70 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Food Best place to have dim sum, Preferably KL/PJ (Non-Halal)

imperialrealcs
post Apr 19 2008, 02:24 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(stevenlys @ Apr 15 2008, 12:21 PM)
Sri Petaling, Buffet style DIM SUM eat all you can tongue.gif
ah, the quality sucks!

QUOTE(wyxyz @ Apr 15 2008, 01:21 PM)
wa. sure not...how much per person.
i can really eat till the shop bangkrupt weh. lol
thanx for the info. would appreciate if u provide the location, name of shop etc smile.gif
about rm16.90 per pax
rm2 for chinese tea per pax
location is opposite THE STORE Seri Petaling.. name is Restaurant Janbo

QUOTE(vkeong @ Apr 15 2008, 02:32 PM)
sure not.. if the food sucks you also eat until it bankrupts ar tongue.gif

neway I also want to find this buffet dim sum.. went to Sri Petaling before in midnight.. round here n there for a few hours also cannot find it doh.gif doh.gif
apparently, they stuff their dimsum with loads of chicken or pork meat, making the dim sum harder/chewy..
since u know phang key, im quite sure u came across this Restaurant Janbo few lots after public bank.. same direction as phang key

QUOTE(vkeong @ Apr 16 2008, 02:33 PM)
OK for good dim sum in Sri Petaling I'd suggest Phang Key

Read about Kam Hin in Jalan Kuchai Lama and I have to say the reviews aren't that great.. too crowded too
now phang key quality are degrading though.. avid supporter -1
now prefer dim sum world or clan near NetStudio cybercafe there brows.gif
SUSsharkteef
post Apr 19 2008, 02:50 AM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Apr 18 2008, 12:17 PM)
There's one at sungai besi. Not sure where though. Its located at those old shop lots. Opposite got 1 volkswagon showroom. the road leading to jalan tun  razak. Quite good there.
chan sow lin ?
jalan satu ? jalan dua ? jalan tiga ? sg besi everywhere also old shop lots .
jcvstlys
post Apr 19 2008, 10:17 AM

1,655 posts

Don know la bro. Not sure since am new to KL. My aunt brought me there.Gave my best description already. Opposite got 1 volksvagon showroom. Beside is a shop seliing CCTV.
SUSsharkteef
post Apr 19 2008, 02:06 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Apr 19 2008, 10:17 AM)
Don know la bro. Not sure since am new to KL. My aunt brought me there.Gave my best description already. Opposite got 1 volksvagon showroom. Beside is a shop seliing CCTV.
okok, i go hunting. whats their operation hours and pricing like ?
acid_head
post Apr 19 2008, 02:55 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(wyxyz @ Apr 13 2008, 07:09 PM)
heard of the sri petaling one....wondering wheres the exact location
pasar malam there?
there's few shops at there. But i the shop i like the most is juz right opposite the fishing pool
and sorry i forgot to shop name..shud not hard to find if u ask ard ppl there

Added on April 19, 2008, 2:59 pmanyone knows the exact location of famous dim sum shop in jln ipoh? heard from thousand years ago but still hvnt try yet

This post has been edited by acid_head: Apr 19 2008, 02:59 PM
imperialrealcs
post Apr 19 2008, 07:18 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(acid_head @ Apr 19 2008, 02:55 PM)
there's few shops at there. But i the shop i like the most is juz right opposite the fishing pool
and sorry i forgot to shop name..shud not hard to find if u ask ard ppl there

Added on April 19, 2008, 2:59 pmanyone knows the exact location of famous dim sum shop in jln ipoh? heard from thousand years ago but still hvnt try yet
if jeng jeng opposite fishing pond, then it is restaurant clan
btw, the jalan ipoh midnight dim sum is not worth the food and price and hassle lol
SUSvkeong
post Apr 19 2008, 11:02 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

last night I went to Bandar Menjalara, there's a dim sum restaurant called Ful Lai, steamed dim sum is RM3.00 per basket

Portion is big, taste is not bad.. open from 6.30AM to 2AM.. only break 4.5 hours.. it's near the Shell/Mobil station
stimix
post Apr 26 2008, 04:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

OK visited Yan Yan this afternoon....And I have posted my review here:
http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...?p=82185#p82185

And to summarise..go for it!! Price is infact cheaper than those in Seri Petaling & Puchoing!! sumore..air-con! thumbup.gif ...Abit quiet propbably ppl tot it is a luxury seafood restaurant rather than Dim Sum... blush.gif The fried carrot cake & porridge is nice...Siew mai & others almost similar to those in Seri Petaling & the best in Puchong (Yuen Garden/ Taiji)...The serving portion is suprisingly big/huge! however the pau skin & the HK chee Cheoing fun is not as soft as those I tasted b4...(Abit thick & not so soft)

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Apr 18 2008, 01:24 AM)
have fun. and gimme your feedbacks in here so i can go tell the boss also.
if not nice i go sumbat him.
SUSvkeong
post Apr 30 2008, 12:00 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

sharkteef bro, how to go to Yan Yan the nearest and easiest way from Seri Kembangan/Cyberjaya?
SUSsharkteef
post Apr 30 2008, 12:29 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 26 2008, 04:57 PM)
OK visited Yan Yan this afternoon....And I have posted my review here:
http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...?p=82185#p82185

And to summarise..go for it!! Price is infact cheaper than those in Seri Petaling & Puchoing!! sumore..air-con!  thumbup.gif ...Abit quiet propbably ppl tot it is a luxury seafood restaurant rather than Dim Sum... blush.gif The fried carrot cake & porridge is nice...Siew mai & others almost similar to those in Seri Petaling & the best in Puchong (Yuen Garden/ Taiji)...The serving portion is suprisingly big/huge! however the pau skin & the HK chee Cheoing fun is not as soft as those I tasted b4...(Abit thick & not so soft)
hehhe glad u enjoyed. read more below for my recomendations.

QUOTE(vkeong @ Apr 30 2008, 12:00 PM)
sharkteef bro, how to go to Yan Yan the nearest and easiest way from Seri Kembangan/Cyberjaya?
seri kembangan ka ..... hmmm...... sg besi highway , exit mid valley or kuchai lama, cut out to OKR. its after pearl point so both those exits are closer to the restaurant.

And to those that enjoy not only dim sum.... here are more tips for you

Since they open 24/7, and the cooks alternate between each other.
Lunchtime - Order the patin "Ching ching" (steamed with soy sauce). It's not only the soy sauce, but spices and herbs have been added to it. "tangkwei & kei chi" are part of the transformation for the soy sauce base apart from ginger slices. Only applicable to the patin fish. NOT applicable to the other fishes.

Dinnertime - Order the "cheong kuat" (pork rib) its 1 single pork rib, roughly 7 inches in length with plenty of meat and fats. (sorta like the char siew 3 layers "sam chang yuk")
Its marinated and then they "mun" for bout 10 minutes until the meat becomes really soft and stuffed with some mushroom tasting sauce. There's something authentic bout the taste i cant quite figure it out. RM 25 for that dish. When ordering, please be patient as it will take a longgggg time to cook it.
I also recommend the "Kailan". It is different from the 100000's of restaurants i;ve tried. This kailan contains NO OIL, NO GARLIC, NO Oyster Sauce. It's soaked in salt water temporarily for some flavor, then the leaves are fried, leaving the stem in its natural condition after boiled. So u get both a crunchy feeling, and a soft juicy stem. superb and healthy.
There are too many dishes to name, but i overall give this place my 2 thumbs up. price wise, alot cheaper than KL and most of PJ.

Suppertime - 10pm - 6am
Dim sum is available, and just like stimix has already tried. Bak kut teh is also available, and its comparable with the one in old town PJ. (only price wise cannot compare, old town cheaper)
"Lou Chee Yuk" RM 15 per person. Definitely MUST TRY ! ask for the less fatty ones. eat with their fried bread or with rice. "Sang Kuat" also must try. For this, u need to call the owner at least 2 hours before. It takes roughly 1 hour + to prepare this dish. RM 25 per person. There is no damn way u get "sang kuat" like that. Absolutely fantastic. I've went for the past 2 weeks eating "sang kuat"

Any other questions feel free to ask me. I've tried alot but not everything. Like i said, price wise, they are competitive. There are definitely cheaper places around with same or better quality, but this is within the travelling vincinity.
Dont compare with prices from sungkai or sg buloh or batu 9 bidor.

have a good time there. and when u want u can sing karaoke upstairs at Nite City. lolz. and DO NOT BUY cigarettes from Yan Yan. its RM10 per pack and only the niteclub carries it. Bring your own smokes.

The nme of the boss is Mr Fong. Always ask for "Fong Siang". His wife has a restaurant in paramount garden. also good food but alot pricier due to rental charges.
SUSvkeong
post Apr 30 2008, 12:36 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Apr 30 2008, 12:29 PM)
hehhe glad u enjoyed. read more below for my recomendations.
seri kembangan ka ..... hmmm...... sg besi highway , exit mid valley or kuchai lama, cut out to OKR. its after pearl point so both those exits are closer to the restaurant.
hmm midvalley.. ok. thanks, wait for my FR (feast report) haha!
gchowyh
post May 3 2008, 11:19 PM

860 posts

Yo Sharkteef!

Thank you for your kind recommendation!

I actually tried Restoran Yan Yan today & is absolutely delicious! It has 4 shoplots & is facing the T-junction turn off to Taman Desa along old klang road.

I would say is value for money for an aircon restaurant, but comparing it to places like Loong Foong in SS2 or Hong Kee in Damansara Jaya, it is still more expensive.

Another place I would recommend great dim sum is at Ah Yat Dim Sum at section 13, they usually have 50% discount for dimsum during lunch time from Monday to Saturdays. You may check out the review at my blog http://gblog.gpros.net/?p=4

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Apr 2 2008, 12:42 PM)
yan yan old klang road is 24/7.
This post has been edited by gchowyh: May 4 2008, 02:12 PM
gchowyh
post May 4 2008, 02:13 PM

860 posts

Oh yes, before I forget, I also reviewed the place already! Mostly good comments...
http://gblog.gpros.net/?p=169
SUSsharkteef
post May 4 2008, 04:52 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ May 4 2008, 02:13 PM)
Oh yes, before I forget, I also reviewed the place already! Mostly good comments...
http://gblog.gpros.net/?p=169
"The loh mai kai was also abit different as it was lighter in colour yet still gluey though abit lacking in taste while the pau’s were equally fragrant & yummy! "

lolz, i warned u all about the loh mai kai. told u all not to order liao unless u're like super the healthy. hahahaha.
delicious - so so only, it is priced averagely. i only go there due to the fact their operating hours are insane. they practically have the kitchen open till 3am (for your tai chow stuffs) and BKT and dim sum is 24/7.

the ahyat is the jap restaurant/unique seafood there right ?

guys n gals, if its chinese food u seek, i can recommend u hell lotta places. authentic dishes, original dishes u name it i got it.
problem is i dont blog. and i dont have friendster or kawanster or hi5 or multiuply or facebook. i dont do those.
i can tell u where to eat claypot guinea pigs in m'sia, i can tell u where to get fried parrot, ermmm dog meat cat meat goose web crab roe porridge blah blah blah. fish also damn alot blah blah seafood cheap blah blah. the list is endless when it comes to chinese food.

my wife does the western. i'm typical cinaman and eat only rice and dishes. my wife prefers the exorbitantly priced steaks and escargots and all that american british crap. she's also a fan of sashimi lolz. thats why our scope of food is extreme. sometimes difficult to choose a place to eat coz she wants this and i want that. lolz.

gchowyh
post May 4 2008, 06:04 PM

860 posts

Yep, you're right. Ah Yat is at the unique seafood / Japanese restaurant place

Cool then, you can recommend the best of both worlds as I eat all sorts of food.. but not sure if I eat those exoting though. I did not dare to try the bugs in Thailand but I've eaten deer meat & wild boar before
SUSsharkteef
post May 5 2008, 12:05 AM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

SS2 got no Loong Fong, only got Loong Seng. (its one of the dim sum shops in the same row) and if its Loong Seng, its more expensive and less tasty than yan yan. (i live 1 minute walking distance away from Loong Seng near Mcclient Florist for 20+ yrs)
Loong Fong got many, 1 in paramount, 1 near st ignatius church etc etc etc.

yes i can recommend u, exotic or not, family or not but only if its chinese. budget is one of the most important factors, food good doesnt necessarily means it has to be expensive. i try to avoid those that serve u ridiculous food with exorbitant prices. i also avoid those serving good food but extreme prices as well.
yoongkeen
post May 8 2008, 10:49 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Apr 19 2008, 11:02 PM)
last night I went to Bandar Menjalara, there's a dim sum restaurant called Ful Lai, steamed dim sum is RM3.00 per basket

Portion is big, taste is not bad.. open from 6.30AM to 2AM.. only break 4.5 hours.. it's near the Shell/Mobil station
i just ate at there last week morning with my family ..
terrible..no place to sit, need to stand and wait,ppl coming and coming..
food taste quite nice.but i think a bit expensive RM 3 per basket lo.
what is the price per basket for dim sum in other area? RM3 also or cheaper?
SUSvkeong
post May 9 2008, 11:20 AM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(yoongkeen @ May 8 2008, 10:49 PM)
i just ate at there last week morning with my family ..
terrible..no place to sit, need to stand and wait,ppl coming and coming..
food taste quite nice.but i think a bit expensive RM 3 per basket lo.
what is the price per basket for dim sum in other area? RM3 also or cheaper?
other area if not mistaken is about RM2.60

now i am wanting to try Janbo flex.gif

Yan Yan.. haih.. still cannot find kaki to go yawn.gif
Felice821
post Jun 23 2008, 09:07 PM

975 posts

I went to Yan Yan restaurant yesterday after reading this thread. Can't denied that the Dim Sum is pretty cheap compare to Jalan Ipoh.

We do ordered the "Sang Kuat" as forumers recommend stated it is nice. But ended up, is quite expensive. For the small "Sang Kuat" it cost RM45.
pangning
post Jun 23 2008, 11:35 PM

32 posts

cant find where yan-yan is.
if i come from pj old town is it after pearl point? or b4?

btw, any nice foods beside that near old klang, old town, ss2 and damansara?
(basically, asking for half of petaling city already,lol)

This post has been edited by pangning: Jun 23 2008, 11:41 PM

70 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:30 AM