8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

2008 Beijing Olympics:should the world boycott it?, issit a wise move? opinions plz!

joe_mamak
post Apr 10 2008, 11:59 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Apr 10 2008, 11:55 PM)
so conclusion, we are family. family members quarrel, the one who is not happy is about not getting enough of the fortune. end of story
More like the one who is not happy is the one getting bullied.
Avex
post Apr 11 2008, 12:08 AM

570 posts

so who bully who again in the article?
joe_mamak
post Apr 13 2008, 07:08 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Apr 11 2008, 12:08 AM)
so who bully who again in the article?
Not so much about the article. You need to look at what has been happening in Tibet for the past 5 decades.

Who bully who?

joe_mamak
post Apr 13 2008, 07:10 PM

363 posts

China media slam Dalai Lama as "anti human rights"
http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20080413/pl_nm/china_tibet_dc

Excerpts -

"It is indeed the anti-human rights nature of the Dalai clique that impels the "pro-Tibet independence" separatists to undermine China's stability and unity, disgrace China worldwide, and even sabotage the Olympic torch relay by all sorts of violent means," the English-language commentary said.

"Pelosi would remain the least popular person for China if she stiff-neckedly clings to her double standards and an anti-China stance," the commentary said.

"The Chinese are fully justified to call her 'a protector of mobsters, arsonists and murderers'. Why doesn't she give a thought to Iraq?" it added, an apparent reference to U.S. policy in Iraq, of which Pelosi has in fact been a strong critic.

I am reminded of TASS. biggrin.gif
joe_mamak
post Apr 18 2008, 01:31 AM

363 posts

This is a good piece on Tibet and China and why the world should not boycott the Beijing olympics

http://www.newsweek.com/id/131751
SUSTC_Boy
post Apr 18 2008, 01:46 AM

259 posts

Aiyah why care lar about Tibet. If you think censorship and government control on almost everything is the way to go then obviously you'll love the China government.

Polaris
post Apr 18 2008, 03:09 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Apr 1 2008, 05:04 PM)
hmmm....there are so many ongoing issues such as :

-issues on Tibet  (genocide, oppression, forced-chinese influx into Tibetian territories, cultural destruction, & etc.)

-rising tensions amongst the Chinese and the minority ethnics,

-very poor track record on human rights and freedom of the press,

-demolition of homes causing locals to live off the streets just to make way for the game

With these issues, there are rising support for a global boycott on the games to send a message to the chinese govt.
Just like the boycott of the 1980 Moscow Olympics.....sending a strong message to the Russians after their invasion of Afghanistan.

juz wanna know what u guys think of it....
Hate the China gov, but watch the games.. the correct way is to blacklist the corporate sponsors of this year's Olympics, as they're the ones giving payola to China's gov.
joe_mamak
post Apr 21 2008, 06:02 PM

363 posts

Article in Malaysia Today -

Olympic Protests: What if it were Malaysia instead of Tibet? PDF Print E-mail
Posted by labisman
Monday, 21 April 2008

As our nation's leader warns against Malaysians holding protests against the Beijing Olympics, I feel compelled to ask a pertinent question... What if Thailand had sent its army and tanks into Malaysia and conquered the entire Peninsula?

And then what if Bangkok were to host the 2020 Olympic Games?

Would Malaysians be all smiley and happy-happy about the Olympic Torch relay while our country remained occupied as a 'rightful province of historic Greater Siam'?

Would our neighbours keep officially silent about the gradual replacement of Malaysian multi-culture with Thai customs and norms, just to stay on the good side of the Thai economic giant?

Would our mainstream media newspapers only print letters that bash the West for daring to criticize and politicize the Thailand Games?

Heck, what if instead of China Olympics and Tibetan protestors, they were having Israel Olympics and Palestinian protestors? Do you think that the same people calling for the Olympic Games not to be politicized would keep singing the same tune? Do you think that our politicians would call for public restraint, or public protests?

(If you want a hint, just look at the recent hoo-hah over two Israeli members in an English football team who came close to being denied entry to our tolerant nation.)

In my honest opinion, it is totally one's pregorative to protest whatever you want or to condemn whatever protest is being held.

Just don't act as if you yourelf are completely just, righteous and fair-minded. Be honest and admit your highly political biases.

I looked at my nation in the mirror, and saw only hypocrisy.

Source
http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/6403/1/
Check out the reader comments as well. Here is one -

written by oster, April 21, 2008 | 13:24:40
Common anti-Tibet arguments:

a) This issue is being used by the West.

-So? It doesn't change the fact that Tibetans cannot vote for their future. If the Malaysian government did the same thing to you, you would complain.

-Also, regardless of this, it still does not change the fact that Tibetans cannot vote their future.

b) Tibet belongs to China

-That is a decision to be made by Tibetans, not you, not China, not the US, not the UN, not anybody else

c) China made Tibet prosperous

-This is analogous to the "mission to civilize" line of thought Western imperialists took, that Asians wouldn't rise unless they came and helped them along. In effect, people who say this are saying that Tibet wouldn't have made it anywhere unless the Chinese came in. Isn't that comparing China to Western imperialists of old?

-Also, regardless of this, it still does not change the fact that Tibetans cannot vote their future.

d) Should Sabah and Sarawak then ask for independence?

-The comparison is moot, since inevitably it is up to Sabahans and Sarawakians themselves who should decide. This argument is trying to say that if Tibet is given independence, so should Sabah and Sarawak.

Why? Let Tibetans decide on Tibet, and Sabahans and Sarawakians decide on Sabah and Sarawak.

e) Why don't you go fight another human rights' abuse that is worse elsewhere like Iraq?

-Well there are too many human rights abuses going on for every individual to concentrate on all of it, right? Just because someone chooses to focus on Tibet doesn't mean he/she does not care about other human rights abuses, no?

f) The Western media is biased against China

-Well first of all, define the empirical method in which you have come to this conclusion. What sample size did you sue, and which media outlets did you examine? Does your sample contain enough sources so as to be representative of the entire media spectrum?

-Also, regardless of whether the Western media is biased or not, it still does not change the fact that Tibetans cannot vote their future.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

What makes me passionate about this issue is seeing how many people would forgive and condone some of the stuff the CCP does when they would condemn it if BN did the same.

Saying that the Chinese should decide what is best for Tibet is like saying UMNO Malays should decide what is best for the Malaysian Chinese.

Also, the constant accusations of a "Western Conspiracy" to distract from the the fact that Tibet cannot vote for their future is all too similar to Mahathir's constant raving about a "Western Conspiracy" to distract from all the troubles of '98.

At the end of the day, it's not the West or China that is the central issue here, but the fact that Tibetans cannot vote their future.

And no, I'm not a CIA agent, as some have preferred to think in other blogs.

cheers

This post has been edited by joe_mamak: Apr 21 2008, 06:04 PM
Boomeraangkid
post Apr 21 2008, 06:08 PM

Behind You
2,696 posts

dalai lama works for Central Intelligence Agency biggrin.gif
joe_mamak
post Apr 21 2008, 06:10 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Apr 21 2008, 06:08 PM)
dalai lama works for Central Intelligence Agency biggrin.gif
Yeah and I am a mamak.
defaultname365
post Apr 21 2008, 06:26 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

So hilarious, CNN reported that the problem with the torch relay in Malaysia is not the protestors or the lack of it, but

"Malaysians don't know that the torch is here !!!"

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/...orch/index.html

Chinese students cheer Malaysian torch relay
KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (CNN) -- Hundreds of Chinese students gathered at Independence Square to cheer for the Olympic flame as it began its four-hour relay through Kuala Lumpur on Monday.

Malaysia Olympic Council President Imran Jaafar kicks off the Malaysian leg of the torch relay.

Heavy security was in place to protect the 80 runners carrying the Olympic torch along a 10-mile (16 km) route through the Malaysian capital, ending at the Petronas Twin Towers.

Witnesses said the Chinese students overwhelmed a woman wearing a "Free Tibet" shirt and holding a pro-Tibet sign, hitting her with small Chinese flags before she was carried away unhurt by a photographer.

"As soon as spectators saw what she was doing, they immediately mobbed her, hitting her with flags," said Brad Kesler, an American tourist who was there to watch the start of the relay.

Kesler said the woman was holding the sign and not yelling.

About 500 Chinese students, who are studying in Malaysia, were organized by the Chinese Embassy there, according to an Olympics organizer. Several of the students told CNN that the Chinese government provided their transportation to the event.

They all wore identical shirts with the slogan "One Dream, One Nation," and many of them had Chinese flags painted on their faces, according to witnesses.

At least two other people carrying pro-Tibet signs were carried away by police. It was not clear if they were detained because of a disruption or if they were removed for their own safety.

About 1,500 people attended the relay's start in Independence Square, according to witness estimates. Few of them appeared to be local residents. Watch the torch arrive in Malaysia »

Malaysian actress Marina Mahathir, one of the 80 torchbearers, said she was "very excited and very proud to be carrying the torch." She said she did not expect any of the violence that disrupted the relay in several other cities.

Earlier torch relay stops in London, England; Paris, France; and San Francisco, California attracted tens of thousands of demonstrators. Some protesters in those cities tried to disrupt the relay, and police made dozens of arrests.

So is this a question of "NOT KNOWING what is going on?" blush.gif

Boomeraangkid
post Apr 21 2008, 06:34 PM

Behind You
2,696 posts

watch the tibet video in youtube....i think without china tibet is NOT in History Books
allinuff
post Apr 21 2008, 06:34 PM

84 posts

No reason to boycott the games. It's about the athletes not politics. I'm sure it takes a lifetime of dedication and hardwork from the athletes to reach that pinnacle. That is reason alone not to sabotage the OG.
joe_mamak
post Apr 21 2008, 06:37 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Apr 21 2008, 06:34 PM)
watch the tibet video in youtube....i think without china tibet is NOT in History Books
Would you rather be free or be in the history books?

This is not a trick question.
maximus85
post Apr 21 2008, 10:02 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

may i know how does it concern u? in any way?
oucheev
post Apr 21 2008, 10:51 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Apr 21 2008, 06:26 PM)
So hilarious, CNN reported that the problem with the torch relay in Malaysia is not the protestors or the lack of it, but

"Malaysians don't know that the torch is here !!!"

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/...orch/index.html
Chinese students cheer Malaysian torch relay
KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia (CNN) -- Hundreds of Chinese students gathered at Independence Square to cheer for the Olympic flame as it began its four-hour relay through Kuala Lumpur on Monday.

Malaysia Olympic Council President Imran Jaafar kicks off the Malaysian leg of the torch relay.

Heavy security was in place to protect the 80 runners carrying the Olympic torch along a 10-mile (16 km) route through the Malaysian capital, ending at the Petronas Twin Towers.

Witnesses said the Chinese students overwhelmed a woman wearing a "Free Tibet" shirt and holding a pro-Tibet sign, hitting her with small Chinese flags before she was carried away unhurt by a photographer.

"As soon as spectators saw what she was doing, they immediately mobbed her, hitting her with flags," said Brad Kesler, an American tourist who was there to watch the start of the relay.

Kesler said the woman was holding the sign and not yelling.

About 500 Chinese students, who are studying in Malaysia, were organized by the Chinese Embassy there, according to an Olympics organizer. Several of the students told CNN that the Chinese government provided their transportation to the event.

They all wore identical shirts with the slogan "One Dream, One Nation," and many of them had Chinese flags painted on their faces, according to witnesses.

At least two other people carrying pro-Tibet signs were carried away by police. It was not clear if they were detained because of a disruption or if they were removed for their own safety.

About 1,500 people attended the relay's start in Independence Square, according to witness estimates. Few of them appeared to be local residents.  Watch the torch arrive in Malaysia »

Malaysian actress Marina Mahathir, one of the 80 torchbearers, said she was "very excited and very proud to be carrying the torch." She said she did not expect any of the violence that disrupted the relay in several other cities.

Earlier torch relay stops in London, England; Paris, France; and San Francisco, California attracted tens of thousands of demonstrators. Some protesters in those cities tried to disrupt the relay, and police made dozens of arrests.
So is this a question of "NOT KNOWING what is going on?"  blush.gif
Something's wrong with the articles. Since when Marina Mahathir is an actress.

Ok back to the run, I saw the run at Jalan P. Ramlee. It passes through my office. Most of the wearing red and blue is I am not mistaken are students from Chinese schools and not students from China. Maybe some are but most of them are too young. And they were sponsors by Lenovo, Samsung and Ambank. So those who wore blue were sponsored by Samsung and those who wore red is sponsored by Ambank.

joe_mamak
post Apr 21 2008, 11:23 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Apr 21 2008, 10:02 PM)
It doesn't directly affect me.

But when something is so wrong, how can I keep quiet?

Added on April 22, 2008, 1:01 amChinese opinions
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/talking_point/7340987.stm

All the same.

This post has been edited by joe_mamak: Apr 22 2008, 01:01 AM
TSbhypp
post Apr 25 2008, 11:00 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(allinuff @ Apr 21 2008, 06:34 PM)
No reason to boycott the games. It's about the athletes not politics. I'm sure it takes a lifetime of dedication and hardwork from the athletes to reach that pinnacle. That is reason alone not to sabotage the OG.
well if u read my prev posts....u shud know by now its not coz of politics....godammit....

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Apr 21 2008, 10:02 PM)
ahhh ur a fine example of the disease called msian ignorance sydrome....thats why theres no msian citizens on the streets during the relay.....we dont get many chances for the relay to be run thru our street....due to this endemic diesease, not many msians went to watch the event....let alone to support Tibet......if its none of msia's business.....why were msia troops sent to Congo and somalia?? none of our frikken business too.... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

QUOTE(oucheev @ Apr 21 2008, 10:51 PM)
Something's wrong with the articles. Since when Marina Mahathir is an actress.

Ok back to the run, I saw the run at Jalan P. Ramlee. It passes through my office. Most of the wearing red and blue is I am not mistaken are students from Chinese schools and not students from China. Maybe some are but most of them are too young. And they were sponsors by Lenovo, Samsung and Ambank. So those who wore blue were sponsored by Samsung and those who wore red is sponsored by Ambank.
u sure?! shit...its a big disaster for msia if theres msians goin for China....how can ppl even condone the act of killing and oppression??? If im marina...i will put out the fire of the torch...with my daddy as a ex-big shot / current big mouth that can slander and still not be caught by the crippled hand of msian justice...i will hav no fear of getting caught or anything like that.....

SAY NO TO BEIJING 08....cheers
sujend
post Apr 26 2008, 02:18 AM

627 posts

China must free Tibet.
Respectlar..its their homeland,let them stay in their country peacefully keep the chinese in china!!
Tibet for Tibetans...Human rights comes first b4 asian,europeans or american ideology!!
after all, we are all human beings! Mutual respectlaaaaa

This post has been edited by sujend: Apr 26 2008, 02:20 AM
joe_mamak
post Apr 26 2008, 12:29 PM

363 posts

China's communist government has little respect for human rights.

If the Malaysia government treats her citizens like how China treats their citizens, we will be protesting on the streets.

Yet there are many Chinese communist government buttlickers in here. biggrin.gif

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.1606sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:26 AM