Travel Singapore, Q&A & Driving into Singapore - on Pg1

b00n
post Dec 9 2008, 02:02 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

If I'm not wrong, the MRT from Changi is already in operation.

Yes, I'm correct:
http://www.visitsingapore.com/publish/stbp...tation/mrt.html

Btw, usually couple of stations in the surrounding of Orchard would be closed.
So you'll probably need to walk even if you took MRT.
You can go to the MRT station in Changi itself after you touched down to inquire about it as during Christmas countdown, they usually would prolong the MRT service.

This post has been edited by b00n: Dec 9 2008, 02:04 PM
kevler
post Dec 9 2008, 02:14 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

MRT should be fine ...i went to S'pore and the scenary is not different than our KL wink.gif

MRT will take 1 dolar as their deposit and u able to claim it via their machine
skincladalien
post Dec 9 2008, 02:37 PM

Densha Otaku
1,914 posts

changi to orchard u need about 1hour cuz u need to change train twice. so if u want fast better take teksi.

and dont worry teksi there wont chop ppl one. a trip from changi to orchard probly cost u less than SGD20
Cloudx
post Dec 9 2008, 03:37 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

Thanks for the fast reply smile.gif

1 more question.. will there be any road closure at orchard road incase i decided to take taxi there.
kevler
post Dec 9 2008, 03:49 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Dec 9 2008, 03:37 PM)
Thanks for the fast reply smile.gif

1 more question.. will there be any road closure at orchard road incase i decided to take taxi there.
alot of taxis waiting for his customer ...just wait at the taxi stand .. they will serve u
Cloudx
post Dec 9 2008, 05:27 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Dec 9 2008, 03:49 PM)
alot of taxis waiting for his customer ...just wait at the taxi stand .. they will serve u
Thanks i mean.. will there be any road closure heading to orchard road? due to the christmas countdown?
b00n
post Dec 9 2008, 05:53 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Dec 9 2008, 05:27 PM)
Thanks i mean.. will there be any road closure heading to orchard road? due to the christmas countdown?

Probably yes. Usually the whole stretch of orchard.
But if that's the case, the cab driver would know and would let you down somewhere.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 9 2008, 06:12 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

dont worry, just take cab. if there's road closure, the cab will know the way.
Eisenmeteor
post Dec 11 2008, 10:21 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Any nice hostels to recommend? Already stayed at Inncrowd b4 but want to try other hostels..Any ideas? Thx..
bbmars
post Dec 12 2008, 12:12 AM

545 posts

just came back from KL yesterday. as far as shopping is concern, very much depends on what you are looking for. However, this time round, I think SG would be slightly better, I didn't really buy much in KL as compared to last year. I would say it was much better then. There are more promotional sales than KL this time round. Its not that there are MORE, jsut that I felt many shops in KL aren't really offering much this time round as compared to SG. There is also another point as noted and reported in business time SG, shops are generally banging on this Xmas sales to clear stock to reduce overhead and storage for the coming year as the recession looms... that's also another reason why people here are still spending as reported. I don't really feel many are reducing their spending although going overseas for trips as reported had been cut to nearer home instead of further away.

Body shop, crab tree I noticed, having promotional offer this week, till when I don't know. but hardly see any in KL when I was there. after conversion, I think it cheaper with the sales... not forgetting people here do get BD discounts during their BD month. Like 2 weeks ago, I bought Bossini T-shirts at 40% discounts, usual is 30% currently offering in the shops in KL for things like Mr Men. But we had already had big sales in Late Nov and the price was much cheaper during Robinson 3 days sales where you get discount on top of discount..

Even Hang Ten sales, quite close to SG price. saw Times Sq shop selling RM25, SG selling... there's a catch, buy 3 for $30 (slightly cheaper than KL, but need to buy 3). Last year, Hang Ten/Bossini/Hush Puppy was slightly higher than SG. just an example, hope you make your own judgement.

To be frank, most big sales are already over now (mainly held at SG Expo in late Nov), so bargain for now is lesser, but there might still the the surprises of last minute reduction sales, not forgetting post Xmas sales after 25 Dec. Beware, some major shops are closed on 25 Dec.. There used to be major clearance sales after Xmas up to 70% for Xmas items brought in for the period. However, such sales are getting rare as many already learn the trick to getting better sales volume then to slashed their discounts to 70% during post Xmas sales.

Oh yes, I had mentioned here before in another thread, go look or ask around for the FREE open top bus Xmas tour for tourists only along Orchard Rd. You need ID for verification. Its on till end of Dec, but not available on 25 Dec. Its only starts at around 8pm - 10.30pm, every 15 minute 1 tour and tour duration is 30 min. I believe you can find the information at Changi airport

This post has been edited by bbmars: Dec 12 2008, 12:22 AM
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 12 2008, 02:24 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

sei lor... this weekend got some zouk event in sentosa... big problem.. i want to go sentosa but i dont wanna go that zouk thingie,.. haih
alwinc
post Dec 16 2008, 03:24 PM

786 posts

hello guys, any must visit places in singapore?
please recommend..
bonzaimy
post Dec 16 2008, 03:30 PM

1,009 posts

zouk
alwinc
post Dec 16 2008, 03:33 PM

786 posts

which are suitable for underages and adults wink.gif
raist86
post Dec 18 2008, 01:13 AM

1,577 posts

hie guys, planning a trip to singapore within this few weeks. Going for a 3d2n trip. Any place to stay which is cheap? Not gonna be spending much time in room anyway so no point paying high price for accomodations.
wiNd
post Dec 18 2008, 01:52 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Dec 18 2008, 01:13 AM)
hie guys, planning a trip to singapore within this few weeks. Going for a 3d2n trip. Any place to stay which is cheap? Not gonna be spending much time in room anyway so no point paying high price for accomodations.
http://www.google.com.sg/search?hl=en&q=ba...singapore&meta=
Chrisky
post Dec 21 2008, 10:47 AM

Romanista
4,567 posts

this year Orchard deco for xmas is kinda not as good as past few years.

Cloudx
post Dec 29 2008, 01:13 AM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
1,521 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Dec 18 2008, 01:13 AM)
Hie.. i just got back from my wonderful trip to SG 2days ago.. for accomation i would highly suggest u go for this http://www.thehivebackpackers.com/ its a HOSTEL not Hotel..but with air-cond room and breakfast included plus only $45 pernight i dont see any other place offers better than this.. besides its located just beside the Boon Keng MRT Station which u can take to go to Orchard or Marina Bay thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 29 2008, 12:41 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

go tanjung pagar to a pub name F1... u will never regret ^^
darthbaboon
post Jan 6 2009, 12:40 PM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

Hi there,

Anyone has any experiences with Tour Operators out of Singapore? Any good ones that you can recommend?

Cheers!

131 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:32 PM