Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

kparam77
post Jan 12 2012, 02:31 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 12 2012, 01:41 PM)
Sorry can't agree the statement DDI will help.
It works on certain circumstances.

I can answer, but I am not god.  laugh.gif
DDI in not performing fund - greater loss incurred.  tongue.gif

DDI only help provided the fund is performing afterwards.
Cherroy, Lunchtime Q is...... kparam77, tell me should i DDI in PCSF, PCIF? because according to you DDI averages the cost of purchase but to me, the fund is still losing money after 4 years of DDI.

how u answer this, shud lunchtime do DDI for PCSF or PCIF?

Added on January 12, 2012, 2:42 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 12 2012, 10:59 AM)
If you are not familiar with UT/fund, you can start with small sum at first, then keep the rest of money for future.

DDI can be bad if you are not knowing what you are doing.
DDI can be bad if the fund is not performing.

There is needless for one must adopt DDI to invest into a fund.

Agents surely promote hard on DDI, because it means more and constant commission from it.  tongue.gif
Added on January 12, 2012, 11:00 amThere is one fund that loss 60% over 4 years time frame, if doing DDI on this fund, it sinks you into deeper hole only.
SC for RM100K, let say 5% = RM100K x 5% = RM5K.

if break the RM100K for DDI, let say monthly Rm500 for 200 months with the same SC.

Rm500 x 5% = RM25
= Rm25 x 200 times
= RM5K.

so, the agents commissions from the SC too.

so, its either lump sump or DDI, the SC is same.

agents will get steady/constant commission but not the more.

This post has been edited by kparam77: Jan 12 2012, 02:42 PM
kparam77
post Jan 12 2012, 04:37 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 12 2012, 02:07 PM)
Yup.

DDI works better than lump sum if the fund performance like
Start
then 1.00
and finally 1.20.
That's why I said DDI only works well in certain circumstance. If only works well in circumstances which depended how situation unfold and not a foolproof to eliminate the risk. In real term, more risk being taken due to more money being committed into the same fund.

I know every agent will push hard on DDI, I won't discourage or encourage on this.
But investors deserved to know the flaw and potential risk of DDI that can make greater loss in the future.
The statement of DDI works well doesn't necessary true.
just wants to share,
Not nessacary to go finally 1.20.

Example:

Invest Rm100;

Rm100 / 1.00 = 100 units
Rm100 / 0.9 = 111.11 units
Rm100 / 0.8 = 125 units
Rm100 / 1 = 100 units

So, total invested = RM400 and accumulated units are 436.11

So, the average buying units price is = RM400 / 436.11 = RM0.917. not Rm1.00 or 0.9 or 0.8 anymore.

So, not need to wait for 1.20 to gain profits, RM0.92 shud be enough to start the gain.

kparam77
post Jan 12 2012, 05:12 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 12 2012, 05:07 PM)
Yeah.. this DDI is a double edge sword.. what if the following scenario happen how?

Start

Then how? In stock terms we call this 'catching falling knife'  laugh.gif There is no guarantee DDI can help you make back your losses... depending on the performance of fund. It also could be like the above, one way ticket to disaster...
ya, its true.

down, down down means, DDI also can down also.

the price shud flactuate for the gain.
kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 11:01 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 12 2012, 07:10 PM)
Thank for the info, you provide the best explanation  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Added on January 13, 2012, 9:47 amAny good investor(s) in history before put example RM200k lump sum and within few months, get back around RM1m or more/less? Just curious.
kalau macam ini ASB pun kalah.

not possible in UT.

the expectation in UT from 5% - 12 % average. (equiy funds), BONDs 5 - 8% average.

if follow rule 72. double ur money vs yrs.

72 / 5% = 14.4 yrs.
72/8% = 9 yrs.
72/12% = 6 yrs.

so, its abt 6 to 15 yrs to double ur money in UT, if follow the RULE 72. and it depends on the fund performance too. this rule may not suit for bad performing funds.

my personal view only.
kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 12:53 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 13 2012, 12:23 PM)
That 's gambling, not investment.

On our ongoing discussion,

1) VCA - I doubt agents would do this method as it involves a lot of monitoring and its tedious work. Say an agent with 300 clients, how would he manage VCA for each client? Its impossible task.

2) one wonders why I kept asking kparam77 certain questions, because he, as an agent failed to note on certain aspects. I rather not point out what I am looking for but its quite clearly stated in some of the posting by non agents here.
as an agent failed to note on certain aspects.

can u elobrate on this. maybe u not understand from my earlier replies. NO WORRIES, i will try my level best, MAKE U UNDERSTAND.

kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 01:28 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 13 2012, 12:54 PM)
kparam77 is new that why he no experience
ya, new...... no experience......maybe.......

any senior agent here can reply on lunchtime Q's.........kparam77, tell me should i DDI in PCSF, PCIF? because according to you DDI averages the cost of purchase but to me, the fund is still losing money after 4 years of DDI.

how u answer this, shud lunchtime do DDI for PCSF or PCIF?

my replies as.....ask him to read whatever material and decide.

my policy,

normaly i will ask investors objective and ask them to choose the fund themself.... if they cannot comes up the fudns..than only i will choose the fund for them which suit with their objective too.

sometimes non-agents can tell any thing. as a agent i need to follow company policy too. simply cannot hantam-mah, without knowing wat is the investor want. i may mislead or give wrong guide.

kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 04:06 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 13 2012, 02:51 PM)
Its you not understand what I m asking. Read thru our postings and look deeper. The answers are staring at you.

But a good effort from you. Cheers!
dont simply ask with limited info's..... kparam77, tell me should i DDI in PCSF, PCIF? because according to you DDI averages the cost of purchase but to me, the fund is still losing money after 4 years of DDI.

do u think im only tag with PCSF, PCIF?

its ok now, let me move for u.......

how much u invst until now?
waht is ur initial?
ur monhly DDI?
how much u lost already?

or, r u asking want open new acc and do DDI for those PCSF, PCIF?
if u want to open new acc, wat u undestand from the financial report, fund rewiev and waht is stated in prospectus abt these funds?

if u say u already read but not understand, U BETTER STAY AWAY FROM THESE FUNDS, BECAUSE U NOT UNDERSTAND ABT THE PRODUCTS.

UT policy says, investors must read and understand the prospectus.

I DONT CARE WAHT OTHER AGENT OR NON-AGENTS SAYS, IF U ASK ME...... U NEED TO GIVE WAHT I EXPECT FROM U TOO.

kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 11:35 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 13 2012, 08:47 PM)
guys,

just wanna hear some comments...

i started my UT portfolio during mid-2008, doing RSP (DDI for some of u) RM100 monthly til end of 2010, along the way also pumped in bits on and off, then stopped cos I felt that markets are peaking. My portfolio are largely conservative-balanced except for a global fund focused on banks/financials (this fund is the biggest drag on my portfolio doh.gif )

to-date my portfolio returned about 6%, annualised return=1.7%

is this considered "reasonable" for the past 4 years? unsure.gif

sifu sifu sekalian tolong komen notworthy.gif

Added on January 13, 2012, 8:57 pm

i make a simple illustration to explain to u...

Fund ABC
- got 100,000 units in circulation
- launch price at RM1.00 per unit

so, total assets of ABC = 100,000 x RM1.00 = RM100,000

let's say, a few years later ABC's assets value rose to RM150,000, so u have NAV price of RM1.50 per unit (assuming no additional units were created, so RM150,000/100,000 units)

then the fund house decided to do unit split of 2-for-1 for ABC

100,000 units become 200,000 units
RM150,000/200,000 units = RM0.75 per unit

That's unit split for u wink.gif

Effect?
- lowered NAV price per unit (RM1.50 becomes RM0.75)
- assets value - UNCHANGED (still RM150,000)
- psychological effect saja...cos some investors might PERCEIVE a RM1.50 fund as "expensive" doh.gif
- and it keeps the NAV price close to the original launch price
good explanation abt unit split.
in other meaning, the unit split is to readjust the NAV without declare the distributions.

kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 11:44 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 13 2012, 11:05 PM)
You mean i can buy 2 ABCD? Can briefly explain the benefit?
if u sign up with agents X for ABCD fund, u still can sign up with agent Y for the same fund. but u only can find agent A in PMO until u sign up manualy with agent B to see both.

not much benefit. its a same, maybe the agent services diff.
kparam77
post Jan 14 2012, 11:13 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 14 2012, 01:07 AM)
chill lar bor, already told you what i expected from an agent is staring at you, just that you didn't notice. you been and still is barking up the wrong tree.

and again good effort.  icon_rolleyes.gif
which one, staring at me for waht?
kparam77
post Jan 27 2012, 09:37 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 27 2012, 08:58 AM)
that's great because pbmutual sales charge is 5.5% but this FSM only 1%. rclxms.gif
ya, PM no exit fee, while FSM got exit fee. tongue.gif
kparam77
post Feb 10 2012, 12:31 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Feb 9 2012, 10:56 PM)
For FSM, let hear from other's input. Each got their different appetite.

For PM is as below, not in sequence and not fixed fund. Need to change according to the economic climate.

PISEF - invest in top 50 largest companies listed in Malaysia with Shariah Compliance
PRSF -to achieve a steady growth in income.
PIDF - Islamic Stocks with attractive dividend yield.
PFSF - medium capitalization in diversified sectors.
PDSF -non Islamic stocks with  attractive dividend yield.

Just my own preference.
n also,
PSF SAVING FUND
PIX - INDEX FUND
P ITTIKAL - ISLAMIC
PAGF - AGGRESSIVE GROWTH

kparam77
post Feb 10 2012, 08:29 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(Angel On Fire @ Feb 10 2012, 08:18 PM)
Thanks, transit and kparam77 for the info on PM.

I happened to be at Public Bank today and brought home a bunch of PM brochures. Will need some time to look though them.

For FSM equity funds, it seems that OSK-UOB KidSave is a popular choice after Kenanga growth. But "KidSave" sounds so unaggresive  blush.gif

Personally, I like aggresive EPF approved equity funds that pays yearly dividends and has some overseas stocks exposure.
the most important is the prospectus, not just the brochures.

its better focus on capital growth rather than divdends for epf scheme. u r not going to spend the dividedns anyway. unless for cash and u want to use the dividedns.

kparam77
post Feb 20 2012, 04:45 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Feb 20 2012, 04:26 PM)
Hi fellow senior investors, lately I have started investing in bonds funds and I went for Dynamic Bonds Funds by AmBank. The reason being the return for the past few teas have show a satisfying % for me.

My doubt is UT can help investors earn through dividend (interest) annually and capital (when you decided to sell off your bonds. Am I right on this thinking?

BONDS funds return = annual dividend interest + capital gain (when you decided to sell)?

Technically speaking, am I right? Returns is based on my annual % of capital.
total return = income distribution(if any) + capital gain/lost

go to how to calculate ut in my signature.
kparam77
post Feb 20 2012, 11:37 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Feb 20 2012, 06:48 PM)
So technically I'm right. Because Pinky (below) made the explanations a bit complicated by saying there's no real gain (left side in, right side out) etc etc. No hard feelings. It's just that I'm a slower learner.

Added on February 20, 2012, 6:50 pm

Yes, I know. I choose to reinvest my distributions. But technically that distribution is part of my gain as well. But I'm just reinvesting my gain into my capital. Maybe for some people, reinvestment gain is NOT a gain?
not nessasary, u still can get distribution(if any) if capital lost and it depend on distribution policy.

for the annual income policy, if the fund make lost, still distribution declare because of the policy. maybe the gain is in the name of units if re-invest the distributions, not the holding value.

do u know that if u take out the ditribution, ur holding value will be less from ur original value? but the number of units remain same. its because the distribution is given from the unit NAV.

if ur NAV is RM0.10, if rm0.02 decalre as distribution per unit. ur unit price after the distribution will be RM0.08. its never remain as RM0.10.

the value is determine by the price movement, not the distributions.

u hv to choose which is u want. cappital grow or income. both give diff meaning.
if u young, u hv to focus on capital grow without worry abt income/dividedns/distribution. (growth fund/equity funds/dividedns funds)

if u old, focus to income/dividedns/distribution becuse u may spend it annually.(dividedns funds/bonds/MM)

if a fund objective says that give steady income/dividedns, its not mean it will give dividends on capital gains only. its may capital lost too.

my 2 cents.
kparam77
post Feb 21 2012, 01:45 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Feb 21 2012, 12:34 PM)
kparam.... I GOT IT ALL WRONG!

I calculated it the wrong way!

RM5,000 capital.
10% return.

RM5000 x 10% = RM500

Total = RM5,000 + RM500 = RM5,500 (total capital now)

But it's wrong.

You said the RM500 is paid to me based on my RM5,000. If that is the case, how I earn my money??? You explain further that all the dividends earned will be revert into units.... So one of the way UT earn is to make sure I accumulate lots of unit and selling it high to earn capital gain????
2. So is that why u mention above I need to set which one I want? Either capital gain or dividend? Cause if I choose not to reinvest my dividend, I get to keep my dividend. If I reinvest, there is a risk that unit price might drop and affect my capital gain?
taht why u need to understand abt UT concept. how it work.

let say u invest rm5k. i calcualte without service charge to make u undersand.

let say the unit price is rm1.

total unit u have is 5k units.

let say the unit price up to rm1.20.

so, 5k units x rm1.20 = rm6k. (total return)

ur profit is rm6k -rm5k = rm1k.

let say rm0.10 declare as distribution.
5k units x rm0.10 = rm500

so, the total return = income distribution + capital gain
RM6000 = RM500 + RM5500

if u take out the distribution, the balance/value will be RM5500 with same 5k units.

if u re-invest back, let say with rm1 per units.

rm500 / rm1 = 500 units

total units now is 5k units + 500 units = 5500 units

value still rm6k.

so, no diff in the value, only the units is increase if reinves back.

the unit price will re-adjuxt from Rm1.20 to rm1.10, because rm0.10 already declare, either taken as cash or re-invest.

so, price movement is more important to give u profit, not the dividedns.

kparam77
post Feb 21 2012, 02:57 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Feb 21 2012, 01:52 PM)
But dividends also play part of the role. Cause if I reinvest dividends, capital more... Units also will directly be increased right?

The unit price you referred to... Is it MY PERSONAL unit price OR the unit price in GENERAL... Cause I read the past trend of unit price. NEVER DROP BEFORE WOR...
of cource if u re-invest ur distribution, meaning no minus from ur value plus more unit accumulated. ur average price will lesser.

I assume the PERSONAL PRICE is average price and GENERAL price is market price.

as example before ur avrage price per unit is rm1.00

after the distribution re-invest, ur total units are 5500.
now ur avrage price is = ur capital invested / units
rm5k / 5500 = Rm0.90

no more rm1.00. so, the more units accumulated by re-invest the distributions, the cheaper the average price. assume the capital only rm5k.

take note, distribution will be tax. waht u get is after the tax payout.

NEVER DROP BEFORE WOR...???????
which one? from where u read this?

kparam77
post Feb 21 2012, 04:18 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Feb 21 2012, 03:05 PM)
so my average unit price varies every year?

Or I just need to calculate my profit every year... so that i can calculate the amount of ''EXTRA'' units i can get...

and then repeat the process every year.

Added on February 21, 2012, 3:08 pm
how to calculate my average price every year.

Added on February 21, 2012, 3:09 pm
for AmDynamic at least. I look through their trend for the past 3 months. So far never drop before.
yes, u need to review ur investment time to time.

average price = total amount invested / total no of units u hv.

3 months not enough to study the fund, at least 3 yrs and above the past record..

kparam77
post Feb 28 2012, 08:03 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 28 2012, 07:26 PM)
oh ok.. global equities like Alliance one is ok? Btw, is fundsupermart.com safe if i buy my bond or watever thru them? If equity fund, normally how long should i hold them? If like bond, is kind of long term investment, where u just keep money inside and topup, since it is relatively low risk.. how about equity or global equity? I dont know how to see how good is their performance >< too noob lo...
than u shud wait and study those u too noob. dont follow the emotion.

for local equity fund, wait-loh.
kparam77
post Mar 18 2012, 10:40 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(danes007 @ Mar 17 2012, 04:07 PM)
Hello Sifus...
I have Rm10k in my hand only for investment purpose.
I believe I won't need this money in short term period at all.
I'm a moderate risk taker. I can all in lump sum in one stock or diversify into few stocks but I believe for rm10k capital, it's not rational choice to buy a lot of stocks, especially for long term purpose.
My investment term would be for 5-10years.
I'm planning to reinvest the dividends also.
What are the options for me?
please specify the options so I can do my research. Thanks in advance!  icon_rolleyes.gif
since ur time zone is 5-10 yrs and re-invest the dividedns.

moderate gorwth/dividedns funds will suitable for u.

if u looking for local funds, its better to wait for the GE. the unit price might get cheaper after the GE.

go to public mutual website and research those funds in prospectus,fund review and financial report.

PM me if u interested for discussions.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0552sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:16 PM