36 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Best manager of our time?, Best manager

JimBeam101
post Jan 8 2009, 04:12 PM

132 posts

Wow.....now they are comparing Malaysian Super League.....u seems to downgrade urself whenever u post something.
solstice818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:12 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:02 PM)
nothing to complain? berbatov goal that not allowed? there is no offside at all, does he come out n complaint to referee?

maybe he din complain at berba's goal and i m not sure whether the referee get the right decision but here's an article for those of you who hardly watch manchester united play football before u guys jump in the bandwagon and support the club...

A worth reading article about Alex Ferguson

Let's call it The Fergie's Football

We are never surprised when Alex Ferguson launches into some kind of rant or whinge whereby somebody else, preferably a conspiracy of the powers that be, is to blame for Manchester United`s failings.

It's a well-known fact that United never actually lose games, but are the victims of a cunning,worldwide conspiracy.The referee, the pitch, the fixture, the kits and the list go on.That's Fergie's story - and he's still sticking to it.

Here`s the thing, Fergus is, unquestionably, the greatest manager that the game has seen in 20 years. He`s certainly the defining Premier League manager. But he`s also become a bit too big for his boots, and has a tendency to throw a tantrum when he feels that he isn`t given preferential treatment.Last season, Ferguson talked about the need for referees to afford Cristiano Ronaldo more protection, which was no surprise, given that Steve Bennett was scheduled to take charge of a match that could have huge repercussions as far as the title race and fight for fourth place are concerned. Two of the three red cards Ronaldo has received during his five seasons with United have been issued by Bennett, whom Ferguson suggested would have taken “great delight” in sending off the Portugal winger for head-butting Richard Hughes, the Portsmouth midfield player, in the 1-1 draw at Fratton Park in August. Ferguson also accused Bennett of failing to protect Ronaldo after the player was sent off for a reckless lunge during the 3-1 defeat away to Manchester City in January 2006.And there he goes, Steve Bennentt the worst referee ever and probably feel happy each and every time giving Ronaldo a marching order, thats Fergie's claim.

Few months later,entering the new season, in the Champions League match between Manchester United and Villarreal, after Roberto Rosetti sent off Joan Capdevilla for fouling Cristiano Ronaldo.And the response from Fergie at the time? Let me quote it. "The referee was very fair and strict with both teams. He [Capdevila] may not have got that red card in England - so there is different interpretation of the physical aspect of the game in European matches."And now, we can come out with only one conclusion - that referee that sent off Ronaldo is a bad referee and referee that sent off those players that foul on Ronaldo is a good referee.

But it's normal that Fergus' army are always the victim of cunning and bias refereeing.7 years ago, Manchester United were knocked out of the FA Cup after a goalkeeping error - but Fergus the bogeymen blamed everyone except his goalkeeper.The Man Utd boss lamented the lack of a penalty award as well as the bumpy pitch caused by regular rugby matches for his team's defeat.He also insisted the referee had not played enough injury time - unlike the 1999 European Cup Final, of course. In fact, the only thing Sir Alex neglected to mention about that fateful January afternoon was Fabien Barthez's ridiculous taxi-hailing impression, which let in Paolo di Canio for the winning goal.

Time is always of the essence for Ferguson. If United are losing, the referee should add it on, if they're winning, he should blow his whistle.You can guarantee as a game enters the 89th minute with United hanging on to a one-goal advantage, Fergie will start pointing furiously at his timepiece.You could almost set your watch by it.The officials themselves also come in for a torrid time if United lose or have a player sent off.

It is not the first time the Man Utd boss has offered a bizarre reason for defeat.

Remember Fergus stating a grey United kit meant his team couldn't recognise each other and so lost against Southampton?

It was never their faults but are the victims of poor refereeing,poor pitch condition and poor kits and now- The Premier League designed fixtures to make it as tough as possible for United to land a third successive title.

"They say the league is not handicapped, but I`m not so sure," Ferguson said.

"I have been saying for a few months we have been handicapped by the Premier League fixture list," said Ferguson.

Whilst Fergus the Bogeyman is getting far too worked up about this, one has to ask: these tough away assignments all come in the first half of the season. Conversely, Manchester United will presumably be playing the likes of Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool at Old Trafford at the pointy end of the season. Hitherto it has been the norm that Fergus`s Manchester United starts the season with wobbles, and reaches cruising speed in the second half of the season. That`s the second half of the season when we shall assume that Manchester United are through to the knockout stages of the Champions League. Best to play Arsenal, Liverpool and Chelsea at home then, no? Every cloud has a silver lining, isn`t it better to have your more awkward fixtures at the same time that they interfere less with the Champions League?

But Fergus is still not happy and the Scot has threatened to send a representative to their headquarters this summer to make sure the same scenario will not unfold next summer.

"They tell me it is not planned but I have my doubts.

"I am not saying what they do down there but next year we will be sending someone to see how it works I can assure you because I just don't understand how you can get the fixtures like that."

In this particular case, yes the fixture list is awkward. However, is there a good moment to travel to the Emirates or Anfield? The implication is that the fixture list should be adjusted to ensure that some of the more difficult fixtures are made easier. For your convenience, that is. Er, no, the fixture list is random, don`t whinge about it, you win some you lose some, but you can`t whinge against a computer generated list.

But what makes this particularly grating for us Chelsea supporters was how Fergus` current rant contrasts with his stance in April this year. Many supporters may remember that, at that time, Chelsea were neck and neck with Manchester United going into the closing straight of the season. But Chelsea`s fixtures were adjusted. Instead of playing Wigan on the normal Saturday fixture, the match was postponed to Monday night. And the weekend after`s fixture against Everton was brought forward to a Thursday night instead of playing it some time over the weekend.

At the time Chelsea complained bitterly, and several other managers said that this change was barmy. The reason for Chelsea`s complaint: these fixture changes were carried out for the benefit exclusively of television companies, Chelsea were unhappy on the effect that this would have on the supporters, not to mention the fact that it was less than ideal that we would have to play two Premier League evening night fixtures in 72 hours.

And the response from Fergus at the time? Let me quote it. "They have two games in three days [72 hours], then five days to prepare for a possible Champions League final, that's all right".

We can only conclude that Fergus asks for fixture changes for his own convenience, but is very unsympathetic to anyone else`s requests. Ferguson, hypocrite.

Since everything has to be fixed for his own convenience, why don't we just call it Fergie's Premier League instead of Barclaycard Premier League?

gwong
post Jan 8 2009, 04:13 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Jan 8 2009, 04:09 PM)

Want to add another twist tongue.gif

Marcelo Lippi

* Serie A: 2002, 2003
* SuperCoppa Italiana: 2002, 2003
* UEFA Champions League: 2003
* FIFA World Cup: 2006

Total: 6
Major: 6
Minor: None

Not a bad record eh? Considering he missed nearly 2 years of football after resigning from the Italy national team. He also missed club football since 2004. Right from 2004 until now entering 2009, he only challenged for the World Cup title with his national team. And he did it well. He won it once already! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Lippi is who that I've voted! One of the best Italian Tactician of my time. Hope that he can come back to Juve again once he have conquer the world in 2010, hopefully!
solstice818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:14 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:11 PM)
so are u telling me mr moaninho did not moan at all during his tenure at chelsea? arsene wenger famous for his i didnt saw that when any arsenal players make a rough tackle or dive? he also always use his team is young as excuses to lose game or tteam in transition..
Seriously, Mourinho, benitez and wenger all moan but no one moan as much as Alex Ferguson...

And funnily, he even blame his own squad kits back in 1996....

People hardly call manchester united man u now..they call it Moan U..Why? Cos Alex Ferguson of course...
gwong
post Jan 8 2009, 04:15 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:12 PM)
maybe he din complain at berba's goal and i m not sure whether the referee get the right decision but here's an article for those of you who hardly watch manchester united play football before u guys jump in the bandwagon and support the club...

A worth reading article about Alex Ferguson
Haha...Bandwagon Fans? Its only for those who have a shallow thinking about the game called football and support team team that everyone is supporting.
-Nos-
post Jan 8 2009, 04:15 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:11 PM)
so are u telling me mr moaninho did not moan at all during his tenure at chelsea? arsene wenger famous for his i didnt saw that when any arsenal players make a rough tackle or dive? he also always use his team is young as excuses to lose game or tteam in transition..
You forgot the Oscar winner in your team? What has SAF comment about it? lulz
Our team consists of majority players under 24, well we can't help it. We cannot afford to spend 30m on a player. whistling.gif
gwong
post Jan 8 2009, 04:17 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:14 PM)
Seriously, Mourinho, benitez and wenger all moan but no one moan as much as Alex Ferguson...

People hardly call manchester united man u now..they call it Moan U..Why? Cos Alex Ferguson of course...
Yeah! I remembered this game. They changed their shirt after 1st half! WTH? Is it something got to do with your football on the pitch? Aiyoyo!
Reddy818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:18 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ Jan 8 2009, 04:08 PM)
Complain as you wish like what you are doing now! Man Utd supporters..  shakehead.gif

Btw, Can you see what is the different Capello do to Engliand compared to McClaren? Are you the staff of the England national team. Then how you know? Anyway, he brought the Italian way to make English better didnt he. Can I say Italian coaches or manager have more superiority? What I see is that they havent won anything big yet. Wait till the days comes then only you shout!
hello..since when im complaining ..im just writing what i know n fact...

what the different between capello eng and mclaren eng? do the qualifier result show the data u looking for..

if u thinking that i am not supposed to comment on what both manager did, what make u think u r capable of rating ferguson as over rated? are u the best manager everyone looking into?

whistling.gif whistling.gif
solstice818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:18 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(befitozi @ Jan 8 2009, 04:09 PM)
Read ^

Yes, winning the Portuguese league in this era is not as great as before. So is winning Malaysian Super league less of a achievement then winning the La Liga

The multiplier changes through time, judge what was won back then and now based on the multiplier then and now.
I wouldnt deny that standard of league makes the life a manager easier...But to deny Mourinho's title in portuguese league, isnt that a bit too harsh? And if portuguese league so bad, then for Mourinho winning the CL is the biggest achievement on earth then, nO?

And oh, i never watch malaysian super league or watever league malaysia have....
gwong
post Jan 8 2009, 04:19 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 8 2009, 04:15 PM)
You forgot the Oscar winner in your team? What has SAF comment about it? lulz
Our team consists of majority players under 24, well we can't help it.  We cannot afford to spend 30m on a player. whistling.gif
Yeah normally the director wont criticised their own actor but only sees the mistakes of other actors. This is how you'll become an oscar winning director. Hopefully this actor will not win the World Movie Awards! tongue.gif
solstice818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:20 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ Jan 8 2009, 04:17 PM)
Yeah! I remembered this game. They changed their shirt after 1st half! WTH? Is it something got to do with your football on the pitch? Aiyoyo!
There are a lot of more things that Alex Ferguson moaned/blamed/accused after losing and a lot of those glory hunters who hardly watched the united games in the 90s' really dun know much of this....All they know is RONALDO!!!!!!!!! FERGUSON!!!!!!!

Reddy818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:21 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ Jan 8 2009, 04:15 PM)
Haha...Bandwagon Fans? Its only for those who have a shallow thinking about the game called football and support team team that everyone is supporting.
so the article was written by who? is it a person opinion or what?
solstice818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:22 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:21 PM)
A true football supporter will read any articles written by anyone about their club/manager/players... and clearly you are not one...

Written about A certain Scottish manager

Written by a chelsea supporter

A lot of his points are spot on...
Reddy818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:23 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:14 PM)

sorry mate i not sure where u get the fact that alot pp call man utd; moan u.. maybe only among ur kakis or what.. i mixed with other fans n i din heard that before...

how u compare a person moan more or moan less? as in per word in article or reason given?
gwong
post Jan 8 2009, 04:23 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:18 PM)
hello..since when im complaining ..im just writing what i know n fact...

what the different between capello eng and mclaren eng? do the qualifier result show the data u looking for..

if u thinking that i am not supposed to comment on what both manager did, what make u think u r capable of rating ferguson as over rated? are u the best manager everyone looking into?

whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Did I say SAF is overated? I dont even want to rate him. Please check back this thread if you wanted to.

World Cup qualifiers data? I thought is a norm for your so called England to win your group easily. What is there to shout about?
Reddy818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:27 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:22 PM)
A true football supporter will read any articles written by anyone about their club/manager/players... and clearly you are not one...

Written about A certain Scottish manager

Written by a chelsea supporter

A lot of his points are spot on...
wow..so my daily life was just supposed to read all article about football... i need to find a living mate.. true football supporrter..wow can i have a true football supporter from man utd faction n write a good article about ferguson..then everyone will think he is saint in this world?

a person life will have carrot or stick from other ppl.. so who are we supposed to believe in? that depend on who u like more...
solstice818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:28 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:23 PM)
sorry mate i not sure where u get the fact that alot pp call man utd; moan u.. maybe only among ur kakis or what.. i mixed with other fans n i din heard that before...

how u compare a person moan more or moan less? as in per word in article or reason given?

The number of times of course... Alex ferguson moans/complains more than anyone in the media...

Example? The latest : The fixture...and he think his balls are too big that he start threatening that he will send a representatives to witness the draw of fixtures next season. He is the Premier League staff? WTF...RIDICULOUS

Anymore defending from you?I expect nothing less than a blind defending from a "true" supporter like you...

Added on January 8, 2009, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:27 PM)
wow..so my daily life was just supposed to read all article about football...  i need to find a living mate.. true football supporrter..wow can i have a true football supporter from man utd faction n write a good article about ferguson..then everyone will think he is saint in this world?

a person life will have carrot or stick from other ppl.. so who are we supposed to believe in? that depend on who u like more...
Did I say that you have to read all articles about football? All I said was a true supporter will be INTERESTED in reading articles that related to the club he supported...

And the truth is there for you to read about , to seek on...And of course in the end, you choose your own path whether who to believe...

Anyway, is getting pointless...All these about life...saint...carrot...stick..GOSH!Get something solid to defend...All I see from you now are blind facts and bullshits .You are just arguing for the sake of arguing...

Sigh...

This post has been edited by solstice818: Jan 8 2009, 04:31 PM
gwong
post Jan 8 2009, 04:31 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(Reddy818 @ Jan 8 2009, 04:21 PM)
Oh..it depends on how u see it, its my personal opinion. You can ignore if you want to. Hope that, you yourself is not bandwagon fan.

This post has been edited by gwong: Jan 8 2009, 04:31 PM
Reddy818
post Jan 8 2009, 04:34 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(gwong @ Jan 8 2009, 04:23 PM)
Did I say SAF is overated? I dont even want to rate him. Please check back this thread if you wanted to.

World Cup qualifiers data? I thought is a norm for your so called England to win your group easily. What is there to shout about?
so did england under mcclaren qualified for euro 2008.. ?? u did commented on my msg on overrated ferguson dont u?
matyrze
post Jan 8 2009, 04:36 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

Oh god, this thread doh.gif doh.gif

Been following all of you posting posts here and not many of them are closed to making conclusions, or to help finding conclusions in anyways doh.gif doh.gif

Lippi!! Lippi!! Lippi!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by matyrze: Jan 8 2009, 04:37 PM

36 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0433sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:14 AM