post Mar 17 2011, 09:11 AM

177 posts

seagate momentus ok tak? planning to get this brand
munzamir
post Mar 17 2011, 09:18 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(sciencefreak @ Mar 16 2011, 10:55 PM)
guys...jus to advice ....dont ever use WD scorpio with your ps3...it has some incompatibility issues and will fk up ur ps3...damn slow to read gamesaves and to install stuffs! wink.gif
i kinda agree with this.. i use WD Scorpio Blue 500GB before..
yup, it's abit slow and dunno wtf happened system crashed 2 times..
end up i revert back to the standard 320GB..
GamersFamilia
post Mar 17 2011, 11:22 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,772 posts

so what brand is good for ps3 hdd upgrade ?
Trishharas
post Mar 17 2011, 11:24 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 17 2011, 11:22 AM)
so what brand is good for ps3 hdd upgrade ?
I think the same brand that was used for the ps3 original hdd..

I found out mine was Toshiba but I used WD Scorpio Blue.. laugh.gif
GamersFamilia
post Mar 17 2011, 11:33 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,772 posts

QUOTE(Trishharas @ Mar 17 2011, 11:24 AM)
I think the same brand that was used for the ps3 original hdd..

I found out mine was Toshiba but I used WD Scorpio Blue.. laugh.gif
sciencefreak and munzamir got probs using the WD scorpio blue , do you face any probs with ur WD ?
Trishharas
post Mar 17 2011, 01:03 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Mar 17 2011, 11:33 AM)
sciencefreak and munzamir got probs using the WD scorpio blue , do you face any probs with ur WD ?
I find it a bit slow when installing the latest FW and new games. It took like half an hour or one hour and a half to install which depends on how big the file is. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Trishharas: Mar 17 2011, 01:04 PM
Gaia34
post Mar 17 2011, 01:05 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(Trishharas @ Mar 17 2011, 02:03 PM)
I find it a bit slow when installing the latest FW and new games. It took like half an hour or one hour and a half to install which depends on how big is the file.  sweat.gif
i have oso and i use blue scorpion oso, after i do the file restore or data rebuild or what ever it is from the recovery menu, it seems no problem liao till now.. smile.gif
Trishharas
post Mar 17 2011, 01:14 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Mar 17 2011, 01:05 PM)
i have oso and i use blue scorpion oso, after i do the file restore or data rebuild or what ever it is from the recovery menu, it seems no problem liao till now.. smile.gif
well, so far so good lah..nothing bad happen..yet..touchwood eh.. sweat.gif
Muhammad Syukri
post Apr 2 2011, 12:00 AM

821 posts

1 question here,how do u format the hard disk?

i know using easus manager but how u connect the hardisk it to laptop or desktop for formatting??
cloudstrife07
post Apr 2 2011, 02:24 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(Nate_san @ Feb 22 2011, 03:46 PM)
Samsung 2.5 Inch Laptop Sata Hard Disk 640gb
is it compatible with ps3?
I saw at Samsung's website that the 640GB is 9.5mm thick. So it might be compatible for the PS3. smile.gif
TheUndead
post Apr 2 2011, 09:42 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Apr 2 2011, 12:00 AM)
1 question here,how do u format the hard disk?

i know using easus manager but how u connect the hardisk it to laptop or desktop for formatting??
you need to get an external casing with sata and then connect it to ur lappie's/desktop usb port.
GamersFamilia
post Apr 2 2011, 05:44 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,772 posts

http://www.mademan.com/mm/5-best-ps3-compa...ard-drives.html
DarkAsura
post Apr 2 2011, 07:48 PM

58 posts

just wanna ask if i upgrade my ps3 hdd can i copy all files from old hdd to new hdd and run old hdd games or what so ever from new hdd?? anyone?
jeff_shahalam13
post Apr 3 2011, 01:32 AM

any kedai in subang know about it...and can do it ..me malas nak buat sendiri lah.....
colt_508
post Apr 3 2011, 01:24 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

QUOTE(DarkAsura @ Apr 2 2011, 07:48 PM)
just wanna ask if i upgrade my ps3 hdd can i copy all files from old hdd to new hdd and run old hdd games or what so ever from new hdd?? anyone?
need to back-up all save game first

take out old HDD and replace new one..and do restore setting

QUOTE(jeff_shahalam13 @ Apr 3 2011, 01:32 AM)
any kedai in subang know about it...and can do it ..me malas nak buat sendiri lah.....
ceh... open HDD on PS3 just like makan kacang lah doh.gif
just be careful when you want to open the blue screw sweat.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 3 2011, 04:28 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,772 posts

QUOTE(jeff_shahalam13 @ Apr 3 2011, 01:32 AM)
changging HDD very easy , there`s lot of guide via youtube
ajis
post Apr 3 2011, 04:45 PM

plastic love
3,554 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Apr 3 2011, 01:24 PM)
need to back-up all save game first

take out old HDD and replace new one..and do restore setting
ceh... open HDD on PS3 just like makan kacang lah doh.gif
just be careful when you want to open the blue screw sweat.gif
dulu ada orang tu nak bukak skru pun ketat, siap antar Bernard lagi ph34r.gif
TheUndead
post Apr 4 2011, 10:32 AM

177 posts

New 500GB user, reporting in! flex.gif

Finally, after delaying it for so long, I have successfully upgraded my PS3 Slim's stock hdisk
from the old 120GB -> to a new 500GB. Now I'm going to share my experience with you guys. thumbup.gif

This 500-gigger is a Seagate Momentus, and it's specs are 2.5", 5400RPM w/ 8MB cache.
It's model is ST9500325AS. Bought for cheap2, just RM135, with FREE poslaju summore! brows.gif
Pic:

Well, first thing I did after I received the 500GB hdisk is of course, examined it to see if it it's working properly.
I connected the hdisk to my PC by using a SATA-to-USB bridge that I took from an external casing I had.
I noticed that the file system is NTFS but there was no need to format it to FAT32 because that will be taken care of by the PS3 when
I plug it in later on. After a few file transfers, I can safely say that the 500GB is in perfect working condition so off we go!

The next step in the process, backup. To complete this task, you need to have a spare external hdisk or a *thumbdrive in FAT32 system.
Either borrow one of your friend's or go buy one. Backup is important to ensure all your trophies, gamesaves, DLCs, PSN games from the old hdisk are intact.
I whipped out my my trusty ol' Seagate FreeAgent Go 320GB for this.
Pic:

*(actually, an ext. hdisk is better for this job unless you can find a 120GB thumbdrive or you're PS3 backup data is small enough to fit in a thumbdrive).

For backups, you need the hdisk to be in FAT32 for it to be recognized by my PS3. For this, I used the most useful
EASEUS Partition Master, which you can get the "Home Edition" for free here: http://www.partition-tool.com/personal.htm
The formatting was real easy and took only about 1 to 3 minutes. (you can forget about swissknife, or all the other knives oredi tongue.gif)

(!) REMINDER: Sync your trophies for 1 last time b4 u proceed to backup. Do this by going to: Game > Trophy Collection > press Triangle > sync with server (!)
I connected my external hdisk to the PS3's USB port and then accessed the backup utility, by going to go
Systems > System Settings > Backup Utility from the XMB menu.
Chose Back Up, and just followed the on-screen instructions. The backup took a good 4hrs to complete so I took a quick nap tongue.gif
(I did encounter some probs at first. The error msg "The USB device cannot be accessed." would come up every time the backup
reached 3 to 5%. After a bit of googling, I managed to solve this problem. So if you have a FreeAgent, make sure to
TURN OFF the Power-Saving mode & LED Lights from the Seagate Manager. Link: HERE).

After that was done, it was time to change the hdisk. Took the old one out and put the new one in. Like eating kacang cap tangan! thumbup.gif
Vid:

Beforehand, I had prepared a thumbdrive with the latest firmware in it. (v3.60). (FW must be put inside E:\PS3\UPDATE)
I think you can also put the FW inside the ext. hdisk/thumbdrive that you used for the backup earlier but just to be safe, please get all this done before backing up.

Finally, I powered on my PS3 for the first time with 500GB installed. rclxm9.gif
It asked for me to connect the controller with a USB cable and press the "PS" button so I did just that.
Next, it will say something about the new hdisk needs to be formatted and installed with FW so I plugged in my thumbdrive,
pressed START + SELECT at the same time and the formatting/installation began.

Then all that was left was to do a restore of the backed up data. Again, go to
Systems > System Settings > Backup Utility from the XMB menu.
This time, I chose Restore. I sat back, waited a good 2hrs or so and voilà! Everything is there. smile.gif

So there you go, a walkthrough of my experience. Enjoy your shiny new PS3 hdisk upgrade! thumbup.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 4 2011, 02:10 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,772 posts

i also gonna upgrade my ps3 to 500gb , i will go just like TheUndead
shah_ho_nam
post Apr 4 2011, 02:46 PM

らき☆すた
1,317 posts

i've upgraded my old 40gb to 500gb Hitachi.

no more deleting contents

Added on April 4, 2011, 2:50 pmowh does this affect only SLIM or both FAT as well? i plan to get 1tb also. since the price is quite cheap nowdays

This post has been edited by shah_ho_nam: Apr 4 2011, 02:50 PM

48 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.1017sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:12 PM