Maxis Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread #2, 3G/3.5G Broadband

karheng
post Feb 28 2010, 04:24 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(chunf @ Feb 28 2010, 04:01 PM)
then all package can get the speed to 3mbps arr?
again, maxis website said:
Speed is on best effort basis, up to 7.2Mbps. Speed depends on factors such as modem capability, location, distance from communications tower and number of simultaneous users.

why not try with hotlink prepaid first at your place, then only apply.
Sometime i can get 1mpbs, sometimes can get 2mpbs
chunf
post Feb 28 2010, 04:54 PM

148 posts

it depend on the coverage rite?
if so, the maxis coverage in my place is very weak, is that mean that if i apply bb, it will very slow?
AjkR06
post Feb 28 2010, 07:13 PM

that's me
1,561 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Feb 28 2010, 09:43 AM)
no, that 1 you are saying is different with mine.
Mine is Home Value, ZTE MF600 ( big modem, not USB modem ). RM118 upfront, free for 1st 2 months.
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband...s_homevalue.asp

Yours is Mobile value, come with E220 USB modem, free 1 month.
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband...mobilevalue.asp

I got my own modem. So no need to get USB modem any more.

Actually base on calculation, you will RM68 for 2nd month onward, untill forever.
But mine paying RM48 for 3rd month onwards.
Actually you should buy modem outside which is only cost RM160-RM200 Huawei latest model modem.
If long term, i still pay less than your package now.
eg.
Home value - 1 year
RM118 upfront
RM48 x 10
Buy own modem - RM180
TOTAL : RM778

mobile value - 1 year
RM188 upfront
RM68 x 11
TOTAL : RM936
after 1 year, you will pay more and more than me.

wow, see the different, you should calculate first before you subscribe. Anyway not every dealer running this promotion ( Home  Value )
I went to Tmn Connaught, sales person not around, service counter not able to do for me, then go to OUG plaza, lucky they got last 1.
I subscribe my Maxis broadband at Maxis Service Center in Taiping. They said I only need to pay monthly fees of RM48. Not RM68. And free for 2 months. I also already called Maxis broadband Customer Service, and they also said the same things, my package is free for 2 months and monthly charges just RM48 starting from month 3 onwards. No contract with maxis and I can stop my services anytime that I want. I will test this for 1 month, after one month, if their service did not satisfied me, I will discontinued maxis bb.., but until now.., so far so good... notworthy.gif The modem also unlocked one. Can use with other sim.
fx_53_xt
post Feb 28 2010, 08:10 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Feb 28 2010, 07:13 PM)
I subscribe my Maxis broadband at Maxis Service Center in Taiping. They said I only need to pay monthly fees of RM48. Not RM68. And free for 2 months. I also already called Maxis broadband Customer Service, and they also said the same things, my package is free for 2 months and monthly charges just RM48 starting from month 3 onwards. No contract with maxis and I can stop my services anytime that I want. I will test this for 1 month, after one month, if their service did not satisfied me, I will discontinued maxis bb.., but until now.., so far so good... notworthy.gif The modem also unlocked one. Can use with other sim.
when did u subscribed?
that RM48 monthly, free first 2 months promotion ended on 31 Dec
AjkR06
post Feb 28 2010, 08:51 PM

that's me
1,561 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Feb 28 2010, 08:10 PM)
when did u subscribed?
that RM48 monthly, free first 2 months promotion ended on 31 Dec
I subscribed yesterday at maxis centre. They said the promotion still available...
Maxis CS also said the same things... Free for 2 months...
but I didn't use my broadband simcard now... only use Hotlink simcard to save bandwith... biggrin.gif

nazman
post Feb 28 2010, 10:17 PM

1,200 posts

just want to share my speedtest..

AjkR06
post Feb 28 2010, 10:34 PM

that's me
1,561 posts

QUOTE(nazman @ Feb 28 2010, 10:17 PM)
just want to share my speedtest..

ohmy.gif sweat.gif
14mbps!!
nazman
post Feb 28 2010, 10:43 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Feb 28 2010, 08:04 PM)
ohmy.gif  sweat.gif
14mbps!!
yup..7.2mbps x2..hahaha..im using 6gb package with pc fair promo..
that speedtest result is when i was at my uni at t'gganu and im at 4th floor..
chunf
post Feb 28 2010, 10:45 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(nazman @ Feb 28 2010, 10:43 PM)
ur speed everyday also so high arr? lol... sweat.gif
nazman
post Feb 28 2010, 10:48 PM

1,200 posts

yup...wcdma..full bar..every day..
when i balik kampung at kuantan lg power..
last 3 month i donlod almost 30gb of movie in a week..
but with this limit F**** policy...no more..
AjkR06
post Feb 28 2010, 10:56 PM

that's me
1,561 posts

QUOTE(nazman @ Feb 28 2010, 10:48 PM)
yup...wcdma..full bar..every day..
when i balik kampung at kuantan lg power..
last 3 month i donlod almost 30gb of movie in a week..
but with this limit F**** policy...no more..
WCDMA if i'm not mistaken, only 3G..
which uni u came from? UMT?
How much u paid for monthly charges?
6GB seems so big... mine was only 2GB

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Feb 28 2010, 10:57 PM
nazman
post Mar 1 2010, 12:29 AM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Feb 28 2010, 08:26 PM)
WCDMA if i'm not mistaken, only 3G..
which uni u came from? UMT?
How much u paid for monthly charges?
6GB seems so big... mine was only 2GB
from UDM only 2-3 km far from UMT..
6gb..rm98..with pc fair promo rebate rm20..for a year..

fx_53_xt
post Mar 1 2010, 01:43 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(nazman @ Feb 28 2010, 10:43 PM)
what modem are you using?
nazman
post Mar 1 2010, 08:32 AM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Feb 28 2010, 11:13 PM)
what modem are you using?
huawei e1762
karheng
post Mar 2 2010, 10:43 AM

934 posts

i can"t believe my eye, it's true the upload speed can go that fast? btw i'm using HSDPA/HSUPA modem. Upload speed can up to 2Mbps.
Any other user got this speed?

fx_53_xt
post Mar 2 2010, 11:41 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(nazman @ Mar 1 2010, 08:32 AM)
huawei e1762
how did a HSPA modem burst to over the theoretical limit of 7.2mbps?
game333
post Mar 2 2010, 11:59 AM

388 posts

upgrading the firmware. or something
I heard this from somewhere, just not sure about upgrading what.

Added on March 2, 2010, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(chunf @ Feb 28 2010, 04:01 PM)
then all package can get the speed to 3mbps arr?
Free package biggrin.gif
No la, initially I purchase da RM 78 for 3 GB one, then maxis change condition ma, totally blocked after the limit ma, later they free me lor.

Best speed from speedtest.net is 6.2 mbps (or around that), megaupload somewhere around 700 kb/s (or above), got picture to proof, xD

Anyway, lately dunno what happened to maxis, I still can surf after the limit, now I exceed the limit by 9GB liao.

Added on March 2, 2010, 12:21 pm
QUOTE(karheng @ Mar 2 2010, 10:43 AM)
i can"t believe my eye, it's true the upload speed can go that fast? btw i'm using HSDPA/HSUPA modem. Upload speed can up to 2Mbps.
Any other user got this speed?

Don't getso excited la my friend.
The first month for me also the same la, uploading videos to youtube, 100 MB around 20 mins then finish liao.
But now ah, around 22kb/s, hey man I NEED TO FTP UPLOAD MY BIG FILE ONE LEH. ==
And cause no other prepaid telco provide a good upload speed for internet user, I will just wait for the long long upload, takes (around 36 hours zzz)

This post has been edited by game333: Mar 2 2010, 12:21 PM
mitodna
post Mar 2 2010, 01:06 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(game333 @ Mar 2 2010, 11:59 AM)
upgrading the firmware. or something
I heard this from somewhere, just not sure about upgrading what.

Added on March 2, 2010, 12:16 pm
Free package biggrin.gif
No la, initially I purchase da RM 78 for 3 GB one, then maxis change condition ma, totally blocked after the limit ma, later they free me lor.

Best speed from speedtest.net is 6.2 mbps (or around that), megaupload somewhere around 700 kb/s (or above), got picture to proof, xD

Anyway, lately dunno what happened to maxis, I still can surf after the limit, now I exceed the limit by 9GB liao.

Added on March 2, 2010, 12:21 pm
Don't getso excited la my friend.
The first month for me also the same la, uploading videos to youtube, 100 MB around 20 mins then finish liao.
But now ah, around 22kb/s, hey man I NEED TO FTP UPLOAD MY BIG FILE ONE LEH. ==
And cause no other prepaid telco provide a good upload speed for internet user, I will just wait for the long long upload, takes (around 36 hours zzz)
Oh, you complaint? How many month they free you?

nazman
post Mar 2 2010, 01:37 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Mar 2 2010, 09:11 AM)
how did a HSPA modem burst to over the theoretical limit of 7.2mbps?
i do the speedtest right away after i got the modem..i dont update anything..at first it really shock me..

game333
post Mar 2 2010, 02:20 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Mar 2 2010, 01:06 PM)
Oh, you complaint? How many month they free you?
Oh oh, no I didn't complaint that much actually.
They free me until my contract is off. Heheheh rclxms.gif

208 Pages « < 141 142 143 144 145 > » Top

0.0302sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:02 PM