45 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

~~~~Clans of the Piano~~~, Piano,keyboard,syntherizer, clavinova!

wfhan
post Jun 24 2009, 01:10 PM

62 posts

zzzxtreme,
thanks for your valuable feedback...
will definate give CK music a visit in the near future.

how about other sifu of keyboard here ?
any diff view ?

This post has been edited by wfhan: Jun 24 2009, 01:16 PM
little ice
post Jun 24 2009, 01:16 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(wfhan @ Jun 24 2009, 12:16 PM)
I've a 3.5 yo daughter, me & mywife are planning to send her to music school to learn piano, we need some recommendations.
for 3.5 yo, you probably want to send your child to yamaha music school to join the JMC, which i recommend it over any other young children courses. due to the way JMC conducted the lesson, you'll need a keyboard to have rhythm to play around, and other sound for more fun. even if you insist a digital piano, 3.5 yo is too early to play on a weighted keyboard. i suggest a decent 61 keys keyboard that have rhythm backings (drum rhythms etc). i recommend yamaha over casio because of the speaker quality, probably around RM1000 you can get a very nice yamaha keyboard.

that's how i started, i played on an old yamaha electone since 4 years old before my father bought me yamaha piano at age of 7. since electones are pretty expensive and overkill for a total beginner which the path isn't even certain yet, that's why i recommend 61 keys keyboard over electones. after completed the basic courses, then only decide whether to buy an electone or a piano which depends on what your daughter wanted to play.
wfhan
post Jun 24 2009, 01:25 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Jun 24 2009, 01:16 PM)
for 3.5 yo, you probably want to send your child to yamaha music school to join the JMC, which i recommend it over any other young children courses. due to the way JMC conducted the lesson, you'll need a keyboard to have rhythm to play around, and other sound for more fun. even if you insist a digital piano, 3.5 yo is too early to play on a weighted keyboard. i suggest a decent 61 keys keyboard that have rhythm backings (drum rhythms etc). i recommend yamaha over casio because of the speaker quality, probably around RM1000 you can get a very nice yamaha keyboard.

that's how i started, i played on an old yamaha electone since 4 years old before my father bought me yamaha piano at age of 7. since electones are pretty expensive and overkill for a total beginner which the path isn't even certain yet, that's why i recommend 61 keys keyboard over electones. after completed the basic courses, then only decide whether to buy an electone or a piano which depends on what your daughter wanted to play.
little ice,

thanks for your valuable feeback !...
yes, me & my wife intent to send her to JMC programme of Yamaha.
For your recommendation of yamaha 61 keys keyboard, which model & location can i survey ?
(CK music website doesn't list yamaha under their product page, i guess their don't carry yamaha equip.)

btw, my sister's child is having a portable yamaha (not sure is a electone or kb, nor the model, but it sure has rhythm backings),
so when my child visited them, she is very happy and interest in getting her lil' finger on the keys, hence, i want to develop
her interest in piano.... smile.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by wfhan: Jun 24 2009, 01:37 PM
little ice
post Jun 24 2009, 01:37 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(wfhan @ Jun 24 2009, 01:25 PM)
little ice,

thanks for your valuable feeback !...
yes, me & my wife intent to send her to JMC programme of Yamaha.
For your recommendation of yamaha 61 keys keyboard, which model & location can i survey ?
(ck music shud also hv the equipment right?)

btw, my sister's child is having a portable yamaha (not sure is a electone or kb, nor the model, but it sure has rhythm backings),
so when my child visited them, she is very happy and interest in getting her lil' finger on the keys, hence, i want to develop
her interest in piano.... smile.gif  rolleyes.gif
you're welcome!

since you're sending your daughter to yamaha, why not just pay a visit to the yamaha store and have a look? anyway i wish i could provide more detailed recommendation of the keyboard model, as i didn't survey entry level~intermediate level keyboards for long long time. i'll post a few of my findings once i visit yamaha tomorrow. meanwhile i'll let others to recommend.

you might want to ask what's your sister's child playing on, and ask what's the price too, best to have your daughter to play on it just to see if she (or you) like the sound of it. oh and if you want to join yamaha, i recommend you to join retail branches than franchise branches if you can choose. there're only a few retails branches which is subang perade /kelana jaya/pelangi square/the curve.
wfhan
post Jun 24 2009, 02:15 PM

62 posts

little ice,

ok, will visit their retail branch to see what is available and
what the potential teacher propose...... smile.gif

will pm u if i got any more q's to ask..smile.gif

little ice
post Jun 25 2009, 11:58 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

wfhan,

i tried the PSR-E413 today, with a price tag of RM1300 (if i see it correctly, but you can always ask for discount), is a very very good keyboard. it's as good as even if your child grown up the keyboard is still highly useable, the sound is quite good, the feel of the key is solid (beat casio keybaords i tried, including some more expensive ones), and lots of functions for a RM1000+ keyboard.

i've tried casio keyboard with more keys at 76keys, but at around RM1800~RM2000, it only pay for extra keys and maybe more tracks to record, but certainly the yamaha keyboard did impress me with the price it offer.

or, if you want to save even more, just for a 3.5yo child to learn, there're other yamaha keyboards priced around RM800~RM900 but less functions. however considering it's not a huge difference in price, i find the PSR-E413 is more worth it in the long run.

all in all, i'd suggest stay away from the really entry level keybaord (still priced at around RM700 which is not cheap), it doesn't offer a touch sensitive keys where you hit soft it'll sound soft, hit hard it'll sound loud, it'll be just the same volume no matter how you hit the keys.

official page for this keyboard.
http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/Conten...661&CTID=205100

This post has been edited by little ice: Jun 26 2009, 12:04 AM
smwah
post Jun 26 2009, 12:31 AM

Glad to be Here
1,701 posts

Hi guys n gals, need ur advice on purchasing eletronic piano.
I already stopped playing piano after come to kl study and work, it would be 10 years ago after my abrsm grade 8.
My budget is as low as possible. I always prefer those accustic type, but very hard if u rent room in kl. The price also not cheap compare my time.
My aim is to have those "feel". Keyboard is no no for me bcoz u can't control the sound and the forte piano feel.
I not very sure which one, but I think those who play piano should understand the 'feel' when hiting the keys.
little ice
post Jun 26 2009, 12:48 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(smwah @ Jun 26 2009, 12:31 AM)
Hi guys n gals, need ur advice on purchasing eletronic piano.
I already stopped playing piano after come to kl study and work, it would be 10 years ago after my abrsm grade 8.
My budget is as low as possible. I always prefer those accustic type, but very hard if u rent room in kl. The price also not cheap compare my time.
My aim is to have those "feel". Keyboard is no no for me bcoz u can't control the sound and the forte piano feel.
I not very sure which one, but I think those who play piano should understand the 'feel' when hiting the keys.
well, i would recommend the yamaha P140 anytime, sadly it's discontinued, even if it's still available, you're expecting RM5500 price tag - it worth the feel of the keys and the sound for the price alone, not like many clavinovas they have less feel but maybe more sound/functions + imitating real piano pedals. you have to buy another pedal for P140, however, i still miss the feel of the P140.

other than that, just go out and try to decide yourself. casio digital pianos generally cheaper, piano touch is pretty good but the sound not so good.
fLeA
post Jun 28 2009, 11:12 AM

422 posts

Hi all,

I'm interested in learning keyboard.

Any place where i can pick up keyboard in johor bahru?

Most of the places i called only offer organ.

Thank you.
HeavensGift
post Jul 19 2009, 09:34 PM

57 posts

Any good Piano recommendation for beginner? doesn't have to be very good..
little ice
post Jul 20 2009, 12:57 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(HeavensGift @ Jul 19 2009, 09:34 PM)
Any good Piano recommendation for beginner? doesn't have to be very good..
if it doesn't need to be very good, might as well get a digital piano around RM2k~3k, casio are good.

i don't recommend anthing lower than, be it acoustic or digital piano, assuming if you want to learn "piano" but not "keyboard".
moyong
post Jul 21 2009, 09:03 AM

Fish
751 posts

here's a very basic question.

as a beginner... how many keys should i get? Cz there are 88, 76, 61....

which would be suitable for beginners? laugh.gif
zzzxtreme
post Jul 21 2009, 09:31 AM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

88-key is beneficial
moyong
post Jul 22 2009, 01:54 PM

Fish
751 posts

ya thats what i have in mind but... it seems all are above 2k..... lolz any budget 88 key?

also which would be a better choice? Yamaha, Korg or Casio... for beginner.
zzzxtreme
post Jul 22 2009, 02:32 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

i think casio CDP-100 could be had for RM1900 or less
it's full size weighted (slightly light touch though), 88 keys

so it depends on your budget. if you can stretch a bit, I recommend Korg SP250, RM2700 or less (after discount).

a Korg SP250 originally retails for US$800 overseas, a Yamaha P70 about $600, but in Malaysia, P70 sells for RM2500 and above. so SP250 is the best value budget digital piano
Sky.Live
post Jul 22 2009, 03:53 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I have a weighted key synthesizer already, come to think of it, I only use the acoustic piano sound 99% of the time, and the sample kinda bad to my ears. If I were to upgrade, do you think I should opt for acoustic or and stage piano instead?
zzzxtreme
post Jul 22 2009, 04:05 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

acoustic piano if you don't play after midnight.

the expressiveness is just so different

but a cheap acoustic is ugly. for the same price u can get a very nice sexy looking digital
ajay67
post Jul 22 2009, 06:37 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 22 2009, 03:53 PM)
I have a weighted key synthesizer already, come to think of it, I only use the acoustic piano sound 99% of the time, and the sample kinda bad to my ears. If I were to upgrade, do you think I should opt for acoustic or and stage piano instead?

what model is that? might be interested if u decide to sell wink.gif

little ice
post Jul 22 2009, 08:19 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 22 2009, 03:53 PM)
then start to learn how to use the sounds. you need:

1. midi cable/converter (yamaha/edirol), if your keyboard can connect to PC using USB, skip this.
2. asio4all driver (freeware) http://www.asio4all.com
3. reaper (shareware multitrack midi/audio recorder) http://www.reaper.fm

then you're ready to learn about midi sequencing. as mentioned, if your keyboard is newer model and have USB connector, you don't need to spend any money at all and you can start to learn about midi.
Sky.Live
post Jul 23 2009, 09:03 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jul 22 2009, 04:05 PM)
acoustic piano if you don't play after midnight.

the expressiveness is just so different

but a cheap acoustic is ugly. for the same price u can get a very nice sexy looking digital
so far i tried my relative old piano at his house which i think sound the most pleasant too me, although new yamaha upright model sounds very good too, but the price is too exp, however my relative prefer to let it dust at his house than selling it, many people like piano as decoration huh = ="

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jul 22 2009, 06:37 PM)
what model is that? might be interested if u decide to sell wink.gif
xD, i thought a keyboard should be handy at the time i need it

QUOTE(little ice @ Jul 22 2009, 08:19 PM)
then start to learn how to use the sounds. you need:

1. midi cable/converter (yamaha/edirol), if your keyboard can connect to PC using USB, skip this.
2. asio4all driver (freeware) http://www.asio4all.com
3. reaper (shareware multitrack midi/audio recorder) http://www.reaper.fm

then you're ready to learn about midi sequencing. as mentioned, if your keyboard is newer model and have USB connector, you don't need to spend any money at all and you can start to learn about midi.
mine is a rather old model, have to buy midi connectors if were to play midi, my soundcard is kinda audiophile than for musician, so maybe have to buy midi --> usb, something like that. not sure if i wanna play about midi

45 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.3718sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:58 PM