QUOTE(runemastertan @ Dec 5 2009, 09:56 PM)
PcWork, thanks for your input. I got a little confuse....you said that 25w can get Toy Tower to a very loud volume, but you also says that everything will be kinda bad. 10 to 15watt is still lower than 25 watt, so it should be no clipping, or the symptom mention above. Or is it not? I got confuse here because. My previous amp is SS amp with 100watt output, and I usually turn the knob to around near 50%, that time my speakers is Aego T, a 86db. But now I am going for a tube amp, that amp uses EL34 and just output a 25wpc. I haven;t bought the amp yet, am going to buy if it;s ok. If it's not really recommended by sifu like you, then I might drop the idea.
PcWork, you have my gratitude and thanks. TarePanda, you too. Thanks
it's not kinda bad. but the speed , attack, and a lot of tiny tiny stuff might fade off through tube amp.
but again. since you are going it for easy listening. i think EL34 for Toy Tower could work.
and it shall be no problem in obtaining loud volume.
put it this way. Amp, does not only drive the speaker. but sometime it does control the driver too.
just as what i said earlier long time ago. that the speaker VS amp is like Car VS engine analogy.
driving a big speaker with lower amp, is as driving a car without brake.
it can all the way speed up (getting loud) but when the membrane needs to moves back in opposite direction the amp will have less the power to counter the momentum of the driver itself as it's wattage isn't that big.
for amp with proper control (bigger wattage for control), then the amp capable to pull back the driver to opposite direction as it can afford bigger load. that's the control i am talking about. however if you are not doing a direct side by side comparison, it shouldn't be a big problem.
this also explain why dynaudio bookshelve speaker require 300 watt minimum output. it doesn't mean that the speaker can blast as loud as 300 watt (probably ear already deaf); it is meaning that the speaker needs amp that can output 300-watt power to be able to control it so that the speaker have the correct speed / counter momentum
and it also explain why we buy big big amp, and yet still turning the volume control at 20-30% or / 50% .
Some one might curious : why don't we buy smaller amp? say we buy 500-Watt amp, yet we use 10% of volume control. isn't that meaning that we buy 50-Watt amp shall sound the same as 500-Watt at 10%? it doesn't. because some times it might need heavier load to push back the driver to the position it shall be. and even micro-seconds of the time will still effect the overall presentation of the music, that's what ppl call rhythm and pace.
QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Dec 6 2009, 12:53 AM)
I never go beyond 30% of the volume when I was having the 50 watt Audio Research VSi50 paired with SFCD... 25 watt tube amp is sufficient to move Toy...
If i am not mistaken. when i tested the TOY TOWER (not Toy monitor) the TOY TOWER need almost 50% power to obtain volume as loud as SFCD on solid state. (SFCD is 89db / 4ohm. while TOY tower is 89db / 8 ohm)
no doubt tube amp has higher loudness output. but as i said. it can be use. but don't expect too much from it. especially things like speed, punch, and micro refinement.
Editted : PS : of course, the audio research is totally another story. that audio research is infact pretty impressive to me, or i could even said i admire what an AR can do. if runemastertan is talking about an audio research amp to match a toy tower. i will say "go ahead, fast fast grab it. it won't make u regret".
lol
This post has been edited by PcWork: Dec 6 2009, 07:00 PM