Samsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread

neato4u
post Jun 12 2008, 10:53 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

at mines ok or not to buy? (dunno if they sell it these oso).

What's the current price btw?
neato4u
post Jun 12 2008, 11:05 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

i think should have 4GB card and also wired headphones?
I read from other forum said that the unit comes with free screen protector. Correct ah?
neato4u
post Jun 12 2008, 02:02 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

hey pizi, up until now, any problems with the phone? any hangs or whatever?

what gps program do you use? got voice navigation to guide you when use gps or you need to look at the screen to see direction everytime?
neato4u
post Jun 12 2008, 10:53 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Thanks for the info pizi87.

i heard you can't do hard reset with the i780? True or not?

It yes, then this would be a nightmare for pda users installing programs.. nightmare as scared the phone will brick.
neato4u
post Jun 13 2008, 08:34 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

hard reset meaning like set default to factory settings. For example if you install a program and when you turn on your pda it goes into an endless loop that prevents you from accessing any functions.

Hard reset usually is a combination of keys you press which will default all settings back to factory default.

Like my treo 650, i need to press the reset button while holding down both power and up button simultaneously (i think.. long time hard reset aldy hehe).
neato4u
post Jun 13 2008, 07:50 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(pizi87 @ Jun 13 2008, 08:43 AM)
oh okay.. im not sure if i780 has one. there's a tiny reset button at the side but i dont think it's a hard reset one.
no thats softreset not hard
neato4u
post Jun 14 2008, 11:40 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

hey dgtel, i read the PPSCG forum but does the ROM available in Malaysia? Or is it just singapore?

And gosh.. the i780 thread there super active man.. Tons of info.

Does anyone know the current market price for this phone in Malaysia yet? Can anyone check out? Oh yeah and find out what freebies we get when buy one
neato4u
post Jun 16 2008, 08:35 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

anyone in Malaysia had updated their ROM yet? What version is the latest? I may head out and buy one this weekend wink.gif
neato4u
post Jun 16 2008, 01:31 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Hey Masculine, do tell me the ROM version both radio and PDA once you get it. And see if you can do hard reset using the combination keys as well + use MSN via wifi. If yes then i can safely say you have the latest ROM.

No use chasing new stuffs, you will never be #1 for long these days laugh.gif

Oh yeah, do take a pic and show us some local phone pics oso drool.gif
neato4u
post Jun 24 2008, 02:26 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

i asked my bro who went to lowyat recently, and he got this quote

RM1799
4GB Micro SD
2 battery

i think should come with Travel charger, earphone, and USB cable.
Screen protector not sure.

Why didn't they include the pda holder that sticks to car windscreen? Most GPS phone will include that in bundle. I think Samsung forgot to think about this lah..

Anyway, my bro bought one from PC Fair last time (around RM1600+)

The ROM version i think it's similar to the Singapore one.. the oldest ROM actually which does not have the hard reset keys combo.

And yeah one time he can't access his SMS. So he hard reset and all ok again.

He said GPS is very good, he used it in Indonesia too and works great.
neato4u
post Jun 25 2008, 08:27 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

hi roll, great to hear that.

Have you or anyone else here tried realvga? Heard it solves a lot of compatibility issues with the screen.
neato4u
post Jun 26 2008, 08:17 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

roll, have you tried PointUI on your i780?

Seen in youtube that it runs well on it.

Can't you guys try use Document to go and load adobe pdf files from there instead?
neato4u
post Jun 27 2008, 08:56 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

roll.. based on your statement, it seems that GPS functionality in i780 is not good?

I'm planning to buy this because it got GPS. Will it be a good buy?

Heard some say GPS start took them like 5 - 10 minutes before they can use it.. need to wait that long meh??? sweat.gif
neato4u
post Jun 30 2008, 10:40 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

QUOTE(roll @ Jun 29 2008, 02:03 AM)
I'm not saying that it's not good..

but on my old ipaq, i used garmin que with holux m1200 bluetooth gps receiver.. it only takes about a minute or two to lock on to the satellites. on the i780 it really took about 5-10 minutes sometimes to get signal.. but not all the time.. once its connected, no issues whatsoever..

built in gps was one of my main reason getting the phone. although I'm not 100% satisfied with the gps performance, it was still a good buy to me.. I need to upgrade my ipaq with something that has qwerty keyboard, 3G, built in gps and I got it. the issues with the square screen are actually the thrill of owning the device.. I have managed to get it working the way I wanted it, with all the softwares I need, just like my trusty old ipaq..

I'm sure you'll have a good time with it. but its still up to you to decide..

cheers!
Hmm... ok. thanks Roll. With the price tag that i780 carries, i guess i can't complain much to have the all in one gadget. sweat.gif
neato4u
post Jul 3 2008, 11:22 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

i guess for gps you can just go to any pda store and get them install it for you for a small fee.

Unless you are an advanced user, go ahead and find garmin xt on the net - or better more, purchase it! biggrin.gif

i tot when you buy it came bundled with mapking already? correct me if i'm wrong - my bro bought and he said got mapking installed already
neato4u
post Jul 4 2008, 08:08 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

install nogprs / nodata?
neato4u
post Jul 12 2008, 11:20 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

yep, which shop and what ROM version you got?
neato4u
post Jul 31 2008, 04:45 PM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

hk_trading, where you buy your phone?

0% installment use selected credit card or what?

And how much you pay per month actually?

Thanks notworthy.gif
neato4u
post Aug 5 2008, 11:44 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

Hi gacktleong and hk_trading. Thank you very much for the info.

Yea still no time to go out, been busy these days.. wat to do.. laugh.gif

-ahtiang- where can get the samsung theme? mind post some screenshots? biggrin.gif
neato4u
post Aug 8 2008, 11:03 AM

Cha La, Head Cha La!
1,664 posts

i tot i780 don't have focus feature? it's auto focus right?

0.0316sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:29 AM