8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

2008 Beijing Olympics:should the world boycott it?, issit a wise move? opinions plz!

TSbhypp
post Apr 1 2008, 05:04 PM, updated 18y ago

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

hmmm....there are so many ongoing issues such as :

-issues on Tibet (genocide, oppression, forced-chinese influx into Tibetian territories, cultural destruction, & etc.)

-rising tensions amongst the Chinese and the minority ethnics,

-very poor track record on human rights and freedom of the press,

-demolition of homes causing locals to live off the streets just to make way for the game

With these issues, there are rising support for a global boycott on the games to send a message to the chinese govt.
Just like the boycott of the 1980 Moscow Olympics.....sending a strong message to the Russians after their invasion of Afghanistan.

juz wanna know what u guys think of it....

beelzebob13
post Apr 1 2008, 05:10 PM

**Newbie DeIllusionist**
591 posts

i can't get involved. look, i can only take you as far as anchorhead.

and did the boycott in 1980 resulted in the ruskies pulling out? i bet you there were many would be olympians who kursed that decisions because they were too old to wait 4 more years because they were used as pawns.
ah_suknat
post Apr 1 2008, 05:11 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

blame the oh-limb-pig board. they should have known this before hand. now only want to kecoh.
TSbhypp
post Apr 1 2008, 05:17 PM

Soviet Malaya!
1,374 posts

QUOTE(beelzebob13 @ Apr 1 2008, 05:10 PM)
i can't get involved. look, i can only take you as far as anchorhead.

and did the boycott in 1980 resulted in the ruskies pulling out? i bet you there were many would be olympians who kursed that decisions because they were too old to wait 4 more years because they were used as pawns.
yea u got a point that....but if thats the case why not juz boycott the opening ceremony...make them lose face....btu still participate in the games??

so u mean juz leave those issues alone n juz dun bother?
choyster
post Apr 1 2008, 05:20 PM

1,802 posts

nothing will stop china!!!!
joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2008, 05:23 PM

363 posts

Don't just boycott, tarik balik the games from China.

Let some other country or countries hold it. biggrin.gif

This would be chaotic, so the games should be split up to various countries.

Blame China and its poor human rights records for this.
SUSvkeong
post Apr 1 2008, 05:24 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

China has been generous
We have big plans
This is the Overlord Tank
It is time
I am big
Are you ready?
What do you need?
Overlord is waiting
Extra large
Yes?
Defenders of peace
The people's army
We are the red guard
Standing attention
Ready for orders
We stand together
Inferno cannons loaded
Hehehehehe
Let's rain some fire
Everything will go up in smoke
When do I get started?
Let's start an inferno
Laptop in hand
I can cripple thier facilities
Batteries charged
Uplink cables ready
There's always a way in
No system is safe

^ guess something

SUSsharkteef
post Apr 1 2008, 05:38 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

boycotting is a wrong way to go bout this.
aprisis
post Apr 1 2008, 05:41 PM

266 posts

We fight for China!
SUSjoe_star
post Apr 1 2008, 05:49 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

I would support an official boycott but I believe the atheletes should be allowed to participate. Anyone remember what happened to malaysia back in 80? We qualified to the Moscow Olympis by knocked out South Korea but the team never went due to the official boycott. Our team never reached such heights again.
SUSyukikaze
post Apr 1 2008, 05:59 PM

315 posts

then we should boycott US products as well
they invade iraq
their soldiers violate the human right as well as animal
doesnt that sound familiar?
i don;t think so that people should boycott

just my 2 cents
joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2008, 06:00 PM

363 posts

Maybe we shouldn't boycott. All the athletes at the opening ceremony (except for China athletes of course) should pull down their shorts and moon the Chinese officials.

Added on April 1, 2008, 6:02 pm

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 1 2008, 05:41 PM)
We fight for China!
Humans should fight for human rights.

This post has been edited by joe_mamak: Apr 1 2008, 06:05 PM
WillHung
post Apr 1 2008, 06:08 PM

really meh?
1,211 posts

i think we should. china has little regard for human rights. all they think about is how they can make more money, even if at the expense of their own people.
beelzebob13
post Apr 1 2008, 06:18 PM

**Newbie DeIllusionist**
591 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Apr 1 2008, 05:17 PM)
yea u got a point that....but if thats the case why not juz boycott the opening ceremony...make them lose face....btu still participate in the games??

so u mean juz leave those issues alone n juz dun bother?
boycott the o.c.? how to keep it a secret from china?

boycott the games?
"in the 100m dash, in first place... china. 2nd place china. third...china."

clearly there are problems in Tibet and all the players involved are playing many grand games before the Olympics even starts.

i'm only a bystander, and the "force" is not with me and clearly i'm just an ordinary farm boy, besides there are so many better equipped.
aprisis
post Apr 1 2008, 06:26 PM

266 posts

boycotting seems like a dumb act to me.

politics shouldn't be mixed with sports.

imagine you're of of the chosen athletes, you have trained like mad. then it goes to nothing when some big belly president of your country boycott the game.
joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2008, 06:32 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Apr 1 2008, 06:26 PM)
boycotting seems like a dumb act to me.

politics shouldn't be mixed with sports.

imagine you're of of the chosen athletes, you have trained like mad. then it goes to nothing when some big belly president of your country boycott the game.
That's not looking at the full picture.

It's about some big belly president that the majority of your country elected who decided to boycott the games as a sign of protest of all the wrong that the country hosting the games had done and continue to do.

sunmenghao
post Apr 1 2008, 06:33 PM

502 posts

joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2008, 06:35 PM

363 posts

Wrong thread. biggrin.gif
firedauz
post Apr 1 2008, 06:42 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

How was China picked to host the Olympic if their records were not good?
joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2008, 06:48 PM

363 posts

Just like how USA was given the right to host the Olympics, I suppose.

And like the USSR.

Superpowers. They can do what they want and what are you going to do about it?

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0526sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:04 PM