2008 Beijing Olympics:should the world boycott it?, issit a wise move? opinions plz!

TSbhypp
post Apr 1 2008, 05:04 PM, updated 18y ago

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

hmmm....there are so many ongoing issues such as :

-issues on Tibet (genocide, oppression, forced-chinese influx into Tibetian territories, cultural destruction, & etc.)

-rising tensions amongst the Chinese and the minority ethnics,

-very poor track record on human rights and freedom of the press,

-demolition of homes causing locals to live off the streets just to make way for the game

With these issues, there are rising support for a global boycott on the games to send a message to the chinese govt.
Just like the boycott of the 1980 Moscow Olympics.....sending a strong message to the Russians after their invasion of Afghanistan.

juz wanna know what u guys think of it....

TSbhypp
post Apr 1 2008, 05:17 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(beelzebob13 @ Apr 1 2008, 05:10 PM)
i can't get involved. look, i can only take you as far as anchorhead.

and did the boycott in 1980 resulted in the ruskies pulling out? i bet you there were many would be olympians who kursed that decisions because they were too old to wait 4 more years because they were used as pawns.
yea u got a point that....but if thats the case why not juz boycott the opening ceremony...make them lose face....btu still participate in the games??

so u mean juz leave those issues alone n juz dun bother?
TSbhypp
post Apr 1 2008, 06:49 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(yukikaze @ Apr 1 2008, 05:59 PM)
then we should boycott US products as well
they invade iraq
their soldiers violate the human right as well as animal
doesnt that sound familiar?
i don;t think so that people should boycott

just my 2 cents
im saying boycott the games la...not boycott chinese products....wrong analogy man! cool2.gif
TSbhypp
post Apr 1 2008, 06:52 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 1 2008, 06:26 PM)
boycotting seems like a dumb act to me.

politics shouldn't be mixed with sports.

imagine you're of of the chosen athletes, you have trained like mad. then it goes to nothing when some big belly president of your country boycott the game.
erm i think ur abit wrong here.....its not totally politics...yes...autonomy of tibet is a political issue but u can also see it in a humanitarian way....ppl are being murdered everyday in tibet, their culture being destroyed, these are not political issues anymore are they? athletes are humans too....they can all stand together and deliver the message cool2.gif
TSbhypp
post Apr 1 2008, 06:55 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Apr 1 2008, 06:42 PM)
How was China picked to host the Olympic if their records were not good?
how did germany / russia get to host olympics in the past then??? well the selection is dodgy anyway....so lets not go into the details....but maybe there are some parties who are hoping that the chinese govt will clean up their acts (teach the ppl how to queue, teach them not to spit, teach them hygiene) and bring themselves up to a standard comparable if not equivalent to all other 'big shot' nations....but i think china is still the old china.... flex.gif

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Apr 1 2008, 06:51 PM)
no... i wana see the Cube!!!
u mean the venue?? i only know that besi buruk stadium aka birds nest....

This post has been edited by bhypp: Apr 1 2008, 07:00 PM
TSbhypp
post Apr 2 2008, 04:28 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

what a great discussion here...however there are still alot of one liners around...but what more can one ask for? its kopitiam afterall.....

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion81 @ Apr 1 2008, 10:45 PM)
This would just their sense of injustice within their citizens, which we have already witnessed by the backlash of "western bias" within Chinese netizens that had serve no point other than angering them in the process.
well they dont do much anyway....no point of appeasing the people....for china, if u appease the top communist dogs....ur game on...whatever u ask for will be granted....the people can get pissed all they want.....what can they do? vote the govt out of office?? laugh.gif the greater truth is out there...and i think its just them being shallow not knowing it.....

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion81 @ Apr 1 2008, 10:53 PM)
My forum fren(a Filipino Chinse working in shenzhen) has the best reply so far.
Western bias against Chinese would not only anger PRC's Chinese only, as well as their own native Chinese as well.
i dunno why its like this...ppl are culturally inclined....to their own ethnicity of course.....but then again i bet no any culture in the world would condone the act of genocide, blatant oppression of the people (mentally as well...look what they feed them thru tv and the internet), heck they even evict their own ppl, Beijing locals without compensations just to make way for the game....who knows what else would they do in order to reach their goal???

i dont see the act of boycott will anger any overseas / expat chinese....even the PRC chinese whu are currently abroad, free of the govt red-propaganda.....they would soon open their eyes n realize the true nature of their wretched govt....killing of fellow chinese of Falun Gong?? killing of their future leaders, students of the Peking uni in Tiananmen? There is no bigger stage to show our disgust and our opinion than now...when the world is watching....

QUOTE(nnasir @ Apr 2 2008, 06:14 AM)
i honestly feel the double standards applied to china and israel.
haha i see that one coming....but has Isreal got plans to organize Olympics?? China is recognized by every country in the world that they are a sovereign nation.....but has Isreal got that worldwide recognition?? If (big big if) Israel gonna host any major sporting events....i think alot of countries will boycott too..... anyway its orange to apple thingy....i think the israel thig we just leave it to a thread of its own....but we r talking bout China's Olympic games here.....

TSbhypp
post Apr 2 2008, 04:42 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

refer to page 2 guys.....its not a political issue here.....we are talking bout humanitarian crisis.....i dunno why genocide can be classified as a political issue where only politicians should be involved....

and to maximus85, the voices calling for boycott came mostly from Europe and non-US countries....US has released a statement suggesting their strong support for the games.... icon_rolleyes.gif China might be growing on a double figure GDP but who cares....if they were to catch up with the US...even if US is on a standstill...frozen in time....China would still need 50 years to catch up....

dear Gr3yL3gion81, a boycott of the game is just like a super massive street protest, with unprecedented media coverage....thats all, economic sanctions is a totally different thing man....boycott the game causes them embarassment and just to show them that the world does take their issues in their 'backyard' seriously.....and hopefully that would spurr them to be more open and to actually listen to what others have to say....nothing more....no restriction of their peoples economy or whatsoever thats similar that... just wanna get the message thru.... cool2.gif

Added on April 2, 2008, 4:45 pmoh yea if u guys wanna try the chinese govt's internet oppression crap....just try google (the chinese one....google.com.cn i think) type tiananmen massacre or jsut tiananmen.....look for that tank man picture....bloody famous dude whu made it into Times' 100 man that define the 21st century...see if u guys can spot that dude on the chinese site....then try the 'global' google site....see whats the difference.....or try youtube.....and compare...that would be even more interesting....

This post has been edited by bhypp: Apr 2 2008, 04:48 PM
TSbhypp
post Apr 2 2008, 06:05 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(iJuzkiD @ Apr 2 2008, 05:34 PM)
somehow i've got the feeling if the world boycotts china it will caue world world III to break out... and countries who suggested this will MAMPOS!! thts us.... omg...

btw... CHINA WILL GROW LARGER! (quoted C&C Generals)
abit brainless post dont u think....russia back in the height of the cold war kena a kao kao 1 .....oso din fight back.....coz they kenot juz start a war just like taht and of course they risk getting pwned by US if they do that.... u think the China now can pwn everyone when the soviet back then dun even dare??? think again....1980...cold war....lots of nuclear warheads..... can see the clearer picture now??

TSbhypp
post Apr 4 2008, 07:10 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

i dunno why ppl still got this 'ethnicity' inclination in their mentality...well for me.....if i were to choose the 4 powers uve said...i wud choose the one thats hav a better track record.....rather than choosing the asian one coz im asian...

anyway trade embargo is not the issue discussed here so u r the one off topic...we r just discussing if the action of a boycott (of any form / extend) is necessary....

for me im all for it...no better time than now to show that china cant do whatever they please, even if its in their own backyard....no better time to stop their ignorance.....
TSbhypp
post Apr 4 2008, 09:58 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Zard @ Apr 4 2008, 07:20 PM)
why don't just boycott America, huh war with iraq, afgan, vietnam...the list goes on and on. talking about human rights. clean up ur own mess b4 start criticizing everyone
ermm dude....we talking bout beijing olympics here....so i take it as a 'no' from you? if america's gonna host an olympics rite now....be my guest to start a call for a boycott.....but that is not the case here....we r talking bout beijing right now....why do u guys always need to bring in ameica into this...the call for boycott is not spearheaded by the states.....its just groups of ppl that care thats been voicing out......who dont belong to any particular political faction....
TSbhypp
post Apr 5 2008, 05:41 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

lol...they might be chinese but their of different ethnic origin....like we are all malaysians but we hav different ethnicity as well....
TSbhypp
post Apr 6 2008, 12:06 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(creap @ Apr 5 2008, 07:01 PM)

This boycott will do no good at all, especially boycotting the Olympics after China putting so much money and effort on it. The more they pressure China, the more China will react by refusing to budge from their stand. They are proud that they are given a chance to host the Olympics and they will in no circumstance, believe that they are actually on par with top nations, to show their superiority over Tibet by giving them a small "payback".  smile.gif

Though Steven Spielberg's withdrawal and overeaction still made me LOL for some time few weeks ago.
if china turned into some arrogant n ignorant prick like what uve said....they are goin to face some serious repercussions from the world.....this is typical asian thinking.....i think there was this saying of "hitting ones child just to make others think that they are in control" this is so wrong....

given that theyve put in so much effort into this...im sure they dont want the world to taint this olympic games and they should pay more attention to what they r doing currently and take a long good look at themselves....

like i said....with so much at stake....theres no better chance to make a statement......and i think the its now or never for the Tibetian to stand up and make it happen....remember...the Dalai Lama wanted more power in self governance but still be part of china....like an autonomous region....but the fellow Tibetians...some had gone to more extreme measures saying that the Dalai Lama has been trying for ages but hasnt got the results....so they are now acting on their own will, fueled by the years of blatant oppression and persecution, going to use the games as a platform to show the world how much theyve been thru and hopefully someone will come and take the misery out off them.....

with so much wrongdoings going around...i dunno why there are still ppl supporting the chinese...yea there are plenty of ppl saying that the USA is just as cruel as the Chinese bla bla bla....so does it mean that we can just allow oppression n murder overrule humanity.....each every little effort counts.....we as part of the global community has failed to quell the US's aggression and yet we still wanna allow the chinese to do the same, going on to murder more people?

by recognizing the chinese olympics and singing praises for its success and etc is just an indirect way of recognizing and approving the acts of the chinese govt.....i think if we do that...we are sending the wrong signals in and we wouldnt want our so called 'superpower in the making' to learn that its okay to kill ppl, override human rights and etc.

TSbhypp
post Apr 8 2008, 09:44 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(minority @ Apr 8 2008, 08:50 AM)
Some say that if we just let China continue to inundate Tibet with immigrants, Tibetan independence/autonomy would no longer be an issue and we will no longer have to feel guilty about it.

Meanwhile, someone in RWI is insisting China is democratic.

cheers
wakakakak the biggest joke of the year u sure its from RWI and not from jokes corner???

ahhhh the olympic torch bearer was 'assaulted' by pro tibetian supporters....i think i saw some fire-extinguisher kinda whitish flume sprayed towards the torch....this is how intense it is rite now.....and what the chinese media show??? ppl applauding 'their' olympic torch juz for a few seconds....when i thought they would hav a 24/7 torch watch program on tv....since they are all so full of themselves after they got the right to host the olympics....

ive seen some interviews done on the average Chinese from the streets of shanghai....of course they didnt know that their beloved torch is being 'harrassed' everywhere it goes......and when were told about that.....they thought its some practical joke....some even hav dared to say......"is this some dalai lama shizz?"

now now....an olympic boycott of the opening ceremony itself would suffice already.....just to open the eyes of the Chinese....to an issue that has been long overdue and with too many innocent lives lost....
TSbhypp
post Apr 8 2008, 07:37 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Parrot @ Apr 8 2008, 02:47 PM)
Let's see if you guys practice what you preach.

The torch is scheduled to be carried around our capital city on April 21 (because Wikifagia says so). That's a Monday, FYI.

So what will you do? Protest on the street on behalf of the lil' Tibetans and risk getting assraped by the coppers, or stay in your air-conned office/computer lab and complain on the Inteweebs again?
hahaha....good one there...if we hav the luxury of the freedom to hold gatherings....im pretty sure there will be groups of concerned ppl whu will do it....for us here....we cant do it as a gathering of more than 8 (i think im not too sure) is considered illegal and can be detained under ISA under illegal gathering.......if we apply for a permission for demonstration....we might not get it as Msia is pretty damn sure dun wanna hav any friction in its relationship with China...unless ur Khairy Jamaluddin or sth..... laugh.gif

so i guess u, parrot, r not supporting a boycott of the games?? well care to tell us why?? im pretty eager to hear ur opinions...since u r so opinionated and even questioned the ones whu are supporting this.....well ive joined a Free Tibetian Rally the other day.... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSbhypp
post Apr 8 2008, 07:43 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(lamely_named @ Apr 8 2008, 11:26 AM)
Must boycott china olympic, becoz I want WW3. China+russia+mid east VS everyone else.

A war to end all wars, everybody dies, yay!!!

No need to worry about anything anymore, when the nuke hit us, everybody happy.

Receive 72 virgins.
i think this is another pretty dumb-kopitiam-ish post....how can it lead to WW3??? even a big big global boycott on the 1980s Soviet Olympics did not cause a war.....during the peak of the cold war....when the world's nuclear arsenal is at its peak.....and what it gotta do with 72virgins??

TSbhypp
post Apr 9 2008, 12:00 AM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

lol....like that one there....tibetians were peaceful ppl
TSbhypp
post Apr 25 2008, 11:00 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(allinuff @ Apr 21 2008, 06:34 PM)
No reason to boycott the games. It's about the athletes not politics. I'm sure it takes a lifetime of dedication and hardwork from the athletes to reach that pinnacle. That is reason alone not to sabotage the OG.
well if u read my prev posts....u shud know by now its not coz of politics....godammit....

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Apr 21 2008, 10:02 PM)
may i know how does it concern u? in any way?
ahhh ur a fine example of the disease called msian ignorance sydrome....thats why theres no msian citizens on the streets during the relay.....we dont get many chances for the relay to be run thru our street....due to this endemic diesease, not many msians went to watch the event....let alone to support Tibet......if its none of msia's business.....why were msia troops sent to Congo and somalia?? none of our frikken business too.... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

QUOTE(oucheev @ Apr 21 2008, 10:51 PM)
Something's wrong with the articles. Since when Marina Mahathir is an actress.

Ok back to the run, I saw the run at Jalan P. Ramlee. It passes through my office. Most of the wearing red and blue is I am not mistaken are students from Chinese schools and not students from China. Maybe some are but most of them are too young. And they were sponsors by Lenovo, Samsung and Ambank. So those who wore blue were sponsored by Samsung and those who wore red is sponsored by Ambank.
u sure?! shit...its a big disaster for msia if theres msians goin for China....how can ppl even condone the act of killing and oppression??? If im marina...i will put out the fire of the torch...with my daddy as a ex-big shot / current big mouth that can slander and still not be caught by the crippled hand of msian justice...i will hav no fear of getting caught or anything like that.....

SAY NO TO BEIJING 08....cheers
TSbhypp
post Apr 26 2008, 06:59 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

yea finally after so much pressure from so many parties....finally china has been forced into submission!!! rclxm9.gif

and whu says boycotting wont help??? with a few street protests and some fire extinguishing acts....china now has succumbed to the pressure....

hail all parties whu has supported the cause!!! even tho the issue is far from over.....but now at least theres some silver linings.......good work fella's....

0.0551sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:56 AM