Nutro
House of Westies, Owners of 'Small lions', share here.
Feb 1 2009, 02:25 PM
1,575 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Singapore, Chicago, Appleton WI, Bangkok, KL |
Nutro
Feb 4 2009, 10:50 AM
191 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Feb 1 2009, 02:25 PM) Snowball was already on Nutro when he suddenly disliked his food. The pet shop that I went to recommended Eagle Pack, and I read through this thread, I think some of you have also recommended that brand, so I opted for it.I bought lamb based, which is the same as Nutro, and Snowball seems to know it's the same flavour, he doesn't eat it immediately now, he'll starve himself until around 4pm then only will eat his first meal of the day. That's the best I can do for now, hopefully he'll know he has no other choice but to eat up the Eagle Pack This post has been edited by wzseow: Feb 4 2009, 10:51 AM |
Feb 4 2009, 01:53 PM
121 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Ampang, Selangor |
WZSEOW, i duno whether tis work for u or not but it works on my tweety. If u r ok wit it, u can giv it a try.
Set a time for him to eat like lets say around 7pm daily, and giv him 10-15mins time frame to c whether he eats or not. If he does not eat or finish his food, take the food away frm him and keep it at a place. Then try giving him the nex morning or so. If he still does not eat, keep it again and feed him later at nite. This is to let them knw that food aren't easy to get and aso they need to wait for their food and not the food alwaz waiting for them. I tried and learn this method from benjac and it works well on tweety. Previously tweety has the same case aso. |
Feb 6 2009, 01:12 AM
QUOTE(larryho @ Feb 4 2009, 01:53 PM) WZSEOW, i duno whether tis work for u or not but it works on my tweety. If u r ok wit it, u can giv it a try. Hi Larry,Set a time for him to eat like lets say around 7pm daily, and giv him 10-15mins time frame to c whether he eats or not. If he does not eat or finish his food, take the food away frm him and keep it at a place. Then try giving him the nex morning or so. If he still does not eat, keep it again and feed him later at nite. This is to let them knw that food aren't easy to get and aso they need to wait for their food and not the food alwaz waiting for them. I tried and learn this method from benjac and it works well on tweety. Previously tweety has the same case aso. Okay I will give it a try and see. I'll feed him earlier in the morning, if he doesn't take his meal, then I'll give him again in the afternoon. I weighed him last week, and poor doggy he's lost almost 300g since he has this problem. |
Feb 7 2009, 03:07 PM
121 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Ampang, Selangor |
Hmm....anyway dogs weight will go up n down 1 lar. If it keeps on goin up, u aso get worried. Try bringing him go out n walk more often lor so he's able to utilize his energy n hopefully able to rebalance his appetite.
Hopefully the method that i mention earlier works. If yes, muz thank benjac coz she taught me 1. |
Feb 8 2009, 10:26 PM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Another way that works for me is to mix water into the dog kibbles. Dog prefer it slightly soft than crunching kibbles each meal.
Feb 9 2009, 08:46 AM
1,575 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Singapore, Chicago, Appleton WI, Bangkok, KL |
Feb 9 2009, 11:27 AM
7 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: shah alam |
where to buy this cute lil living thing T^T'''
Feb 9 2009, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Feb 9 2009, 08:46 AM) Is it? Maybe all my dogs are bored of crunchy kibbles. They prefer it with water. Only by adding water, they will eat up quickly. Canned food works wel too. Otherwise, they will wait for least 30 - 60 min before they start to eat. |
Feb 10 2009, 01:09 PM
here is my experience with Sparky:
when we first got him, he would be picky about food and take his time to eat. sometimes won't touch the food, and then we removed it. then he gets hungry and vomits bile. then we tried leaving the food around and he would sometimes eat his breakfast at 3pm in the afternoon and then spoiling his dinner feeding time. we tried adding Ceasar to his dry kibbles which helped a bit but ocassionally he will still refuse to eat. it was not until we got Buffy (2nd dog in the house) which caused him to change his habit. he now waits to eat and rushes through his food. and my conclusion is that having the 2nd dog in the house created competition. if he ate slow, Buffy would finish first (she eats very fast) and then steal his food. and both eat dog kibbles right out of the box without any additional "ingredients" or water... This post has been edited by ihawk98: Feb 10 2009, 01:10 PM |
Feb 10 2009, 03:51 PM
I agree with ihawk98. The vet told me when we put Snowball for boarding during CNY, he has no eating problems whatsoever. It was probably because he saw many other dogs as competitors, so he quickly finishes up his meal. But when he comes home, Snowball feels there's no need to rush to eat his meal since he is the only dog around.
After almost a week eating Eagle Pack, Snowball has finally found his appetite back! He's rushing for his food now, just like what he was when he was okay with Nutro. I'll probably finish this Eagle Pack first, before changing back to Nutro, because his Nutro still has about 2kg. I do give Snowball Burp! every month, when we celebrate his monthly birthday |
Feb 11 2009, 01:52 PM
2,326 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Maltese Planet ^_^ |
Saw a westie lepaking some where around Bangsar. Unfortunately I was on my way to work, else I would have taken it back hehe.
Feb 11 2009, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Feb 10 2009, 01:09 PM) here is my experience with Sparky: Well, this is true as well because it happened with Casper too. when we first got him, he would be picky about food and take his time to eat. sometimes won't touch the food, and then we removed it. then he gets hungry and vomits bile. then we tried leaving the food around and he would sometimes eat his breakfast at 3pm in the afternoon and then spoiling his dinner feeding time. we tried adding Ceasar to his dry kibbles which helped a bit but ocassionally he will still refuse to eat. it was not until we got Buffy (2nd dog in the house) which caused him to change his habit. he now waits to eat and rushes through his food. and my conclusion is that having the 2nd dog in the house created competition. if he ate slow, Buffy would finish first (she eats very fast) and then steal his food. and both eat dog kibbles right out of the box without any additional "ingredients" or water... When he first came, he is King. When Moonie came, Moonie eats very roughly until her kibbles always spill out of the bowl and when she's done, she almost always finish first among my 3 dogs and then she will go to Casper's bowl and eat up. This happened for a while but eventually Casper knows he is challenged. I dont face these problems these days. I know that they eat their food at proper times, especially more so when I'm not looking. For example, in the morning when I am going for work, I will put their kibbles in the bowl and feed the 3 of them. If I sit down near them and put on my socks and shoes, they wont eat. Tell them eat up 100x also they wont touch. Go out, close the door and peek through the window, they eating. (Maybe because got nothing to do). QUOTE(wzseow @ Feb 10 2009, 03:51 PM) I agree with ihawk98. The vet told me when we put Snowball for boarding during CNY, he has no eating problems whatsoever. It was probably because he saw many other dogs as competitors, so he quickly finishes up his meal. But when he comes home, Snowball feels there's no need to rush to eat his meal since he is the only dog around. I think I will try Nutro / Eaglepack next time. Havent buy Eaglepack for a long time and never try Nutro before.After almost a week eating Eagle Pack, Snowball has finally found his appetite back! He's rushing for his food now, just like what he was when he was okay with Nutro. I'll probably finish this Eagle Pack first, before changing back to Nutro, because his Nutro still has about 2kg. I do give Snowball Burp! every month, when we celebrate his monthly birthday QUOTE(andyfriends @ Feb 11 2009, 01:52 PM) Saw a westie lepaking some where around Bangsar. Unfortunately I was on my way to work, else I would have taken it back hehe. A westie lepaking without its owner? Are you sure? The last time I show a Westie in Bangsar also very high quality wan wor. You should grab it, some are worth more than your work! You can just call in sick or ask for Emergency Leave. Hahahaha... |
Feb 11 2009, 09:49 PM
530 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 11 2009, 07:28 PM) Well, this is true as well because it happened with Casper too. Oii.. how come u so jahat de... teach ppl this way de.. When he first came, he is King. When Moonie came, Moonie eats very roughly until her kibbles always spill out of the bowl and when she's done, she almost always finish first among my 3 dogs and then she will go to Casper's bowl and eat up. This happened for a while but eventually Casper knows he is challenged. I dont face these problems these days. I know that they eat their food at proper times, especially more so when I'm not looking. For example, in the morning when I am going for work, I will put their kibbles in the bowl and feed the 3 of them. If I sit down near them and put on my socks and shoes, they wont eat. Tell them eat up 100x also they wont touch. Go out, close the door and peek through the window, they eating. (Maybe because got nothing to do). I think I will try Nutro / Eaglepack next time. Havent buy Eaglepack for a long time and never try Nutro before. A westie lepaking without its owner? Are you sure? The last time I show a Westie in Bangsar also very high quality wan wor. You should grab it, some are worth more than your work! You can just call in sick or ask for Emergency Leave. Hahahaha... Mbe it get lost jor.. and the owner crying loudly ler... This post has been edited by Doraemon11: Feb 11 2009, 10:07 PM |
Feb 12 2009, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Feb 11 2009, 09:49 PM) Oii.. how come u so jahat de... teach ppl this way de.. Finder's keepers. It can get lost means the owner sense of responsibility tarak kuat. Should be more careful ma.Mbe it get lost jor.. and the owner crying loudly ler... Anyway, when I get home, I will start training Casper to walk without leash outdoor. Hope it works! |
Feb 13 2009, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 11 2009, 07:28 PM) A westie lepaking without its owner? Are you sure? The last time I show a Westie in Bangsar also very high quality wan wor. You should grab it, some are worth more than your work! You can just call in sick or ask for Emergency Leave. Hahahaha... Aww, din know that westie is so cute. Omg I am in love. Guess he can be a company to my zhu zhu. Unfortunately I already have 2 dogs, cant have another anymore. Else it would be fun. Thumbs up for westie!!! |
Feb 13 2009, 03:41 PM
530 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 12 2009, 01:04 AM) Finder's keepers. It can get lost means the owner sense of responsibility tarak kuat. Should be more careful ma. Later ar, lari/cabut sampai bayang pun takda nampak er....hahahahaha Anyway, when I get home, I will start training Casper to walk without leash outdoor. Hope it works! |
Feb 16 2009, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 12 2009, 01:04 AM) Please share this with us if you managed to do so. My brother's labrador will act like a mad dog whenever he escapes from my house. It takes the whole family of mine ages to 'lure' him back. |
Feb 19 2009, 02:04 AM
I havent got the time to walk my dog without leash. Come back and see Marquis all tangled up, kasihan.
I ran out of Natural Balance. Today, I bought 3 packs of Nutro. One chicken for puppy. One chicken for adult. One lamb for adult. Hope they will like it. |
Feb 19 2009, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Feb 19 2009, 02:04 AM) I havent got the time to walk my dog without leash. Come back and see Marquis all tangled up, kasihan. How dido you distangle her? Mind sharing the tactic? Thanks.I ran out of Natural Balance. Today, I bought 3 packs of Nutro. One chicken for puppy. One chicken for adult. One lamb for adult. Hope they will like it. |
| Change to: | 0.0279sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:30 AM |