Galaxy 9600GSO OC mod to 8800GTS 512, Previous title: New Geforce 9600 GSO

davidletterboyz
post Jun 17 2008, 07:23 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(Ityam @ Jun 17 2008, 06:01 PM)
So are u saying if i try an another galaxy 9600gso then it wont be good too? and this is not my vga card defect?
I have an Asus P5B motherboard with the newest bios.

do u think worth to try to put it to my brothers gigabyte p35 ds3-r board? and meybe there will be good the mod?

and now i have an another problem: Today i tried an galaxy 8800gts 512Mb bios and after i flashed my computer didnt want to start up. it gave only beeps. i tried reset ctrl+alt+del didt used.
i turned off the computer and 5 minutes later it started with 8800gts512 bios but still had 192MB ram 192bit inferface so i flashed the original 9600gso bios to it. it was good for 2-3 restart and a few minutes ago my computer didnt start again(like 8800gts512 bios). beeping but no monitor signal. i turned off the computer for a while  and it works now but i dont know why did this with the original bios.
when last happened this then i tried overclocking the card and i overclocked too much... maybe this was the problem but it shouldnt do this from the OC.

and my card not a good overclockable the highest stable clocks: 650/1650/2200 so far. i thoutht it will be better.

ps: sorry for my poor english.

Added on June 17, 2008, 6:05 pmand a bit correction. i said nothing is changed in gpuz with modded bios(08m.rom) but the gpuz shows another bios version for the card so the modded bios is flashed right.
do u still think this may be motherboard problem? or if the flash succeded then not the motherboard what is bad.
Mobo problem. Earlier, GRexer had the same problem too (flashed with other BIOS doesn't have any difference after reboot). He switched to other mobo and the problem disappears.
650/1650/2200 at default 1.2V I guess? Check your temperature. If it's ok, increase the Vgpu voltage to 1.3V by connecting pins 2-3 at jumper JP4 (it's near the MOSFET part).
mgxbox
post Jun 17 2008, 07:24 PM

Banned
1,112 posts

9600GSO now very hot and very good need to go get myself one soon. brows.gif
Ityam
post Jun 17 2008, 07:42 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jun 17 2008, 07:23 PM)
Mobo problem. Earlier, GRexer had the same problem too (flashed with other BIOS doesn't have any difference after reboot). He switched to other mobo and the problem disappears.
650/1650/2200 at default 1.2V I guess? Check your temperature. If it's ok, increase the Vgpu voltage to 1.3V by connecting pins 2-3 at jumper JP4 (it's near the MOSFET part).
i dont see the pin numbert but if the pin 1 start from up then it is on 2-3 vmad.gif on default....
the temperature doesnt goes up above 65C.

what mobos was tested what were good and what were bad?

This post has been edited by Ityam: Jun 17 2008, 07:43 PM
Suk
post Jun 17 2008, 10:15 PM

2,330 posts

saw this gc in lyn jsut now, asked the sales guy, whether can mod to 88gt... he saw like so blur.
ksking
post Jun 17 2008, 10:29 PM

~The King Of K Song~
910 posts

its look like 8 ramchips oso...
from AXLE 9600GSO~

This post has been edited by ksking: Jun 17 2008, 10:29 PM
Ityam
post Jun 17 2008, 11:13 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jun 17 2008, 07:23 PM)
i tried the card in my brothers gigabyte p35-DS3R mobo but it is the same.... sad.gif 384MB/192 bit 96 Shadder sad.gif
and i put the jumper 2-3.i hope the the oc will be better now.

an final question: vga driver version doesnt matter? this mod work with all new driver?

davidletterboyz
post Jun 18 2008, 12:00 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(Ityam @ Jun 17 2008, 11:13 PM)
i tried the card in my brothers gigabyte p35-DS3R mobo but it is the same.... sad.gif 384MB/192 bit 96 Shadder sad.gif
and i put the jumper 2-3.i hope the the oc will be better now.

an final question: vga driver version doesnt matter? this mod work with all new driver?
You will see 512MB when u reboot and POST. Artifacts or not, another story....but u must be able to see 512MB first.
Ityam
post Jun 18 2008, 12:24 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jun 18 2008, 12:00 AM)
You will see 512MB when u reboot and POST. Artifacts or not, another story....but u must be able to see 512MB first.
but i dont see with neither motherboard sad.gif
i dont know why.
davidbilly87
post Jun 18 2008, 12:47 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(Ityam @ Jun 17 2008, 07:17 PM)
i started the OC with gpu/shadders and just after oced the memory. 3dmark frozen when the gpu was at 700MHz or the shadders on 1700 sad.gif
bro u don forget this is oc card ...alredy oc almost 10% ....u know 96gso orginal speed is what or not doh.gif ....550/1350/800~900 notworthy.gif
reign226
post Jun 18 2008, 04:09 PM

804 posts

one thing i notice...atitool not working with my 3d card...whenever i turn it on to test for artifact, my fan will automatically shut off...that's why my temp go up to 85 degrees, lol. But if I turn it on and play games...max temps around 65.

When u turn on your monitor, you will first see a black screen with the words 9600GSO 384 OR 512MB written there, then only go to BIOS screen. If it's 512 you success. If 384 fail. If you artifact, gerenti fail, lol.
zhen^wei
post Jun 18 2008, 05:12 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Jun 17 2008, 10:15 PM)
saw this gc in lyn jsut now, asked the sales guy, whether can mod to 88gt... he saw like so blur.
haha. normal. not every salesman know about "silverstone" brand if u ask them.haha. they ask u go tayar shop find..
Ityam
post Jun 18 2008, 06:08 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jun 18 2008, 04:09 PM)
When u turn on your monitor, you will first see a black screen with the words 9600GSO 384 OR 512MB written there, then only go to BIOS screen. If it's 512 you success. If 384 fail. If you artifact, gerenti fail, lol.
if i remember well it says 384mb. i just dont know it is because the card or the motherboard.... sad.gif
i hope i can get an another vga and it will be good.
kucingfight
post Jun 18 2008, 06:09 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Ityam @ Jun 18 2008, 06:08 PM)
if i remember well it says 384mb. i just dont know it is because the card or the motherboard.... sad.gif
i hope i can get an another vga and it will be good.
test it on another motherboard 1st..some boards don boot with the 1st bios, that's why it reverts to the second one
mars
post Jun 18 2008, 06:16 PM

294 posts

hahaha... funny..... yea sometimes a computer salesperson especially the new and inexperience ones would give weird and funny feedback and answers......

Added on June 18, 2008, 6:24 pmseriously have anyone here successfully mod this 9600GSO card into 8800GTS?............ really kena Pimp la this 9600GSO.........

This post has been edited by mars: Jun 18 2008, 06:24 PM
dlwl
post Jun 18 2008, 06:36 PM

4,789 posts

yeah a few have been succesful..u can check the 1st post. their names are there. statistics are also there, how many succeeded and how many failed.
Ityam
post Jun 18 2008, 06:40 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jun 18 2008, 06:09 PM)
test it on another motherboard 1st..some boards don boot with the 1st bios, that's why it reverts to the second one
I tryed with my brothers gigabyte p35-ds3r but it was the same(i have asus p5b). so i tryed with 2 motherboard.
and the flash was succesfull and it uses probably the the new flashed bios because the vga bios version is changed after flashing...
so i think not the mobo is the problem.but i think only. i dont have another mobo to try sad.gif
OC4/3
post Jun 18 2008, 08:53 PM

4,746 posts

I am getting a 9600GSO OC later but sadly confirm 6chips.But care less,going to get new gen gc soon laugh.gif
BBXiong
post Jun 18 2008, 10:06 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(mars @ Jun 18 2008, 06:16 PM)
hahaha... funny..... yea sometimes a computer salesperson especially the new and inexperience ones would give weird and funny feedback and answers......

Added on June 18, 2008, 6:24 pmseriously have anyone here successfully mod this 9600GSO card into 8800GTS?............  really kena Pimp la this 9600GSO.........
don be so sure they blur, most of the time they just act dumb to prevent some s**ts to happen...like he say can mod, they u cannot mod and take back to make noise...

yes, there are ppl that succeeded, i am one of them, but recently the card is running quite unstable... i reset to normal clock speed(normal OC clock speed that is...), but the temp went up quite fast....i played crysis for about 40mins, and the temp hit 93C..
not to mention, i stop the game that time not because i notice the temp of my card, it's because got artifacts appear, then i close and check temp....
i dunno why it go so high..(maybe cos my air con off d..), but i kinda feel the pain Slayer have before this...maybe i should direct the hot air out with a paper, i remember someone suggested this method earlier in this thread....

This post has been edited by BBXiong: Jun 18 2008, 10:08 PM
LaiN87
post Jun 18 2008, 11:12 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

Wee~ Wee~ Got my card from adliew.

But phailed in softmodding T.T Lots of artifacts showed up. LOL! I get to see 512MB and 128 shader on GPUz though. Sobs sobs.
SlayerXT
post Jun 18 2008, 11:50 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Not all will be lucky. Anyway, my conclusion is not mobo problem. That is the user who gpu failed and then blame their mobo.

44 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:26 AM