55 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Travel Sydney, Australia, New South Wales & Surroundings

ivzh
post Jun 30 2014, 01:16 PM

668 posts

how much is the taxi fare from airport to Central during sunday night around 10pm? The coach can fit 4 luggage? And do they charge extra for luggage?
samsung1234
post Jun 30 2014, 08:31 PM

226 posts

Hi guys,
Me and my friends gonna visit Sydney next month, this is roughly our schedule for our 6 days trip to Sydney. What do you guys think? What should i add or remove? any recommendations on places that offer good food?

DAY 1
0945 Reach Sydney
1100 Reach apartment
Rest for 1 hour
1200-1630 depart to shopping centers (Queen Victoria Building, The Galeries and Westfield Sydney) and lunch at Westfield foodcourt
1630-1800 Sydney Tower
1800-2030 Dinner at Sydney Tower (Buffet)

DAY 2
0830-0915 Depart to Darling Harbour
0915-1045 Breakfast in Plate Restaurant (Western)
1045-1145 Reach and visit Chinese Garden of Friendship
1200-1330 Lunch at Hurricane’s Grill (Western)
1330-1700 Madame Tussauds + Wild Life Sydney + Sydney Aquarium
1730-1830 The Star Casino
1900-2100 Blue Eye Dragon (Chinese)

Day 3
BLUE MOUNTAINS AND FEATHERDALE WILDLIFE PARK Tour (http://www.localsydneytours.com/nature-tour-from-sydney-the-blue-mountains-and-featherdale-wildlife-park_7505
1745-1930 Rest
1930-2200 Dinner at Chinatown (Chinese)

Day 4
1030-1130 Breakfast at City Extra (Circular Quay) (Western)
1130-1230 Visit Sydney Opera House
1230-1700 Tarooga Zoo + Lunch
1800-2000 Dinner at Yuki's at Quay (Japanese)

Day 5
0900-1230 Breakfast at Luxe Expresso + shopping in Westfield Bondi
1330-1430 Lunch at Trio
1430-1730 Bondi beach to Coogee beach walk (6km walk)
1700- 1930 Rest
2000-2200 Mamak or chefs gallery

Day 6
0900-1000 Breakfast at Pancakes on the Rocks (Western)
1000-1230 Museum of Sydney and Royal Botanic Gardens
1230-1400 Lunch at Ah Wong Restaurant (Chinese)
1400-1800 Ferry to Manly Beach, Manly Art Gallery & Museum, Manly Cove and Ocean World
1800-2000 Dinner at Hugo’s Manly (Western)

KenAragorn
post Jul 30 2014, 03:50 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Mar 25 2014, 10:23 AM)
Yo stimix,

thanks for the great info.  rclxms.gif
Sounds like a day trip will be enough...
Yo Stimix,

Is it recommended to stay 1 night at Wollongong or maybe further south (Jervis Bay) and then local tour around the area?

Previously where you stay for this grand pacific drive?

I'm still thinking where should I aim more....in terms of this grand pacific drive - coastal town area. Wollongong is about 1.5 hour drive - from google map...and Jervis Bay is further down (3 hours drive).
jtsl9
post Jul 30 2014, 04:28 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Jul 30 2014, 03:50 PM)
Yo Stimix,

Is it recommended to stay 1 night at Wollongong or maybe further south (Jervis Bay) and then local tour around the area?

Previously where you stay for this grand pacific drive?

I'm still thinking where should I aim more....in terms of this grand pacific drive - coastal town area. Wollongong is about 1.5 hour drive - from google map...and Jervis Bay is further down (3 hours drive).
If you plan to go until Jervis Bay, then it is recommended to stay one night in Wollongong. There are many other smaller towns from Sydney to Wollongong but Wollongong would be one of the bigger city. You can try staying in Kiama, it is another small town after Wollongong which is famous for blow hole. It is about 75mins to Jervis Bay from Kiama and a 30 minutes drive from Wollongong. So it would be about 2 hours drive from Sydney.

Around Wollongong, there are a few lookout point such as Mt Keira, Stanwell Tops, Bulli Tops. If you are planning to spend some time in Wollongong area, there is the largest chinese temple in the southern hemisphere called Nan Tien Temple. Another attraction would be the Illawarra Fly Tree Top Walk which you can consider.
KenAragorn
post Jul 30 2014, 04:53 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Jul 30 2014, 04:28 PM)
If you plan to go until Jervis Bay, then it is recommended to stay one night in Wollongong. There are many other smaller towns from Sydney to Wollongong but Wollongong would be one of the bigger city. You can try staying in Kiama, it is another small town after Wollongong which is famous for blow hole. It is about 75mins to Jervis Bay from Kiama and a 30 minutes drive from Wollongong. So it would be about 2 hours drive from Sydney.

Around Wollongong, there are a few lookout point such as Mt Keira, Stanwell Tops, Bulli Tops. If you are planning to spend some time in Wollongong area, there is the largest chinese temple in the southern hemisphere called Nan Tien Temple. Another attraction would be the Illawarra Fly Tree Top Walk which you can consider.
Ok thanks jtsl9.

I did some google about Wollongong and Kiama. Seems like both places have quite a lot of scenic location that cannot be cover in 2 days. My overall priority for this trip (pacific drive) (1) want to take nice landscape photo, (2) relaxing local walk around and (3) nice food...where 1st and 2nd is more priority (I planning for Blue Mountain 2D1N as well).

Is Illawarra Fly Tree Top Walk worth the time and money? Seems like there have this morning walk to this place to catch the sunrise. I wonder whether it is suitable to go there in mid of Oct or not.

I just started to plan and look around this places that you shared. Still reading and try to see what nice around here.

jtsl9
post Jul 30 2014, 05:30 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Jul 30 2014, 04:53 PM)
Ok thanks jtsl9.

I did some google about Wollongong and Kiama. Seems like both places have quite a lot of scenic location that cannot be cover in 2 days. My overall priority for this trip (pacific drive) (1) want to take nice landscape photo, (2) relaxing local walk around and (3) nice food...where 1st and 2nd is more priority (I planning for Blue Mountain 2D1N as well).

Is Illawarra Fly Tree Top Walk worth the time and money? Seems like there have this morning walk to this place to catch the sunrise. I wonder whether it is suitable to go there in mid of Oct or not.

I just started to plan and look around this places that you shared. Still reading and try to see what nice around here.
Since your priority is Pacific Drive, then you might just want to stop at Wollongong. There is nothing much to do in Jervis Bay cause that time i went there to watch whale/dolphin.
Wollongong is not known for good food, I have a friend which recently open a Balinese resto in Wollongong city, you can try it if you are keen.
I have not been to Illawarra Fly Tree Top Walk myself and i always wanted to do so when I was studying in Wollongong but didnt get the chance.
KenAragorn
post Jul 30 2014, 06:04 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(jtsl9 @ Jul 30 2014, 05:30 PM)
Since your priority is Pacific Drive, then you might just want to stop at Wollongong. There is nothing much to do in Jervis Bay cause that time i went there to watch whale/dolphin.
Wollongong is not known for good food, I have a friend which recently open a Balinese resto in Wollongong city, you can try it if you are keen.
I have not been to Illawarra Fly Tree Top Walk myself and i always wanted to do so when I was studying in Wollongong but didnt get the chance.
Thanks a lot for your opinion and advice. This help me a lot in my planning.

Ah~~ you were studying in Wollongong before. Nice nice. Then, can help on the places that worth visit (nice view) if I'm stay here (instead of Kiama)?

From google:
- Sea cliff bridge (not exactly at Wollongong - but on the way will pass by if coming from Sydney)
- Bald Hill
- Mt Keira - haven't check out this place
- Nan Tien temple
- local city walk/tour - not sure how big is the city, but I doubt it can finish walking around taking photos can complete in 3 hours walk.

stimix
post Jul 30 2014, 06:05 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Jul 30 2014, 04:53 PM)
Ok thanks jtsl9.

I did Pacific Drive covering al the above till Kiama Blowholes before back to Sydmey within 1/2 day..and that also very relaxing drive.. No need 2 days.. I startde late ~11am from Sydney and by the time back to Sydney already ~7pm.
KenAragorn
post Jul 30 2014, 06:16 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 30 2014, 06:05 PM)
I did Pacific Drive covering al the above till Kiama Blowholes before back to Sydmey within 1/2 day..and that also very relaxing drive.. No need 2 days.. I startde late ~11am from Sydney and by the time back to Sydney already ~7pm.
Just to confirm again....you driving that time right? Can share your stopping point/places?

Did you book your car and then arrange with them on the pickup location? I still not clear how the car pickup and returning work....and whether to pre-book online or book it when I arrive in Sydney.
stimix
post Jul 30 2014, 06:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Jul 30 2014, 06:16 PM)
Just to confirm again....you driving that time right? Can share your stopping point/places?

Did you book your car and then arrange with them on the pickup location? I still not clear how the car pickup and returning work....and whether to pre-book online or book it when I arrive in Sydney.
Basically, I spent the whole Morning at Chinatown before started my journey ~11am.. you can check out my photo story on this post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=64633749

Anyway, I stop by at more locations rather than the photos.. Not in the posting inc stop at Royal National Park - Near a lake, The cliff at the end of the nat park, Bulli beach, & my lunch at one of the small town near Bulli beach..

For car rental, I just walked in to Hetz shop at World Square.. just walking distance from my hotel.. sign-up & pay & they will drive out the car from dunno where to the office. and you're good to go. Parking in sydney is very expensive. Overnite parking can be almost similar to the price of the daily price of the car!! ~A$35/overnite. esp in Chinatown CBD area and also at the hotel carpark doh.gif

I was lucky bcos I parked the car at my relative house.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 30 2014, 06:50 PM
KenAragorn
post Jul 31 2014, 12:12 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 30 2014, 06:26 PM)
Basically, I spent the whole Morning at Chinatown before started my journey ~11am.. you can check out my photo story on this post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=64633749

Anyway, I stop by at more locations rather than the photos.. Not in the posting inc stop at Royal National Park - Near a lake, The cliff at the end of the nat park, Bulli beach, & my lunch at one of the small town near Bulli beach..

For car rental, I just walked in to Hetz shop at World Square.. just walking distance from my hotel.. sign-up & pay & they will drive out the car from dunno where to the office. and you're good to go. Parking in sydney is very expensive. Overnite parking can be almost similar to the price of the daily price of the car!! ~A$35/overnite. esp in Chinatown CBD area and also at the hotel carpark  doh.gif

I was lucky bcos I parked the car at my relative house.. smile.gif
Ok, then those car rental normally come with GPS or it is charge separately?

Hmm, the royal national park that you mentioned, if I remember earlier today google research, that place need to pay for drive-thru....pls correct me if I'm wrong.

Ok, I think if follow your option, shouldn't be a problem for parking. So I assume you drove all the way back to World Square and return the car there. The minyak full already when they pass the car to you or....sendiri settle it upon receiving the car?

Referring to your previous shared trip on Seacliff bridge....seriously no place to stop by and take pic? From other google'd picture of the same place, seems like there is a divider for people to walk thru those seacliff....no?

stimix
post Jul 31 2014, 12:19 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Jul 31 2014, 12:12 AM)
Ok, then those car rental normally come with GPS or it is charge separately?

Hmm, the royal national park that you mentioned, if I remember earlier today google research, that place need to pay for drive-thru....pls correct me if I'm wrong.

Ok, I think if follow your option, shouldn't be a problem for parking. So I assume you drove all the way back to World Square and return the car there. The minyak full already when they pass the car to you or....sendiri settle it upon receiving the car?

Referring to your previous shared trip on Seacliff bridge....seriously no place to stop by and take pic? From other google'd picture of the same place, seems like there is a divider for people to walk thru those seacliff....no?
Seperate charges. Easier if you can DL Sydney Garmin or even Offline Googlemap & use it there..

You hv to drive thru the national park. It's part of Pacific Drive & it's Free. You hv to refill to the same level twhen you got the car on 1st day.

I cannot find proper parking area before & after the bridge.. nevertheless, you can park further away ~1km away & walk back!..Well i can't.. sad.gif ..
KenAragorn
post Jul 31 2014, 12:40 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 31 2014, 12:19 AM)
Seperate charges. Easier if you can DL Sydney Garmin or even Offline Googlemap & use it there..

You hv to drive thru the national park. It's part of Pacific Drive & it's Free. You hv to refill to the same level twhen you got the car on 1st day.

I cannot find proper parking area before & after the bridge.. nevertheless, you can park further away ~1km away & walk back!..Well i can't.. sad.gif ..
Ooo...ok. So it is free.
I suppose when you about to reach the 'place to return car', there is a nearby petrol kiosk. So, typically they don't pump full tank for you/us?

Just curious, does the road and highway signboard better than those in KL/Malaysia standard?
Ya, probably will prepare to get Sydney map for Garmin.

Also, I notice there is this Hop On Hop Off tourist bus service, is it much more convenient to get those than walk/tour our-self? I wonder how it works...so we can hop off at any place that they cover and lepak as long as we want....and hop back at another bus from the same company and continue to next station?

This post has been edited by KenAragorn: Jul 31 2014, 12:45 AM
stimix
post Jul 31 2014, 10:17 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Jul 31 2014, 12:40 AM)
Ooo...ok. So it is free.
I suppose when you about to reach the 'place to return car', there is a nearby petrol kiosk. So, typically they don't pump full tank for you/us?

Just curious, does the road and highway signboard better than those in KL/Malaysia standard?
Ya, probably will prepare to get Sydney map for Garmin.

Also, I notice there is this Hop On Hop Off tourist bus service, is it much more convenient to get those than walk/tour our-self? I wonder how it works...so we can hop off at any place that they cover and lepak as long as we want....and hop back at another bus from the same company and continue to next station?
Just look for the cheapest fuel haha. Try those rundown near outskirt of the city. blush.gif . Normally they pumped full and expected full fuel in return.

Australia also typical ex british style of roads &highways.. no diff from msia. That's why 1st timer to australia can feel similarity to msia infrastructures. You will also feel similar road from highways turned into narrow roads that causes jam & etc. Nevertheless road signages much clearer & better probably less vandalism, no stupid advertisor pasting their banner blocking the signages or even trees blocking signages
KenAragorn
post Jul 31 2014, 10:44 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 31 2014, 10:17 AM)
Just look for the cheapest fuel haha. Try those rundown near outskirt of the city.  blush.gif . Normally they pumped full and expected full fuel in return.

Australia also typical ex british style of roads &highways.. no diff from msia. That's why 1st timer to australia can feel similarity to msia infrastructures. You will also feel similar road from highways turned into narrow roads that causes jam & etc. Nevertheless road signages much clearer & better probably less vandalism, no stupid advertisor pasting their banner blocking the signages or even trees blocking signages
Ok cantik. Time to download malsingmap liau. tongue.gif

Oh ya, for your previous trip, you booked the car for 2 days to cover both pacific drive and blue mountain? For blue mountain, i'm planning to stay a night there....question is, will it be troublesome if I took public transport rather than renting car?
I understand that for Blue mountain trip, there is also nice surrounding places to visit...I mean apart from 3 sisters, there is Jenolan Caves, Katoomba falls...etc...

stimix
post Jul 31 2014, 07:17 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Malsingmaps or even malfreemaps are useless other than msia, sg, brunei & thailand.

Anyway i hv posted the link on how to get & compile australia maps via openstreet maps on the 1st pg of Perth thread. Otherwise, use the offline googlemaps.

It's cheaper & convenient renting a car rather than taking the ridicolous expensive public trpt there

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 31 2014, 07:18 PM
KenAragorn
post Aug 1 2014, 12:07 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 31 2014, 07:17 PM)
Malsingmaps or even malfreemaps are useless other than msia, sg, brunei & thailand.

Anyway i hv posted the link on how to get & compile australia maps via openstreet maps on the 1st pg of Perth thread. Otherwise, use the offline googlemaps.

It's cheaper & convenient renting a car rather than taking the ridicolous expensive public trpt there
Ok thanks a lot Stimix. I will check out Perth thread. smile.gif
sannaphilips
post Aug 29 2014, 01:36 PM

Hey buddies
Hope u all fine smile.gif

I have to visit Australia in January 2015 for a business meet for a week. Date and place not confirmed. It can be to Sydney or Canberra.
I am making plans to take my family with me for an additional week. I would like to get serious information to which places I should take my family in Australia.

Can you also tell me from where I can book combo hotel and Flight tickets??? Will it be feasible or I should book travel tickets and hotels separately...?

We will be group of 4 so tell me that will the local transport be convenient or I should hire a car over there????
Please mention precise links if possible smile.gif
thanks in advance smile.gif
seather
post Aug 29 2014, 02:38 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

canberra is abit ulu tongue.gif

if ur first time i guess the big 4 is common, Sydney, Melbourne, Gold Coast, Tazmania...

instead of hotel maybe u can hire an apartment for 4 that comes with kitchen, TV, fridge n washing machine...

for out of town travel car is more convenient.. Malaysian driver lesen accepted there..

for Melbourne I more familiar..
- Melbourne city la
- Philip Island see pengiun
- Wild life sanctuary
- Vineyard wine tasting
- Orchards (see season)

u go early or late jan... summer yo... can be quite hot and humid...
adele123
post Aug 29 2014, 02:42 PM

4,726 posts

it's HOT. definitely not humid. Summer is also dry btw.

Assuming Canberra… you can’t fly internationally to Canberra, so you may want to decide whether you want to bus/car your family members. If it turns out to be in Canberra. $30 to 35 from between Canberra and Sydney by bus. Could be cheaper if promo price. Or you can rent a car from Sydney and drive to Canberra. Flying is an option, but I assume the cost will be covered for you but not them.

If there’s 4 of you, it will better that you drive around NSW and ACT. It’s more cost effective and convenient. Especially if any one of the 4 is an infant/kids/elderly.

If you are going to visit big cities, then in the CBD, it’s better to just take some free public transports, as those free buses/trams will bring you to the main attraction as well. But in Canberra, cars will be fine. Traffic is alright in Canberra. Not much to talk.

I can’t advice much on the destination because I don’t know the 4, age range, preference. The standard answers will be Melbourne (Great Ocean Road, Phillip Island) or Sydney (basically only the city is worth visiting, cause I think Blue Mountains is LAME). You can drive down south Sydney, some coastal view. Catch whale watching if the season is right… but I think Jan isn’t the right season.

And I don’t know how far you want to go. Or if you don’t mind to fly domestically, say to Adelaide or Brisbane.

If you want to hang around NSW, ACT and maybe go further to Victoria State, then it’s also a different arrangement. Driving will suffice.

55 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.1221sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:41 AM