6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Nokia [Nokia N82 Official Thread V2], Storytelling rediscovered continues...

cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2008, 11:34 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kweng84 @ Jul 3 2008, 01:29 AM)
Guys, sorry to chip in. Got seen such problem with N82?

LINK: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=18308108
This is the first time I see such problems for Nokia N series. My assumption is most, if not all, of these phones are AP units. The phone might already have problem in Europe (for example), and the dealer there instead of submit warranty claim, may just ship it out to dealers in Malaysia as AP.

If it is original purchased in Malaysia, I don't see any reason Nokia authorised dealer not to repair/replace it. My friend have replaced a 6230i LCD for free at Nokia Bangsar (Zitron?) after using nearly 1 year.

Do we have a poll how many of AP or Original units have these kind of LCD or ribbon problem ? and the difficulty in getting it repair/replace/warranty claim ?

Added on July 3, 2008, 11:36 am
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jul 3 2008, 11:32 AM)
sometimes i find it annoying to get into the program and 'Exit' it...otherwise it is still running in background...
This is how Symbian S60v3 OS works. Similiar like PPC/WM. It allows applications to run in the background. You can press and hold Menu to list out applications running in the background. Similiar to Alt+Tab in PC.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 3 2008, 11:36 AM
cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2008, 12:14 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jul 3 2008, 11:59 AM)
oh..i didnt know tht..btw i used my n82 to scan ur bar code...it says cute_boboi LOL
thumbup.gif That's right.

cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2008, 02:26 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jul 3 2008, 12:24 PM)
wht is the name for this barcode? Those barcodes used in supermarket are nt able to be read by my n82 =(

Added on July 3, 2008, 12:32 pmbtw...how to check whether my phone is symbian 9.1 or 9.2?
My previous posting on barcode: UPC, UCC/EAN, Code-39, Code-128, etc.
Barcode Types

Nokia only supports QR Code and DataMatrix, but I have not tried DataMatrix so far.

How to check FP1 or FP2 ?

cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2008, 02:50 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

christopher_mhm,

Already PM you.
wink.gif
cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2008, 03:11 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Hybz @ Jul 3 2008, 03:06 PM)
wow cuteboi .. what application is that in your screenshot ? can see weather ah ?

i downloaded 3rd party barcode scanner .. can scan 1D code like supermarket. But it'll need to access internet la .. not much info shwon rclxub.gif
Quickoffice and apps lah. rolleyes.gif

What is the 1D 3rd party barcode scanner app you use ? I can try R&D for you and comment on it.

cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2008, 03:51 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

@seraph8660,

*ahem* LYN policy no piracy talk cool2.gif Better edit your post.

Added on July 3, 2008, 3:57 pm
QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Jul 3 2008, 03:49 PM)
I need guide for the Garmin XT maps!  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  anyone can help?
Already PM you. I don't have the latest set instruction, you might need to figure out some of it using common sense.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 3 2008, 03:58 PM
cute_boboi
post Jul 4 2008, 09:56 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Hybz @ Jul 3 2008, 07:33 PM)
i have install quickoffice, but only have normal thing like word etc...

how to get those like weather ? its not included ler
It is there, read the instructions CAREFULLY brows.gif

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jul 3 2008, 10:34 PM)
why sometimes i plug in my USB and select Data transfer and it always says cannot transfer due to some application using memory card? Why? I already closed all the application le....
Although all apps are closed or reboot, there are some other 3rd party apps/processes still running in the background.

You can imagine in WinXP, you press Ctrl+Alt+Del -> Task Manager.
There are no task under Applications tab. However, if you click on Processes tabs, you will see >50 processes. If you install some 3rd party apps in N82 which resides on memory card instead of phone memory and it runs in the background, forever you will not be able to connect using USB Transfer, unless you kill it manually (e.g. Y-Browser tools).

cute_boboi
post Jul 4 2008, 10:16 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Hybz,
PM you already.
cute_boboi
post Jul 4 2008, 03:51 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

When 8GB comes out, it costs around rm180, then drop to rm165 in Apr'08 PC Fair. Now LYP one big shop selling at RM135 already.

Estimate 16GB come out will be RM280-320.

cute_boboi
post Jul 4 2008, 05:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(kennysik88 @ Jul 4 2008, 04:29 PM)
i saw c-zone sell rm110....
Really ? ohmy.gif Then 16GB will definitely below RM300 already. Maybe even RM250 !

cute_boboi
post Jul 4 2008, 06:48 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

8GB Sandisk micro-SD. Really RM110. Printing error ?

http://images.lowyat.net/pricelist/czone.pdf

cute_boboi
post Jul 7 2008, 10:34 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Hybz @ Jul 6 2008, 11:00 AM)
Anymore advise ?

If copy and paste to new microsd does not work, i better not work so hard on my current microsd ... else all effort wasted
QUOTE(Hybz @ Jul 7 2008, 08:16 AM)
Hi there

So from your suggestion ... if i upgrade my microSD, I can just simply copy everything from old card to new card .... and it would not affect any thing right ? unsure.gif
Plug into PC, enable view hidden & system files in windows explorer options. Copy and paste everything. It works. No need new serial file or whatever.

cute_boboi
post Jul 7 2008, 01:19 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jul 7 2008, 12:20 PM)
guys..is it that i cannot install both fring and Windows live together? I cant start Windows Live nw...i only can start fring. Previously i can open windows live..however i reformatted and i decided to install fring(1st) then i install windows live again. I cant open Windows Live..sad...
I have both Windows Live and Fring installed. No problem. Please note Windows Live takes longer time to login/connect to server.

Added on July 7, 2008, 1:24 pmFor those who are upgrading/copying to another new micro-SD card, below are some guidelines:
1) Take out existing µSD.
2) Plug in new µSD into N82 and format it. Ignore all apps errors at this moment.
3) Plug both µSD into PC and copy all files (including hidden & system files)
4) If you don't have two card readers, copy with care, don't open the folder/files in PC HDD, as it might create some unnecessary files like thumbs.db. Overwrite whatever in the formatted new card.
5) Plug the new µSD into N82, and all the apps should work as before.

I did mine from 2GB->8GB upgrade previously. No problem. Also did another copy from 2GB->2GB, no problem too.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 7 2008, 01:24 PM
cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2008, 03:07 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Hybz @ Jul 8 2008, 02:19 PM)
Anyone can help my problem ? sad.gif
1) Are you using Nokia or Garmin ? Ensure integrated GPS is enabled, and the rest are disabled.
2) Ensure you are in open field/area, not inside building, or under tree or between tall buildings.
Tell us more details about your application, environment and setting.

cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2008, 05:33 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Hybz,

Yes, disable A-GPS, as you will be charged GPRS data rate, unless you have unlimited data plan.
Menu->Tools->Connectivity->GPS data->Options->Positioning Settings->
Only enable "Integrated GPS". Disable the rest.

Just to verify, in GMXT->Settings->System->Remote GPS->"Intergrated GPS" enabled ?

Unlikely GPS device spoil. In fact, I notice using Nokia Maps can lock onto satellites faster than GMXT, with Integrated GPS option enable only. Therefore, if your Nokia Maps is still there and working, try it. You can launch both Nokia Maps and GMXT together. If Nokia Maps lock it, GMXT will lock it also. Sometimes I notice GMXT will not search or lock any satellites, if it fails to lock within 5-10 min.

Also, since you are inside building, there is a 50-50 chance of not getting enough satellite lock. Exit the app, go outside (lunch?) and launch the app again.

Also remember to reboot (switch off/on) N82 once a week/two weeks. It is stable but not that stable.

cute_boboi
post Jul 8 2008, 07:31 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Jul 8 2008, 05:51 PM)
What positioning server you used? My default setting is supl.nokia.com.

Wonder google got its own positioning server?
Menu->Tools->Settings->General->Positioning->Positioning server->Server Address->
Same default "supl.nokia.com"

cute_boboi
post Jul 9 2008, 10:17 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Hybz,

Yes, default are 4 options. But I only enable Integrated. The rest are disabled. The less you use:
a) less accurate
b) take longer time to lock and response
c) 100% confirm no external/data usage (save $)
d) in case you accidentally go overseas, you might be charged roaming data rate. But there is a setting to disable data on roaming.

You can try enable all and check the performance. It is better, at a price.

Please note N82 GPS is not a dedicated GPS device. I have encounter switch on at KLCC and drive towards Imbi (Jln Ampang, Jln Tun Razak, Kg Pandan roundabout, Jln Imbi). 15 min reached Imbi, satelllite still not yet lock doh.gif Lucky I know the place, else have to stop at roadside.

When you are stationary, it is not accurate (+/- 30m) hence the app will predict your direction based on its calculation rules. Hence, it seems you are rotating in a place.

Mine in moving car, open air, clear sky... normally can get lock in 1-2 minute with Integrated only.
cute_boboi
post Jul 9 2008, 11:37 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Jul 9 2008, 10:31 AM)

Added on July 9, 2008, 10:54 am

I would not trust GPS navigation fully unless I want go to longkang.  shocking.gif

Google Map and MapKing can locate static position within 10m. Sometimes I notice it can go to 3m accuracy with 4 or 5 satellite signals detected.
Of course, have to use brain, eyes and common sense also. GMXT + Malsingmap in Ipoh, show me goto Holland earlier this year. I remember I was coming down Jln Aitken toward Jln Raja Dihilir and wanted to goto Ipoh town centre. At that junction, it ask me to turn right. Illegal to turn right (even the road divider don't allow it) doh.gif What it should tell me is turn left, go down Jln Raja Dihilir towards interchange (Jln Tasek/Sultan Azlan Shah + Jln Raja Dihilir) and make a U-turn towards city centre. sweat.gif

N82 GPS accuracy is +/- 30m. Unless it is assisted, by GPRS or network, etc. it can go up to +/- 7-10m consistently. For 3m accuracy consistently, will need external dedicated BT GPS device.

QUOTE(vtec-ing @ Jul 9 2008, 11:02 AM)
you do not need to have an unlimited data plan to use A-GPS in my opinion.
Is only 8cents. Is worth it for faster satellite locked on nod.gif
Yes, go ahead and try drive long distance and several hours with A-GPS on. Let me know how much the data-rate for that month. sweat.gif I'm curious also how much it will be, currently I'm on unlimited, hence cannot verify.

Of course, at critical time, when searching for a place/location urgently, the few cents are worth it. thumbup.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 9 2008, 01:34 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Jul 9 2008, 11:47 AM)
google map need internet connection to load the map...so when u r driving..how? (exclude 3G)
Cannot la. Setup free WiFi AP along the way... tongue.gif

QUOTE(vtec-ing @ Jul 9 2008, 12:42 PM)
It will only connect to gprs during the initial locking period and for once only. tried liao bro. from KL to Melacca 2 hours. charged 8cents only. i will advice u guys to switch A-GPS on  thumbup.gif dont waste on such a good function icon_rolleyes.gif
That is great, if anyone can try and confirm it. rclxms.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 9 2008, 05:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Jul 9 2008, 05:02 PM)
Off topic => My PC was infected with 2300++ trojan and virus infections after visiting a Hong Kong warez forum with updated IE7 browser.  rclxub.gif
Off topic => Please use Firefox tongue.gif I only use IE7 when no choice, have to support some ActiveX or something. Or choose other web-browser like Opera, etc.

I'm sure you have AV and ensure daily update with latest patch v-definition. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 9 2008, 05:48 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0481sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:59 AM