Samsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread

roll
post Jun 25 2008, 11:05 AM

13 posts

hi guys!

I never posted anything here before, but now decided to join the discussion..

I bought the i780 on 12th June.. and extremely happy with it. I got it at RM1788 (it was 1899 before) from The Brilliant PDA Expert in Lowyat.
With the phone I got:
2 batteries
1 travel charger with battery case
1 handsfree
1 USB cable
1 stylus (never used it!)
1 micro sd 4gb
1 screen protector (actually 2 coz that guy ruined the first one)

they offered me to install softwares FOC, but I declined since I like the thrill of customising my phone myself. I had an iPaq before and I already have all the softwares I needed. I spent 1 week to try out some softwares for compatibility with the screen. so far I got the setup that I liked and it was similar to my old iPaq. some games are not compatible but its not that important. no problems migrating my calendar entries and contacts from the iPaq to the i780. gps also works fine.

the firmware is DXHD1 which I think is quite current in Malaysia, I will only update if samsung came out with WM6.1 for i780. I was too excited with the phone I forgot to try the hard reset button combo. now too lazy already.

only problem so far is fring always hang. not sure why, but i use it with wifi. anyone experience the same..?
roll
post Jun 25 2008, 10:40 PM

13 posts

neato4u,

i'm using realvga 96dpi.. great applicaton. if it wasn't for realvga, maybe i wont buy this phone.. i was afraid that spb pocket plus is not compatible.. but it turn out ok..

eddiey_5,

my adobe reader couldn't even load. later i will try to reinstall see what happen..
i don't even use the stylus on my ipaq.. i use happy tapping keyboard with iphone skin for typing.
now that i780 has qwerty, and the screen is flushed some more.. everything can be done without the stylus.. and its faster that way too..
roll
post Jun 26 2008, 03:49 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 26 2008, 08:17 AM)
roll, have you tried PointUI on your i780?

Seen in youtube that it runs well on it.

Can't you guys try use Document to go and load adobe pdf files from there instead?
i did try pointui.. but the orientation is wrong.. the interface is correct, but the control is rotated 90 degrees.. tried install the patch by developer but still the same.. maybe its because of realvga.. coz some people in ppcsg said that it works fine..

QUOTE(weilik @ Jun 26 2008, 12:30 PM)
Does anyone know how to setup Google Maps with GPS enabled? I can't seem to be able to seek for the GPS satellites. Therefore, I am stucked with USA maps. Any idea anyone?

I am using Maxis 3G service, btw.

Gracias...
u cant get satellite signal even outside? inside the car also cannot get signal sometimes..

i dont remember doing any setting for google maps. once i open google maps, i tap on menu then tap use gps.. then it will start seeking for gps satellites..
but it says my location is at nilai whereas i am in kl.. tongue.gif somehow the setting not yet correct.. my garmin mobile xt works fine tho..

i will try to do setting on my phone first.. i'm sure somebody here alredy got the right setting..
roll
post Jun 29 2008, 02:03 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 27 2008, 08:56 AM)
roll.. based on your statement, it seems that GPS functionality in i780 is not good?

I'm planning to buy this because it got GPS. Will it be a good buy?

Heard some say GPS start took them like 5 - 10 minutes before they can use it.. need to wait that long meh??? sweat.gif
I'm not saying that it's not good..

but on my old ipaq, i used garmin que with holux m1200 bluetooth gps receiver.. it only takes about a minute or two to lock on to the satellites. on the i780 it really took about 5-10 minutes sometimes to get signal.. but not all the time.. once its connected, no issues whatsoever..

built in gps was one of my main reason getting the phone. although I'm not 100% satisfied with the gps performance, it was still a good buy to me.. I need to upgrade my ipaq with something that has qwerty keyboard, 3G, built in gps and I got it. the issues with the square screen are actually the thrill of owning the device.. I have managed to get it working the way I wanted it, with all the softwares I need, just like my trusty old ipaq..

I'm sure you'll have a good time with it. but its still up to you to decide..

cheers!
roll
post Jul 2 2008, 01:01 PM

13 posts

i hope you dont have to complaint anything.. cool2.gif
update us if you decided to buy it. wanna see if anything different from mine or not.. heheh

This post has been edited by roll: Jul 2 2008, 01:02 PM
roll
post Jul 30 2008, 02:24 PM

13 posts

I used GPSGate on my old ipaq..
There are some issues with it. One of the most annoying is it changed my date to a past date everytime after using it. For my i780 I dont want to use GPSGate anymore so I cant install Mapking. Besides, Mapking does not display properly on my screen..

If you search around, I'm sure you'll find some alternatives.. brows.gif Or if you have budget, do like bro Masculine.. get Garmin Samsung Navigator from Garmin website.

0.0352sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:37 AM