55 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

House of Westies, Owners of 'Small lions', share here.

ihawk98
post Jan 17 2009, 10:10 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Jan 17 2009, 12:34 AM)
Hi Ziramitchi,
That statement is not entirely true. I believe if you import your westie from other countries, they might suffer skin problems due to weather difference, like what ihawk and larryho's westie are experiencing.

People like myself and Pennywise do not have major skin problems with our westies. Mine is just a minor case of bacterial infection. So Westies are fine in Malaysia, just becareful of what you're feeding them, if i'm not mistaken westies are not suitable to consume chicken based food.

So where do you plan to get your westie from?
let me clarify. the westie that has alleged skin problems and suspected malassezia is NOT from overseas. it happens to be the one bought from Ipoh. my thailand westie has no skin problems whatsoever... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ihawk98: Jan 17 2009, 10:22 AM
wzseow
post Jan 17 2009, 06:22 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Jan 17 2009, 10:10 AM)
let me clarify.  the westie that has alleged skin problems and suspected malassezia is NOT from overseas.  it happens to be the one bought from Ipoh.  my thailand westie has no skin problems whatsoever... tongue.gif
sweat.gif Sorry ihawk98, I thought your westie was also imported from other country, hehe. Can you enlighten me then how did your westie encounter skin problems and malassezia? The vet told me malassezia may be suffered by dogs who can't adapt to weather changes.
Pennywise
post Jan 18 2009, 01:14 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Jan 15 2009, 10:11 PM)
Hamburg... cool!!
Wat u doing there? Traveling..?
I am working here. And so far, I've seen 3 westie - all of which has thicker fur than ours at home. I think it's due to the weather because at -2 celcius, if the coat is thin, sure mengigil until die lor.

QUOTE(Ziramitchi @ Jan 16 2009, 10:59 PM)
wzseow - poor lil snowball..

so does this means that westie are not suitable to be in m'sia ..? i waz just about planning to get 1 ..
A lot of dogs have double coat and all but that dont mean they are not suitable to live in the tropical countries such as ours. Their fur coat will change to adapt themselves.

QUOTE(Ziramitchi @ Jan 17 2009, 08:50 AM)
wzseow - oh thx for all the info ...erm ..still seeking around ..but found 1 bout rm1.3k from my frend ..but still like the westie of Irene Kang  ( super model westie ) my friend also told me that Ikano PetShop have 1.but quite expensive ..or is there any idea where i can look out for those westie around pj area ?
If it's Ikano, I think I can help you get a discount. Marquis is from there. Marquis is my 3rd westie.

QUOTE(wzseow @ Jan 17 2009, 06:22 PM)
sweat.gif  Sorry ihawk98, I thought your westie was also imported from other country, hehe. Can you enlighten me then how did your westie encounter skin problems and malassezia? The vet told me malassezia may be suffered by dogs who can't adapt to weather changes.
Sparky is from Thailand but Buffy is from one of the pet shop in PJ, not sure her origin though. However, I would like to say that I dont think it's easy to be contracted ith malssezia and i dont think it's a common condition here.
Ziramitchi
post Jan 18 2009, 03:25 AM

109 posts

well penny thx ...shall ask u if i am getting it from there..i need to learnt the basic way of taking care a westie.=D alot more to learnt b4 taking care of it

Doraemon11
post Jan 18 2009, 11:54 AM

530 posts

Ya Ziramitchi .. nice to heard u to put so much efford before u get 1, Sound a responsible owner ya thumbup.gif
Dnt worry, here u can get alot expert to help u out.... dnt mistaken, not me... i refering to penny, ihawk, larryho...... tongue.gif

Snowy had grow up alot jor... become a pretty girl wub.gif
yesterday bring her to full grooming with westie cut... now she look a real westie rclxms.gif
And oso had get here a pretty CNY dress too.....Yeah

This post has been edited by Doraemon11: Jan 18 2009, 11:57 AM
Ziramitchi
post Jan 18 2009, 02:00 PM

109 posts

hehehe ..thx guys...
TSlarryho
post Jan 19 2009, 12:03 PM

121 posts

Hi Ziramitchi,

Actually the cause of skin probs in westies is due to the genetic as well. But in most cases, westies in nature has this atopic and malasezia skin infection. So its very important to take note of that b4 getting a westie, u muz identify whether the pup parents are suffering frm any of this infection or not.

But if its in a hot climate like here in m'sia, the infection will burst out even easily than in those cold country because in cold countries, they built up a fat beneath their skin and its also a use to control the infection which is called the fatty acids. In some kibbles, u can c fatty acids is included in the food, and this fatty acids is also use to promote better skin coat.

I hope tis might help u abit Ziramitchi. Anyway, westies are great pets to hav...but u juz hav to give alot of patient to them and it will workout to be a perfect dog for u. I guess all the owners here will agree with me.

Added on January 19, 2009, 12:07 pm
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jan 18 2009, 01:14 AM)
I am working here. And so far, I've seen 3 westie - all of which has thicker fur than ours at home. I think it's due to the weather because at -2 celcius, if the coat is thin, sure mengigil until die lor.
A lot of dogs have double coat and all but that dont mean they are not suitable to live in the tropical countries such as ours. Their fur coat will change to adapt themselves.
If it's Ikano, I think I can help you get a discount. Marquis is from there. Marquis is my 3rd westie.
Sparky is from Thailand but Buffy is from one of the pet shop in PJ, not sure her origin though. However, I would like to say that I dont think it's easy to be contracted ith malssezia and i dont think it's a common condition here.
Penny..where r those pictures...waiting ler. drool.gif

This post has been edited by larryho: Jan 19 2009, 12:07 PM
Ziramitchi
post Jan 19 2009, 08:16 PM

109 posts

larryho - hmm all rite..thx bro for tipping me b4 i get my westie...
Pennywise
post Jan 20 2009, 02:32 AM

5,796 posts

Here are two pictures I manage to take. Others still in my camera. Quite nice I think. I didnt have so much chance to snap their photos, scared kena whack.

Ziramitchi
post Jan 20 2009, 09:05 AM

109 posts

what do u means .kena whacked ?

ihawk98
post Jan 20 2009, 09:48 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

fantastic pics pennywise...
TSlarryho
post Jan 20 2009, 10:19 AM

121 posts

Nice pic pennywise...they look damn macho lar. So hows work over there?
Pennywise
post Jan 21 2009, 06:57 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Ziramitchi @ Jan 20 2009, 09:05 AM)
what do u means .kena whacked ?
I took their picture without permission one and I dont know how to speak German, so I dunn to ask permission nicely. So it's better not to kacau ppl's evening walk. Kena whack = kena belasah. It is as it means.

QUOTE(ihawk98 @ Jan 20 2009, 09:48 AM)
fantastic pics pennywise...
I just noticed their westies are more brown / grey than white and their fur coat is thicker because of the weather. I did read somewhere that the fur coat changes following the environment. Maybe thats why westie in Msia dont have the thick coat they have in Europe. I think it plays a part but I can be wrong.

QUOTE(larryho @ Jan 20 2009, 10:19 AM)
Nice pic pennywise...they look damn macho lar. So hows work over there?
Yea, they look damn nice a bit dirty dirty like that. Gaya... work is ok. Thanks for asking.
Ziramitchi
post Jan 22 2009, 11:35 PM

109 posts

penny - lol ..i guess they wont mind ..=D .

today i saw westie over in ikano selling bout 2xxx ..issit ok ? anyone saw it from there b4?

This post has been edited by Ziramitchi: Jan 22 2009, 11:35 PM
itsClois
post Jan 23 2009, 01:34 AM

164 posts

ya, near 3k, 1 sold adi i think

i dont know about westie price but of course, getting from breeder would be cheaper
Pennywise
post Jan 23 2009, 02:59 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Ziramitchi @ Jan 22 2009, 11:35 PM)
penny - lol ..i guess they wont mind ..=D .

today i saw westie over in ikano selling bout 2xxx ..issit ok ? anyone saw it from there b4?
Westie price in Klang Valley is about RM2k++. But it also depends on what you're paying for. I havent been to Ikano lately so I wouldnt know what it looks like. Did it had a thick furcoat or thin, judging from what you see...?

QUOTE(itsClois @ Jan 23 2009, 01:34 AM)
ya, near 3k, 1 sold adi i think

i dont know about westie price but of course, getting from breeder would be cheaper
That's provided you know the breeder and just so happen, I do know someone in Ikano.
Ziramitchi
post Jan 24 2009, 12:11 PM

109 posts

penny - hmm i tink should be thick cant really see coz he is sleeping at the corner

Pennywise
post Jan 24 2009, 10:20 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Ziramitchi @ Jan 24 2009, 12:11 PM)
penny - hmm i tink should be thick cant really see coz he is sleeping at the corner
I think you can ask the girl to bring it out for you to touch. I am sure she will help. Otherwise, just ask her to wake it up and see it's face.
wzseow
post Jan 30 2009, 12:46 AM

191 posts

Happy Chinese New Year!

My little Snowball is experiencing eating problem. He doesn't like his Nutro kibbles anymore. I feed him 2 times a day, and he's not even touching the kibbles at all, even for the whole day. I had to ask for a sample pack of Science Plan, and he's loving it to bits! Is it because Snowball is bored of his food? Do I need to change food for the mean time? If so, what brand would you recommend?

Please advise. Thanks =)
Pennywise
post Jan 31 2009, 09:11 PM

5,796 posts

My favorite brands are - Evanger, Natural Balance or Back to Basics.

55 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:27 PM