University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 08:56 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(logeswy @ Jan 22 2009, 01:16 AM)
Hi, can anyone advise me on the CLP requirement? I have just graduated with an LLB(Hons) from UOL external, but I got a 3rd class, as I know the minimum requirement for CLP is 2nd class lower. I heard that I could appeal to the LPQB, to do CLP. Is  it true? Is  there anyone who had been successful with their appeal. Or  is there any other way that I could practice law in Malaysia. I have tried calling the LPQB but they are not of much help, giving me different feedbacks each time I call.
I really need help on this matter.
Thank you
Well, from what i know, there is not much you can do to appeal i'm afraid.

This is what one of my friend do (she got 3rd class too), go to APU (Anglia) to do her Part 2 (they offered her 2 years exemption), and then try to graduate with a 2nd lower.

Another 3rd class friend, self-study BOJ right now.

The point being, you're gonna need another recognised law degree (with at least 2nd class) in order to meet the requirement.

Hope this helps.
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 09:03 PM

17 posts

You guys seems to have answer for everything, how i wish someone can tell me how to pass CLP, desperately need to pass this time around. cry.gif

Anyone else sitting for CLP exam this year? icon_question.gif
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 09:16 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:10 PM)
Let me guess...This is your 2nd time? The way you put your sentence makes me feel that this is your 2nd time....

Anyway, is CLP hard? I m not so sure.But friend of mine was working part time and taking CLP simultaneously and he passed.So, I guess it's not that hard after all.  tongue.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif you got it right.

Thanks... bruce.gif What a great boost for my self-esteem and confident!! rclxlh.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 09:41 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Jan 12 2009, 08:32 PM)
it's RM4110.60 for us in the ATC PG.

they freaking increased the darn fees again, right?
Wow!! Someone from ATC Pg. cheers.gif

I was there from 2001 to 2006. The good old days... thumbup.gif

Hope ms. Linda Felix, ms.Vaani and ms.Queenie are doing great. rclxm9.gif

Added on February 6, 2009, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(alsree786 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:34 PM)
haha, sorry, i cant help u out with the clp. i think most of us here are still llb students, with few exceptions. even then, they are probably either doing the bvc or are overseas, or are those who wun be practicing. hope someone comes along and helps u out...besides, if im not mistaken, you're heading to BAC for some revision course...make the most of that i guess
Thank you biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Jen119: Feb 6 2009, 09:43 PM
Jen119
post Feb 6 2009, 09:59 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:50 PM)
They are doing great now..Dont worry...And there is one new lecturer, Mr Mark Tan replaced Mr Patrick...Just in case you wanna know... nod.gif
shocking.gif shocking.gif Who is mr.Patrick??

I really need to drop in more often. tongue.gif

Thanks. notworthy.gif
Jen119
post Feb 10 2009, 11:25 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Feb 10 2009, 10:49 PM)
welcome to the smallest college ever in pg.  tongue.gif
No way... ATC pg is the smallest?! shocking.gif

During my days it wasn't that small... hmm.gif

How small has it become now? sweat.gif
Jen119
post Feb 16 2009, 04:31 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Feb 13 2009, 02:32 PM)
UM got LLB? I thought I mentioned this earlier but they said UM is not LLB?
yanniieee, have you found a place to stay?

I haven't. cry.gif
Jen119
post Feb 17 2009, 06:47 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Feb 16 2009, 08:11 PM)
you want share room? there's a medium room in The Pines, renting out rm700. can fit 2 persons.
Thanks for the offer but my friend found me a place at villa scott. nod.gif

Good luck to you. thumbup.gif
Jen119
post Mar 13 2009, 03:13 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(AaZz @ Mar 8 2009, 11:40 PM)
I am from Penang. But by the way thanks.

Why ATC is listed first? Is ATC still as good as before?
QUOTE(alsree786 @ Mar 8 2009, 11:55 PM)
i just typed what came to my mind, and having a set of atc revision books in front of me prompted my fingers to type those three letters first...they are in no particular order...

i cant say whether they are as good as before, since i only base my opinions on my own experiences, but ATC kl seems alrite tho i have my grouses. not sure bout atc penang, but im sure someone here can help u with that.
I completed my LLB at ATC penang and did CLP at PTPL (IPG). I won't comment on their teaching or lecture notes, but, if you're a person who tend to depends on lecturers rather than reading and understand the subjects on your own, then i would strongly advice you to go to KL.

Just my opinion.

This post has been edited by Jen119: Mar 13 2009, 03:16 AM
Jen119
post Mar 14 2009, 01:49 PM

17 posts

I've been calling BAC like mad woman for the past couple of days, but no luck in getting mr.chandran (?) cry.gif

I just wanna know when is the CLP intensive revision starts. Any current BAC student happens to know? Pls? icon_question.gif
Jen119
post Mar 19 2009, 08:13 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Mar 19 2009, 12:04 AM)
sweat.gif
dunno wor..coz not CLP student yet xD
but then i suggest u to ask the receptionist or ask her to pass u to someone u knows abt it lor?
but then revision for the rest of the students in LL.b for all the years already started since March.
I saw those CLP collecting materials lor but whether for the classes or revision o_O
No, Mr.Chandran is the only counselor for CLP (the receptionist couldn't be bothered to answer my question. mad.gif )

But i managed to hunt down Mr.Chandra in the end, thanks anyway. rclxms.gif

0.0557sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:47 AM