23 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

IAFM, CPS, CamPro, All Discussions here.

egiewan
post Nov 24 2009, 09:52 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 8 2009, 03:15 PM)
inner diameter or outer diameter??
Should be outer smile.gif
loong2020
post Nov 27 2009, 12:00 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Nov 23 2009, 11:06 AM)
I think my 4650KM mileage old Persona automatic is having this "tak tak tak" engine sound already... what the happen?!
can u describe more about the "tak tak tak" sound??....when u accelerate??.. accelerating time and tak tak tak at certain rpm???..... hmm.gif
stellabf
post Dec 6 2009, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Nov 20 2009, 11:51 AM)
Btw, my 4500KM mileage Persona automatic now having this "tak tak tak" sound (not very loud though) during idle after start up. But it disappears after a while. Is that the sign of a failing IAFM module? I can't really tell because i am used to a noisy timing chain based MyVi 1.3 engine driven for almost 4 years.
thats sound coming from ur intake.. send ur car to Proton SC and ask them to check ur intake.. lots of IAFM owner facing that problem and usually they will change their intake..

swk_sam
post Dec 16 2009, 05:06 PM

This post has been edited by swk_sam: Dec 16 2009, 05:06 PM
allankoh007
post Dec 22 2009, 09:01 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Nov 8 2009, 12:59 PM)
How to get rid of burning smell when every-time doing high revv?  sad.gif

Car model : 08' Gen2 CPS Manual.

Burning smell shown that your engine oil breaks down prematurely due to high temperature which your engine oil is not design to. Take out the dipstick from your engine and try to smell it , if it smell burn strongly advise immediately change the engine oil to prevent engine damage in long run.

For optimum performance for high revving and high operating temperature Fully Synthetic engine oil is recommended as it oil vicosity is 5W-40 or 0W-40. I strongly recommend Castrol Edge.

By the way, your friend recommendation for more revving will get rid the burning smell is totally wrong. It do more harm and damaged to your engine's piston rather than fixing the situation. Petrol engine is not design for revving when idling. During revving when idling the petrol input is more into the combustion chamber to be burn to convert energy to move the camshaft but over revving will cause incomplete fuel burning and clean up the engine oil protecting the engine's piston and resulting premature damage to your engine. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by allankoh007: Dec 22 2009, 09:06 AM
boyzone
post Dec 24 2009, 08:33 AM

124 posts

Btw, If Gen 2 CPS able to reduce 100kg on the curb weight, the performance will further improve significantly. thumbup.gif
xshiro
post Dec 24 2009, 10:32 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(stellabf @ Dec 6 2009, 10:05 PM)
thats sound coming from ur intake.. send ur car to Proton SC and ask them to check ur intake.. lots of IAFM owner facing that problem and usually they will change their intake..
they will change the iafm module or some sc just modify the push rod that works inside the iafm. then the sound will be gone.

last time my frend changed the whole iafm, until now almost 6 months still ok...my car, the sc just modified the pushrod, last about 5k milage(2 months) then it starts making sound again..

This post has been edited by xshiro: Dec 24 2009, 10:36 AM
allankoh007
post Dec 25 2009, 03:18 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(boyzone @ Dec 24 2009, 08:33 AM)
Btw, If Gen 2 CPS able to reduce 100kg on the curb weight, the performance will further improve significantly. thumbup.gif
This apply to all car on the road. Well, to reduce the curb weight something gotta sacrifice to lighten it up for a original design car.
ahpaul82
post Dec 26 2009, 03:51 PM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

QUOTE(allankoh007 @ Dec 22 2009, 09:01 AM)
   Burning smell shown that your engine oil breaks down prematurely due to high temperature which your engine oil is not design to. Take out the dipstick from your engine and try to smell it , if it smell burn strongly advise immediately change the engine oil to prevent engine damage in long run.

For optimum performance for high revving and high operating temperature Fully Synthetic engine oil is recommended as it oil vicosity is 5W-40 or 0W-40. I strongly recommend Castrol Edge.

By the way, your friend recommendation for more revving will get rid the burning smell is totally wrong. It do more harm and damaged to  your engine's piston rather than fixing the situation. Petrol engine is not design for revving when idling. During revving when idling the petrol input is more into the combustion chamber to be burn to convert energy to move the camshaft  but over revving will cause incomplete fuel burning and clean up the engine oil protecting the engine's piston and resulting premature damage to your engine.  rclxub.gif
Thanks for your explanation,

burning smell came when i doing high revv IF my air-cond is ON...

turn off the air-cond, no burning smell at all. biggrin.gif

even now the smell become not so obvious anymore..

therefore, i don't think is the engine oil problem.

BTW, I'm using Motul 6100 SYNERGIE+ 10W-40, Semi-Syn.

This post has been edited by ahpaul82: Dec 26 2009, 03:53 PM
xin
post Dec 26 2009, 04:06 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

mayb is ur compressor leaking .. cuz mine was like tat too .. i on aircond onli can smell like wire melted or burn smell .. try get mechanic to give it a check .
ahpaul82
post Dec 26 2009, 05:16 PM

.:保罗:.
3,795 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Dec 26 2009, 04:06 PM)
mayb is ur compressor leaking .. cuz mine was like tat too .. i on aircond onli can smell like wire melted or burn smell .. try get mechanic to give it a check .
hmm.gif
car age is <2years, so fast compressor leaking?
but will take noted lah, thanks.
boyzone
post Dec 27 2009, 12:15 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(allankoh007 @ Dec 25 2009, 03:18 PM)
This apply to all car on the road. Well, to reduce the curb weight something gotta sacrifice to lighten it up for a original design car.
Change on full exhaust system + light weight rim will help to reduce 50kg ++ drool.gif

xshiro
post Dec 29 2009, 10:28 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(boyzone @ Dec 27 2009, 12:15 PM)
Change on full exhaust system + light weight rim will help to reduce 50kg ++ drool.gif
bro can you tell me a proper piping size for campro 1.3L? im really confused now...
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2009, 10:59 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Dec 29 2009, 10:28 PM)
bro can you tell me a proper piping size for campro 1.3L? im really confused now...
1.75" will do..
amafz01
post Dec 31 2009, 02:37 PM

84 posts

Hi Bros out there, i,m driving Neo 1.6 MT late 2007 production. my problem since i bought my car is, i got smelly petrol each time i refueling. sent to SC for many times, what they said is, it was the carbon canister filter failed to filters the air from the fuel tank.>>>solution: they changed the carbon filter for a few times, the problem still occurs, tired enough to get proton to check for it. some mechanic said it was the overflow tube, which it was clogged. last few days, it is worse, the smells suddenly came to my cabin while I'm driving. so worry to drive now, concern the car will burn or catch in fire like what happen to some owner before.

need your bro's advice..TQ in advance

This post has been edited by amafz01: Dec 31 2009, 02:41 PM
SeNnDoh-7
post Dec 31 2009, 03:35 PM

492 posts

just test drive gen2 cps recently..it's a/t btw..well, i dont get what i expected..cps we can assume like vtec n mivec right?..
but i think the activation point of the cps is quite late..at 5.5k or so..whch is nearly redline..when i got back to showroom again, turned out when i was looking at the car brochure(power chart)..at 5.5k the graph is diff with normal campro..(power still going up until 6.smthing)

izzit ok or do you guyz agree with me?..i mean, who is crazy enuf to always full throtle to redline everyday?..

izzit other car(with vtec or mvec watsoeva) activation point like this?..earlier or more delay from this..

p/s:savvy amt gear shifting is sucx..damn sloooooooo..oso jerking on 2nd gear

This post has been edited by SeNnDoh-7: Dec 31 2009, 03:37 PM
sphiroth
post Dec 31 2009, 07:15 PM

2,804 posts

CPS engage at 3.8k rpm.
SeNnDoh-7
post Dec 31 2009, 07:28 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Dec 31 2009, 07:15 PM)
CPS engage at 3.8k rpm.
is there any reliable source i can get?..coz i really feel it kicks in at 5.sumthing k..only at that range.. blink.gif
sphiroth
post Dec 31 2009, 07:30 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(SeNnDoh-7 @ Dec 31 2009, 07:28 PM)
is there any reliable source i can get?..coz i really feel it kicks in at 5.sumthing k..only at that range.. blink.gif
Come to the CPS thread, can get real life source there. brows.gif
SeNnDoh-7
post Dec 31 2009, 07:37 PM

492 posts

based table on: http://paultan.org/2008/02/06/proton-waja-...um-cps-details/

ooh i c..it's already engaged when rpm reach 3.8 but variable intake manifold still in long runner..but when rpm hit 4.8 vim switch to short runner..
so, the rapid accel i feel is becoz of the vim?..however, bcoz the car i driven is auto trans, thats mybe the reason i cant get raw power from the engine at 3.8k..:-)

This post has been edited by SeNnDoh-7: Dec 31 2009, 07:38 PM

23 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:29 PM