131 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Travel Singapore, Q&A & Driving into Singapore - on Pg1

bbmars
post Aug 30 2008, 11:46 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Aug 29 2008, 11:55 PM)
Any good hotel recommendation ideal for family, clean & affordable (btw 200-300) near Chinatown's People Park, Bugis Street or Orchard Street? And very near MRT ones
Hotel 81 in Chinatown, nearby Chinatown MRT, there some budget style hotel along Keong Siak street, like Peacock hote, some backpackers hostel are around there too. Sory don't have the site for you. Bugis? maybe near beach road, check yahoo.com.sg and search only for SG hotel. You will find some of them on those sites. I saw them before.
navilink
post Aug 30 2008, 09:00 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

i just booked The Hive Backpacker Hostel...i hope its a good hostel...looks like its about 2.5km from Orchard Road sad.gif
D-Tourist
post Aug 31 2008, 02:46 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Aug 30 2008, 09:00 PM)
i just booked The Hive Backpacker Hostel...i hope its a good hostel...looks like its about 2.5km from Orchard Road sad.gif
Any other choices apart from hostels, coz i'm going wif family and would prefer hotel type facilities.
navilink
post Aug 31 2008, 11:36 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Aug 31 2008, 02:46 AM)
Any other choices apart from hostels, coz i'm going wif family and would prefer hotel type facilities.

u wan hotel then will be a lot expensive lor! u can try Sleepy Sam...they call it Luxurious Hostel...2nd best hostel in asia...but its really a lot of booking...
SiLVeRClIdGe
post Sep 3 2008, 02:17 PM

43 posts

Hi, would like to enquire...
Those hostel, do they have private bathroom? Any recommendations?
rourou
post Sep 3 2008, 09:29 PM

Ho~ Ho~ Ho~
975 posts

i'll say hotels at geylang are the cheapest if you don't mind the idea of staying at a "red" light district smile.gif smile.gif

it's something like our chow kit but much safer smile.gif (lots of pretty gals around haha)
mushkins
post Sep 3 2008, 11:47 PM

41 posts

hotel 81 ORCHID in geylang

simple room, clean enough & really cheap.

stayed there a few times, very convenient to get cabs, about 5-10 mins walk to MRT station.

and around that area got good food also. the dim sum is awesome. smile.gif
babysept
post Sep 7 2008, 03:37 AM

162 posts

The Hive Backpacker Hostel is good .. rooms are pretty clean, and its near to the MRT, but its the north east line .. walk less den 10 mins .. Its jus across the field from the hostel ..

jus came bak from there 3 weeks ago.. pretty cheap too biggrin.gif
navilink
post Sep 9 2008, 08:06 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(babysept @ Sep 7 2008, 03:37 AM)
The Hive Backpacker Hostel is good .. rooms are pretty clean, and its near to the MRT, but its the north east line .. walk less den 10 mins .. Its jus across the field from the hostel ..

jus came bak from there 3 weeks ago.. pretty cheap too biggrin.gif

great news babysept! i'm booking The Hive also...but what's with the North East Line? very far from the city center?
babysept
post Sep 9 2008, 11:55 PM

162 posts

not really far.. if takin cab to bugis and there's no jam, can reach in less den 10 mins ..

Bus stations are jus opposite and beside the hotel .. quite convenient ..

For me, goin orchard, i'll take the MRT, and change to the red line at dhoby ghaut station .. not sure if there are buses ..
karwaidotnet
post Sep 16 2008, 09:49 PM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

hi, im planning to go to singapore this coming thursday by myself. any recommended hotel? budget around RM200 and below. hopefully can get 3-stars hotel?
karwaidotnet
post Sep 16 2008, 09:59 PM

come near me and i'll bam bam U...
1,353 posts

May i reopen this thread as i'll be going to singapore this thursday for 2 days 1 night as well.

was wondering as a stranger to this country, how do u expect to wander around all those suggested places?
babybolster
post Sep 17 2008, 10:55 PM

400 posts

haha, why dont u guys go to Toy Musuem. At nite go east coast park for BBQ.
blasto
post Sep 17 2008, 11:31 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(amsleeping @ Aug 29 2008, 07:17 AM)
im going tonite biggrin.gif
enjoy yourself there, i have not been to singapore since the Matallica concert in 91' then my friend weeding in around 2005.
I forgot they have to use international red passport, so i was bumped in JB coz holding blue passport. blush.gif
It was 1600hrs. I got a concert to catch at 2000hrs.
So i went to immigration, they got my urgent passport fixed in 30minit. Freeking pay RM 300.00 ..
It was hell of a experience watching Santana Live feb 18 2008.... rclxms.gif

i always travel using Train KTM, its long journey, it worth it for me. relax & see all greens every where.. nod.gif
fuzagi
post Sep 21 2008, 01:40 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

im going next month yall! any promotions for malaysian next month? going for 3days3nites shop n eat all out.
suns8630
post Sep 21 2008, 02:17 AM

1,122 posts

QUOTE(amsleeping @ Aug 26 2008, 08:21 PM)
Hello... Im from Selangor, planning a short trip to singapore to explore new stuff (didnt visit the area for 10+ years di... when i was 10 y/o?... i only rmb takashimaya and sentosa island)
Due to time constraints and budget, i can only stretch it t only 2 days in Singapore. I plan to sleep on the buses lol.

So due to this time limit, i hope to visit at least most of the interesting places of Singapore. well, not shopping malls, since got so many in KL as well, unless its has marvellous architecture or is a national landmark. I will not be able to goto singapore again, after this trip, until a few years later as I will be working overseas.

thus, please shout out any places that one should visit when in Singapore. Beautiful architecture, the national lepak place, Fun activities, Nightlife and good food!
Also... what is the cheapest way to travel there? a return using Firstcoach is rm115. anything cheaper than this? (bus reaching singapore early morning preferred, if any)

thanks all! appreciate it alot
hey .. this sounds more like 'Living in hell" or torturing trips going down under==

it is sure Not wise to do such a itinerary ... for the $$$ spend .. better off ..surf it at website to know all this places...

the motto of a traveller : You Save to travel .. and Not travel to save ....

if you plan it right .. you can always travel on a 'shoestring Budget" and spend your $$ over one more day in SIN

c0ok1e
post Sep 24 2008, 09:44 PM

247 posts

ill be going over there for training for over a month.. but reading threads about singapore it sounds so boring... science park?? bird park?? eye of singapore?? what the hell!??!!
Klesk
post Oct 8 2008, 09:34 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ May 20 2008, 08:59 AM)
Try "Hangout @ Mt Emily", located near Little India MRT.

http://www.hangouthotels.com/
how is the hotel? issit some sort of like a hostel type? and how big are the rooms? if by foot how long does it to reach the hotel from little india MRT station?
heterosapiens
post Oct 10 2008, 06:48 AM

--capoeira--
1,379 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ Oct 8 2008, 09:34 PM)
how is the hotel? issit some sort of like a hostel type? and how big are the rooms? if by foot how long does it to reach the hotel from little india MRT station?
Stayed there last time. I really like the hotel.

It does have both, personal room and shared room. I stayed in a shared room, which has 5 single beds (my friend stayed in a 10 beds dormitory). The room size are comfortable, but I believe for shared room the whole idea at hangout is not to stay in your room, their facilities to hangout are top notch and most of them are free for use. Walking distance to Little India MRT station is around 10-15 minutes around <1KM.

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=1.3030014&lon=10...=17&l=0&m=a&v=2

The beds.

The bathroom.

The view.

The free broadband wifi.

The pool table. Coin operated.

The TV.

The awesome Japanese-made vending machine.

Although it might not be that near to any MRT station compared to other hotels/places. But I'll definitely choose to stay there again if I'm traveling to SG.

bartbarb
post Oct 22 2008, 10:40 AM

393 posts

Hi Guys,

Would like to know, compare with The Hive & Nsshotel, which one is nearer to suntec ?
Also which one is more recommend ya ? since im intended to get a double/twin room

131 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:48 PM