128 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 01:46 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(fr33dom @ Feb 2 2009, 07:26 PM)
solstice818:

What is BE & BC?

Made a call to MMU today and I was told that the Qualifying Board have inspected their courses on Sept 08 and now are awaiting confirmation to see if able to exempt the CLP examination.

If that materializes, then I will move there immediately  biggrin.gif
Bar Course, Bar Exam?

Well, isnt that the new thing they want to replace CLP with ? As for MMU, their 1st graduates already out for...erm like half a year and they has yet to receive recognization...How long should you be waiting? The qualification and confirmation might take ages of time.Why dont you consider other colleges at the meantime?They might failed to get the qualification... tongue.gif

P.s: Anyone familiar with UK Twinning ? Got some questions here unsure.gif
alsree786
post Feb 6 2009, 10:33 AM

937 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 01:46 AM)

P.s: Anyone familiar with UK Twinning ? Got some questions here unsure.gif
what questions do u have?
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 12:03 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Feb 6 2009, 10:33 AM)
what questions do u have?
1.How much would it cost for 1 year?
2.Which few uni are recommended?
jhong
post Feb 6 2009, 02:26 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 12:03 PM)
1.How much would it cost for 1 year?
2.Which few uni are recommended?
1.Cost in terms of Living Cost ? I think it needs approximately RM150K for one year in UK .
2.For me , i would recommend HELP , TAYLORS or BAC.
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 08:56 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(logeswy @ Jan 22 2009, 01:16 AM)
Hi, can anyone advise me on the CLP requirement? I have just graduated with an LLB(Hons) from UOL external, but I got a 3rd class, as I know the minimum requirement for CLP is 2nd class lower. I heard that I could appeal to the LPQB, to do CLP. Is  it true? Is  there anyone who had been successful with their appeal. Or  is there any other way that I could practice law in Malaysia. I have tried calling the LPQB but they are not of much help, giving me different feedbacks each time I call.
I really need help on this matter.
Thank you
Well, from what i know, there is not much you can do to appeal i'm afraid.

This is what one of my friend do (she got 3rd class too), go to APU (Anglia) to do her Part 2 (they offered her 2 years exemption), and then try to graduate with a 2nd lower.

Another 3rd class friend, self-study BOJ right now.

The point being, you're gonna need another recognised law degree (with at least 2nd class) in order to meet the requirement.

Hope this helps.
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 08:59 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ Feb 6 2009, 02:26 PM)
1.Cost in terms of Living Cost ? I think it needs approximately RM150K for one year in UK .
2.For me , i would recommend HELP , TAYLORS or BAC.
I think you have a little misunderstanding here.Erm, maybe I should put it this way. Which few uni in London that you guys recommending?

As for the cost, is the rm150k for tight living or more comfortable living? I heard 100k per year is for those that eat roti everyday tongue.gif
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 09:03 PM

17 posts

You guys seems to have answer for everything, how i wish someone can tell me how to pass CLP, desperately need to pass this time around. cry.gif

Anyone else sitting for CLP exam this year? icon_question.gif
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 09:10 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Jen119 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:03 PM)
You guys seems to have answer for everything, how i wish someone can tell me how to pass CLP, desperately need to pass this time around.  cry.gif

Anyone else sitting for CLP exam this year?  icon_question.gif
Let me guess...This is your 2nd time? The way you put your sentence makes me feel that this is your 2nd time....

Anyway, is CLP hard? I m not so sure.But friend of mine was working part time and taking CLP simultaneously and he passed.So, I guess it's not that hard after all. tongue.gif
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 09:16 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:10 PM)
Let me guess...This is your 2nd time? The way you put your sentence makes me feel that this is your 2nd time....

Anyway, is CLP hard? I m not so sure.But friend of mine was working part time and taking CLP simultaneously and he passed.So, I guess it's not that hard after all.  tongue.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif you got it right.

Thanks... bruce.gif What a great boost for my self-esteem and confident!! rclxlh.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
alsree786
post Feb 6 2009, 09:34 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(Jen119 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:03 PM)
You guys seems to have answer for everything, how i wish someone can tell me how to pass CLP, desperately need to pass this time around.  cry.gif

Anyone else sitting for CLP exam this year?  icon_question.gif
haha, sorry, i cant help u out with the clp. i think most of us here are still llb students, with few exceptions. even then, they are probably either doing the bvc or are overseas, or are those who wun be practicing. hope someone comes along and helps u out...besides, if im not mistaken, you're heading to BAC for some revision course...make the most of that i guess

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 08:59 PM)
I think you have a little misunderstanding here.Erm, maybe I should put it this way. Which few uni in London that you guys recommending?

As for the cost, is the rm150k for tight living or more comfortable living? I heard 100k per year is for those that eat roti everyday  tongue.gif
London? or UK? if london, i dun think any of the unis in london are affiliated with colleges here, the only way to get to a london uni for a "twinning" is via the Uol ext llb queen mary route which is like doing a 1+2.

with regards to costs, that'll obviously vary depending on location, uni and individual spending habits. the exchange rate is in your favour atm tho compared to pre recession...

For day to day expenses, i think about 120 quid/week would be more than enough, but i can survive on bread and nutella for days (i also cook) and i skype alot.

RM150k is way too much, i dun think u will need more than rm100k for 9 months, based on current exchange rate figures....though i'll reconsider that figure if u really meant London instead of UK. for example, the uni of cardiff, tuition fees are about GBP10k, and accomodation won't touch GBP3k. with current exchange rates, tuition fees and accomodation costs are about RM72k. At 120 quid a week for 9 months that'll cost u another RM 24000...giving u a total of RM96000. Im just estimating here using rough figures...

(used exchange rate of 5.5 and rounded up to nearest k)
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 09:39 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:34 PM)
haha, sorry, i cant help u out with the clp. i think most of us here are still llb students, with few exceptions. even then, they are probably either doing the bvc or are overseas, or are those who wun be practicing. hope someone comes along and helps u out...besides, if im not mistaken, you're heading to BAC for some revision course...make the most of that i guess
London? or UK? if london, i dun think any of the unis in london are affiliated with colleges here, the only way to get to a london uni for a "twinning" is via the Uol ext llb queen mary route which is like doing a 1+2.

with regards to costs, that'll obviously vary depending on location, uni and individual spending habits. the exchange rate is in your favour atm tho compared to pre recession...

For day to day expenses, i think about 120 quid/week would be more than enough, but i can survive on bread and nutella for days (i also cook) and i skype alot.

RM150k is way too much, i dun think u will need more than rm100k for 9 months, based on current exchange rate figures....though i'll reconsider that figure if u really meant London instead of UK. for example, the uni of cardiff, tuition fees are about GBP10k, and accomodation won't touch GBP3k. with current exchange rates, tuition fees and accomodation costs are about RM72k. At 120 quid a week for 9 months that'll cost u another RM 24000...giving u a total of RM96000. Im just estimating here using rough figures...

(used exchange rate of 5.5 and rounded up to nearest k)
UK...My mistake... sweat.gif

So, you are doing 2+ 1 or 1+ 2?

Any recommended uni in UK?
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 09:41 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Jan 12 2009, 08:32 PM)
it's RM4110.60 for us in the ATC PG.

they freaking increased the darn fees again, right?
Wow!! Someone from ATC Pg. cheers.gif

I was there from 2001 to 2006. The good old days... thumbup.gif

Hope ms. Linda Felix, ms.Vaani and ms.Queenie are doing great. rclxm9.gif

Added on February 6, 2009, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(alsree786 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:34 PM)
Thank you biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Jen119: Feb 6 2009, 09:43 PM
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 09:50 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Jen119 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:41 PM)
Wow!!  Someone from ATC Pg.  cheers.gif

I was there from 2001 to 2006.  The good old days...    thumbup.gif

Hope ms. Linda Felix, ms.Vaani and ms.Queenie are doing great.    rclxm9.gif

Added on February 6, 2009, 9:43 pm

Thank you    biggrin.gif
They are doing great now..Dont worry...And there is one new lecturer, Mr Mark Tan replaced Mr Patrick...Just in case you wanna know... nod.gif
alsree786
post Feb 6 2009, 09:54 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:39 PM)
UK...My mistake... sweat.gif

So, you are doing 2+ 1 or 1+ 2?

Any recommended uni in UK?
im doing the uol ext llb, but i was very keen on going to Inti for a 2+1 before i opted to stay in KL and save money for the bvc, but now im not going for the bvc because im going to....ahh nvm, very complicated case.

well, i cant really recommend any uni in uk, coz i cant remember what i researched. i think most students who intend to pursue the bvc after graduating will prefer cardiff and northumbria since they offer the bvc. i shan't talk about rankings because they change every year, but if u consider that important then check out thes and guardian. most students end up in either northmbria or uwe, but based on what ive heard, Cardiff seems like a good place. My friend who did her llb, bvc and llm there really likes it, and i trust her judgment...

purely based on rankings and "prestige" uni of manchester would be good...but u will need AAA at a levels and it's only for a 1+2....
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 09:59 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:50 PM)
They are doing great now..Dont worry...And there is one new lecturer, Mr Mark Tan replaced Mr Patrick...Just in case you wanna know... nod.gif
shocking.gif shocking.gif Who is mr.Patrick??

I really need to drop in more often. tongue.gif

Thanks. notworthy.gif
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 10:04 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:54 PM)
im doing the uol ext llb, but i was very keen on going to Inti for a 2+1 before i opted to stay in KL and save money for the bvc, but now im not going for the bvc because im going to....ahh nvm, very complicated case.

well, i cant really recommend any uni in uk, coz i cant remember what i researched. i think most students who intend to pursue the bvc after graduating will prefer cardiff and northumbria since they offer the bvc. i shan't talk about rankings because they change every year, but if u consider that important then check out thes and guardian. most students end up in either northmbria or uwe, but based on what ive heard, Cardiff seems like a good place. My friend who did her llb, bvc and llm there really likes it, and i trust her judgment...

purely based on rankings and "prestige" uni of manchester would be good...but u will need AAA at a levels and it's only for a 1+2....
Owh...But I heard from my friend that the UK employees have a bias against low ranking unis, no? Which is why ranking and prestige quite important when it comes to choosing a right uni for bvc...

and Uni of manchester is not in my consideration...prefer 2+1 nod.gif
alsree786
post Feb 6 2009, 10:21 PM

937 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 10:04 PM)
Owh...But I heard from my friend that the UK employees have a bias against low ranking unis, no? Which is why ranking and prestige quite important when it comes to choosing a right uni for bvc...

and Uni of manchester is not in my consideration...prefer 2+1  nod.gif
well, generally speaking, for me, in the uk, it's

1) Oxbridge
2) the others which are considered "top" unis like imperial, Ucl, Kings, edinburgh
3) the 2nd tier unis
4) the 3rd tier unis

if u are considering twinning under a 2+1... 1) and 2) are out. based on thes 2008, no twinning uni (2+1) is in the top 100 rankings so it is based on what they consider as low ranking unis. I know in singapore we consider low ranking unis based on comparisons with ntu and nus. but anyway, since u are talking about uk employees (-ers?), guardian would be a better reference. I think for the bvc, there is some sort of preference for the unis own students, im not sure about this, u probably shud check with someone who is more knowledgeable on it....

solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 10:30 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Feb 6 2009, 10:21 PM)
well, generally speaking, for me, in the uk, it's

1) Oxbridge
2) the others which are considered "top" unis like imperial, Ucl, Kings, edinburgh
3) the 2nd tier unis
4) the 3rd tier unis
if u are considering twinning under a 2+1... 1) and 2) are out. based on thes 2008, no twinning uni (2+1) is in the top 100 rankings so it is based on what they consider as low ranking unis. I know in singapore we consider low ranking unis based on comparisons with ntu and nus. but anyway, since u are talking about uk employees (-ers?), guardian would be a better reference. I think for the bvc, there is some sort of preference for the unis own students, im not sure about this, u probably shud check with someone who is more knowledgeable on it....
Thanks.Yea...I know that those twinning uni are quite low in ranking...HELP's too. sad.gif

Anyway, thanks for helping out. Really appreciate it. nod.gif
yanniieee
post Feb 6 2009, 11:37 PM

Starsss!
564 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 10:30 PM)
Thanks.Yea...I know that those twinning uni are quite low in ranking...HELP's too.  sad.gif
Anyway, thanks for helping out. Really appreciate it.  nod.gif
You going to twinning program? I thought u already in 2nd external program?
solstice818
post Feb 6 2009, 11:48 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Feb 6 2009, 11:37 PM)
You going to twinning program? I thought u already in 2nd external program?
Going for BVC nod.gif

and yes I m doing External.

Some of the question are asked on behalf of my friends. nod.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Feb 6 2009, 11:51 PM

128 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:48 PM