ah_khoo
post May 18 2008, 03:11 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 18 2008, 03:00 PM)
Well, with their experience and also their existing technology, theres no reasons why they can't challenge the big boys.
The Mars and Blackops were pretty impressive IMHO, from a company who mainly build OEM motherboards for most PC Vendors and also connectors and sockets for other motherboard makers, they have moved on to come out with their own premium line.

With Shamino around, there's no doubt their premium line will be even more interesting. Who cares if you have Fatal1ty?
If u have Shamino on baord, thats gonna be more practical... tongue.gif

Now waiting to see if they'll launch any mobo based on the 790GX+750SB... drool.gif
exactly, for modders mebe fatality looks more pleasin, but for overclockers, most don't give a d@mn bout d look, overclockability matters d most. smile.gif
gamers maniac
post May 18 2008, 04:34 PM

Casual Gamers
1,070 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ May 18 2008, 03:11 PM)
exactly, for modders mebe fatality looks more pleasin, but for overclockers, most don't give a d@mn bout d look, overclockability matters d most.  smile.gif
i would say both are equally important tongue.gif . if 2 board equal in design and layout, i'd go for performance and vice versa. to have both element in one package is a big bonus IMO.
mr_habuk
post May 18 2008, 04:46 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(gamers maniac @ May 18 2008, 04:34 PM)
i would say both are equally important tongue.gif . if 2 board equal in design and layout, i'd go for performance and vice versa. to have both element in one package is a big bonus IMO.
ya lorr..sumetimes ocer also want their stuff to look nice..
but when it does comes together it's equal to rclxub.gif price..
lohwenli
post May 18 2008, 07:19 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ May 17 2008, 02:36 AM)
I think there are misconceptions there.

1.The High-K gate dielectric is mainly design for gate leakage control.
( of couse, no doubt amount of transistors are increased as well )
How far the processor can go, it's more likely depend transistor characteristic, amount of transistors, quality and purity of the wafer used etc.
In those old days, Pentium 4s are screw up big time in term of power consumption control, but they have no problem to hit 8GHz
Agreed with that point AMD processors hardly can break through 4GHz region, eventhough they are moving into 45nm fabrication technology

2. Best B3 has no problem to do 3.5GHz above  wink.gif
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=183025

3. I would say that 6MB L3 cache can never on par with 6MB unified L2 cache  laugh.gif

4. For F3, 3.6GHz is achievable with air cooling, in the case ambient temperature must be low.  wink.gif
    Bro @meno has a mighty F3 gem 
    FYI, one of the top 10 guy actually bench 3.9GHz with air cooler laugh.gif
    eldera from beijing , but he bench it in winter season.
    The CPU-Z validation thingy actually is not hard to do so.
    It depends on how good your cooling + how well you can play with clockgen / setfsb + how fast you can save the validation file  laugh.gif
1. Actually, not entirely correct. Leakage current is what causes signal deteoriation, I read a detailed review on Penryn on how the overclocking limit of a processor can be determined based on its power consumption versus clockspeed graph (lost the link, looking for it). At a certain point, power consumption shoots up rapidly when clockspeed is increased (voltages kept to minimum required for each clockspeed). At that point, the processor is rapidly approaching its overclock limit, regardless of what voltage is pumped in and how much cooling is used.

2. Looks like I'm a little behind time on Agena B3..my bad sweat.gif

3. Probably true. More said below.

4. That 3.9Ghz on air is a true gem, one in a million. Even in winter, you're not likely to get subzero temps on the processor, probably equal to iced WC. Actually I was refering to at least benchmark stable, not just CPU-Z validation. So above 3.6Ghz and still stable is quite a challenge, considering how much @meno would not like to risk frying his chip.

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 17 2008, 09:55 AM)
I think its because the AMD 64 architechture are too big.I THINK only.Thus only around 512KB/1MB L2 Cache can be integrated into the cores.
I think you've stumbled on something I didn't think about. AMD doesn't use a unified L2 cache, and cache must be close to the cores for high speed interconnects (long connections suffer from inductance and capcitance, plus interference from nearby circuits). With 4 cores, its not possible to place a large, fast cache attached to each core because each core will take up too much space and the die will be too big (Agena is the biggest single CPU die for desktops). A shared cache in a processor is limited in speed because connections to the cores will run long, and cannot be stable at high frequencies.

Which also raises another question. Nehalem will be native quad-core (4 cores on a die). That means that they will also have the same problem regarding the shared cache. Should be interesting to see how they solve it.

QUOTE(gamers maniac @ May 18 2008, 02:36 PM)
the destroyer sure got all the credit. hybrid sli, 3 way sli, 4 pci-e 16x gen2.0, and etc. plus paired wif quantum bios, this board is on par or above blackops IMO. but lacking of NB variety cooler that black ops have sweat.gif . nowadays FOXCONN starting to look into extreme user market thumbup.gif
Destroyer punya grandpapa here already..AMD's own BlackOps..

Quantum Force Dreadnought
AMDAthlon
post May 18 2008, 07:23 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Hmm may i know where u get the news regarding Nehalem native quad core?Never heard before though sweat.gif
coolice
post May 18 2008, 07:28 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 18 2008, 03:00 PM)
Well, with their experience and also their existing technology, theres no reasons why they can't challenge the big boys.
The Mars and Blackops were pretty impressive IMHO, from a company who mainly build OEM motherboards for most PC Vendors and also connectors and sockets for other motherboard makers, they have moved on to come out with their own premium line.

With Shamino around, there's no doubt their premium line will be even more interesting. Who cares if you have Fatal1ty?
If u have Shamino on baord, thats gonna be more practical... tongue.gif

Now waiting to see if they'll launch any mobo based on the 790GX+750SB... drool.gif
Shamino is human tongue.gif

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 18 2008, 07:19 PM)
1. Actually, not entirely correct. Leakage current is what causes signal deteoriation, I read a detailed review on Penryn on how the overclocking limit of a processor can be determined based on its power consumption versus clockspeed graph (lost the link, looking for it). At a certain point, power consumption shoots up rapidly when clockspeed is increased (voltages kept to minimum required for each clockspeed). At that point, the processor is rapidly approaching its overclock limit, regardless of what voltage is pumped in and how much cooling is used.

2. Looks like I'm a little behind time on Agena B3..my bad  sweat.gif

3. Probably true. More said below.

4. That 3.9Ghz on air is a true gem, one in a million. Even in winter, you're not likely to get subzero temps on the processor, probably equal to iced WC. Actually I was refering to at least benchmark stable, not just CPU-Z validation. So above 3.6Ghz and still stable is quite a challenge, considering how much @meno would not like to risk frying his chip.
I think you've stumbled on something I didn't think about. AMD doesn't use a unified L2 cache, and cache must be close to the cores for high speed interconnects (long connections suffer from inductance and capcitance, plus interference from nearby circuits). With 4 cores, its not possible to place a large, fast cache attached to each core because each core will take up too much space and the die will be too big (Agena is the biggest single CPU die for desktops). A shared cache in a processor is limited in speed because connections to the cores will run long, and cannot be stable at high frequencies.

Which also raises another question. Nehalem will be native quad-core (4 cores on a die). That means that they will also have the same problem regarding the shared cache. Should be interesting to see how they solve it.
Destroyer punya grandpapa here already..AMD's own BlackOps..

Quantum Force Dreadnought
http://youtube.com/watch?v=qbpd4_EaPlc
@meno
post May 18 2008, 09:33 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ May 18 2008, 07:28 PM)
Shamino is human tongue.gif
Bro, i know who Shamino is ok? laugh.gif

Wat i mean on board means he's in the fleet or in the team...
Just like in the good old days, when the captain comes on board a boat, u say Captain on the board... nod.gif

Damn, btw Lohwenli knows me well enuff.
He even knows how afraid i am in frying my chip...Damn...

mr_habuk
post May 19 2008, 04:34 PM

683 posts

wah...so quite in here today..sign0014.gif
whistling.gif
cyloh
post May 19 2008, 05:02 PM

894 posts

Maybe because AMD chips are maxed out already.
No more room to OC further.
pikacu
post May 19 2008, 07:52 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

guys, shuld i buy HP ram? or just stick to Value ram? if i use HP ram..any difference in term of performance while gaming?
AMDAthlon
post May 19 2008, 08:25 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Stick to value ram enough lor.
pikacu
post May 19 2008, 10:29 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

free badge tag for everyone tongue.gif
feel free to use it !
TS-pWs-
post May 19 2008, 10:33 PM

8,545 posts

Do not OT please. smile.gif

-pWs-
mr_habuk
post May 20 2008, 12:13 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ May 19 2008, 10:29 PM)
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

free badge tag for everyone tongue.gif
feel free to use it !
Weh, bro pikacu..where is x3 user..?? sad.gif sad.gif

edit.. doh.gif aiyarkk..miss that one..TQ.

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 19 2008, 10:33 PM)
Do not OT please. smile.gif

-pWs-
laugh.gif laugh.gif diorg bored la tu...laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mr_habuk: May 20 2008, 12:16 AM
AMDAthlon
post May 20 2008, 12:24 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Me still waiting RAM for fun..Btw u using the logo also? biggrin.gif
Shah_15
post May 20 2008, 01:42 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

I'm getting 5000+ BE. How high usually can I oc this babe?
Lacus
post May 20 2008, 01:49 AM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

depends on mobo. Usually till 3.2 or 3.3 biggrin.gif..finally changing to AMD?
Shah_15
post May 20 2008, 02:02 AM

~~Van Der Woodsen~~
2,395 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ May 20 2008, 01:49 AM)
depends on mobo. Usually till 3.2 or 3.3 biggrin.gif..finally changing to AMD?
my mobo is Asus M2N-E. how much u think can raise the clock? yeah. Change to AMD.
mr_habuk
post May 20 2008, 03:27 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 20 2008, 12:24 AM)
Me still waiting RAM for fun..Btw u using the logo also? biggrin.gif
uik..ur ram already good what..thought u gonna change to x3 8450..

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ May 20 2008, 02:02 AM)
my mobo is Asus M2N-E. how much u think can raise the clock? yeah. Change to AMD.
M2N-E is lack on vdimm, but u may ask bro rainingzero, he using M2N-E..
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/680853#
lohwenli
post May 20 2008, 09:00 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 18 2008, 07:23 PM)
Hmm may i know where u get the news regarding Nehalem native quad core?Never heard before though sweat.gif
Hmm..
Go though the news articles on toms hardware (www.tgdaily.com), also do some googling..
I've been reading articles on Nehalem and Deneb for months, maybe a year now, you you'll have to dig quite a bit. Other sites which I sometimes keep tabs on are x-bit labs and anandtech (this one's a bit tedious).

Latest article I found on Nehalem
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/intel...doc.aspx?i=3264
Summary
-L1 cache same as Core architecture, 256kb L2 (WTF shocking.gif ) and 8mb L3.
-better cache prediction and management
-modular design, meaning can add cores, memory controllers and GPU with just minor redesign.
-IMHO Opteron may be in big trouble, but I don't think Phenom 45nm is going to be seriously threatened

AMD rules for HTPC! Take that, Intel tongue.gif
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3288

Finally, I found that article showing a link between power consumption and overclock limits
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/intel...aspx?i=3184&p=3
FYI, the transistor saturation point is where signals start to break down due to leakage (normally processor stability is limited by signal strength vs thermal noise). Voltage increases will yield diminishing returns beyond this point, as more voltage means more leakage, and more leakage means more signal decay. Extreme cooling will give a three-fold benefit at this point, lower thermal noise, less chance of chip damage, and most interestingly, less leakage at the same operating settings. Interconnect resistance will decrease, allowing for better signal transmission and semiconductors become more and more insulative resulting in less leakage (but also causes the notorious cold-bug on AMD processors). For an actual proof that temperature reduces leakage, search tomshardware for an article where they built a solar powered PC-they decided to not run it passive-cooled (to save on fan power consumption) because the higher temperature caused processor power consumption to rise (even more than when fan is added).

Part of the article highlights vdroop and why its GOOD for you nod.gif
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/intel...aspx?i=3184&p=5
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/intel...aspx?i=3184&p=6

104 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0318sec    1.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:06 PM