GUINEA PIGS CORNER V2, Kiut Kiut Kawaii~

Jamien
post Jun 15 2008, 06:20 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(gchin_st @ Jun 15 2008, 06:14 PM)
when we getting a new piggy frm a pet shop, how we gonna check either the piggy having any lice or mites problem on the spot? is it obvious to check by eye sight?
smile.gif Ah, very easy. Lice is easy anyway. Lice can be seen with the eyes. Just part your GP's hair and if you see white stuff moving in the fur, it is LICE.

Mites on the other hand cannot be seen with they eyes. You can monitor if your GP scratches a lot. Might indicate a mite infestation.

Best way is to bring to a vet lar. They can scrape and check for you. And if got lice and mites, 1 shot will solve your problem.
limie
post Jun 15 2008, 07:08 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(farisd @ Jun 15 2008, 04:57 PM)
To anyone that complimented on my picture of Sara, thank you so very much.  sweat.gif
It'd be my honor to photograph your GP's if we do meet-up someday.

But if its anytime soon than maybe my Sara and Moca won't be able to join..
They're still suffering from the mites and lices..
Today I saw Sara scratch soo much...
Very very kesian.... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Anyway, TJ, u had too  much sugar eh? Hahaha!!!
Why so hyper suddenly wanna rear 20 GPs at once.. laugh.gif  laugh.gif

by the way, what is "mites and lices"
can explain?

about TJ, i dono... he is my cousin (abang sepupu)...
yesterday, he ordered a coffee ais KURANG HARGA... rclxub.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif doh.gif
the waiter HANG at a moment... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
gchin_st
post Jun 15 2008, 07:21 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jun 15 2008, 07:08 PM)
can explain?

yesterday, he ordered a coffee ais KURANG HARGA... rclxub.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif  doh.gif
the waiter HANG at a moment...  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
gosh!! he didnt order ais kachang panas? or teh tarik tak nak susu / teh tarik tak nak tarik / teh tarik kurang teh?
or go to "coffee bean" n order a cup of "coffee bean"

rclxms.gif
tee_jay
post Jun 15 2008, 07:28 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(gchin_st @ Jun 15 2008, 07:21 PM)
gosh!! he didnt order ais kachang panas?  or teh tarik tak nak susu / teh tarik tak nak tarik / teh tarik kurang teh?

rclxms.gif
gchin,, u just given me a brilliant idea... can use it soon...
THANKS..!!
TSsharil_routh
post Jun 15 2008, 07:33 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

Hahaha.. funny la u guys... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
gchin_st
post Jun 15 2008, 07:36 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(tee_jay @ Jun 15 2008, 07:28 PM)
gchin,, u just given me a brilliant idea... can use it soon...
THANKS..!!
oh.. u r welcome...

or maybe u also can order
nescafe tarik lebih sikit
kopi-o suam
roti canai kurang minyak

tats a lot of goodies in mamak~ rclxm9.gif
limie
post Jun 15 2008, 07:39 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(gchin_st @ Jun 15 2008, 07:21 PM)
gosh!! he didnt order ais kachang panas?  or teh tarik tak nak susu / teh tarik tak nak tarik / teh tarik kurang teh?

rclxms.gif
AIS KACANG PANAS... hm... never think of that... marvelous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lalalallaa thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

got ppl order milo kurang AIR? laugh.gif

oh i did order drinks that don wan ice cube... u know wat they gav?
half glass of drinks only...
just like a drinks before u add on ice cube lo... doh.gif
gchin_st
post Jun 15 2008, 07:45 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jun 15 2008, 07:39 PM)
AIS KACANG PANAS... hm... never think of that... marvelous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lalalallaa thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

got ppl order milo kurang AIR?  laugh.gif

oh i did order drinks that don wan ice cube... u know wat they gav?
half glass of drinks only...
just like a drinks before u add on ice cube lo... doh.gif
milo paste? hmm.gif

if i was there, i after tat drink, tat shop wont see me anymore until they closed forever... doh.gif

i always order ice lemon tea tak nak ice or kurang sejuk....
tat person to take order hang.... shocking.gif

but stil, it make sense!! coz those drinks r pre-made n store is cold!!
since it already cold, y i still need ice?!! whistling.gif
limie
post Jun 15 2008, 08:13 PM

538 posts

no idea...
but sometimes i order tak mau ice...
they add on ice for me...~! argh~~~~~
wanna slap them...

tee_jay
post Jun 15 2008, 08:44 PM

318 posts

OUT OF TOPIC..!!
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
farisd
post Jun 15 2008, 08:49 PM

43 posts

@jamien
I went to St. Angel first, and eventho the vet showed me the lice she found on them under the microscope, she didn't know the correct dosage to be given to them.
After that I went to Baby Pets. After some while, Dr. Lim came out and told me that the dosage was 0.008 mil. I assume that this dosage is extremely small that he was afraid to administer them.

@gchin
Yeah, we can check for them with our bare eyes.
Be wary of bald spots. Its an easy indication of mite/lice prob (sorry but I'm unsure of which one)

Hahaha!!! Everyone is suddenly crazy... I'm laughing my ass out here reading what you guys typed.. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by farisd: Jun 15 2008, 08:58 PM
tee_jay
post Jun 15 2008, 08:53 PM

318 posts

i do hav a question... if GP fall sick,, is there any vets that we can bring to 4 check up???
farisd
post Jun 15 2008, 09:02 PM

43 posts

@tee jay.
I think Universiti Veterinari Hospital of UPM can help.
The Vet at Ikano can too I heard.
And when I called City Pets of Sri Kembangan, they too said that can help with guinea pigs.
Its just that I don't have my own transportation to go anywhere far from cyberjaya.
tee_jay
post Jun 15 2008, 09:07 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(farisd @ Jun 15 2008, 09:02 PM)
@tee jay.
I think Universiti Veterinari Hospital of UPM can help.
The Vet at Ikano can too I heard.
And when I called City Pets of Sri Kembangan, they too said that can help with guinea pigs.
Its just that I don't have my own transportation to go anywhere far from cyberjaya.
oh.. thanks 4 d info.. really appreciate it...

Added on June 15, 2008, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(limie @ Jun 15 2008, 08:13 PM)
no idea...
but sometimes i order tak mau ice...
they add on ice for me...~! argh~~~~~
wanna slap them...
milo ice xmau milo 1...
dan mee goreng xmau goreng 1...
semua kasi tapao ya... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tee_jay: Jun 15 2008, 09:21 PM
Jamien
post Jun 15 2008, 09:33 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jun 15 2008, 07:08 PM)
can explain?

yesterday, he ordered a coffee ais KURANG HARGA... rclxub.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif  doh.gif
the waiter HANG at a moment...  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Basically, lice and mites are parasites that infest animals and drink their blood, causing them to scratch a lot. Having lice and mites stresses out the GP so get your GPs de-liced and de-mite.

Lice
will appear as short dull white, dull grey or brown moving "thingies" down near the base of the hairs, they do not like light and will move towards deeper fur when you expose them. Lice can be treated with a spray or shampoo that contains pyrethyrins. Since the louse's life cycle is about 14 days you will need to treat for three weeks to ensure you kill all the young and all the hatchlings. I give baths every 6 days for three weeks.
Mites
are usually under the skin, so a surface treatment such as for lice will not be effective, what is needed is a strong medication given orally or by injection. A veterinarian will give ivermectin shots over several weeks; you could use the ivermectin paste for horses and give a small pea sized drop orally once a week for three weeks. The danger of this is overdosing, although it seems to not have major effects at fairly high doses.

taken from http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/Plains/2517/medicine.html

Guys, please keep this thread clean ok?extended chit chat is awfully off topic. sweat.gif Might get a warning from the mod. Or the thread will be closed down to be cleaned. Let's not ok?

@farisd: Then the person is good vet lar, since he doesn't simply give perscription. smile.gif
limie
post Jun 15 2008, 09:57 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 15 2008, 09:33 PM)
MITES
are usually under the skin, so a surface treatment such as for lice will not be effective, what is needed is a strong medication given orally or by injection. A veterinarian will give ivermectin shots over several weeks; you could use the ivermectin paste for horses and give a small pea sized drop orally once a week for three weeks. The danger of this is overdosing, although it seems to not have major effects at fairly high doses.
Jamien, how to know that my GP get a MITES decease?
how to avoid it?

no medicine that we can buy at pet shop? because the vet always treat them badly...
some hold them too tight, scare they run away~~~ vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
MooZz
post Jun 15 2008, 10:14 PM

833 posts

QUOTE(farisd @ Jun 15 2008, 04:57 PM)
To anyone that complimented on my picture of Sara, thank you so very much.  sweat.gif
It'd be my honor to photograph your GP's if we do meet-up someday.

But if its anytime soon than maybe my Sara and Moca won't be able to join..
They're still suffering from the mites and lices..
Today I saw Sara scratch soo much...
Very very kesian.... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Anyway, TJ, u had too  much sugar eh? Hahaha!!!
Why so hyper suddenly wanna rear 20 GPs at once.. laugh.gif  laugh.gif

@Moozz
I'm staying in Cyberia B2.
Where are u staying at?
Maybe if got free time than I'll come over.
Yeah sure, I'll bring my photography gears and we can shoot your sheltie's picture..
No no don't worry, I won't charge you a single ringgit.. tongue.gif
WAHHHH OMG>>>..u give me such a damn good news...
haha...i staying at cyberia E75A....townhouse...
are u FCM student????
Jamien
post Jun 15 2008, 10:32 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jun 15 2008, 09:57 PM)
Jamien, how to know that my GP get a MITES decease?
how to avoid it?

no medicine that we can buy at pet shop? because the vet always treat them badly...
some hold them too tight, scare they run away~~~ vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Well, mites are usually UNDER the skin so the only way to know if your GP has mites is a check at the vets. It is also noticeable if your GP scratches a lot more than usual.

I suggest you not self medicate. You might overdose. smile.gif Just bring to a vet. Your pet will surely struggle and the discomfort is only a while so don't worry. Let the vet do it.

I think the only way to avoid getting mites on your GP is to make sure your GPs don't mix with other animals or GPs that have mites or lice. smile.gif Keeping your GP's enclosure clean also helps prevent it.
limie
post Jun 15 2008, 10:41 PM

538 posts

@Jamien...

thx alot...
hm... gota change my GP appetite...
she no takes pellet and alfafa hay anymore...
i wish i can feed her SHARK FIN... nice~
Jamien
post Jun 15 2008, 11:02 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jun 15 2008, 10:41 PM)
@Jamien...

thx alot...
hm... gota change my GP appetite...
she no takes pellet and alfafa hay anymore...
i wish i can feed her SHARK FIN... nice~
sweat.gif Even if can eat, it will burn a hole in your pocket.

smile.gif Why don't you try offering some timothy hay to her? Maybe she'll like it. And the premium food pellets are always well taken by GPs. These fellas know good food when they smell it.

125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:21 AM