7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Hi-Fi Sonus Faber, The artisan of sound

mugenfoo
post Jun 1 2009, 06:06 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

... i almost completely covered my listening room's ceiling with those Styrofoam RPG skylines copycats ... smile.gif Very good at dispersing the sound !

BTW, i have a purpose built listening room, built to Robert Harley's no.1 choice of 10'x14'x19' dimensions. This was supposedly to have the best spread of eigentones (standing waves ) across the whole audio spectrum.
But it still needed alot of diffusion stuff & some absorption stuff to control those standing waves that clash with the musical notation frequencies (echo slap, comb effects, etc etc) .

It has a concrete ceiling, so when i first started, the bass was too much.

To quote one of the local hi-fi gurus: " It is better to have boomy bass than have not enough bass". Because with boomy bass, you can do treatment and stuff to control and reduce it.

But if the combination of your system and room already has got no bass to begin with, then you're screwed.

mugenfoo
post Jun 1 2009, 10:22 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Jun 1 2009, 09:28 PM)
I'm using a pair of SF Concertinno Home...

1.) I check with a lot of old concertino advertisement place a outer tweeter position, thus i guess that should be the standard one?
    However, you should test it with your own ear coz every ppl get different space and taste...

2.) I saw quite a number of SF Concertino users using Generic speaker stand...especially 3 to 4 pillar stand.

What auronthas is right,

I found that the best heigh is to match with your ear level for Concertino series...

For me, I found the sweet spot is my ear place in between the tweeter and mid
according to the old "Concert Series" (1st Gen Concerto and Concertino) manual, it says to place tweeter on the inside.

mugenfoo
post Jun 2 2009, 12:48 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

Actually when listening to hi-fi, one must not get too hung up about where the tweeters or woofers are.

The whole idea is to listen to the "music"; Not the round domes and cones vibrating like a monkey on caffeine.

Just try a few times one way vs the other, then stick by it and enjoy the music. Nevermind what other people say.
If tweeter outside seems to sound better, then go with it. Heck, why not ?
If placing the speakers upside down (Mission is already doing it from the factory) would sound better to you, go for it also! smile.gif

That way only can the listener truly hear the music and enjoy the artistry of sound. wink.gif

mugenfoo
post Jun 2 2009, 08:36 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

so .... have good speakers, good stands, amps, source, cables ......

the point being: remember to enjoy the music too smile.gif

mugenfoo
post Jun 2 2009, 10:26 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

don't worry too much about measuring techniques.. as long as you use one method consistently... it should be OK already.

tongue.gif

mugenfoo
post Jun 3 2009, 11:49 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

so.. anyone about to buy a pair of Sonus Faber speakers soon ?

mugenfoo
post Jun 4 2009, 07:39 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

just make sure there's plenty power to juice up the SF and it will sing nicely for a long time.

This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Jun 4 2009, 07:39 PM
mugenfoo
post Jun 5 2009, 04:19 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jun 5 2009, 03:53 PM)
how much power does hifi use anyways, compared to items like TV or PC or even light bulb.
well, how much power does a TV or PC or even light bulb uses ?

How bright is your light bulb ?

How big is your TV screen ?
Plasma? LCD? CRT ?

What kind of PC ? 286, 486, Pentium, Pentium II, AMD Athlon, what Ghz speed ? How much RAM ? What PCI/AGP/PCI-E cards are on your motherboard? what graphics card are you using ? How many harddrives / CDRom drives / USB drives, etc etc etc etc etc ......

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

mugenfoo
post Jun 5 2009, 11:32 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jun 5 2009, 07:53 PM)
Err how bout compare to 32inch lcd tv... roughly la... cause i really dono these things
Exactly.
mugenfoo
post Jun 6 2009, 11:53 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

a well built amp should have its power rating double up when the speaker's load decreases. I had a really long winded article about Amp power ratings vs. Speaker impedances some time back.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=789611

This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Jun 6 2009, 11:56 PM
mugenfoo
post Jun 7 2009, 10:41 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

... and don't forget to enjoy the music too smile.gif

mugenfoo
post Jun 10 2009, 11:49 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

Maybe i should "copyright" the extreme toe-in method? hahahahahaha

But alas, i also learned this "technique" from a local Hi-fi guru back in the 90s.....
None other than Mr. Adrian Wong of Audio Image. He is also the pioneer in Sonus Faber together with the Penang hifi shop , and they were the very first to make Sonus Faber mainstream here back in the 90s.

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 10 2009, 09:42 AM)
How peculiar...
When I simply put my SFCD in room with extreme toe in, the boomy basses were totally gone. Poof.. disappeared..  biggrin.gif
I also dont know why or how.

I played back the same songs which have problems previously.
Really have no more such problems with the SFCD.
Everything is the room remains in same arrangement.
Why har?  hmm.gif
mugenfoo
post Jun 15 2009, 09:50 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(ecoli @ Jun 13 2009, 11:52 AM)
OMG, you don't want to get into that!

Another guru advised against hanging the speaker cables on support, because it induces stress. Cable should be stress-free.  How? rclxms.gif  drool.gif
Speaker Cables should NEVER be hanging like a clothes line:

Here's why:

1. It really doesn't affect the sound so much by leaving them on the ground. Really.

2. If someone trips over the cables and topples over the speaker or yanks the amp to go crashing down on the floor..... there's is ancient cantonese proverb for these kind of situation: "Taai Seei". (Mati Bagus). hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Added on June 15, 2009, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(genkis3 @ Jun 13 2009, 10:42 PM)
yea, dont care too much abt what others said.
once awhile, everyday i just keep play test cd and tweak here and there, position,room acoustic, snake oil tweak etc... that time really torture myself by playing hifi. coz once i can't get what i want, many sleepless nite. i even get RTA to do my room tune. doh.gif
that time i forgot the main point of getting hifi, enjoy the music and relax.
Oh cool... another RTA user here ?

Isn't RTA just awesome ! ... your own personal Audio Signal tone generator and Audio band oscilloscope !

So .... do share your accomplishments from using RTA for your hi-fi setup !

Added on June 15, 2009, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 15 2009, 04:31 PM)
Sometimes I repeat the CD. Just to enjoy the sounds that cannot be heard of from ES11.
I guess I will let go of the ES11 soon.

I have to becareful with the amp coz the SFCD is power demanding.
Scared of clipping. I dont want to spoil the amp and speakers.
Eh, what amp r u using to drive your SFCD now ?

This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Jun 15 2009, 09:58 PM
mugenfoo
post Jun 16 2009, 11:49 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 16 2009, 09:26 PM)
Bro,

You also have one unit but you are not using it. Exposure XX.

wanna try some "racun" on your SFCD ? I'm talking about the Krell KAV-300i .... guaranteed to make your SFCD sing in a way u never them sing before! biggrin.gif

mugenfoo
post Jun 17 2009, 02:10 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jun 17 2009, 08:06 AM)
You want to loan your Krell to me?  hmm.gif  laugh.gif
But currently, I have already burst my budget and wallet still in ICU room.  unsure.gif
loan only mah .... won't cost u any $$$ one ! .. hehehehehe..

We can make it a 1/2 day session on saturday or something... can invite all the other SF kakis like Auronthas, pcwork, grandspy... smile.gif

mugenfoo
post Jun 17 2009, 11:05 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 17 2009, 05:39 PM)
If got a chance, I also want to join.  biggrin.gif I never heard krell KAV-300i before. I wonder what different  between KAV-300i & KAV 400xi. I heard some people prefer KAV-300i over kav 400xi when matching with sonus faber.
yeah ... good idea ! .. can someone "derma" his Kav-400i for half-a-day also ? ... i bet we can make this a super duper interesting day to test out the various combos ... Even better than going to hi-fi shop !

some SF speakers, KAV300i, KAV400i, .... mebbe some funny interconnects , a DAC or two ... etc. etc. All by enthusiasts only!

mugenfoo
post Jun 19 2009, 12:53 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 18 2009, 09:57 AM)
guys.......i've been wondering about the volume level

i notice my amp volume needs to be at about 11 oclock or sometimes 12oclock to be able to enjoy the dynamics of the music from d SFCD

could it be the cd player pre-out voltage not high enough?

mine amp is rated 140watts rms x 2 @ 4ohms
what amp r u using ? What source r u using ? RCA or Balanced connections?

Whatabout room conditions? is there alot of curtains , carpets in your listening area ?

140W into 4Ohms is probably only 70W into 8 Ohms.

mugenfoo
post Jun 21 2009, 01:35 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

.. and XLO smile.gif

Added on June 21, 2009, 1:35 am
QUOTE(PcWork @ Jun 20 2009, 09:56 PM)
lol.. kena poison kao kao ah.. mini KLIAV.. PcWork Edition... lol..
serious poison from krell.. damn fast...
Thanks pals. lol.... the speed of krell is really not play play one. after that i use all earphone / headphone / NAD to drive my sonus.. sounds tasteless..
This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Jun 21 2009, 01:36 AM
mugenfoo
post Jun 21 2009, 03:48 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

hey Car_o_scope ... i just realised that your Exposure XX looks different from mine ... yours has a front plate that is bigger than the overall casing (the edges protrude out from the rest of the main casing) , where-as my Exposure XX the front metal plate is flush and exactly the same edge size as the rest of the casing.... weird !

Do you know if yours is mfg in what year ? what serial no. ?

mugenfoo
post Jun 21 2009, 10:13 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Jun 21 2009, 07:47 PM)
bro mugen....i'm using Audio Analogue Verdi
but my SFCD ia in the hall
maximum room disaster
huh? What do u mean by "maximum room disaster" ?

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0448sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:29 AM