Actuarial Science, Is the job market wide?

TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 02:41 AM, updated 18y ago

1,091 posts

I checked and found out that qualified actuarian in malaysia is actually less than 80. Is this course very very very hard to study and is the job opportunity wide? Those studying this or have informations on this, welcome to drop your comments.
Testify
post May 17 2008, 02:50 AM

147 posts

This subject is actually very tough and you gotta be very good in maths. Currently im doing it and it requires a lot of practice, if you are those kind of person who can actually sit tight on the chair for few hours just to solve few maths equation. well you're qualified for that. other than that you need to be talented too, few of my friends decided to drop the subject because they cant cope up with the workloads.
TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 02:52 AM

1,091 posts

Bro, where are you studying? I'm a maths craze.......
Testify
post May 17 2008, 02:53 AM

147 posts

currently doing ADP, waiting to transfer to US
kyoong
post May 17 2008, 10:01 AM

47 posts

ahhhh.. i'm going to study actuarial science too. n i hope i wont giv up in the middle of the course

anyone can share their exam experience here? how much does one paper costs?? nid to take total how many paper?
purplish
post May 17 2008, 11:06 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(kyoong @ May 17 2008, 10:01 AM)
ahhhh.. i'm going to study actuarial science too. n i hope i wont giv up in the middle of the course 

anyone can share their exam experience here? how much does one paper costs?? nid to take total how many paper?
If i am nt mistaken, there are 18 professional exams. (pls correct me if i am wrong)
serena_lee
post May 17 2008, 12:01 PM

251 posts

alright if 18...then..is there any requirement to take the first exam?..
wayne322
post May 17 2008, 01:11 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 17 2008, 02:41 AM)
I checked and found out that qualified actuarian in malaysia is actually less than 80. Is this course very very very hard to study and is the job opportunity wide? Those studying this or have informations on this, welcome to drop your comments.
Ya,this sub really hard to study,and ur maths level is at least maths T of stpm.
Octavios
post May 17 2008, 01:15 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(wayne322 @ May 17 2008, 01:11 PM)
Ya,this sub really hard to study,and ur maths level is at least maths T of stpm.
Mathematics T is paper one or two?I don't really know it.
serena_lee
post May 17 2008, 01:21 PM

251 posts

maths T has two papers..paper 1 and 2..paper 2 has statistical-related questions..
schizophrenic
post May 17 2008, 01:25 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(serena_lee @ May 17 2008, 01:21 PM)
maths T has two papers..paper 1 and 2..paper 2 has statistical-related questions..
not maths L?
T = tulen or?
to me L = lanjutan
ellimist
post May 17 2008, 01:27 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

From what I've heard:-

1. There're 2 qualifications,namely degree and professional.The tough one ppl rave about is the professional qualification. The degree is supposedly easier,catered to the mass,and not that big a deal.

2.Job opportunities are supposedly low at the moment. (by this I'm referrin to course related jobs which supposedly pay zomgbbqcrazyhighsalary tongue.gif) For example,the only defined benefit scheme for post employment benefit is that of the government's. All other companies use contributary schemes,which don't involve actuaries.

This post has been edited by ellimist: May 17 2008, 01:29 PM
TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 01:33 PM

1,091 posts

So, this is a tough but not so demanded job?
destroyer
post May 17 2008, 01:38 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

my teacher got degree in actuarial science. now become math teacher...
kyoong
post May 17 2008, 02:32 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ May 17 2008, 01:38 PM)
my teacher got degree in actuarial science. now become math teacher...
it'll be my nightmare if i end up becoming a math teacher cry.gif
Octavios
post May 17 2008, 02:42 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(serena_lee @ May 17 2008, 01:21 PM)
Then why they call it mathematics S n T?
schizophrenic
post May 17 2008, 09:26 PM

1,645 posts

Anyway it is matematik lanjutan
the one that is recommended for those intended to pursue actuarial sci
wink.gif
as opposed to S and T
TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 09:51 PM

1,091 posts

Is it called Further Mathematics T? I didn't take it in STPM. But in Uni sure gonna learn rite?
schizophrenic
post May 17 2008, 09:55 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 17 2008, 09:51 PM)
Is it called Further Mathematics T? I didn't take it in STPM. But in Uni sure gonna learn rite?
Maths T is Maths T
Maths L is Maths L

Maths T = Tulen = pure maths = taken by sci stream students
Maths L = Lanjutan = Further maths = taken as an additional subject and it is more advanced than Maths T
work_tgr
post May 17 2008, 10:00 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

As what I know, some of my friends who were studying in Actuarial Science, now work as IT programmers. They said, to become qualified, one must sit in many exam papers and the fee is something around RM ... 5 digits laugh.gif
TSysh_kobe
post May 17 2008, 10:01 PM

1,091 posts

Wow....... but 1 question guys. After become qualified, will it be hard to get a connected and concerned job=job in this field?
destroyer
post May 17 2008, 10:06 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

in malaysia, it is wise to finish at least 4 pro paper before grad to secure job.
work_tgr
post May 17 2008, 10:20 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

Just my opinion, I think this kind of job opportunity in Malaysia is still very limited ... I remembered (if not mistaken ) ... share companies ( saham )
serena_lee
post May 17 2008, 10:40 PM

251 posts

sigh...limited and so hard to study..who dares to go into this field then?
work_tgr
post May 17 2008, 11:01 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(serena_lee @ May 17 2008, 10:40 PM)
sigh...limited and so hard to study..who dares to go into this field then?
Ya. think first. If you have background like relatives, parents, family members who are involving in this field or you are very talented in Maths and hardworking, you may give it a try. smile.gif
kanzakicyn
post May 18 2008, 12:49 AM

449 posts

extra extra extra hard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the course is hard enough, but the USA papers are WORST. really cham de one

p/s: i doing AS in utar, after 1st sem, 50 out of 200 drop out, then another 70 more drop out after 2nd sem, left 80. Now if i am not mistaken more than 30 drop out again, so.........this is oni year 1 btw
jerk
post May 18 2008, 01:28 AM

1,039 posts

not surprising to hear that. a lot are going into AS for the high salary ppl are talking about it without realising how tough it is.
unknowndevices
post May 18 2008, 01:37 AM

***StaRs oF NakamA uP***
2,915 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 18 2008, 12:49 AM)

p/s: i doing AS in utar, after 1st sem, 50 out of 200 drop out, then another 70 more drop out after 2nd sem, left 80. Now if i am not mistaken more than 30 drop out again, so.........this is oni year 1 btw
erksss...within a year range...already many dropouts... shocking.gif
most of the dropouts went for what then? blush.gif

QUOTE(jerk @ May 18 2008, 01:28 AM)
not surprising to hear that. a lot are going into AS for the high salary ppl are talking about it without realising how tough it is.
no pain no gain... sweat.gif
how long does it takes to complete all the courses?... hmm.gif
TSysh_kobe
post May 18 2008, 11:06 AM

1,091 posts

I think i can handle it. I have the desire and love for maths and i like challenges... However, is UTAR the only choice here? Singapore got any?
kyoong
post May 18 2008, 12:43 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 18 2008, 12:49 AM)

U makes me feel so scared shocking.gif
Flybaby~
post May 18 2008, 01:08 PM

153 posts

for singapore, nus have a joint degree wit anu(australia).. if i'm not wrong its a double degree..u can google it up..
kyoong
post May 18 2008, 06:41 PM

47 posts

i heard ppl say tat we need to study on ourselves in order to sit for those professional paper since lecturer aren't going to teach us some parts, is it true??

whr can i get those acturial science books? and how much does a book cost normally?
work_tgr
post May 18 2008, 09:33 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(kyoong @ May 18 2008, 06:41 PM)
... and how much does a book cost normally?

Be ready with RM10k for all papers... must pass every paper. nod.gif

adeas
post May 18 2008, 10:06 PM

460 posts

my friend taking this course at uk a now 'sangkut'..cont at local uni
is it really hard?
work_tgr
post May 18 2008, 10:43 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(adeas @ May 18 2008, 10:06 PM)
my friend taking this course at uk a now 'sangkut'..cont at local uni
is it really hard?
I think .. hard or not hard ... it's definitely depending on oneself. But, you must be very/ extraordinarily good in Maths.
TSysh_kobe
post May 19 2008, 12:26 AM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ May 18 2008, 10:33 PM)
Be ready with RM10k for all papers...  must pass every paper.  nod.gif
RM10k for each single paper or RM10k for all the papers? I 1na be sure, btw, those are professional papers rite? Means only hold maybe once or twice in a year?
work_tgr
post May 19 2008, 07:30 AM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 19 2008, 12:26 AM)
RM10k for each single paper or RM10k for all the papers? I 1na be sure, btw, those are professional papers rite? Means only hold maybe once or twice in a year?
for all papers cost > RM10k...

the first paper will start with something around RM2k and get more expensive. Together about 9 paper ( not sure ... ). Imagine, 1 year for 1 paper ... you have to study> 9 years to become professional. Many students can pass the first 3 papers. But, you must complete all papers to be recognized as professional.

But, of coarse smart/ clever one can finish it by half time period ... ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by work_tgr: May 19 2008, 08:47 AM
serena_lee
post May 19 2008, 11:58 AM

251 posts

wa...per paper rm2k..so expensive that is...lol..looks like this is not only real hard but also real expensive..so..we can take it after having degree in any discipline rite?
Flybaby~
post May 19 2008, 01:32 PM

153 posts

normally u take the papers while u are working. companies normally sponsor the test. some even sponsor u to do masters. provided u have the potential to do well.
TSysh_kobe
post May 19 2008, 02:16 PM

1,091 posts

How ab the materials? hard to get? Expensive?
Flybaby~
post May 19 2008, 02:23 PM

153 posts

= =.. i think u should just focus on whether are u interested to study actuarial 1st...the materials and things lik that are not important as u can get them from ur seniors or universities bookshop... there's alot of actuary forum which can inform u about them later on
work_tgr
post May 19 2008, 02:38 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(Flybaby~ @ May 19 2008, 01:32 PM)
... provided u have the potential to do well.

ya ... if can not do well in Maths calculations, better stop think about it.

TSysh_kobe
post May 20 2008, 02:10 AM

1,091 posts

I'm pretty good at maths but dunno still at my best onot, at my best, my teacher allowed me to skip class and helped her with her chores........
kanzakicyn
post May 20 2008, 09:03 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ May 18 2008, 01:37 AM)
erksss...within a year range...already many dropouts... shocking.gif
most of the dropouts went for what then? blush.gif

management, biz admin, mass comm etc

Added on May 20, 2008, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 20 2008, 02:10 AM)
I'm pretty good at maths but dunno still at my best onot, at my best, my teacher allowed me to skip class and helped her with her chores........
being good in maths is only halfway thru, u must LIKE maths too

Added on May 20, 2008, 9:05 pm
QUOTE(work_tgr @ May 19 2008, 07:30 AM)
for all papers cost > RM10k...

the first paper will start with something around RM2k and get more expensive. Together about 9 paper ( not sure ... ). Imagine, 1 year for 1 paper ... you have to study> 9 years to become professional. Many students can pass the first 3 papers. But, you must complete all papers to be recognized as professional.

But, of coarse smart/ clever one can finish it by half time period ...  ohmy.gif
got so expensive meh? i oni pay USD300, material, i photocopy fren 1 XD it cost around USD75

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: May 20 2008, 09:05 PM
TSysh_kobe
post May 20 2008, 11:11 PM

1,091 posts

USD 300? I tot you are in UTAR???? I love maths. Love the challenge in the solving process. Once i mastered it, i got bored.....
jerk
post May 21 2008, 12:19 AM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 20 2008, 11:11 PM)
USD 300? I tot you are in UTAR???? I love maths. Love the challenge in the solving process. Once i mastered it, i got bored.....
good for you. i never like maths. not that i am against it. i dislike the process of solving maths.maybe we should exchange quater of our brain, so you dont get bored easily and i like the process more.
kyoong
post May 21 2008, 06:08 PM

47 posts

we nid alot of reference books for AS?? i scared no money to buy them all.. haha.
work_tgr
post May 21 2008, 10:41 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 20 2008, 09:03 PM)
got so expensive meh? i oni pay USD300, material, i photocopy fren 1 XD it cost around USD75

Oppss... actually, I'm not that sure about the fee. But, I heard it from friend is something like that lah. mayb I am wrong.

Btw, which paper are you now ?
kanzakicyn
post May 21 2008, 10:47 PM

449 posts

i going to take the p1 exam. My fren ass 3 edi lor >_<

ysh_kobe : USD300 and utar got what connection ah?

jerk : liking maths? no la, i hates maths, i always get bad result for maths, and add maths, but my parents push me in this field, so have to lo. Die also have to lor. But i am a person who like event managing and fashion design, so..........dun really have much choice. Gotta try and try and try try again lo.
work_tgr
post May 21 2008, 11:03 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 21 2008, 10:47 PM)
.... no la, i hates maths, i always get bad result for maths, and add maths, but my parents push me in this field, so have to lo. Die also have to lor. But i am a person who like event managing and fashion design, so..........dun really have much choice. Gotta try and try and try try again lo.
Awesome.. you are really dare to take the challenge. rclxms.gif flex.gif Good luck.
But, I think you better consider it now. Next time, you are going to join in this field (not your parent), you already have a proper planning ? May b if your parents had set up the plan for you, that's different story.
shimy
post May 22 2008, 12:00 AM

381 posts

actually i m planning 2 study acturial science as well
but still worrying dat dis course is too hard ...
duno whether i can take it or not ...
kanzakicyn
post May 23 2008, 03:23 PM

449 posts

Awesome.. you are really dare to take the challenge.  Good luck.
But, I think you better consider it now. Next time, you are going to join in this field (not your parent), you already have a proper planning ? May b if your parents had set up the plan for you, that's different story.

i was not doing well, then i researched i found out that tarc offer fashion designing course, but my mum say "NO" without question. Hence i just gotta stick with it.

no, parents have no plan 4 me. I dun really und ur statement, but i know what AS will lead to, i have FULL research in this field. And from a gal who almost fail maths and (until now) can't remember the multiplication table, and i ask my bf when i calculate something (additiona nd minus, i lazy to count) and now i am a KUMON HIGH LEVEL maths instructor.

When there is a will there is a way, its all in the mind.
shimy
post May 23 2008, 10:55 PM

381 posts

when there is a will, there is a way...
i thk dis saying is really good ....
kyoong
post May 24 2008, 12:05 AM

47 posts

erm.. but tis course not only depends on ur effort rite. i think still some "talent" in calculating, am i right??
TSysh_kobe
post May 24 2008, 02:10 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 21 2008, 11:47 PM)
i going to take the p1 exam. My fren ass 3 edi lor >_<

ysh_kobe  : USD300 and utar got what connection ah?

jerk  : liking maths? no la, i hates maths, i always get bad result for maths, and add maths, but my parents push me in this field, so have to lo. Die also have to lor. But i am a person who like event managing and fashion design, so..........dun really have much choice. Gotta try and try and try try again lo.
Sorry, have been busy these few days. I jz got informed that I'm offered for Actuarial Science in UTAR. i mean y we use USD to calculate when we are in Malaysia? Does that means all the books have to be ordered and not available in M'sia?
shimy
post May 24 2008, 02:18 PM

381 posts

ysh_kobe, wat results u used 2 apply 4 acturial science in UTAR?
TSysh_kobe
post May 24 2008, 03:13 PM

1,091 posts

STPM. y?
shimy
post May 24 2008, 07:00 PM

381 posts

juz wanna noe how well is de result required 2 enroll de acturial science in UTAR ...
TSysh_kobe
post May 24 2008, 11:18 PM

1,091 posts

owh.... at least i got a B+ for Mathematics T. and all C at least. but, to me their requirement is low d, the most important thing is .... is..... is..... is..... money!!!!!!!!!!!!
kanzakicyn
post May 26 2008, 05:13 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(kyoong @ May 24 2008, 12:05 AM)
erm.. but tis course not only depends on ur effort rite. i think still some "talent" in calculating, am i right??
depends, some talent is needed yes when u wan deep deep understanding of mathematical theory. You see, when in actuarial science, you dont ONLY count, you use TONS and TONS of THERY and FORMULAS and try to apply in life. All of the mathematic text books, u will be suprice how little number there is and how much theory and PROVING there is involved. You will learnt hat maths is used in everyday life and allt he theory we try to understand is all life based except is potreyed in numbers.

and u learn that mathematicians are the WORLD LAZIEST people. XD Cuz all also use sign. Practically, the whole book is filled with signs and short abbrevations that if u dun google what does it mean, u practically cant continue / understand. Whole sentence of 30 words defined theory is simplified to few signs.

that is the headache part, to try to understand what to apply, when to apply. U have this situation, but u have MILLIONS of formula and theory and some contradic each other. So which one to use? liddat lo. Talent, ya....but if u wan to be a PURE mathematician and not an actuarist
y@m@d@_iToE
post May 26 2008, 09:10 PM

131 posts

omg!!!!
just b??
i thought the min requirement will be very high...

TSysh_kobe
post May 26 2008, 11:09 PM

1,091 posts

Basically, its like in Numb3rs. you enjoy watching the brilliant mathematics but you dun understand at all..... hahahaha. Private uni, sure ab money la...............
kanzakicyn
post May 27 2008, 11:58 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 26 2008, 11:09 PM)
Basically, its like in Numb3rs. you enjoy watching the brilliant mathematics but you dun understand at all..... hahahaha. Private uni, sure ab money la...............
98% about money, 2% about results.
TSysh_kobe
post May 29 2008, 06:52 PM

1,091 posts

The UTAR person jz called me this morning, asking me whether I'm going, and ask me to bank in the money before 30th of may. Hahaha, i think UTAR's out for me, too high expenses, anyway, i can still be an actuary rite? as long as i have a degree, then i can proceed to take the professional paper. I heard so. IS this true?

This post has been edited by ysh_kobe: May 29 2008, 06:53 PM
Flybaby~
post May 29 2008, 07:16 PM

153 posts

ya its true. A number of qualified actuaries are formerly engineering. A word of caution, if u think its difficult becoming a qualified actuary having a degree relating to it, wat's the chance of u not having it?
shimy
post May 30 2008, 02:07 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 29 2008, 06:52 PM)
The UTAR person jz called me this morning, asking me whether I'm going, and ask me to bank in the money before 30th of may. Hahaha, i think UTAR's out for me, too high expenses, anyway, i can still be an actuary rite? as long as i have a degree, then i can proceed to take the professional paper. I heard so. IS this true?
y is UTAR out 4 u ?
if not UTAR..where else u wanna take dis course?

Added on May 30, 2008, 2:08 am
QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 27 2008, 11:58 PM)
98% about money, 2% about results.
r u enjoying ur life studying acturial science?
did u regret taking up dis course?

This post has been edited by shimy: May 30 2008, 02:08 AM
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 1 2008, 01:34 AM

1,091 posts

I'm now officially out of UTAR 2008 May intake. the person cant wait, i said 10th of june they said cannot. they called me this morning and tell me to enrol in january 2008. bullshit.......
Darkmage12
post Jun 1 2008, 01:42 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 29 2008, 06:52 PM)
UTAR expenses too high then where expenses is low?
shimy
post Jun 1 2008, 02:19 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 1 2008, 01:34 AM)
I'm now officially out of UTAR 2008 May intake. the person cant wait, i said 10th of june they said cannot. they called me this morning and tell me to enrol in january 2008. bullshit.......
there ll still b another intake in september
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 1 2008, 02:42 AM

1,091 posts

sure? tat person told me january next year?
shimy
post Jun 1 2008, 03:26 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 1 2008, 02:42 AM)
sure? tat person told me january next year?
yea ... i m quite sure abt dis ..
cuz my lecturer told me dat there ll b 3 intakes a year ...which are jan , may n september ...

This post has been edited by shimy: Jun 1 2008, 03:27 AM
keenjoy1413
post Jun 1 2008, 05:27 AM

413 posts

sep intake is not open for majority of courses. need to depend on wheater they want to open the actuarial science or not.
sure u out for taking lo. ppl already start new semester there == if wait till 11th june, thats already the 4th week for their acedemic. if u enter that time how u rush back wat they teach b4? lecturer will not repeat the lesson. they wil only straight forward to their schedule/
kanzakicyn
post Jun 1 2008, 09:15 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(shimy @ Jun 1 2008, 03:26 AM)
yea ... i m quite sure abt dis ..
cuz my lecturer told me dat there ll b 3 intakes a year ...which are jan , may n september ...
AS not open for sept intake

UTAR expenses too high then where expenses is low?

ya....where else lower?

Added on June 1, 2008, 9:16 pm
QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 1 2008, 01:34 AM)
cuz this may intake got 200 AS student enrolled..... many ppl wan the space, waiting list very long also

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: Jun 1 2008, 09:16 PM
serena_lee
post Jun 1 2008, 09:55 PM

251 posts

wow..AS becoming more and more popular nowadays..previously ..many of us dont even know what AS is about.
mphpopular
post Jun 1 2008, 09:59 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

AS, sounds good, looks good. Actual market good? GOOD.

But, its kinda of hard to study. And for the paper as well. The external paper is more valuable than UTAR own degree. So, as i mean, work hard for ur external paper.
Darkmage12
post Jun 2 2008, 12:13 AM

17,053 posts

UTAR degree is basically useless only the external paper can help you to become a register practising actuary
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 2 2008, 12:23 AM

1,091 posts

I would like to have a more specific understanding ab sitting for professional papers. If i'm not holding actuarial science degree, i heard I can sit rite? but then, is it any degree would do? an art degree also can? tell me guys.......
Darkmage12
post Jun 2 2008, 12:32 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 2 2008, 12:23 AM)
I would like to have a more specific understanding ab sitting for professional papers. If i'm not holding actuarial science degree, i heard I can sit rite? but then, is it any degree would do? an art degree also can? tell me guys.......
not sure if a degree is even required but any degree should do the job....preferably 1 which is related since you would not want to study the whole thing again right?
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 2 2008, 01:51 AM

1,091 posts

darkimage12, wat are you studying then? mind telling us? brows.gif

This post has been edited by ysh_kobe: Jun 2 2008, 01:51 AM
Darkmage12
post Jun 2 2008, 01:58 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 2 2008, 01:51 AM)
darkimage12, wat are you studying then? mind telling us?  brows.gif
first of all it's darkmage12 and not DARKI doh.gif
secondly i dun like to share it tongue.gif
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 2 2008, 02:00 AM

1,091 posts

aiyah........ type name wrongly terus kena reject.............. cry.gif sweat.gif doh.gif
shimy
post Jun 2 2008, 02:36 AM

381 posts

UTAR doesnt hv AS 4 sep intake??
how can ?
i was thinking 2 enroll 4 sept intake ....sob sob
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 2 2008, 03:00 AM

1,091 posts

nvm, we go in 2gather in january 2009....
shimy
post Jun 2 2008, 03:30 AM

381 posts

nid 2 wait till jan .. dats really long time 2 go ler
Darkmage12
post Jun 2 2008, 09:53 AM

17,053 posts

Why not find another place to take this course?
Flybaby~
post Jun 2 2008, 10:58 AM

153 posts

college/uni which provide this course r quite limited.
i only know utar, UM and another public university( i forgotten the name...lol) provide this course.
NUS oso provide the course( its a joint program wit ANU) but only very few are selected to be sent to ANU.
so basically in malaysia, Utar will be the easiest to access. And to some extend the cheapest.

This post has been edited by Flybaby~: Jun 2 2008, 10:59 AM
serena_lee
post Jun 2 2008, 11:10 AM

251 posts

Um, ukm, utar, nus and even ntu provide this course
Flybaby~
post Jun 2 2008, 11:17 AM

153 posts

NUS does not provide the course plainly lik Utar.
to do actuarial in NUS u will have to be selected to do a joint degree with ANU(double degree of commerce+actuarial) after ur 1st year if i'm not wrong. if u r not chosen then too bad~, ur degree wont be an actuarial degree.
ANU will be the one providing the actuarial course while NUS provide the commerce/finance/business (i forgot which one d) part.
only a very very very small no. will be chosen.
on NTU i'm not so sure but it will not be plainly set out.
Darkmage12
post Jun 2 2008, 11:27 AM

17,053 posts

NTU and NUS degree are recognise by the british actuary board so no external paper require
Flybaby~
post Jun 2 2008, 12:05 PM

153 posts

it is?
as far as i know, NUS would not be the one providing the actuarial course but ANU will. NUS does not have a degree on actuarial science but have a joint program with ANU.
i obtained the info last year, so it might be irrelevant now.
for those interested plz do check it up with them 1st
shimy
post Jun 2 2008, 04:31 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Flybaby~ @ Jun 2 2008, 10:58 AM)
college/uni which provide this course r quite limited.
i only know utar, UM and another public university( i forgotten the name...lol) provide this course.
NUS oso provide the course( its a joint program wit ANU) but only very few are selected to be sent to ANU.
so basically in malaysia, Utar will be the easiest to access. And to some extend the cheapest.
dats rite ... there r really limited uni dat provide dis course .
n UTAR is de cheapest among all .....
where else dat provide dis course n de expenses wont b too high ?
Darkmage12
post Jun 2 2008, 04:46 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(Flybaby~ @ Jun 2 2008, 12:05 PM)
it is?
as far as i know, NUS would not be the one providing the actuarial course but ANU will. NUS does not have a degree on actuarial science but have a joint program with ANU.
i obtained the info last year, so it might be irrelevant now.
for those interested plz do check it up with them 1st
That means the joint program with ANU is recognised that's all
serena_lee
post Jun 2 2008, 10:24 PM

251 posts

if fees for AS in UTAR is the cheapest, is the degree worth in terms of recognition?
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 2 2008, 10:47 PM

1,091 posts

Hmmm........ I think UTAR sux..........tongue.gif
Darkmage12
post Jun 3 2008, 12:28 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(serena_lee @ Jun 2 2008, 10:24 PM)
if fees for AS in UTAR is the cheapest, is the degree worth in terms of recognition?
like i say no recognition at all

Added on June 3, 2008, 12:28 am
QUOTE(serena_lee @ Jun 2 2008, 10:24 PM)
like i say no recognition at all

This post has been edited by Darkmage12: Jun 3 2008, 12:28 AM
shimy
post Jun 3 2008, 01:44 AM

381 posts

de most important thing is de professional papers rite?
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 3 2008, 02:05 AM

1,091 posts

of coz..........
shimy
post Jun 3 2008, 04:41 AM

381 posts

haizz .... 4 poor student like me .. i can only take up dis course at UTAR laa ..
gotta wait till jan 09 ... sob sob .... so long .....
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 3 2008, 11:04 AM

1,091 posts

2gather wait la tongue.gif....
Flybaby~
post Jun 3 2008, 02:09 PM

153 posts

i wont say where u obtained the degree does not matter.
u can do almost anything in the commerce field if u decided not to continue taking the professional paper.
u can also choose to take CFA paper after that.
so where u obtained the degree from does matter to a certain extent as employers might rate u according to where u study. if u obtained good result n from a reputable university,heck, they might even sponsor u to do master.

This post has been edited by Flybaby~: Jun 3 2008, 02:10 PM
Joshk
post Jun 4 2008, 12:32 AM

42 posts

Hmm... got any recommendation on wat suitable reference books related to exam P/1 of SOA ma?
shimy
post Jun 5 2008, 11:54 AM

381 posts

any recommendations of uni 2 study acturial science in malaysia??
clngu
post Jun 5 2008, 12:46 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

Actuarial Science graduates have a great demand in Financial Industry ie. Bank and Insurance

nevertheless to acquire Actuarial Cert is a must, employers pay higher based on number of papers passed
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 5 2008, 01:00 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 5 2008, 01:46 PM)
Actuarial Science graduates have a great demand in Financial Industry ie. Bank and Insurance

nevertheless to acquire Actuarial Cert is a must, employers pay higher based on number of papers passed
bro, if i'm getting a degree in Mathematics, can i be an actuary?
clngu
post Jun 5 2008, 01:05 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 5 2008, 01:00 PM)
bro, if i'm getting a degree in Mathematics, can i be an actuary?
you can be an actuary, refer to Actuarial Society of Malaysia
shimy
post Jun 6 2008, 02:11 AM

381 posts

can i ask those who took actuarial science ..wat really motivates u all 2 keep going when facing difficulty 2 understand all de numbers n formulas?
kanzakicyn
post Jun 6 2008, 04:22 PM

449 posts

Actualy, u dun need to do the external papers to be an actuary or take up actuary job in malaysia, they dun need u to certified urself as an actuary just YET in malaysia.

Utar degree is to help u take the SOA exams AND help u to get examptions from 4 of the papers in SOA. Certain paper u can only take after u pass a certain subject or couse.

Other than the 4 papers, there is an extra 4 papers which u must take no matter what which is the p1, models, interest and (i forgot sleep.gif).

If u have taken the subject SOA pre-requisited, then u can take the SOA papers W/O being in actuarial science field. But if u want to be an actuarist, its better u take up actuarial science course.

In utar, utar not only emphasize on mathematical and application skill, they also emphasize on public speaking and soft skill AND PROGRAMMING for Actuarist. In this way, we students of utar are able to manage not only in calculating the probabilities and predicting, but ALSO ABLE TO PRESENT our idea AND merging the skills we have towards business and financial usage.

With the world of cyber nowdays, we are also thought programming so that we are able to modify and change and create programs that we need to use to ease our job as an actuarist.

Come on, can u imagine u have 2 customers daily and u are calculating one by one? And if ur in a big firm? Count one by one? Not practiccal right?

Added on June 6, 2008, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(shimy @ Jun 6 2008, 02:11 AM)
can i ask those who took actuarial science ..wat really motivates u all 2 keep going when facing difficulty 2 understand all de numbers n formulas?
Life, being mature, life experience.

ITs all in the mind

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: Jun 6 2008, 04:34 PM
shimy
post Jun 6 2008, 04:26 PM

381 posts

dis course is really interesting ..... hopefully i m able 2 enroll dis course ..
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 04:27 PM

1,091 posts

I checked some other college, I found out that Inti college is doing a twinning programme with drake university.....and the fees are ok tooo. have a check at inti's website.
kanzakicyn
post Jun 6 2008, 04:35 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(shimy @ Jun 6 2008, 04:26 PM)
dis course is really interesting ..... hopefully i m able 2 enroll dis course ..
more towards challenging XD coem come be my junior hehe

I checked some other college, I found out that Inti college is doing a twinning programme with drake university.....and the fees are ok tooo. have a check at inti's website.

my fren doing AS, with america transfer degree,1+3, RM200k total
shimy
post Jun 6 2008, 05:03 PM

381 posts

i oso hope i can b ur junior .. but i really did worst in my pure maths paper 3 so i scared i cant get A ady.. if i cant get A there is no way 4 me 2 enroll UTAR's actuarial science ...
inti's twining programme got 3+1 or not ah 4 AS?
cuz really expensive ler study in US ..cant afford ..

This post has been edited by shimy: Jun 6 2008, 05:03 PM
clngu
post Jun 6 2008, 05:15 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jun 6 2008, 04:35 PM)
more towards challenging XD coem come be my junior hehe
you in actuarial line?
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 05:30 PM

1,091 posts

i saw got 2+2? and the fees check here: http://www.intimal.edu.my/Academicnew/temp...nsfer%20Program quite cheap....
clngu
post Jun 6 2008, 05:39 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 05:30 PM)
i saw got 2+2? and the fees check here: http://www.intimal.edu.my/Academicnew/temp...nsfer%20Program  quite cheap....
does it cover the first 4 papers of actuarial cert?
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 05:44 PM

1,091 posts

I'm not too sure..... Those papers wont takes up to 100k do they?
clngu
post Jun 6 2008, 05:50 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 05:44 PM)
I'm not too sure..... Those papers wont takes up to 100k do they?
the first 4 papers very cheap, around 1-2 hundreds per paper
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 05:54 PM

1,091 posts

This is another alternative, any1 is in inti here? can help me seek more infos? thx
kanzakicyn
post Jun 6 2008, 06:16 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 6 2008, 05:15 PM)
you in actuarial line?
ya. u? seem like ur in actuarial line
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 06:25 PM

1,091 posts

kanzakicyn is at UTAR rite? wat ab you, clngu?
clngu
post Jun 6 2008, 06:29 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jun 6 2008, 06:16 PM)
ya. u? seem like ur in actuarial line
which section? FCM or P&P?
clngu
post Jun 6 2008, 06:29 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 06:25 PM)
am not from UTAR
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 06:30 PM

1,091 posts

so where are you from bro? :hmmm:
clngu
post Jun 6 2008, 06:37 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 06:30 PM)
so where are you from bro? :hmmm:
am from KL smile.gif
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 06:38 PM

1,091 posts

doh.gif aiyah bro, dun jual mahal la. where you study AS?
clngu
post Jun 6 2008, 06:40 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 06:38 PM)
doh.gif  aiyah bro, dun jual mahal la. where you study AS?
am not study AS
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 06:41 PM

1,091 posts

you are in actuarial line rite? studying at where? hmmm...... dun understand, wat does actuarial line means? different from AS somemore?
clngu
post Jun 6 2008, 06:46 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 06:41 PM)
you are in actuarial line rite? studying at where? hmmm...... dun understand, wat does actuarial line means? different from AS somemore?
am not in actuarial line, but know pretty well about functions of Actuarial Department.
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 07:00 PM

1,091 posts

I c..........
kanzakicyn
post Jun 6 2008, 09:43 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 06:25 PM)
ya, not a bad uni

Added on June 6, 2008, 9:45 pm
QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 06:41 PM)
same la

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: Jun 6 2008, 09:45 PM
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 6 2008, 10:48 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jun 6 2008, 10:43 PM)
ya, not a bad uni

Added on June 6, 2008, 9:45 pm

same la
erm.... sis kanzakicyn, any gal from sabah taking this course in this new intake?
Oakha
post Jun 6 2008, 11:17 PM

298 posts

only UTAR and few public uni offer this course right?
the rest IPTS didnt offer?
shimy
post Jun 6 2008, 11:41 PM

381 posts

4 inti ... de fees 4 1st n 2nd years quite ok laa ..but thk of de expenses n fees wen u go 2 US ... cant imagine ... cant get loan oso ... cant afford ler ...
Jyou
post Jun 7 2008, 09:05 AM

171 posts

Roughly for Inti first two years bout 30k the following two years in US bout 200k depending on which university you are transferring to
clngu
post Jun 7 2008, 10:31 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

so who is taking/studying AS now? from which uni?

some of my friends graduated from UKM/UM/USM. so far none from UTAR oh
shimy
post Jun 8 2008, 06:29 PM

381 posts

if i m doing a-levels..there is no way 4 me 2 get into IPTA rite?
Darkmage12
post Jun 8 2008, 08:36 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(Jyou @ Jun 7 2008, 09:05 AM)
Roughly for Inti first two years bout 30k the following two years in US bout 200k depending on which university you are transferring to
200k for the fees alone?
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 8 2008, 08:42 PM

1,091 posts

there are scholarships rite? as state on inti's website...... if 1 really do AS at inti, he or she must do really hard to get the scholarship......or else, find ah long tolong lo.......tongue.gif
Darkmage12
post Jun 8 2008, 11:58 PM

17,053 posts

That's for sure AS is a tough course somemore you will compete with other international students for the study grant
clngu
post Jun 9 2008, 12:04 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

am never heard study AS so expensive, just a degree programme. even taking professional cert also won't cost 200k. will check with my colleagues and friends about it.
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 9 2008, 12:14 AM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 9 2008, 01:04 AM)
am never heard study AS so expensive, just a degree programme. even taking professional cert also won't cost 200k. will check with my colleagues and friends about it.
hope you can bring some correct and precise infos for us bro...... notworthy.gif
clngu
post Jun 9 2008, 09:47 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 9 2008, 12:14 AM)
hope you can bring some correct and precise infos for us bro...... notworthy.gif
sure. where got 200k school fee for AS. earning 200k as AS only make sense.
Flybaby~
post Jun 9 2008, 09:56 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 9 2008, 09:47 AM)
sure. where got 200k school fee for AS. earning 200k as AS only make sense.
i think he meant including the living cost.
it'll be around 200k for two years including living cost.

clngu
post Jun 9 2008, 10:12 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 9 2008, 12:14 AM)
just asked one of my colleagues in Actuarial Department. I copy and paste the info.

You study Acturial Science rite? ya
From which university? UKM
What is the title of the course? Bachelor of Science (Actuarial Science)
How many year to complete? 3 yrs
How much is the school fee? Depends on what subject you taking but I would say one year around RM 2,000
Is it including first 4 papers of acturial certificate? One paper also dont have, have to start from paper 1...... no exemption.....zzzz

TSysh_kobe
post Jun 9 2008, 01:23 PM

1,091 posts

wah......jz imagine RM100k 1 year at oversea ah? Is this rich boy's budget or i'm too naive?
clngu
post Jun 9 2008, 01:43 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

100k expenses a year in overseas just for AS degree, stupid move.
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 9 2008, 01:45 PM

1,091 posts

is it logic?? I mean ppl do medic at oversea till finish also half a million only........
Flybaby~
post Jun 9 2008, 02:05 PM

153 posts

its lik saying goin oversea to study accounting is stupid since it's just numbers.
do u agree to that statement?
u should do some research on the benefits of studying oversea before making such statement.

Added on June 9, 2008, 2:06 pmi'm refering to clngu statement btw

This post has been edited by Flybaby~: Jun 9 2008, 02:06 PM
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 9 2008, 02:13 PM

1,091 posts

I think clngu means the expenses..... anyway, i got offered accounting from UNITEN........ should i go for it? the most anticipated results would be released 2morrow. going oversea program....
clngu
post Jun 9 2008, 02:35 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

Flybaby~, find the AS degree programme cost RM 100k, am interested to know which university in this world offer it.

guess you need to do research before making any comment.
Flybaby~
post Jun 9 2008, 02:43 PM

153 posts

if wat u mean is tuition fees + living expenses for a year, i can definitely give u an answer. when u say expenses naturally it would mean all the cost associated in obtaining the degree. if wat u mean is tuition fees then fair enough but ur selection on using the word the expenses(for tuition fees) would have to be edited.
i'm not flaming an argument here. there just might be a confusion in some of ur selection of words to me. so no hard feelings k?
clngu
post Jun 9 2008, 02:48 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

i do agree with living expenses definitely need 100k or more with our today weak currency. study overseas become more and more expensive nowadays. cheers. icon_rolleyes.gif
kanzakicyn
post Jun 9 2008, 05:24 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 9 2008, 12:04 AM)
it is that expensive including the expenses fee when ur staying in utar, one subject in inti cost about 1.2k for the 2 years in inti and then 2 years in america university including montly expenditure and accomodation in uni's hostel.

the external paper is cheep and u can apply for student's discounted rate. Around US100 per paper.

u see, it is roughly around 5 subjects per long semester and 3 for short semester in inti x 2 years = 26 subject

26 x 1200 = RM31200
RM200000 - RM31200 = RM168800 (this does not include those extra recration development fee charges by inti during the 2 year course)
RM168800 / 24 months in america = RM7033.33333
RM7033.3333 convert into USD2,155.4805 per month including daily expenses, accomodation, and also school fee and all those extra fees the uni charge.

Thats about it........

Added on June 9, 2008, 5:24 pm
QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ Jun 6 2008, 10:48 PM)
erm.... sis kanzakicyn, any gal from sabah taking this course in this new intake?
i know a few from thsi may intake

Added on June 9, 2008, 5:37 pm
QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 9 2008, 10:12 AM)
just asked one of my colleagues in Actuarial Department. I copy and paste the info.

How much is the school fee? Depends on what subject you taking but I would say one year around RM 2,000
Is it including first 4 papers of acturial certificate? One paper also dont have, have to start from paper 1...... no exemption.....zzzz
u see, he is studying in UKM which is university kebangsaan malaysia and it is a PUBLIC university. The cost of studying in public Uni is very much different than in private uni. Utar alone used to be RM30 k for whole AS course(3 years, 1 year RM10k) but not including recreational cost and extra charges. And also not including paper.

my fren in inti they are thought about the external papers and they also include the papers in as well.

This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: Jun 9 2008, 05:37 PM
melt
post Jun 9 2008, 05:39 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 9 2008, 10:12 AM)

Hi, I need some help from you guys... I already have a bachelor of science (business math) and would like to take the professional papers.. Can anyone please tell me where to take it? (i.e. do I have to register with an Institution or something) and can someone also please help ask ask around if any company is hiring junior statistician/such like that would aid in my professional exams?

Thanks very much first guys! I'm like totally lost now as I dont need to redo the degree but don't know how or where to take the professional papers without redoing it..

Cheers!
kanzakicyn
post Jun 9 2008, 05:43 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Jun 9 2008, 05:39 PM)
Hi, I need some help from you guys... I already have a bachelor of science (business math) and would like to take the professional papers.. Can anyone please tell me where to take it? (i.e. do I have to register with an Institution or something) and can someone also please help ask ask around if any company is hiring junior statistician/such like that would aid in my professional exams?

Thanks very much first guys! I'm like totally lost now as I dont need to redo the degree but don't know how or where to take the professional papers without redoing it..

Cheers!
http://www.actuaries.org.my/default.asp?p=9 here u go
melt
post Jun 9 2008, 05:49 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jun 9 2008, 05:43 PM)
Thanks for the quick reply but I have been given the link before and I have no idea really what needs to be done as most of the information there relates to which Institution recognised by ASM and I have already been in touch with the Institute of Actuaries in London who told me that I should register from Malaysia where there would be a discounted rate..

So Malaysia here I am but still not sure where exactly to register myself. Do you mean by the link that I need to register with ASM? Because in UK, I just need to apply to be a member of the Institute of Actuaries in London, pay the registration fees, select which paper I will be taking that siting and then wait.. What about here? There was no definite information in the ASM webby.

Cheers!
clngu
post Jun 9 2008, 06:32 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

i can check with my friends/colleagues in Actuarial Department. so far they registered with US-SOA. about UK-IOA, am need to check it out.
melt
post Jun 9 2008, 08:54 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 9 2008, 06:32 PM)
i can check with my friends/colleagues in Actuarial Department. so far they registered with US-SOA. about UK-IOA, am need to check it out.
Thanks very much!!

notworthy.gif
clngu
post Jun 16 2008, 10:14 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

regarding which professional bodies ie. SOA, IOA, etc to register. from the below info, you should have some ideas after reading.

Q. why you prefer to register actuarial membership and exam under USA not UK?
A. nola, your preference lo

Q. your schoolmates and colleagues, they are taking USA exam? any of them taking UK exam? example yourself, why you choose USA? driven by industries?
A. depends on which university you came from coz we get guidance from our seniors, so my uni all taking usa, not really driven by industries, all recognised

under Bank Negara Malaysia guidelines BNM/RH/GL/004-10 - Guidelines on the Role of the Appointed Actuary, section 2.3 stated,

A person is eligible to be appointed as Appointed Actuary if the person satisfies the following conditions:
The person must be a fellow of:
- The Institute of Actuaries in England;
- The Faculty of Actuaries in Scotland;
- The Society of Actuaries in the United States of America;
- The Canadian Institute of Actuaries; or
- The Australian Institute of Actuaries;

under Actuarial Society of Malaysia, Route to Become an Actuary

you will notice that local universities linked with USA. therefore local actuarial graduates choose US-SOA.
spunkberry
post Jun 16 2008, 04:14 PM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

QUOTE(ysh_kobe @ May 17 2008, 03:41 AM)
Actuarial Sciences - Be Amazing Or Utterly Fail
ennyong1985
post Jun 16 2008, 04:40 PM

178 posts

I don't know. My only advice is go to a reputable university and do subjects which can get exemption. A lot of people here perceive it as difficult or utterly boring. And you don't really need to study Actuarial Science degree to be an AS. I know a bunch of students from University of Manchester that studies Maths and Science. They got exempted from 6 of the 13++ required? So take your pick. And btw staying in Manchester is not that expensive.
At this present moment, the fees are £9000 for non-lab sciences (AS is considered one of them but computer labs are not part of the 'lab's concerned).
Living expenses dependent one where you live. If you are lucky you can get about £60 a week (including bills) for 44 weeks 5 minutes from Uni.
Which make it £2600 for accommodation per year (not including summer)
And eating it's better you share your cooking with your house mates because that can bring down the cost. But even so it should be around £4.50 a day. This makes it £1400 per year (not including summer)

£9000 + £2600 + £1400 ~ £13000 * RM6.50 = RM84,500.

And be warn that the British pound are going weaker against the RM. So I think it's more viable studying in UK than in Oz.

This post has been edited by ennyong1985: Jun 16 2008, 04:44 PM
xchoit
post Jun 17 2008, 01:48 PM

156 posts

Im studying actuarial science in UK currently. well to be exact in Heriot-Watt University.. they offer full exemption if u get 1st class which is not easy.. Here just some additional info about good uni for actuarial in UK:

City Univ
LSE
Southampton
Warwick but the course is known as MORSE

Ya u dun really need an actuarial science degree to become actuary. xD!
ennyong1985
post Jun 17 2008, 01:55 PM

178 posts

@xchoit
when you mean full exemption means that once you graduate you already are a qualified AS??
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 17 2008, 01:57 PM

1,091 posts

ya interested to know here too...............
xchoit
post Jun 17 2008, 01:59 PM

156 posts

well if im not mistaken u get exemption from all the CT exam.. hmm maybe more i cant really remmber about it.. So there is still other exams that u need to take later.. This is provided that u get 1st class or the minimum mark/score which is set up by the uni and the FOA for the modules.. btw qualified AS as in? to get job?
clngu
post Jun 17 2008, 04:37 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

none universities provide full exemption from professional actuarial bodies. you still need to take and pass final few papers to become qualified actuary.
xchoit
post Jun 18 2008, 01:51 PM

156 posts

yup since the board have like 2 section (not sure how many exactly xD) of exemption.. just an analogy

1st part ; 9 test
2nd part ; 8 test

some university will tell u that u get full exemption.. well they actually means exemption from the 1st part.. not all the exemption offered by the actuarial board

well if i still remember the 1st part is called CT right? Core technical?

This post has been edited by xchoit: Jun 18 2008, 01:52 PM
Tangiers
post Jun 19 2008, 03:10 AM

245 posts

Hi everyone,

Interesting thread; I'd like to share some info here.

I'm taking Business (Specializing in Actuarial Science) in Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore.

I've just completed my 1st year (taking Business subjects); going into my 2nd year to study actuarial science proper in August.

Before I elaborate on exemptions (professional papers), reading the following link would be useful:
IOA Exams

Currently, NTU offers exemptions for the CT Series of the IOA (8 Papers) provided you do well for each of them. So far, after 1st year, I've cleared CT7 and CT2 (CT2 I think).

The advantages of studying in NTU is of course, you don't need to worry about:
1. Finding a tutor/lecturer for the exemptions
2. Finding course materials
3. Paying additional examination fees
4. Registration, admin procedures associated with the exemptions.

The bad thing is of course, Singapore is expensive compared to Malaysia. Less expensive compared to other developed countries though.

As for NUS, they do offer a joint honours degree with ANU shown here:
NUS/ANU
As you can see, only 8 people get to go ANU per year.

I think Singapore Management University (SMU) offers some sort of actuarial major also. I don't know about the details though.

That's how actuarial studies work in Singapore in general nowadays. This means that for CA, ST and SA Series of the IOA, you need to somehow take them while you work, or go to graduate school outside Singapore.

As for job prospects for an actuary, exemptions matter most. The degree is only complementary at best. And if you want to know about salary, I'd say it's definitely worth it for people with all 8 CT exemptions, especially for a 22 or 23-year-old fresh graduate. biggrin.gif

That's all I have to share for now. If you have any inquiries, feel free to ask me.

Cya!
selenium
post Jun 19 2008, 06:07 PM

RipVanWinkle
1,032 posts

the only place that provides cheap acturial science course is UTAR Dangers is that its a very new uni but then if u plan to work in malaysia as an actuaries its kinda a OK..

but for acturial science. many of my friends told me that most of the suicide cases in malaysia involving successfull people are actuarist, One of my friends dad was an actuarist and when he did a mistake in calculation he jumped off a 22 story building.

this is what i heard la not generalizing. maybe the course is tought because in the real world its gonna be tougher.~?
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 19 2008, 06:48 PM

1,091 posts

Thx for sharing the experience.... I'm now gonna take Accounting in Uniten and planning to get actuary professional cert and ACCA after finish studying........
clngu
post Jun 19 2008, 06:48 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

Malaysia here still short of qualified actuaries. cause too many students failed to pass final few professional papers. take USA-SOA as example. a lot of students cannot pass paper 5-8. too tough to get it through. my colleagues, 6 of them sat for paper 5. only 1 passed.

but the reward is great. the moment you pass 1 paper, you get few hundreds increment. from paper 5 onwards, the reward is even greater.
jacklow_23
post Jun 20 2008, 04:14 PM

259 posts

More accurately..... LIfe Ins acturies (FSA) less than 60ppl
General Ins actuaries (FCAS) only 4ppl
shimy
post Jun 20 2008, 09:49 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(Tangiers @ Jun 19 2008, 03:10 AM)
Hi everyone,

I'm taking Business (Specializing in Actuarial Science) in Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore.

I've just completed my 1st year (taking Business subjects); going into my 2nd year to study actuarial science proper in August.

Before I elaborate on exemptions (professional papers), reading the following link would be useful:
IOA Exams

Currently, NTU offers exemptions for the CT Series of the IOA (8 Papers) provided you do well for each of them. So far, after 1st year, I've cleared CT7 and CT2 (CT2 I think).

The bad thing is of course, Singapore is expensive compared to Malaysia. Less expensive compared to other developed countries though.

NUS/ANU

I think Singapore Management University (SMU) offers some sort of actuarial major also. I don't know about the details though.

That's how actuarial studies work in Singapore in general nowadays. This means that for CA, ST and SA Series of the IOA, you need to somehow take them while you work, or go to graduate school outside Singapore.

As for job prospects for an actuary, exemptions matter most. The degree is only complementary at best. And if you want to know about salary, I'd say it's definitely worth it for people with all 8 CT exemptions, especially for a 22 or 23-year-old fresh graduate.  biggrin.gif 

That's all I have to share for now. If you have any inquiries, feel free to ask me.

Cya!
wats de requirement 2 enter NTU??
de fees is high?
Darkmage12
post Jun 20 2008, 11:05 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ Jun 19 2008, 06:07 PM)
the only place that provides cheap acturial science course is UTAR Dangers is that its a very new uni but then if u plan to work in malaysia as an actuaries its kinda a OK..

but for acturial science. many of my friends told me that most of the suicide cases in malaysia involving successfull people are actuarist, One of my friends dad was an actuarist and when he did a mistake in calculation he jumped off a 22 story building.

this is what i heard la not generalizing. maybe the course is tought because in the real world its gonna be tougher.~?
lol few years back got 1 got killed by huge thing dropping from construction site sweat.gif
Tangiers
post Jun 21 2008, 09:58 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(shimy @ Jun 20 2008, 09:49 PM)
wats de requirement 2 enter NTU??
de fees is high?
Hi shimy,

NTU's website here has all the information you'll need:
NTU Admission Information

As you can see, total fees (tuition fee, miscellaneous fees) add up to nearly $10,000/year (AY 08/09) if you take the Tuition Grant. By taking the Tuition Grant, you will be bonded; you need to work in any Singapore-registered companies for 3 years.

As for accommodation, I have to pay $155/month (cheapest).

Living expenses varies a lot among individuals. For a start, the estimated monthly cost of living shown in the website above is a good guide.

So doing the math, you would need to spend about: $10,000 + $155x12 + $200x10* = $13,860 ~ $14,000/year**
*Living expenses estimated at $200/month (which I can achieve biggrin.gif ) for 10 months cuz I assume you'll go back home during summer break.
**Rounded up to include cost of books, etc.

No doubt $14,000/year is a huge amount but as you can see from the site, NTU offers a lot of financial assistance and/or scholarships. If you apply for loan (which you will most certainly get), the loan will help you finance the tuition fee and maybe even accommodation. So practically, you only need to worry about monthly living expenses.

In my opinion, I think going to NTU is worth it because you are receiving a world class education at a cheaper price than other developed countries.

Admission requirements are stated in the website as well. But from my observation, the lowest CGPA I know to get into Business is 3.92 for STPM science stream students. Yea, Business is hot in Singapore; not engineering. They even have SMU, dedicated to business-related courses only. In Malaysia, everyone got the hots for engineering.

That's all I have to share for now. Sorry for long post; I guess I'm too enthu in promoting my school. tongue.gif
shimy
post Jun 22 2008, 02:40 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(Tangiers @ Jun 21 2008, 09:58 AM)
Hi shimy,

NTU's website here has all the information you'll need:
NTU Admission Information

As you can see, total fees (tuition fee, miscellaneous fees) add up to nearly $10,000/year (AY 08/09) if you take the Tuition Grant. By taking the Tuition Grant, you will be bonded; you need to work in any Singapore-registered companies for 3 years.

As for accommodation, I have to pay $155/month (cheapest).

Living expenses varies a lot among individuals. For a start, the estimated monthly cost of living shown in the website above is a good guide.

So doing the math, you would need to spend about: $10,000 + $155x12 + $200x10* = $13,860 ~ $14,000/year**
*Living expenses estimated at $200/month (which I can achieve biggrin.gif ) for 10 months cuz I assume you'll go back home during summer break.
**Rounded up to include cost of books, etc.

No doubt $14,000/year is a huge amount but as you can see from the site, NTU offers a lot of financial assistance and/or scholarships. If you apply for loan (which you will most certainly get), the loan will help you finance the tuition fee and maybe even accommodation. So practically, you only need to worry about monthly living expenses.

In my opinion, I think going to NTU is worth it because you are receiving a world class education at a cheaper price than other developed countries.

Admission requirements are stated in the website as well. But from my observation, the lowest CGPA I know to get into Business is 3.92 for STPM science stream students. Yea, Business is hot in Singapore; not engineering. They even have SMU, dedicated to business-related courses only. In Malaysia, everyone got the hots for engineering.

That's all I have to share for now. Sorry for long post; I guess I'm too enthu in promoting my school. tongue.gif
hey ..thanks 4 ur info ..
i m really interested 2 go 2 NTU ..
but i m still waiting 4 my a-levels result ..
it ll b out in august or september ...
can i seek more info frm u ?
if i wanna do acturial science,wat programme shld i enrol?
wats de min requirement 2 enrol?
how can i get loan bcuz i afraid i cant afford de tuition fees?
how 2 get tuition grant?
thanks 4 ur help .. i really appreciate dat ..
shadowglow
post Jun 23 2008, 10:43 AM

462 posts

math T is tough alright...took it..not to mention Further maths..o man......
shimy
post Jun 23 2008, 11:13 AM

381 posts

pure maths is alright but i heard further maths is damn hard la
TSysh_kobe
post Jun 23 2008, 11:14 AM

1,091 posts

well, most further maths candidates sit for this as private candidate............
mydandelion
post Jun 23 2008, 11:50 AM

21 posts

hi there. i just wanna share some opinion..

if u want to be an actuary..u must pass n take 8 papers only to be a fellow now. well all the professional exams are very tough. u can view www.soa.com to have a look around actuaries world.

i'm currently taking actuarial science course in one of the ipta.. i'll grad in one year. if u want to study this course, it's not about math only.it's also about insurance study,economics,finance,accountancy.so u have to read,memorizing,understanding n applying in your life if u can.

most of my friends can get png more than 3.50 and even 4 flat. i wish u good luck !! study smart ok!!
Darkmage12
post Jun 23 2008, 12:45 PM

17,053 posts

@mydandelion
you getting 4 flat too? anyway ipta doesn't give any exemption from the papers i heard....and it used to be 8 papers to be a full-fledged actuary right just that now there is an additional set of papers?
siaolang
post Jun 23 2008, 11:40 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Tangiers @ Jun 18 2008, 01:10 PM)
As for job prospects for an actuary, exemptions matter most. The degree is only complementary at best. And if you want to know about salary, I'd say it's definitely worth it for people with all 8 CT exemptions, especially for a 22 or 23-year-old fresh graduate.  biggrin.gif 

Cya!
How's the job prospects for actuaries in Singapore? do you know if they take entry-level people? so If I take SOA exams, how many papers should I pass to be competent enough to get a job in Singapore?

Tangiers
post Jun 24 2008, 07:37 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ Jun 23 2008, 11:40 PM)
How's the job prospects for actuaries in Singapore?  do you know if they take entry-level people?  so If I take SOA exams, how many papers should I pass to be competent enough to get a job in Singapore?

I don't know about SOA at all so I shall not speculate. Perhaps the following thread answers your question (refer to haukeat's SOA vs IOA and exam support post):
SOA vs IOA and exam support

Could anyone who are more familiar with SOA's exams clarify? What qualifies as entry level and "competent enough to get a job" in particular?

As for job prospects in Singapore, I'm ashamed to admit that I've never thought of it myself. But then again, I may take things for granted because most NTU actuarial graduates have no problem finding jobs especially if they already have all CT (IOA) exemptions in hand.

The point is, exemptions matter most when it comes to the actuarial profession, no matter SOA or IOA. The more exemptions you have, the more attractive you are to employers. In other words, "you" create your own prospects. Singapore especially, is very hungry for talent. As long as you can satisfy that hunger, they'll treat you as a king, so to speak.

Unfortunately, the reverse is very true too. If you have no talent, then you're worthless to them. <Sigh>
clngu
post Jun 24 2008, 09:57 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ Jun 23 2008, 11:40 PM)
How's the job prospects for actuaries in Singapore?  do you know if they take entry-level people?  so If I take SOA exams, how many papers should I pass to be competent enough to get a job in Singapore?
if about Malaysia Insurance companies, I can give advice about job prospects for actuaries.
siaolang
post Jun 24 2008, 11:31 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Jun 23 2008, 07:57 PM)
if about Malaysia Insurance companies, I can give advice about job prospects for actuaries.
I'm considering Malaysian Insurance companies too. so, what advise do you have?
Basically how many of US soa papers are enough for an entry-level position?
mydandelion
post Jun 24 2008, 12:22 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jun 23 2008, 12:45 PM)
@mydandelion
you getting 4 flat too? anyway ipta doesn't give any exemption from the papers i heard....and it used to be 8 papers to be a full-fledged actuary right just that now there is an additional set of papers?
halu. yup, ipta doesn't give any exemption for the papers we pass in degree. but if we graduate with degree it also a ticket to further study in masters. bcoz it's not easy to pass the professional papers. right now it's qualified to be an actuary when have 8 professional papers. one of my friend, he succeeded 5 papers already. he wants to continue master at UK,but the university over there said his qualification is over achievement for master student.so the university offered him to do phD. huhuhh.. so.. for those who wants to take pro papers.. good luck!! hehe! biggrin.gif
siaolang
post Jun 24 2008, 06:18 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Tangiers @ Jun 23 2008, 05:37 PM)

Could anyone who are more familiar with SOA's exams clarify? What qualifies as entry level and "competent enough to get a job" in particular?

As for job prospects in Singapore, I'm ashamed to admit that I've never thought of it myself. But then again, I may take things for granted because most NTU actuarial graduates have no problem finding jobs especially if they already have all CT (IOA) exemptions in hand.

The point is, exemptions matter most when it comes to the actuarial profession, no matter SOA or IOA. The more exemptions you have, the more attractive you are to employers. In other words, "you" create your own prospects. Singapore especially, is very hungry for talent. As long as you can satisfy that hunger, they'll treat you as a king, so to speak.

Unfortunately, the reverse is very true too. If you have no talent, then you're worthless to them. <Sigh>
Thank you for your information. When I was in school, I've never worried so much for a job. But now graduated, start to worry to be one of the unemployed graduates. tongue.gif

I have some experience in SOA, so perhaps i can clarify it. basically there are 9 papers (last time 8). the 1st 5 are so-called the "preliminary" papers. Basically you won't get any exemptions for the courses you've taken in school for SOA exams except the VEE qualifications (which is not equivalent as papers, but a pre-requisite to become associate). So have to take the 1st 5 papers ourselves, then get VEE exemptions and can take some courses (they call that module), then only will get the Associate. If want to be Fellow to become a full-qualified actuary, have to take additional modules/papers.

In US, an entry-level actuary typically have 2 papers passed (the most 5), some without any paper still can secure a job but an internship before graduation is crucial for a full-time job.

Different countries have their own board to set the standard for Actuarial Science. But I assume that actuaries who from different background (SOA or ioa or etc) have the similar knowledge in actuarial science. So, for a fresh graduate in Singapore, normally how many exemptions are given? or equivalent to how many exams passed for Soa? (if can be compared such way).

Tangiers
post Jun 25 2008, 07:38 AM

245 posts

Thank you for the clarification.

According to IOA, as can be found in Actuarial Society of Malaysia's site (tremendously helpful site thumbup.gif ), there are 4 series of papers: CT, CA, ST and SA.

To summarize:
CT series consists of 8 papers
CA, 3 (one of them is subdivided into 2 though = 4 total)
ST, 2 (6 choose 2)
SA, 1 (6 choose 1)

NTU's actuarial programme, which is an undergraduate programme, offers exemptions for the CT series only. Exemptions are offered based on a candidate's performance in the respective module's final exam which means, exemptions are not guaranteed.

Therefore, a fresh actuarial graduate from Singapore (NTU) can have anywhere between 0 and 8 exemptions, depending on his/her results for each paper.

If you want to clear the remaining series (CA, ST and SA) to be a full-fledged actuary (by IOA's standards), then you must go to graduate school outside Singapore, as my senior is doing now.

From your description, I think it is reasonable to conclude that the CT Series (8 Papers) from IOA is roughly equivalent to SOA's 5 preliminary papers. And the remaining series in IOA should correspond to the remaining 4 papers from SOA.

But the above comparison is only meaningful when we are looking strictly at the level.

As for actuarial knowledge and skills, I don't know by how much IOA and SOA differ. Perhaps you can take a look at the link above and compare?

Even if the syllabus differ, does it matter? Do Malaysian and Singaporean employers prefer one to another? If not, I think we only need to worry about getting exemptions. biggrin.gif

clngu, perhaps you could enlighten us on the actuarial scene in Malaysia?
Specifically, I'd love to learn more about:
1. The prospects
2. The more common path taken (IOA or SOA or some other institute)
3. What constitutes "competent enough to get a job" referring to exemptions in particular?
4. What should someone with all 8 CT exemptions expect if he/she decides to work in Malaysia?

Thank you very much in advance for your input. I'm sure fellow readers will benefit from your help too.

Till then, cya guys.

Added on June 25, 2008, 7:40 amOops sorry, the link can be found here: Actuarial Society of Malaysia's Route to Become an Actuary. Have fun browsing!

This post has been edited by Tangiers: Jun 25 2008, 07:40 AM
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 27 2008, 11:27 PM

5,366 posts

for those decided to take this course, be prepared that your life will be filled with books and exams afterwards. In order to become a Fellow, it takes many scarification and you may not have the time to date, club, play and so on. But once you succeed, the rewards are sweet, as Malaysia is very short of qualified Fellows, a Fellow can earn at least RM20k in here, will get even more if working in oversea.

shingrons
post Jul 20 2008, 07:05 PM

Yes, it's cheaper if you choose UTAR, but before you make your decision, please check the lecturers' qualifications. If you are brave enough, you can even ask "Why does he end up with passing merely few papers?"

It's definitely not stupid to spend RM100k of tuition fee plus living cost studying overseas. The price is expensive, but what you gain is precious.

Oh ya, someone said exemptions are important. Agree.

If you wont be facing financial constraints if you choose NTU/NUS actuarial courses, in my opinion, you should take it. SOA papers are hard, and the local lecturer is not as good as Singapore's, plus papers are not exempted, to me, I won't take such risks.

info from NTU(IoA):http://www.nbs.ntu.edu.sg/undergrad/BUS/
info from NUS(joint with ANU)(IAA):http://www.fas.nus.edu.sg/ecs/undergraduate/anu_nus.html

IoA is pretty much similar to IAA.

If you not that kind of people who always miss their home, you should see the prospects of an actuary in the world, not in Malaysia. Actuarial studies is new, in Australia, it has only 30+ years of history. Even Melbourne U(few hundred years old) started teaching actuarial just 10 years ago. We can't expect much from Malaysia's Uni.

If possible, consider Macquarie University(Aus)(oldest), LSE(UK), City(UK)(oldest) etc. (not familar with US one)

This post has been edited by shingrons: Jul 20 2008, 07:07 PM
shimy
post Jul 20 2008, 08:34 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(shingrons @ Jul 20 2008, 07:05 PM)
Yes, it's cheaper if you choose UTAR, but before you make your decision, please check the lecturers' qualifications. If you are brave enough, you can even ask "Why does he end up with passing merely few papers?"

It's definitely not stupid to spend RM100k of tuition fee plus living cost studying overseas. The price is expensive, but what you gain is precious.

Oh ya, someone said exemptions are important. Agree.

If you wont be facing financial constraints if you choose NTU/NUS actuarial courses, in my opinion, you should take it. SOA papers are hard, and the local lecturer is not as good as Singapore's, plus papers are not exempted, to me, I won't take such risks.

info from NTU(IoA):http://www.nbs.ntu.edu.sg/undergrad/BUS/
info from NUS(joint with ANU)(IAA):http://www.fas.nus.edu.sg/ecs/undergraduate/anu_nus.html

IoA is pretty much similar to IAA.

If you not that kind of people who always miss their home, you should see the prospects of an actuary in the world, not in Malaysia. Actuarial studies is new, in Australia, it has only 30+ years of history. Even Melbourne U(few hundred years old) started teaching actuarial just 10 years ago. We can't expect much from Malaysia's Uni.

If possible, consider Macquarie University(Aus)(oldest), LSE(UK), City(UK)(oldest) etc. (not familar with US one)
but if u r not rich n u cant get scholarship, u wont b able 2 go 2 those universities rite?no matter how gud dey r ...haizzz
n u nid 2 hv very very gud grades 2 get into those uni as well ...
shingrons
post Jul 20 2008, 10:51 PM

You are right.

To enter Australian U like Macquarie U, SAM is the easiest way, not that hard compared to U's in UK.

We can't get things perfect. If you want to study this subject in local, think and consider the imperfect part thoroughly.

ahh, I forget there's University of Waterloo in Canada!!!

This post has been edited by shingrons: Jul 21 2008, 12:00 AM
Danny91
post Jul 21 2008, 08:05 PM

Hi, just stop by to ask a few questions....
I'm currently a Form 5 student.....been thinking of taking Acturial Science
I was thinking of doing Canadian Matriculation...or University Preparatory Program at Columbia International College(which take 7 month..? i was wondering how come it so short...)
Anyway would appreciate if someone would give me advises about it...(guidance)

siaolang
post Jul 24 2008, 12:12 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(shingrons @ Jul 20 2008, 08:51 AM)
You are right.

To enter Australian U like Macquarie U, SAM is the easiest way, not that hard compared to U's in UK.

We can't get things perfect. If you want to study this subject in local, think and consider the imperfect part thoroughly.

ahh, I forget there's University of Waterloo in Canada!!!
Shingrons, you working or studying?

QUOTE(Danny91 @ Jul 21 2008, 06:05 AM)
Hi, just stop by to ask a few questions....
I'm currently a Form 5 student.....been thinking of taking Acturial Science
I was thinking of doing Canadian Matriculation...or  University Preparatory Program at Columbia International College(which take 7 month..? i was wondering how come it so short...)
Anyway would appreciate if someone would give me advises about it...(guidance)
so do you plan to go straight canada after the preparatory program and study 4 years there?

Added on July 24, 2008, 12:17 pm
QUOTE(shimy @ Jul 20 2008, 06:34 AM)
but if u r not rich n u cant get scholarship, u wont b able 2 go 2 those universities rite?no matter how gud dey r ...haizzz
n u nid 2 hv very very gud grades 2 get into those uni as well ...
Utar i don't think so (correct me if i'm wrong). the public local U yes.

Australia and Singapore yes you have to have very good grades.

for US, no you don't have to get extremely good grades. provided you have sufficient $$$. unless you want to go to top-tier U like U Penn. Michigan is selective too. Normally ppl like to go Drake which has very good actuarial program but it doesn't really have a strict entry requirement.

This post has been edited by siaolang: Jul 24 2008, 12:17 PM
shimy
post Jul 24 2008, 08:50 PM

381 posts

i heard Drake is really gud in actuarial program ...
shingrons
post Jul 25 2008, 01:16 AM

QUOTE(siaolang @ Jul 24 2008, 12:12 PM)
Shingrons, you working or studying?
studying
Time-Interval
post Aug 2 2008, 02:08 PM

48 posts

ah by the way, isit Uni of Waterlo. requires a very very good grade to enter? or just an A in maths or smth? someone, pls help me out.
kyoong
post Aug 3 2008, 12:51 AM

47 posts

hi, can anyone tell me what is the advantage sitting for SOA exam? why less ppl choose others like CAS?? SOA is the best ? i would like to know abt it.. thanks!

Added on August 4, 2008, 5:04 pmcan anyone answer my question pls ? y u all prefer SOA exam but not others? i heard tat SOA exam is harder compared to others, isit true?

This post has been edited by kyoong: Aug 4 2008, 05:04 PM
isAb3lle
post Sep 6 2008, 08:14 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Time-Interval @ Aug 2 2008, 02:08 PM)
ah by the way, isit Uni of Waterlo. requires a very very good grade to enter? or just an A in maths or smth? someone, pls help me out.
uni of waterloo requires a very very very good grade to enter..
it's the top uni that offers act. sci in canada, so u can c how high the requirements can b..
and if nt mistaken, it ranks no.1 in its act. sci program..

Added on September 6, 2008, 8:17 pm
QUOTE(kyoong @ Aug 3 2008, 12:51 AM)
hi, can anyone tell me what is the advantage sitting for SOA exam? why less ppl choose others like CAS?? SOA is the best ? i would like to know abt it.. thanks!

Added on August 4, 2008, 5:04 pmcan anyone answer my question pls ? y u all prefer SOA exam but not others? i heard tat SOA exam is harder compared to others, isit true?
erm.. i'm nt so sure why most of the people prefer SOA exam..
but i'm currently an act. sci student and i oso prefer SAO exam more to CAS exam..
*mayb it's bcoz it's more reputable and recognizable?* i'm nt so sure of the reason though.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by isAb3lle: Sep 6 2008, 08:17 PM
char87
post Oct 18 2008, 06:27 PM

hi guys, i just wanna add on to what Tangiers said earlier on NTU. for those who think that having to get into business in the first year b4 getting into actuarial science in the second year is of no certainty, think again. the locals there mostly went for those slightly lighter n flamboyant specializations n actuarial science in NTU is almost equally dominated by locals n malaysians. n it is not so tough to get into actuarial science in the second year as most malaysians there r superior in quantitative stuff. n if students find it hard to handle in second year, they can consult prof to change specialization n still the first year stuff r not wasted. the only setback is that it is a 3 yrs course with real actuarial stuff only gonna start in the second year n NTU can get exemption of 8 papers, the final 2 yrs is never gonna be easy.

for those considering elsewhere, may be u guys can try University of Hong Kong but it is gonna be tougher to get in n more costly than Singapore. but generally actuaries in Singapore r undervalued in terms of paid as compared to Hong Kong. correct me if i m wrong
isAb3lle
post Oct 18 2008, 09:30 PM

49 posts

Drake has real good Actuarial Science program and normally if u study American Degree Transfer, u can easily get scholarship from Drake. It's nt very expensive and its reputation is good. Normally students graduate from there will be secure a job as they hav internship while u r studying. =)

other good unis in US are
Uni of Michingan, Ann Arbor
Uni of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Uni of Iowa
Uni of Wisconsin-Madison
Uni of Texas-Austin
Uni of Nebraska-Lincoln
Purdue Uni
Uni of Connecticut

As for Canada,
Uni of Waterloo
Uni of Toronto
will be quite gd

Australian National Uni also offers gd actuarial degree as well..

cool2.gif

This post has been edited by isAb3lle: Oct 18 2008, 09:33 PM
canny1985
post Oct 20 2008, 03:54 PM

19 posts

Does anyone know which UNI in USA is famous for Acturial Science?
mrRighthand
post Oct 20 2008, 05:28 PM

437 posts

U Penn, Michigan and Iowa are some of best in US...u can do some research from actuarial forum such as actuarialoutpost.com
Time-Interval
post Oct 27 2008, 02:33 AM

48 posts

wanna ask. how to apply A.Science in NTU? How much does it cost? mind telling me pls..
charis85
post Oct 28 2008, 01:28 PM

18 posts

Am an engineering graduate. Read thru (almost) the entire thread, that you don't need to study AS to work in the field?

Would it be wise then, to do an MSc in AS (maybe in City Uni)?

How tough is it to apply into the Masters programme in AS for the American unis?
mrRighthand
post Oct 28 2008, 02:55 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(charis85 @ Oct 28 2008, 01:28 PM)
Am an engineering graduate. Read thru (almost) the entire thread, that you don't need to study AS to work in the field?

Would it be wise then, to do an MSc in AS (maybe in City Uni)?

How tough is it to apply into the Masters programme in AS for the American unis?
yup...the most important u just need to finish all the required professional exam paper to qualify...
doin MSc anot is basically up to u, as IMO the papers are more important... but i guess doin a Masters will give u a good start...

charis85
post Oct 28 2008, 03:18 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(mrRighthand @ Oct 28 2008, 02:55 PM)
yup...the most important u just need to finish all the required professional exam paper to qualify...
doin MSc anot is basically up to u, as IMO the papers are more important... but i guess doin a Masters will give u a good start...
Thank for the advice wink.gif

A general question: After completion of a postgraduate degree in AS, one doesn't necessarily need to be in the actuarial line right? Would it be possible to enter investment, hedge fund etc? Or is a MSc in AS just useless for this case?

Anyone with opinions with regards to application into American unis? smile.gif
mrRighthand
post Oct 28 2008, 03:28 PM

437 posts

yes again...u'll have a wide career path to choose if u complete ur masters...but IMO if u are not planning to do AS after ur masters, its better not to take it...u'll just make ur life more difficult..lolz
imran424
post Dec 4 2008, 12:37 AM

377 posts

ermm...can i take actuarial science through matriculation?
i heard the only IPTA that offers this is UiTM.
rohirrim
post Dec 25 2008, 11:54 PM

19 posts

sure u can take acturial science through matriculation..
ipta that offers AS are UM, UKM and UiTM..
i'm one of the student in UM.. but i'm majoring in STATISTICS..
lots of my friends taking this course.. (AS)
the minimum requirement to study AS in UM is B for all subjects u taken (math of course!)
but most of the students here scored very well in their matriculation.. if i'm not mistaken, the lowest one is 3.71..
for lepasan STPM, most of them got 4.0..

i have a question to ask.. i'm majoring in statistics and currently in 4th sem (2nd year)..
all my silibus are almost the same as students who majoring in AS..
but i'm confused... can i take the AS's professional papers after i graduate?
is degree in STATISTIC demands at the moment??

This post has been edited by rohirrim: Dec 26 2008, 12:43 AM
Tangiers
post Dec 26 2008, 12:54 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(rohirrim @ Dec 25 2008, 11:54 PM)
sure u can take acturial science through matriculation..
ipta that offers AS are UM, UKM and UiTM..
i'm one of the student in UM.. but i'm majoring in STATISTICS..
lots of my friends taking this course.. (AS)
the minimum requirement to study AS in UM is B for all subjects u taken (math of course!)
but most of the students here scored very well in their matriculation.. if i'm not mistaken, the lowest one is 3.71..
for lepasan STPM, most of them got 4.0..

i have a question to ask.. i'm majoring in statistics and currently in 4th sem (2nd year)..
all my silibus are almost the same as students who majoring in AS..
but i'm confused... can i take the AS's professional papers after i graduate?
is degree in STATISTIC demands at the moment??
Thanks for sharing info on UM AS programme there.

Of course you can take AS papers. Anytime in fact; not necessarily must be after your graduation. Timing depends on your ability and confidence. In fact, taking earlier (and passing) will make you more attractive to employers.

For your final question (in AS context), I think if you can pass more AS papers than actuarial students, then you will be more in demand than them. Which means, as far as actuarial career is concerned, your degree is almost independent of your career progression.

This post has been edited by Tangiers: Dec 26 2008, 12:55 AM
rohirrim
post Dec 26 2008, 07:12 AM

19 posts

thanks for ur info tangiers.. rclxms.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 5 2009, 11:23 PM

1,704 posts

Hi, sorry if I've missed this out, but for SOA and CAS, are there any exemptions from the papers through the degree course? I'm also currently having massive headache on choosing a university. So far have roughly looked into Drake, Nebraska-Lincoln, Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin-Madison and Waterloo; whereby the latter 2 are listed as impossible for me right now blush.gif I can't really decide. The cost and selectivity for the 4 universities are roughly the same, popularity for their act sci course I believe is about the same too. I can't seem to have the grasp on making the final decision.

Also, would it be fit for a 3.37 CGPA-er (pulled down badly from 3.67 by American history laugh.gif ) to continue pursuing in act sci? I've also gotten B- in my calculus 2 subject (a lot of integrations). It's making me quite rocky regarding my choice of majoring in act sci. Not to mention I've also re-discovered that I still have the passion for accounting and computer science other than maths. Gah, decisions decisions sad.gif
OnionII
post Jan 5 2009, 11:55 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Jan 5 2009, 11:23 PM)
Hi, sorry if I've missed this out, but for SOA and CAS, are there any exemptions from the papers through the degree course? I'm also currently having massive headache on choosing a university. So far have roughly looked into Drake, Nebraska-Lincoln, Iowa, Illinois, Wisconsin-Madison and Waterloo; whereby the latter 2 are listed as impossible for me right now blush.gif I can't really decide. The cost and selectivity for the 4 universities are roughly the same, popularity for their act sci course I believe is about the same too. I can't seem to have the grasp on making the final decision.

Also, would it be fit for a 3.37 CGPA-er (pulled down badly from 3.67 by American history laugh.gif ) to continue pursuing in act sci? I've also gotten B- in my calculus 2 subject (a lot of integrations). It's making me quite rocky regarding my choice of majoring in act sci. Not to mention I've also re-discovered that I still have the passion for accounting and computer science other than maths. Gah, decisions decisions sad.gif
IF i am not wrong, the degree doesn't exempt u from the P paper if u're doing it in the states. u need to take it externally. either the school arranges for it or you take it urself

not really that sure though.

seriously, just ask urself, others cant judge if u are "fit" or not for the prog.... as for your passion for accounting and comptuer science, you can always take 'em as electives =)) afterall, accounting and comptering are also compulsory courses in the actuarial prog isnt it?

all the best!

This post has been edited by OnionII: Jan 5 2009, 11:57 PM
Tangiers
post Jan 6 2009, 01:57 AM

245 posts

Search this thread or other actuarial thread in LYN. I believe I read before that SOA doesn't offer exemptions for any degrees, even in the States.

But don't just take my word for it (I'm under IOA, not SOA), and my memory may fail me.
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 6 2009, 09:02 AM

1,704 posts

I see, thanks. I guess that's the case then as I've heard a couple of i-thinks on that all pointing towards no exemptions, just haven't got a definite i-know yet tongue.gif

Well I suppose so, accounting and computer science definitely has its role in act sci. I guess I'll just wait till I'm over with Exam P before making that particular decision :-\ Gonna have an preparatory class by the college soon and heard it's gonna cost RM1200, is it an overkill?
siaolang
post Jan 25 2009, 10:37 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Jan 5 2009, 07:02 PM)
I see, thanks. I guess that's the case then as I've heard a couple of i-thinks on that all pointing towards no exemptions, just haven't got a definite i-know yet tongue.gif

Well I suppose so, accounting and computer science definitely has its role in act sci. I guess I'll just wait till I'm over with Exam P before making that particular decision :-\ Gonna have an preparatory class by the college soon and heard it's gonna cost RM1200, is it an overkill?
I know there is no exemption for exams even you have taken relevant courses in your school. Paper is paper, degree is degree.
The only thing you can get exemption is VEE.

Which college ya studying in? got preparatory class for exam? not bad....

Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 26 2009, 12:07 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ Jan 25 2009, 10:37 PM)
I know there is no exemption for exams even you have taken relevant courses in your school.  Paper is paper, degree is degree.
The only thing you can get exemption is VEE. 

Which college ya studying in?  got preparatory class for exam?  not bad....
INTI College SJ. Well, it might get scraped though. Seems like the guy giving the class wants a minimum of 12 students, and only 9 signed up :-\
siaolang
post Jan 26 2009, 01:13 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Jan 25 2009, 10:07 AM)
INTI College SJ. Well, it might get scraped though. Seems like the guy giving the class wants a minimum of 12 students, and only 9 signed up :-\
Last time I studied i Inti too but there are no preparatory courses sad.gif
The guy is the student? That must be a lucrative business....
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 26 2009, 03:00 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ Jan 26 2009, 01:13 PM)
Last time I studied i Inti too but there are no preparatory courses  sad.gif
The guy is the student?  That must be a lucrative business....
Naa, he's a fellow actuary. SOA I think, not quite sure. Don't know much about him. He's from outside, most probably invited by the school to teach. And yes, considering how much a qualified actuary can earn, adding this tuition fees, darn laugh.gif It's a ~2-month course, 4 hours every Saturday sweat.gif But bleh, might not happen anyhow.
penniebadbadgurlz
post May 24 2009, 04:34 PM

wow!! who is going UTAR may intake 2009?!
Xing90
post May 26 2009, 02:49 AM

14 posts

hey...actuarial science are not just about calculations rite...doesn't it require alot of info about economics, business bla bla bla as well???
OMG!
post Aug 11 2009, 09:44 PM

Raymond
1,397 posts

Yes,it involves a lots of things like econ,management,finance and banking. ALl u need to excel in these profession is to really good in communication, writing and calculating plus analytical skills.

Cheers! Btw, i have frens studying AS at UM,they study pure maths during the 1st year and what they r now doing is to solve a bunch of eqn and maths problems, I can't resist the suffering of seeing them to cramp their head in solving and again solving the questions daily.it needs alots of hardwork and of course a love for maths. =)
jianjie
post Nov 10 2009, 10:54 PM

290 posts

wanna study AS? let me list down below requirements ah..from my aspect as a student studying tis course and going suicide

calculus - u think add math is hard? AS math comparing add math in high skul is like yr daddy and yr son

statistics - fundamental of tis course. normal distribution in add math confusing u? forget bout AS! as 2nd year student i ady studied normal, uniform, binomial, geometri, negative binomial, hypergeometry, beta, gamma, pareto, exponential, ch square, weibull, poisson, lognormal...so far is these 14 and will learn more..each of them r DIFFERENT!

programming - a basic of C programming, little VBA, working with excel, SPSS and other statistical softwares are a must

accounting and economics - i dun know y shud i stdy these. my lecturer said, nx time whn u be boss, ppl cant cheat u so easily..wtf

commercial law - to protect yrself

english, public speaking, oral communication, professional writing - communication is very important.

financial mathematics - tis is so diff than the normal math i study..need strong logical thinking and analytic skills

and finally, the combination of those fundamentals..wanna know more? PM me
latias93
post Nov 13 2009, 11:12 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

AFAIK, most actuarial science graduates are now studying in USA (through ADP) and work there. In Malaysia there seems to be very few job prospects for Act. Science grads, which explains why my cousin does not wish to return to Malaysia to work..
temuchin
post Nov 14 2009, 11:27 AM

Actuarial science is good in term of job prospects! Cheers...
andrew_toh33
post Nov 22 2009, 03:35 PM

I'm currently a AS major doing my final year in US. I passed 2 SOA paper. Here are my two-cents for those who aspire to be an actuary especially those who are looking forward to do it in US..

MYTH1 : I'm good at math then I should be an actuary.

To become an actuary, math is not the only tool you need. It takes a lot of thought and logic to to really understand actuarial studies. Besides having math classes, you will need finance, accounting, insurance, economics and most importantly stats & Excel. You have to go through it no matter u like it or hate it. There are really not many actuarial class that you could take at a degree level. The rest of the classes that you take kinda builds the knowledge that you need to pass the professional exams and the real work.

MYTH2: Actuarial papers are hard..

Yes they are! But its not like u need a perfect score to pass. Passing score are set at a feasible level for students that have work hard for it. With all said, this is not the exam that u could do well with an all-nighter. It requires a lot of study time (even in ur dream) and effort to really pass the exam. I can assure you that every single effort you put in will be well paid off. For those who are looking to do the SOA track, its a pretty well structured exam and every exams builds up for the next exams. There are ample of study manuals and materials available here in the US. So, companies here in the US are looking to hire students with at least one or two exams passed. Its kinda different in the UK as u begin taking it when u start working. Here, you just need to do it while you are at school. So that is a burden for students especially they need to maintain grades in classes and at the same time study for the exam. time management!!!

For those smarties out there, just a word of caution, passing too many exams before you get a jobs is not really a good idea. Cos there is no way a company could pay you more than a person that have ample of experience but only have 1 or 2 exams passed. You get what i mean.At the end of the day, it the experience that matters. I would advice any where between 2-3 papers before you get a job would be good enough. And if u really don't get a job in the your desired field. Then you should look into other profession!

MYTH3: If i become an actuary, i will work in the insurance industry!

In many countries outside of US, almost all the actuaries worked in the insurance industry, But that is not the case here in US, the actuarial profession is not just limited to insurance industry. There are consulting, property&casualty, health, pension, life and etc. Why so many tracks? This is just the way it works in US. Risk management and insurance is an enormous business here. I'm sure many of you heard of the recent Health Care reform that has been on the news. Do you know how much does US spent on the healthcare system? Roughly, 16% of the US GDP which is equals to $ 2.26 Trillion at an estimate of $ $7000 per person. This is just the amount of money an average john/jane doe spend just on health. Try adding life insurance, car insurance, pension benefits in to the equation. You could kinda guess the numbers i am talking about. This shows why there are are more than 200 so called "insurance" companies competing against each other for this business.

I would like to touch on an exciting track in AS, its called consulting. I am sure many of you heard of it before and wan to know why they need consulting actuaries. Alright, I've touched on insurance and the other 'big business' here is pension. Basically, every company here in the US has to provide pension benefit for all their employees regardless of anything. You work for the company and the company has to sponsor/match up the amount that you put into ur pension. Its not like the regular KWSP fund. It is a mandated fund by the US govt to provide this pension benefit on top of their regular KWSP fund. So, you get what I mean. With all said, this is where consulting actuaries come in to the play. How much do the company has put into this fund every year so that it is suffice to fund when their workers start to retire? So, all companies in the US requires Consultant to do these kinds of work and calculation for them. The good thing about being a consultant is you could travel around meeting clients and not just staying in the little cubicle analyzing numbers.

MYTH4 : There is really a high demand of actuaries in US!

Prior to 2008, it was really looking good. Financial market was at its peak and business were flourishing like never before. Sadly, everything turned sour after the Olympic games. It is not easy in sure dire times. Companies are hiring less ppl and they face an even harder decision when it comes to international students because they have to sponsor their visas. I'm not saying that there are no chance at all but companies tend to sift out internationals. Why? Come on. Think of it. Unemployment are at all time high, companies prefers to hire locals more than anybody else to help push the numbers down. I have many friends here mostly internationals looking for jobs and its not looking good for them. They graduated and got 3-4 papers passed. Guess where are they now? Sulking in their rooms thinking of what to do next. haha.

With all said and done, AS good or bad? Yes, if you vow to deal with numbers for the rest of your life. Suck it up and endure it! haha. Personally, I am kinda lost. 4 years ago, i loved math, i thought actuarial papers are hard. i thought i would work in the insurance industry and i could really get a job in US. I got no interview and job prospects. It sucks coz even after so many hard work passing 2 papers and so many $$ spent from my FA-MA ( father mother) loan, I wasn't rewarded. Argh. I'm just trying to lament my feelings. I'll probably just end up like my other friends working in banks/insurance companies for RM 3K a month in Malaysia. cry.gif

Anyways, this is just something I would like to share to all the aspiring actuaries out there. I wish you luck should you choose to endure this profession. Feel free to bump me up for any questions. I would be more than willing to help and share my experience with those who are in quandaries. Remember, its a risky business!

mumeichan
post Nov 22 2009, 04:19 PM

4,152 posts

QUOTE(jianjie @ Nov 10 2009, 10:54 PM)
wanna study AS? let me list down below requirements ah..from my aspect as a student studying tis course and going suicide

calculus - u think add math is hard? AS math comparing add math in high skul is like yr daddy and yr son

statistics - fundamental of tis course. normal distribution in add math confusing u? forget bout AS! as 2nd year student i ady studied normal, uniform, binomial, geometri, negative binomial, hypergeometry, beta, gamma, pareto, exponential, ch square, weibull, poisson, lognormal...so far is these 14 and will learn more..each of them r DIFFERENT!

programming - a basic of C programming, little VBA, working with excel, SPSS and other statistical softwares are a must

accounting and economics - i dun know y shud i stdy these. my lecturer said, nx time whn u be boss, ppl cant cheat u so easily..wtf

commercial law - to protect yrself

english, public speaking, oral communication, professional writing - communication is very important.

financial mathematics - tis is so diff than the normal math i study..need strong logical thinking and analytic skills

and finally, the combination of those fundamentals..wanna know more? PM me
Your university may have included accounts and law for their actuarial degree program, but accounting and law has really not much to do with the actuarial line at all.
tomvincci
post Feb 21 2010, 09:34 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(Tangiers @ Jun 19 2008, 03:10 AM)
Hi everyone,

IOA Exams

NUS/ANU

Cya!

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:38 pmi am planning to study actuarial science in ntu.....i would like to ask ...is it i need to enrol in bachelor of business in actuarial science or just bachelor of business?is it difficult to pass the 1st year in order to specialized in actuarial science in the second year?

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:41 pmi am planning to study actuarial science in ntu.....i would like to ask ...is it i need to enrol in bachelor of business in actuarial science or just bachelor of business?is it difficult to pass the 1st year in order to specialized in actuarial science in the second year?

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:43 pm
QUOTE(andrew_toh33 @ Nov 22 2009, 03:35 PM)
I'm currently a AS major doing my final year in US. I passed 2 SOA paper.  Here are my two-cents for those who aspire to be an actuary especially those who are looking forward to do it in US..

MYTH1 :  I'm good at math then I should be an actuary.

To become an actuary, math is not the only tool you need. It takes a lot of thought and logic to to really understand actuarial studies. Besides having math classes, you will need finance, accounting, insurance, economics and most importantly stats & Excel. You have to go through it no matter u like it or hate it. There are really not many actuarial class that you could take at a degree level. The rest of the classes that you take kinda builds the knowledge that you need to pass the professional exams and the real work.

Yes they are! But its not like u need a perfect score to pass. Passing score are set at a feasible level for students that have work hard for it. With all said, this is not the exam that u could do well with an all-nighter. It requires a lot of study time (even in ur dream) and effort to really pass the exam. I can assure you that every single effort you put in will be well paid off. For those who are looking to do the SOA track, its a pretty well structured exam and every exams builds up for the next exams. There are ample of study manuals and materials available here in the US. So, companies here in the US are looking to hire students with at least one or two exams passed. Its kinda different in the UK as u begin taking it when u start working. Here, you just need to do it while you are at school. So that is a burden for students especially they need to maintain grades in classes and at the same time study for the exam. time management!!!

For those smarties out there, just a word of caution, passing too many exams before you get a jobs is not really a good idea. Cos there is no way a company could pay you more than a person that have ample of experience but only have 1 or 2 exams passed. You get what i mean.At the end of the day, it the experience that matters. I would advice any where between 2-3 papers before you get a job would be good enough. And if u really don't get a job in the your desired field. Then you should look into other profession! 

In many countries outside of US, almost all the actuaries worked in the insurance industry, But that is not the case here in US, the actuarial profession is not just limited to insurance industry. There are consulting, property&casualty, health, pension, life and etc. Why so many tracks? This is just the way it works in US. Risk management and insurance is an enormous business here. I'm sure many of you heard of the recent Health Care reform that has been on the news. Do you know how much does US spent on the healthcare system? Roughly, 16% of the US GDP which is equals to $ 2.26 Trillion at an estimate of $ $7000 per person. This is just the amount of money an average john/jane doe spend just on health. Try adding life insurance, car insurance, pension benefits in to the equation. You could kinda guess the numbers i am talking about.  This shows why there are are more than 200 so called "insurance" companies competing against each other for this business.

I would like to touch on an exciting track in AS, its called consulting. I am sure many of you heard of it before and wan to know why they need consulting actuaries. Alright, I've touched on insurance and the other 'big business' here is pension. Basically, every company here in the US has to provide pension benefit for all their employees regardless of anything. You work for the company and the company has to sponsor/match up the amount that you put into ur pension. Its not like the regular KWSP fund. It is a mandated fund by the US govt to provide this pension benefit on top of their regular KWSP fund. So, you get what I mean. With all said, this is where consulting actuaries come in to the play. How much do the company has put into this fund every year so that it is suffice to fund when their workers start to retire?  So, all companies in the US requires Consultant to do these kinds of work and calculation for them. The good thing about being a consultant is you could travel around meeting clients and not just staying in the little cubicle analyzing numbers.  

Prior to 2008, it was really looking good. Financial market was at its peak and business were flourishing like never before. Sadly, everything turned sour after the Olympic games. It is not easy in sure dire times. Companies are hiring less ppl and they face an even harder decision when it comes to international students because they have to sponsor their visas. I'm not saying that there are no chance at all but companies tend to sift out internationals. Why? Come on. Think of it. Unemployment are at all time high, companies prefers to hire locals more than anybody else to help push the numbers down. I have many friends here mostly internationals looking for jobs and its not looking good for them. They graduated and got 3-4 papers passed. Guess where are they now? Sulking in their rooms thinking of what to do next. haha. 
With all said and done, AS good or bad? Yes, if you vow to deal with numbers for the rest of your life. Suck it up and endure it!  haha. Personally, I am kinda lost. 4 years ago, i loved math, i thought actuarial papers are hard. i thought i would work in the insurance industry and i could really get a job in US. I got no interview and job prospects. It sucks coz even after so many hard work passing 2 papers and so many $$ spent from my FA-MA ( father mother) loan, I wasn't rewarded. Argh. I'm just trying to lament my feelings. I'll probably just end up like my other friends working in banks/insurance companies for RM 3K a month in Malaysia.  cry.gif

Anyways, this is just something I would like to share to all the aspiring actuaries out there. I wish you luck should you choose to endure this profession. Feel free to bump me up for any questions. I would be more than willing to help and share my experience with those who are in quandaries. Remember, its a risky business!

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:44 pm
I'm currently a AS major doing my final year in US. I passed 2 SOA paper.  Here are my two-cents for those who aspire to be an actuary especially those who are looking forward to do it in US..

In many countries outside of US, almost all the actuaries worked in the insurance industry, But that is not the case here in US, the actuarial profession is not just limited to insurance industry. There are consulting, property&casualty, health, pension, life and etc. Why so many tracks? This is just the way it works in US. Risk management and insurance is an enormous business here. I'm sure many of you heard of the recent Health Care reform that has been on the news. Do you know how much does US spent on the healthcare system? Roughly, 16% of the US GDP which is equals to $ 2.26 Trillion at an estimate of $ $7000 per person. This is just the amount of money an average john/jane doe spend just on health. Try adding life insurance, car insurance, pension benefits in to the equation. You could kinda guess the numbers i am talking about.  This shows why there are are more than 200 so called "insurance" companies competing against each other for this business.

I would like to touch on an exciting track in AS, its called consulting. I am sure many of you heard of it before and wan to know why they need consulting actuaries. Alright, I've touched on insurance and the other 'big business' here is pension. Basically, every company here in the US has to provide pension benefit for all their employees regardless of anything. You work for the company and the company has to sponsor/match up the amount that you put into ur pension. Its not like the regular KWSP fund. It is a mandated fund by the US govt to provide this pension benefit on top of their regular KWSP fund. So, you get what I mean. With all said, this is where consulting actuaries come in to the play. How much do the company has put into this fund every year so that it is suffice to fund when their workers start to retire?  So, all companies in the US requires Consultant to do these kinds of work and calculation for them. The good thing about being a consultant is you could travel around meeting clients and not just staying in the little cubicle analyzing numbers.  

With all said and done, AS good or bad? Yes, if you vow to deal with numbers for the rest of your life. Suck it up and endure it!  haha. Personally, I am kinda lost. 4 years ago, i loved math, i thought actuarial papers are hard. i thought i would work in the insurance industry and i could really get a job in US. I got no interview and job prospects. It sucks coz even after so many hard work passing 2 papers and so many $$ spent from my FA-MA ( father mother) loan, I wasn't rewarded. Argh. I'm just trying to lament my feelings. I'll probably just end up like my other friends working in banks/insurance companies for RM 3K a month in Malaysia.  cry.gif

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:45 pm

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:54 pm

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:55 pm

Added on February 21, 2010, 9:55 pmwhat the different between soa and ioa?which one is better?

This post has been edited by tomvincci: Feb 21 2010, 09:55 PM
ky92
post Feb 25 2010, 10:09 PM

i'm currently waiting for my spm results and am thinking to take my pre-u in malaysia, and then further my studies in singapore's NTU and am planning to take up actuarial science. how long is the course and approximately how much does it cost per year?
post Jun 17 2010, 05:19 PM

hi! i am from singapore! and honestly shipping the study guides over is rather expensive!

any1 willing to sell their old study guides??? pls pm me! thanks!
alex890628
post Jun 17 2010, 08:54 PM

739 posts

i duno much about that, i juz know my university UCSI is offering this course.
[Ck]
post Dec 16 2010, 04:35 PM

Hey people i'm new here. Well i've just finished my spm. Just wondering if i should go for the A levels first or straight to the foundation of actuarial science. And any suggestions on what college or uni to attend?
cocooh
post Dec 16 2010, 06:55 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

OK , Actuary Science is offered @ Inti , as far as i kno , as ADP - American Degree Program .

You can choose from 2+2 or 3+1 where 3+1 only has 1 American University available for that - Oklahoma

As far as i kno , Actuarial Science is a very tough subject , i was informed that there are only 74 Acturials in Malaysia and the growing speed is very slow from time to time , making it demanding jobs in every country including USA .

Cons ? Well , this job is more focused on estimating future contingent events, such as the rates of mortality by age, as well as the development of mathematical techniques for discounting the value of funds set aside and invested.Which is , you can work maybe "only" on insurance company . But some US states of actuarial models to set criminal sentencing guidelines.

You can try taking Acturial Science on any uni , as i kno the first year is going to be your foundations . You might wanna try it 1 year and a half then only decide whether to move on bcoz , its really TOUGH .

INTI college is having a talk @ their Subang Jaya campus about Acturial and its future on 2.30 PM ~ 3.30 PM . Everyone is welcomed =)

Added on December 16, 2010, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(Ck @ Dec 16 2010, 04:35 PM)
Hey people i'm new here. Well i've just finished my spm. Just wondering if i should go for the A levels first or straight to the foundation of actuarial science. And any suggestions on what college or uni to attend?
You can go A levels if you want but Acturial Science minimum requirements is 5 credits in SPM . It will be a degree program , but this doesnt means you skip your foundations . 4 years will be required to study this field . The 1st year is mainly is your foundation . nod.gif

This post has been edited by cocooh: Dec 16 2010, 06:57 PM
Silencer90
post Dec 17 2010, 12:25 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Ck @ Dec 16 2010, 04:35 PM)
Hi, just want to let you know that you don't need an actuarial science degree to be an actuary. Taking the foundation and bachelor degree in actuarial science can only expose you to the opportunities in building up some fundamental skills in actuarial field, but it won't make you a qualified actuary either.

The thing that decide whether you can become an actuary is the professional exams that you pass through. Those professional exams can only administered by the international actuarial societies such as SOA, CAS, IAA and many more. What you need to do is try to search around to confirm whether a college or university provide any exemptions for you in the series of professional exams.

As far as I know, none of the Malaysian institution provide this kind of service, if got, only provide some exemptions for some subjects only. So, you may try to find out whether the oversea college that is mentioned in the twining program provided by the private institution do provide the exemptions, that's quite important.

Some word of advice, make as much research as you can before you decide, make the best decision that brings no regret~

I'm currently taking an undergraduate degree of actuarial science in local university and what I mentioned is part of what I encountered before. Hope that it helps~ smile.gif
hunterxxx
post Oct 9 2011, 04:13 AM

15 posts

Hi, I'm just finish my foundation in business in Taylor's University. Now I'm really facing dilemma. I wish to study Actuarial Science. What Path should I take? Should I retake A-level? or go for ADP?or take SAT by myself? Because I find out that SMU in singapore do accept SAT applicant. or maybe by luck, I can study In US. 1 more thing. Is studying at local university good? e.g. UTAR, UCSI? I heard that Actuarial Science in UCSI is not fully accredidated. Is it?

0.0861sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:43 PM