QUOTE(LittleCow @ Apr 1 2008, 10:28 PM)
2nd to this... and its 1.9k.. add 600 can get good PDASamsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread
Samsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread
Jun 27 2008, 10:38 AM
901 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Promised Land |
Jun 27 2008, 12:30 PM
1,176 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
this unit is good and fast but I feel the screen a little not sensitive for my liking. I think I'll wait for the i900 and see. Haha... that's a beaut!
Jun 27 2008, 01:40 PM
40 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
Indeed, it's not as sensitive to the touch of my finger. I hate stylus and the small screen does not help my grubby fingers
Jun 28 2008, 05:26 PM
190 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang, Malaysia |
i am thinking to get one i780, does anyone know where i can get the best deal in Penang?
Jun 29 2008, 02:03 AM
13 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 27 2008, 08:56 AM) roll.. based on your statement, it seems that GPS functionality in i780 is not good? I'm not saying that it's not good..I'm planning to buy this because it got GPS. Will it be a good buy? Heard some say GPS start took them like 5 - 10 minutes before they can use it.. need to wait that long meh??? but on my old ipaq, i used garmin que with holux m1200 bluetooth gps receiver.. it only takes about a minute or two to lock on to the satellites. on the i780 it really took about 5-10 minutes sometimes to get signal.. but not all the time.. once its connected, no issues whatsoever.. built in gps was one of my main reason getting the phone. although I'm not 100% satisfied with the gps performance, it was still a good buy to me.. I need to upgrade my ipaq with something that has qwerty keyboard, 3G, built in gps and I got it. the issues with the square screen are actually the thrill of owning the device.. I have managed to get it working the way I wanted it, with all the softwares I need, just like my trusty old ipaq.. I'm sure you'll have a good time with it. but its still up to you to decide.. cheers! |
Jun 29 2008, 05:56 PM
640 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: X-Mansion, Penang |
Jun 30 2008, 10:40 AM
1,664 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(roll @ Jun 29 2008, 02:03 AM) I'm not saying that it's not good.. Hmm... ok. thanks Roll. With the price tag that i780 carries, i guess i can't complain much to have the all in one gadget. but on my old ipaq, i used garmin que with holux m1200 bluetooth gps receiver.. it only takes about a minute or two to lock on to the satellites. on the i780 it really took about 5-10 minutes sometimes to get signal.. but not all the time.. once its connected, no issues whatsoever.. built in gps was one of my main reason getting the phone. although I'm not 100% satisfied with the gps performance, it was still a good buy to me.. I need to upgrade my ipaq with something that has qwerty keyboard, 3G, built in gps and I got it. the issues with the square screen are actually the thrill of owning the device.. I have managed to get it working the way I wanted it, with all the softwares I need, just like my trusty old ipaq.. I'm sure you'll have a good time with it. but its still up to you to decide.. cheers! |
Jul 2 2008, 01:01 PM
13 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
i hope you dont have to complaint anything..
update us if you decided to buy it. wanna see if anything different from mine or not.. heheh This post has been edited by roll: Jul 2 2008, 01:02 PM |
Jul 2 2008, 09:47 PM
1,282 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Receive my unit today from samsung.... I think mine got no gps software... where to get garmin xt? so far able to set my house wifi... and setup my email.... still playing.... |
Jul 3 2008, 09:14 AM
5 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Hi..
I am using my i780 for 2 month already.. I love it because of its GPS built in..even I dont know the roads in KL but I can go everywhere without lost my way in KL..hehe but I am having a problem with my samsung i780, sometimes there is a pop-up window asking me "do you want permanently delete your stoage card to make your message readable?". this is happen during my battery is low. is anyone have an idea this problem? I went to PDA exert, they said the softwares are corrupted, so they formatted and install me the new one. for the firs time I was facing this problem, I think because of my battery was low..statement " notification charge your battery to avoid loss any data" is it one of the reason for the software was corrupted? |
Jul 3 2008, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(apies_027 @ Jul 3 2008, 09:14 AM) Hi.. how do you activate the gps.... does your card has a copy of navphone.cab? mine doesn't have....I am using my i780 for 2 month already.. I love it because of its GPS built in..even I dont know the roads in KL but I can go everywhere without lost my way in KL..hehe but I am having a problem with my samsung i780, sometimes there is a pop-up window asking me "do you want permanently delete your stoage card to make your message readable?". this is happen during my battery is low. is anyone have an idea this problem? I went to PDA exert, they said the softwares are corrupted, so they formatted and install me the new one. for the firs time I was facing this problem, I think because of my battery was low..statement " notification charge your battery to avoid loss any data" is it one of the reason for the software was corrupted? |
Jul 3 2008, 11:22 AM
i guess for gps you can just go to any pda store and get them install it for you for a small fee.
Unless you are an advanced user, go ahead and find garmin xt on the net - or better more, purchase it! i tot when you buy it came bundled with mapking already? correct me if i'm wrong - my bro bought and he said got mapking installed already |
Jul 3 2008, 11:38 AM
5 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
To Masculine,
yeah..neato4u is true..u can go to any pda store and ask for them to install for you..i prefer u go to PDA Expert shop at Low yatt, the booth is in front of Digi Handphone Booth at 1st level..they will show you their catalog.. GPS can be used by diff software application-mapking / garmin- and I prefer to use garmin bcoz I think it is more friendly for user..easy to use. when they install GPS software for u(mapking/garmin) u need to ask them to install together the map. u can choose what map location u wanted.(they will ask u what map u want before u ask them..he=P) normally they will install Malaysia map, and hong kong. but if u are willing to go to others country, England or Singapore for example, u can ask them to put England's road map.easy!! dont need to install every map in the world bcoz it will waste your memory card. |
Jul 3 2008, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 3 2008, 11:22 AM) i guess for gps you can just go to any pda store and get them install it for you for a small fee. Mine was given for a small fee. Since I'm working for samsung, I'm entitled for a phone every 2 years for a small fee... Unless you are an advanced user, go ahead and find garmin xt on the net - or better more, purchase it! i tot when you buy it came bundled with mapking already? correct me if i'm wrong - my bro bought and he said got mapking installed already QUOTE(apies_027 @ Jul 3 2008, 11:38 AM) To Masculine, I'll do that this weekend.... frustrated lah... I really interested with gps... and one of the main reason getting this phone is for gps... but still cannot try gps lah... yeah..neato4u is true..u can go to any pda store and ask for them to install for you..i prefer u go to PDA Expert shop at Low yatt, the booth is in front of Digi Handphone Booth at 1st level..they will show you their catalog.. GPS can be used by diff software application-mapking / garmin- and I prefer to use garmin bcoz I think it is more friendly for user..easy to use. when they install GPS software for u(mapking/garmin) u need to ask them to install together the map. u can choose what map location u wanted.(they will ask u what map u want before u ask them..he=P) normally they will install Malaysia map, and hong kong. but if u are willing to go to others country, England or Singapore for example, u can ask them to put England's road map.easy!! dont need to install every map in the world bcoz it will waste your memory card. One more how to upgrade the rom version hah??? |
Jul 3 2008, 01:57 PM
1,982 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE One more how to upgrade the rom version hah??? the latest firmware (version i780DXHE1) is now available u can get it at any Samsung Customer Service - Call Toll-Free: 1800-88-9999 or at the Summit |
Jul 3 2008, 02:03 PM
489 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KL |
i HATE the keypads.... unless there're slider type like touch dual or O2 stealth.
Jul 4 2008, 08:55 AM
I installed garmin trial and upload malsing map.... work flawlessly...
Added on July 4, 2008, 9:12 amAnybody knows how to disable 3G network??? I do not subscribe one but my phone keep trying to connect whenever the 3G network available... This post has been edited by Masculine: Jul 4 2008, 09:12 AM |
Jul 4 2008, 08:08 PM
install nogprs / nodata?
Jul 4 2008, 08:41 PM
3,251 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kuala Rompin, Pahang |
QUOTE(Masculine @ Jul 4 2008, 08:55 AM) I installed garmin trial and upload malsing map.... work flawlessly... What I do was created fake access point at the connection setting. And put it as my default access point.Added on July 4, 2008, 9:12 amAnybody knows how to disable 3G network??? I do not subscribe one but my phone keep trying to connect whenever the 3G network available... |
Jul 4 2008, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Jul 4 2008, 08:41 PM) What I do was created fake access point at the connection setting. And put it as my default access point. I'm not really good in this... do you mind guiding me step by step... Added on July 4, 2008, 9:11 pmCan somebody tell me where to download realvga? TQ This post has been edited by Masculine: Jul 4 2008, 09:11 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0325sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:08 AM |