Oct 15 2009, 12:37 PM
263 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
Unless you are using a fast attacking weapon (like LS or SNS), affinity is not that reliable..
For myself as a hammer user, I wouldn't be bothered by the affinity as I deal slow hits (triple pound or charge attack) but if really needed, putting RA1 is sufficient IMO. Like what Exsea said, high damage > high affinity with low damage. I tested this out using 2 hammers that are always compared side by side most of the time. Nargaruga Hammer (1248 with 50% affinity) VS Tigrex Hammer (1508 with -30% affinity) for their Purple Sharpness. I brought that 2 hammers into game (fighting the same boss) and I can actually stagger much more using Tigrex Hammer than Nargaruga and I can kill faster too... (Yes i do know there are some smaller bosses or bigger bosses) but I repeated that a lot of times and in the end I decided on using Tigrex hammer.. So this argument will never end, again.. it's drilled down to your playstyle.. Either u love to hit and run or u like to do tons of hits (scattered all over on the bosses) or u just want to break every single part of the boss's body. Capcom gave us that freedom, by creating various types of weapons given in MHU! Horray! This post has been edited by derlin: Oct 15 2009, 12:41 PM |
Oct 15 2009, 02:30 PM
58 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Phantasy STAR~ |
true.. i also experience same thing... affinity cant seem to stagger monster but raw damage does..
Oct 15 2009, 02:37 PM
102 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
hi guy's,
i just want to ask currently i'm wearing kut-ku set with eager cleaver but i'm not sure what is the next set of armor i should aim for because most of the set i see is useless with terain,ice resist,hunger or etc..none of them with attack ,def or health |
Oct 15 2009, 03:07 PM
202 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Chelas |
QUOTE(gofey @ Oct 15 2009, 02:37 PM) hi guy's, if you're thinking of att/def/health... try Monoblos armori just want to ask currently i'm wearing kut-ku set with eager cleaver but i'm not sure what is the next set of armor i should aim for because most of the set i see is useless with terain,ice resist,hunger or etc..none of them with attack ,def or health for me, what i did was Kut-ku --> Khezu (for cool looks only) --> Monoblos --> Rathalos This post has been edited by imwhoiam: Oct 15 2009, 03:08 PM |
Oct 15 2009, 03:14 PM
Oct 15 2009, 03:20 PM
263 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(gofey @ Oct 15 2009, 03:14 PM) Or try to kill more bosses to unlock more armours. Check out Minegarde website for the armour skill list and search which boss provides them then only you hunt them. http://minegarde.com/wip/armorskills.php This post has been edited by derlin: Oct 15 2009, 03:21 PM |
Oct 16 2009, 08:56 AM
1 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(exsea @ Oct 15 2009, 11:18 AM) your calculation is correct, and it shows siegmund is better than diablos destroyer. however it depends on the game you're playing and how you use a gs. so...to make it simple..the conclusion is..GS will only reach its full potential when we play unsheath hit (hit n run) + (lvl3 charge) if you are playing MHF2 those 2 are the best GS's available, and out of the 2 i would also pick siegmund as the clear winner. however if you are playing MHU, those calculations are kind of useless. why? first, in MHU, diablos sword can be upgraded to white sharpness with 1488 raw and -15% affinity while siegmund is.....stuck... (you can curse capcom for punishing MHF2 players who make the best GS by making the GS stagnant in MHU) second, in MHU theres a skill called "unsheathe critical" (or something like that). what it does is it makes the first attack that takes the weapon out (unsheathe attack) and makes it a critical hit. a confirmed critical, 100% crit. it completely disregards negative affinity, even if your weapon has -999% affinity, with this skill it will be a critical. - arguements about using the statement above: -- what about people who want to attack more than once? if you're playing gs, you should play hit and run style. if you have time to hit more than once, you should charge your gs. in fact thanks to unsheathe critical, tigrex gs is a good gs too (2nd best imo). one advantage tigrex gs has over diablos gs is tigrex sharpness ends with purple while diablos ends at white and requires artisan to push it to it's full potential. heck, if you recompare the 2 swords you compared earlier in MHU, you would see diablos as better (with unsheathe critical that is). if you still want to debate on affinity, i would simply say affinity sucks. i choose raw over affinity anytime (i hate to depend on dumbluck) the reason i calculate is to make sure i didnt waste my time on farming diablos king blade because currently im having sword of diablos and siegmund. when i saw sword of diablos improve to diablos destroyer.i was like huh? affinity -30% but damage only increase like 100? but isit later if diablos destroyer upgrade to diablos king blade damage 1488,the negative infinity will decrease to -15%? Please guide on this..and what the material to make diablos king blade? anyway, exsea and derlin u both when fel free we come out to have drink around sunway area and do some hunt ..haha.. Added on October 16, 2009, 9:04 am QUOTE(gofey @ Oct 15 2009, 02:37 PM) hi guy's, gofey, erm..i have better suggestion for your..if you want to max your hp..go for rathian armor..it will give you +15 on your health and your need to make 3 more +2 health jewel to max ur hp..afther that you goo for yian garuga armor keeep farm until u got the Rathalos Soul armor..after u got Los soul armor.you will never want to change any armor..cox it provide max attack + High grade earplug.. i just want to ask currently i'm wearing kut-ku set with eager cleaver but i'm not sure what is the next set of armor i should aim for because most of the set i see is useless with terain,ice resist,hunger or etc..none of them with attack ,def or health This post has been edited by Xcalib3r: Oct 16 2009, 09:04 AM |
Oct 16 2009, 11:30 AM
656 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
in my opinion there are a few combination of skills
diablos (last upgrade) 1488 raw -15% affinity white sharpness unsheathe critical -if you keep sheathing after every attack it means all your attacks have 25% bonus damage all the time, it disregards negative affinity so the -15% affinity only affects attacks after the unsheathe attack artisan/sharpness +1 -to push the diablos sword to purple from white sharpness which gives you 50% sharpness bonus damage (white sharpness gives 30%) fastcharge -charge your gs faster by maybe 1- 1.5 seconds not too sure, what i am sure is that a level 3 charge is better than 3-4 combo attacks. i get the above from using full rajang set ,you can mix and match but i dont really see the need. rajang armor set is quite good, fully slotted it gives me the above skills and dragon resistance. the resists for this armor are all positive except for ice (it's weakness), not really too much of a dent in the armor as the first time i killed ukanlos was while doing it solo with this armor equipped (took me a few hours of trying tho). it does however give TAUNT skill which makes the boss target you more often. which is actually a good thing coz what i normally do is stand behind a boss and charge my gs. if he turns to me, he's gonna end up getting a nice level 3 charge on the face. if he doesn't then his tail, legs does. against fast creatures charging kind of sucks ass (even with fast charge) so i would trade my fast charge with attack up large (adds roughly 90 damage), rathalos armor gives you this. if you're willing to take risks potential +2 is better than attack up large, it gives you 30% bonus damage when your life is at/below 40. 30% of 1488 is much better than a measly 90 bonus damage, but you've got to be very confident not to get hit (since you need low life to activate the skill). to make diablos gs u need to kill..... diablos.... full weapon path + items u need can be found on minegarde.com (highly recommended webbie) alternatively if getting artisan skill is too much of a hassle, simply get tigrex gs. tigrex gs is actually superior to diablos (if you dont get artisan for diablos). tigrex gs's damage is roughly 100 less than diablos, but makes up for it by having 20% bonus damage from purple sharpness (does not need artisan). regardless, if you want the best damage for gs, the most important skills are unsheathe crit and purple sharpness. one might argue that shengaoren gs is much better as it's raw is 1440 has no affinity and has def bonus, but upon closer inspection, it's purple sharpness is short. it gets blunt easily, even the blackbelt gs (1300++ raw with no negative affinity) has the same problem. if damage isnt your primary concern, and if white sharpness is good enough for you, make sentoryu wolf (yian garuga gs). 1296 raw 40% affinity with 3 slots. i recommend gs users to have these gs: diablos gs - requires unsheathe crit + artisan tigrex gs - requires unsheathe crit ceanatur gs - balanced weapon lavasioth gs - high raw + fire element, defense, positive affinity, but requires artisan rathalos+rathian gs - high raw + dragon element (used to break elder dragon horns) sentoryu wolf (yian garuga gs) - 3slots, 40% affinity, but requires artisan daimyo gs - +30 or 40 def, requires artisan shengaoren gs - same as above, also requires sharpness (weapons stay sharp longer) to be reliable, despite this weapon requiring sharpness skill, this is one heck of a cool gs. when u charge it, red color runes appear on the blade (brighter/redder depending on the charge level)- AWESOME!!!! regardless of all those weapons, nowadays i just use diablos gs most of the time. so if u re making only 1 gs, then go make diablos. however, if your HR is low, or if you're a new player, get ceanatur gs. totally worth it! Added on October 16, 2009, 11:34 amlol i m going to stayover at derlins place tonight, staying over till sat, might be hunting with him and kaze on sat. hmmm.... sunway is a bit out of my area, but if enough people are going, then maybe can arrange an outing? This post has been edited by exsea: Oct 16 2009, 11:34 AM |
Oct 16 2009, 12:12 PM
58 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Phantasy STAR~ |
lavasioth???
Oct 16 2009, 12:39 PM
731 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
lavasioth is the name for MHFU i think.
Oct 16 2009, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(exsea @ Oct 16 2009, 11:30 AM) in my opinion there are a few combination of skills lol..erm..HR6 consider low onot? diablos (last upgrade) 1488 raw -15% affinity white sharpness unsheathe critical -if you keep sheathing after every attack it means all your attacks have 25% bonus damage all the time, it disregards negative affinity so the -15% affinity only affects attacks after the unsheathe attack artisan/sharpness +1 -to push the diablos sword to purple from white sharpness which gives you 50% sharpness bonus damage (white sharpness gives 30%) fastcharge -charge your gs faster by maybe 1- 1.5 seconds not too sure, what i am sure is that a level 3 charge is better than 3-4 combo attacks. i get the above from using full rajang set ,you can mix and match but i dont really see the need. rajang armor set is quite good, fully slotted it gives me the above skills and dragon resistance. the resists for this armor are all positive except for ice (it's weakness), not really too much of a dent in the armor as the first time i killed ukanlos was while doing it solo with this armor equipped (took me a few hours of trying tho). it does however give TAUNT skill which makes the boss target you more often. which is actually a good thing coz what i normally do is stand behind a boss and charge my gs. if he turns to me, he's gonna end up getting a nice level 3 charge on the face. if he doesn't then his tail, legs does. against fast creatures charging kind of sucks ass (even with fast charge) so i would trade my fast charge with attack up large (adds roughly 90 damage), rathalos armor gives you this. if you're willing to take risks potential +2 is better than attack up large, it gives you 30% bonus damage when your life is at/below 40. 30% of 1488 is much better than a measly 90 bonus damage, but you've got to be very confident not to get hit (since you need low life to activate the skill). to make diablos gs u need to kill..... diablos.... full weapon path + items u need can be found on minegarde.com (highly recommended webbie) alternatively if getting artisan skill is too much of a hassle, simply get tigrex gs. tigrex gs is actually superior to diablos (if you dont get artisan for diablos). tigrex gs's damage is roughly 100 less than diablos, but makes up for it by having 20% bonus damage from purple sharpness (does not need artisan). regardless, if you want the best damage for gs, the most important skills are unsheathe crit and purple sharpness. one might argue that shengaoren gs is much better as it's raw is 1440 has no affinity and has def bonus, but upon closer inspection, it's purple sharpness is short. it gets blunt easily, even the blackbelt gs (1300++ raw with no negative affinity) has the same problem. if damage isnt your primary concern, and if white sharpness is good enough for you, make sentoryu wolf (yian garuga gs). 1296 raw 40% affinity with 3 slots. i recommend gs users to have these gs: diablos gs - requires unsheathe crit + artisan tigrex gs - requires unsheathe crit ceanatur gs - balanced weapon lavasioth gs - high raw + fire element, defense, positive affinity, but requires artisan rathalos+rathian gs - high raw + dragon element (used to break elder dragon horns) sentoryu wolf (yian garuga gs) - 3slots, 40% affinity, but requires artisan daimyo gs - +30 or 40 def, requires artisan shengaoren gs - same as above, also requires sharpness (weapons stay sharp longer) to be reliable, despite this weapon requiring sharpness skill, this is one heck of a cool gs. when u charge it, red color runes appear on the blade (brighter/redder depending on the charge level)- AWESOME!!!! regardless of all those weapons, nowadays i just use diablos gs most of the time. so if u re making only 1 gs, then go make diablos. however, if your HR is low, or if you're a new player, get ceanatur gs. totally worth it! Added on October 16, 2009, 11:34 amlol i m going to stayover at derlins place tonight, staying over till sat, might be hunting with him and kaze on sat. hmmm.... sunway is a bit out of my area, but if enough people are going, then maybe can arrange an outing? currently using siegmund+los soul armor with HGE+ Attack huge, erm..kinda dissapointed with gold rathian and silver Los..too easy to kill i think.. oh ya Exsea, u currently wearing rajang set right?i also thought of making one but the only reason i didnt bcox it didnt have HGE skill |
Oct 16 2009, 03:03 PM
87 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: (K)ill (K)aeza |
Exsea make sure u don forget to bring charger to derlin place, later play half way no battery.
Oct 16 2009, 03:11 PM
thanks for the advice everyone, i will try to farm currently fighting rathalos lol
Oct 16 2009, 03:53 PM
potential + 2 gives 30% more damage and 90 def at below or equal to 40 life (might be 30) i forgot.
HGE is not needed for gs. why? proper gs players would be running around with sword sheathed, if they see a mob is going to roar, they use quickblock. normally i love having ukanlos roar, i just need to block, take my time to sheath the weapon, wait a second, then start charging the most dangerous roar for gs is the raths. coz they roar very fast.other roars are just annoying. tigrex /nagaruga roars are funny since u just need to keep out of their range and then run in and start charging (or you could just block it and start charging) HR 6 is quite good, the rajang armor i m using is G rank. for your current rank i think the required items for crit draw is unavailable yet (if not mistaken), if you're okay with having to "fix" the negative affinity or if you dont mind the negative affinity, then go for it. i actually don't really recommend diablos/tigrex gs if you dont have the drawn critical skill. Added on October 16, 2009, 3:54 pmyeah i m bringing my charger This post has been edited by exsea: Oct 16 2009, 03:54 PM |
Oct 16 2009, 04:16 PM
QUOTE(exsea @ Oct 16 2009, 03:53 PM) potential + 2 gives 30% more damage and 90 def at below or equal to 40 life (might be 30) i forgot. G-rank means quest above HR7-9??lol..that means Crit draw is a skill only available in rajang G-rank set? i taught unsheath critical can be trigger when we make the first attack on using any class weapon?HGE is not needed for gs. why? proper gs players would be running around with sword sheathed, if they see a mob is going to roar, they use quickblock. normally i love having ukanlos roar, i just need to block, take my time to sheath the weapon, wait a second, then start charging the most dangerous roar for gs is the raths. coz they roar very fast.other roars are just annoying. tigrex /nagaruga roars are funny since u just need to keep out of their range and then run in and start charging (or you could just block it and start charging) HR 6 is quite good, the rajang armor i m using is G rank. for your current rank i think the required items for crit draw is unavailable yet (if not mistaken), if you're okay with having to "fix" the negative affinity or if you dont mind the negative affinity, then go for it. i actually don't really recommend diablos/tigrex gs if you dont have the drawn critical skill. Added on October 16, 2009, 3:54 pmyeah i m bringing my charger you see...it maybe sounds noob but what button need to press to block using GS? I remember we need to stand still while pressing Right button+ Triangle to block..how bout while u r running? if running n you press R button + triangle it wil bcum u charging the Gs... |
Oct 16 2009, 05:07 PM
202 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Chelas |
I guess it's time for me to learn GS
kena poison by all these GS info |
Oct 16 2009, 05:26 PM
erm, all melee weapons have unsheathe attack (the first attack that pulls/draws the weapon out) - btw its not a noob question, i have at least 2 friends HR 9, both didnt even know what drawn critical did till i told them (that's what you get for playing mh2g). one of them is an LS lover, but he started to learn GS thanks to yours truely. the other guy, he's funny, he asked me "what HOUR are you?", thinking of the total hours spent, i said "200 or so, but if added with my MHF2 hours, it would total over 500". then he told me he was "HOUR NINE"....................... HR 9 = HOUR 9...... yes, this is what happens when you play mh2g.... anyway back to the point..
drawn critical (the proper skill, i kept referring to it as unsheathe critical), is an armor skill required to make all unsheathe attacks become confirmed criticals. to get this skill, you need armor/decorations only available in G-rank (g-rank is quests from the third lady in the guild hall, usually only HR 7-9 people have access to them). fast charge is also a G-rank skill, but if i m not mistaken there are some armors (kushala daora i think) that has it at pre-G. with your weapon sheathed press R+triangle+circle for quick block - its a lifesaver. so for your case i'd recommend ceanatur gs since its sharp and it can give u purple sharpness earlier if you use artisan on a none fully upgraded one. Added on October 16, 2009, 5:29 pm QUOTE(imwhoiam @ Oct 16 2009, 05:07 PM) lol if u need strategies on whacking mobs u can watch utube clips or ask me.ls is a good starting weapon, but in the end gs is better (in my opinion) This post has been edited by exsea: Oct 16 2009, 05:35 PM |
Oct 16 2009, 09:21 PM
1,079 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
GS ftw!!
i now using tactical blade... coz i duno which GS to use ... lol so far .. my GS is alwiz green sharpness >< |
Oct 16 2009, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(monked @ Oct 16 2009, 09:21 PM) GS ftw!! lol...then u should go for siegmund i now using tactical blade... coz i duno which GS to use ... lol so far .. my GS is alwiz green sharpness >< Added on October 16, 2009, 10:18 pm QUOTE(exsea @ Oct 16 2009, 05:26 PM) erm, all melee weapons have unsheathe attack (the first attack that pulls/draws the weapon out) - btw its not a noob question, i have at least 2 friends HR 9, both didnt even know what drawn critical did till i told them (that's what you get for playing mh2g). one of them is an LS lover, but he started to learn GS thanks to yours truely. the other guy, he's funny, he asked me "what HOUR are you?", thinking of the total hours spent, i said "200 or so, but if added with my MHF2 hours, it would total over 500". then he told me he was "HOUR NINE"....................... HR 9 = HOUR 9...... yes, this is what happens when you play mh2g.... anyway back to the point.. lol...now oni i know nedd 1 more button which is circle button drawn critical (the proper skill, i kept referring to it as unsheathe critical), is an armor skill required to make all unsheathe attacks become confirmed criticals. to get this skill, you need armor/decorations only available in G-rank (g-rank is quests from the third lady in the guild hall, usually only HR 7-9 people have access to them). fast charge is also a G-rank skill, but if i m not mistaken there are some armors (kushala daora i think) that has it at pre-G. with your weapon sheathed press R+triangle+circle for quick block - its a lifesaver. so for your case i'd recommend ceanatur gs since its sharp and it can give u purple sharpness earlier if you use artisan on a none fully upgraded one. Added on October 16, 2009, 5:29 pm lol if u need strategies on whacking mobs u can watch utube clips or ask me. ls is a good starting weapon, but in the end gs is better (in my opinion) erm...i wil stil insist of farming diablos king blade ^^ cox im half way farming Los Soul U, then max the RA+3 to balance the -15% Affinity. i still need 2 more Los rubies..they said silver Los give more % of getting right?? cox i done troublesome pair n azure Los quest over n over again..cant even get 1.. This post has been edited by Xcalib3r: Oct 16 2009, 10:18 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0310sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:44 PM |