Beats me, but u have to source real hard for it. I went to a kawan's kawan's kawan's place..... so, i think he doesn't want to profit so much since he knew my kawan's kawan's kawan, and therefore my friend bought it for that price. My own set i bought original from Singapore.

KL already have the best of most things, so Penang shud have some once in awhile rite? thumbup.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxms.gif Ha ha ha ha ha, that last sentence beats me, ha ha ha ha, salutation. (Yeah, KL has most of the best, if not all.) notworthy.gif

How's the speakerphone performing for E71? Seeing review said it is under par. I am relying more on speakerphone with my current phones. Thanks. laugh.gif
mikelanding
post Nov 11 2008, 10:27 PM

2,865 posts

Any1 manage to flash their E71 to latest firmware?
I tried...but it said no updated firmware yet.
Mine is ori set with Singapore product code

ZZZZzzz
MamatG
post Nov 11 2008, 10:50 PM

34 posts

Reflashed my phone. Seems to work fine.
Upgraded NSU first then only can find the firmware
Using Avaxx set here.

No problems in updating... nod.gif

Now in the process of restoring my backups...

good luck thumbup.gif

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 11 2008, 10:27 PM)

ZZZZzzz
onich4n
post Nov 11 2008, 11:02 PM

96 posts

i can't update.huhu..it always keep popup asking for

1. remove battery and charger from phone
2. insert battery and connect charger
3. click 'Retry' to continue
4. press the phone's power button

is it bcause of AP set? help me guys. is there any AP set user successfully update to latest firmware?
Pennywise
post Nov 11 2008, 11:21 PM

5,796 posts

Whats the difference in the new firmware?
camel90
post Nov 11 2008, 11:48 PM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

yeah. can someone list down the differences or the features that are updated in this new version?

currently, im scared to do any update to ORI set E71. not because of the firmware, just that im using celcom D68 package here in my college UNITEN and i think there;s high possibility that i will get DC in the middle of the update process and end up crash my phone OS badly sweat.gif
sonyclie77
post Nov 12 2008, 12:49 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 11 2008, 10:27 PM)

ZZZZzzz
I'm having the same problem as you.

Will try to re-install NSU, and also PC Suite.

Not sure if that will help.
doomx
post Nov 12 2008, 12:57 AM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

i found that at here :

E71 sauce

Superman7
post Nov 12 2008, 01:02 AM

11,086 posts

seems to be the much anticipated update.. especially on the camera part..
so, anybody actually upgraded the firmware?
Seen any differences? Pls share...

Added on November 12, 2008, 1:23 amSeems like with the new updates, there will be a new drive Y: which the protected files will be stored..
http://www.symbian-freak.com/news/008/11/e...y_available.htm

This post has been edited by Superman7: Nov 12 2008, 01:23 AM
mikelanding
post Nov 12 2008, 01:44 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Nov 12 2008, 12:49 AM)
I'm having the same problem as you.

Will try to re-install NSU, and also PC Suite.

Not sure if that will help.
I found out the problem liao. U need to disable any encryption and security lock on the phone BEFORE flashing.

I manage to flash my unit liao..Now bz backing up the file...
So far, I tested the camera, shot in room light at night..I would said got improvement..smile.gif
Pennywise
post Nov 12 2008, 08:17 AM

5,796 posts

I found the camera improvement feature very tempting... Anyone noticed any real improvements?
tchiaming
post Nov 12 2008, 08:33 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

QUOTE(onich4n @ Nov 11 2008, 11:02 PM)
i can't update.huhu..it always keep popup asking for

1. remove battery and charger from phone
2. insert battery and connect charger
3. click 'Retry' to continue
4. press the phone's power button

is it bcause of AP set? help me guys. is there any AP set user successfully update to latest firmware?
i have the same problem too... n mine is a an ori zitron set....
haha... help anybody? smile.gif
doomx
post Nov 12 2008, 10:02 AM

Look at mah stars
2,802 posts

did u read the above post from mikelanding and do that? pennywise u also should read the above post. mike did comment bout the camera
xpresside
post Nov 12 2008, 10:30 AM

1,982 posts

i just bought the phone yesterday, grey metal
ori set and comes with the latest firmware already.
tchiaming
post Nov 12 2008, 11:21 AM

incubus
1,039 posts

er..... i didn't activate any security lock n encryption in the first place.... tried multiple times d... n same result.... hrmm... shall try again tonight after work.... sweat.gif

oh yeah, mikelanding, do u have a before n after picture improvement? would be quite nice if compared side by side... smile.gif

This post has been edited by tchiaming: Nov 12 2008, 11:23 AM
pxd
post Nov 12 2008, 11:24 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 12 2008, 01:44 AM)
I found out the problem liao. U need to disable any encryption and security lock on the phone BEFORE flashing.

I manage to flash my unit liao..Now bz backing up the file...
So far, I tested the camera, shot in room light at night..I would said got improvement..smile.gif
So for E71ian that didn't disable it BEFORE flashing, then ... ... can retry?!
Any photos comparison would be great! Thanks~~~ notworthy.gif
davidmak
post Nov 12 2008, 11:34 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

I have upgraded mine as I have reported here yesterday. Improvements are really minor as mentioned in many articles and forums. The camera improvement seem to be related to the color reproduction. Seriously speaking, it is almost the same to me but I can see that the pinkish tint is fixed.

I have not tried the memory card mode and the missing memory card problem yet. But there's a new problem. Go to Menu > Tools > Settings > Phone > Call > Browse to Image in Video Call. When you select other than None, it will caution that memory is not enough and please close some applications. No amount of restart will fix it. Not sure if this is my problem.

onich4n
post Nov 12 2008, 11:39 AM

96 posts

i didn't activate any security lock and encryption before. still can't update.

124 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:11 PM