Noob question about drum

pokgaizai
post Apr 2 2008, 07:27 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Apr 2 2008, 03:57 AM)
got it bro..
but wuts the different between Stagg SH n DH?

brass cymbals really that bad? haha...

i wanted to get the Paiste 201 pack...
any1 knows the price?
where to get it?

anyway..

pokgaizai: i reply ur msg at here instead of the drum thread, k?

ur mini drumset is different from the 1 u found in lelong... urs is much higher quality n detailed...

lelong 1 is jz cheap, ugly n bad quality 1.. i have 1..

u try to search on Ebay..
those really nice n good quality 1...
hehe...
SH- Single Hammered - A dark sounding series of cymbals in regular finish, available in medium regular weight only.
DH DUAL HAMMERED SERIES
A highly versatile cymbal series for the more demanding player. Stagg DH series undergo an extra complex hand-hammering method to create cymbals with well-balanced overtones.
Stagg further expanded the DH series of cymbals to offer the most complete range of sounds.
[Copied from JS Music website] whistling.gif

paiste...
bentley shud be hav?
in melaka , daniel music shop selling....
last time i almost bought the Paiste 201 pack also.... thumbup.gif
around RM700~800

the mini drumset lelong selling RM81.90 !! rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by pokgaizai: Apr 2 2008, 08:09 PM
kari_convention
post Apr 2 2008, 07:37 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Apr 2 2008, 11:42 AM)
sabian pro? b8 pro or sonix?
none of u mention above. its a discontinued model before B8 Pro and Pro Sonix come out. Its in between B8 and AA model.

its still pretty much soughted in Japan market because its cheap price and good rock sounding. I've already sold my Sabian Pro hats and ride recently because i want to upgrade all my cymbals to higher end Zildjian.

This post has been edited by kari_convention: Apr 2 2008, 07:39 PM
Party2DMax
post Apr 5 2008, 11:00 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

So how's it going with the drums?

You might be interested in this:
http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2008-04D...ale_RM1_800.htm
TSIpohBoY
post Apr 6 2008, 02:35 AM

722 posts

thx bro pokgaizai for the info...

im very interested in paiste 201 pack...
still dun hv time to drop by bentley n check them out...

yeah.. price is rm81.90 summore low quality...
u go search on ebay 1.. nicer...

Party2DMax: not really interested in 2nd hand drum bro... now im lookin for brand new Pearl Export wif a nice price... hehe.. but thx anyway...
albarb
post Apr 7 2008, 10:58 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Apr 6 2008, 02:35 AM)
thx bro pokgaizai for the info...

im very interested in paiste 201 pack...
still dun hv time to drop by bentley n check them out...

yeah.. price is rm81.90 summore low quality...
u go search on ebay 1.. nicer...

Party2DMax: not really interested in 2nd hand drum bro... now im lookin for brand new Pearl Export wif a nice price... hehe.. but thx anyway...
dude, im using paiste 201, for me its pretty decent than the 101...i recommend if u wanna buy these cymbal...for crash try looking for 16 inch and above.

coz the 14' crash, the steel sound its quite obvious, and one thing about the 201, its really thick and durable. just my personal opinion

like everyone said, the more the cymbal age the nicer the tone are...tips from a drum tutor(not me, its my friend), dont polish ur cymbal if it has that stick and hand print stain. if u like more of a soothing tone from the cymbal.

hope this help

This post has been edited by albarb: Apr 7 2008, 11:03 AM
saru88
post Apr 7 2008, 11:12 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(albarb @ Apr 7 2008, 10:58 AM)
dude, im using paiste 201, for me its pretty decent than the 101...i recommend if u wanna buy these cymbal...for crash try looking for 16 inch and above.

coz the 14' crash, the steel sound its quite obvious, and one thing about the 201, its really thick and durable. just my personal opinion

like everyone said, the more the cymbal age the nicer the tone are...tips from a drum tutor(not me, its my friend), dont polish ur cymbal if it has that stick and hand print stain. if u like more of a soothing tone from the cymbal.

hope this help
mind to tell where did u get paiste 201 n how much u got it?
i tried to ask bentley but not available in bentley... sad.gif
albarb
post Apr 8 2008, 12:25 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:12 PM)
mind to tell where did u get paiste 201 n how much u got it?
i tried to ask bentley but not available in bentley...  sad.gif
i bought it at bently last year...i think i heard someone said to me they already stop
making the 201 and 101 series...14' crash,16' crash, 20 ride, 14 hats.....total almost RM1000.
recently, i find bentley is getting worst and worst...especially on drum section. they did not update
their stock...they dont bring in the hot selling product. its getting frustrated.
but i still consider bentley drum product cheaper compare to others. the condition is u must buy more
than one item to get good discount.

the last time i bought export series...the price is the same as forum 2500. for the most friendly
sales person, js is the best.
saru88
post Apr 8 2008, 12:51 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(albarb @ Apr 8 2008, 12:25 AM)
i bought it at bently last year...i think i heard someone said to me they already stop
making the 201 and 101 series...14' crash,16' crash, 20 ride, 14 hats.....total almost RM1000.
recently, i find bentley is getting worst and worst...especially on drum section. they did not update
their stock...they dont bring in the hot selling product. its getting frustrated.
but i still consider bentley drum product cheaper compare to others. the condition is u must buy more
than one item to get good discount.

the last time i bought export series...the price is the same as forum 2500. for the most friendly
sales person, js is the best.
wow... for 201, 14' crash + 16' crash + 20' ride + 14' hats = RM1000 is kinda cheap...
cuz they quote me a price, for paiste 101 set, which means 16' crash, 20' ride and 14' hats, price is RM700...
really not worth for 101 as they are juz brass cymbals...
bentley is selling cheap? sure? but i heard alot of ppl said bentley sell those things quite expensive.. compare to TGS...

i only saw 101 in TGS but dun hav 201...

anyway, pearl export is selling 2750rm in TGS before discount... wut do u think i can get after discount?

what u think about Sabian B8 then?
compare with Paiste 201 then?
which 1 betta?

albarb
post Apr 8 2008, 10:08 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Apr 8 2008, 12:51 AM)
wow... for 201, 14' crash + 16' crash + 20' ride + 14' hats = RM1000 is kinda cheap...
cuz they quote me a price, for paiste 101 set, which means 16' crash, 20' ride and 14' hats, price is RM700...
really not worth for 101 as they are juz brass cymbals...
bentley is selling cheap? sure? but i heard alot of ppl said bentley sell those things quite expensive.. compare to TGS...

i only saw 101 in TGS but dun hav 201...

anyway, pearl export is selling 2750rm in TGS before discount... wut do u think i can get after discount?

what u think about Sabian B8 then?
compare with Paiste 201 then?
which 1 betta?
b8 and 201...ok, this is just my personal view, there's not much different between both of them,
sound wise maybe they have they own characteristic, b4 this i'm thinking of buying the b8, maybe i just wanna try something else, coz sabian is to overrated. thats why i bought the paiste.
but i still like sabian cymbal...just experimenting different brand.

dude, dont go for export...go for vision..much much much more better
export already discontinue...so its hard, when lets say u wanna upgrade
the kit. seriously dude, sound of vision is superb for mid range kit.

i tried the vision just by tapping it with my fingers..and the tone came out is really good.
this is just by tapping it with finger. the price is only 3500++...for me is pretty decent for
a mid range level kit.

but if tgs offer u the export less than 2400, grab it.

kari_convention
post Apr 8 2008, 10:21 AM

586 posts

is it the Vision in natural birch finish in Bentley? yeah man.. the drums look awesome. I wish i can play it but too bad Bentley doesnt allow people to try their drums. Bentley is actually waiting for their Pearl shipment and maybe Tama also come to our shore this end of April.. so that might explains why their drums section is not up to date. but for me, if you really want anything which not in the store, you can always order from them but of course you must put some deposit to it. Ive ordered alot of things from them which is not available in the store and they will call you as soon as your stuffs have arrived. So far, I think Bentley is the best shop to buy drums stuffs. (Js come second biggrin.gif )
Namqul
post Apr 8 2008, 02:53 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(kari_convention @ Apr 8 2008, 10:21 AM)
So far, I think Bentley is the best shop to buy drums stuffs. (Js come second biggrin.gif )
ahha. option wise yes because the shop is bigger n carries more stuff. but service wise i have to go with js. and they even let you try most of the thing on display there which to me is a very2 good. and there is always a warm welcome from the staff there. if js provide pearl stuff, i think you might change your mind. lol~
-Nintedo Wii-
post Apr 8 2008, 06:37 PM

723 posts

i like TGS... i go there every friday and saturday for guitar and drums class, theyre really friendly and always give good discounts.... i was looking at the pearl forum last time at bentley... the guy said he could give me a discount from RM2400 to RM2100! and imperialstar from RM2300 to 2000! but then i bought my drums 2nd hand though... they sell pearl, tama, stagg, zildjian, sabian, paiste, most stuff laa...

but alot of stuff that arent sold at most places are sold at js, i guess... cos JS is the only place i've ever seen that carries DW, PDP, Gibraltar, Axis and gretsch etc...

but i guess bentley has more choice... but my favourite is TGS still...
saru88
post Apr 8 2008, 08:02 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

QUOTE(albarb @ Apr 8 2008, 10:08 AM)
dude, dont go for export...go for vision..much much much more better
export already discontinue...so its hard, when lets say u wanna upgrade
the kit. seriously dude, sound of vision is superb for mid range kit.

i tried the vision just by tapping it with my fingers..and the tone came out is really good.
this is just by tapping it with finger. the price is only 3500++...for me is pretty decent for
a mid range level kit.
I can hardly see Vision in market...
but 3500 is already out of my budget bro...

Export for me this noob, is enuff i guess... cuz actually at 1st my budget is 3k for everything...
but then now i think i would go for betta cymbals such as Paiste 201 n Sabian B8...
so i bring up my budget to 3.5k...

if im getting Vision... i'm gonna start starving til july... lolx..

anyone can tell wut so bad about Export?
wut do u mean by hard to upgrade? can elaborate? hmm.gif
kari_convention
post Apr 8 2008, 08:48 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Apr 8 2008, 08:02 PM)
I can hardly see Vision in market...
but 3500 is already out of my budget bro...

Export for me this noob, is enuff i guess... cuz actually at 1st my budget is 3k for everything...
but then now i think i would go for betta cymbals such as Paiste 201 n Sabian B8...
so i bring up my budget to 3.5k...

if im getting Vision... i'm gonna start starving til july... lolx..

anyone can tell wut so bad about Export?
wut do u mean by hard  to upgrade? can elaborate? hmm.gif
there is no problem about Export.. its just that this series has been discontinued by Pearl and replaced by the new Vision which is made from 100% birch or maple wood.. Export only made out of Poplar shell and Phillipine Mahogany (earlier Export). what does he mean is for example you buy the basic 12", 13", 16" 22" configuration and if let say someday you want to try adding 10" tom to your set, you might have a problem to get the tom because Pearl already stop producing it. But i believe if you have the money, you can always check on eBay to search for one.

from my last visit to Bentley, there is one Pearl Export EX Black on Black 8", 10", 12", 13", 16" and 22" configuration lying on the store. you can always call them and ask for the price.

albarb
post Apr 8 2008, 11:56 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(kari_convention @ Apr 8 2008, 08:48 PM)
there is no problem about Export.. its just that this series has been discontinued by Pearl and replaced by the new Vision which is made from 100% birch or maple wood.. Export only made out of Poplar shell and Phillipine Mahogany (earlier Export). what does he mean is for example you buy the basic 12", 13", 16" 22" configuration and if let say someday you want to try adding 10" tom to your set, you might have a problem to get the tom because Pearl already stop producing it. But i believe if you have the money, you can always check on eBay to search for one.

from my last visit to Bentley, there is one Pearl Export EX Black on Black 8", 10", 12", 13", 16" and 22" configuration lying on the store. you can always call them and ask for the price.
yup...that's what im talking about...if u wanna add more toms...its quite hard to find, maybe if u found it, its hard to find the same color or something,but anything else no prob. this is only my personal view. but like i said, if the price for export is reasonable for u, dont wait any longer...just grab that sexy beast.

just for ur info, if u wanna buy zildjian cymbal, dont buy the zbt or zxt...buy the zht series. much more better. this is what bently sales person recommend, he said the sound of steel for zbt & zxt is quite obvious.
saru88
post Apr 9 2008, 12:39 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

ohh... I tot hardware problem at 1st for the Export...
well... if i were to add, i think i will add a 10" only...

and may i noe the ZHT series how much?
cuz my budget is 700-900 for cymbals...

datz y i was planning to get Sabian B8 or Paiste 201...
albarb
post Apr 9 2008, 10:12 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Apr 9 2008, 12:39 AM)
ohh... I tot hardware problem at 1st for the Export...
well... if i were to add, i think i will add a 10" only...

and may i noe the ZHT series how much?
cuz my budget is 700-900 for cymbals...

datz y i was planning to get Sabian B8 or Paiste 201...
for hardware,we can alway get replacement coz basically its all
the same basic thing, can even u gilbratar hardware
last time i check zht 1500+, for 1 set (1 crash,1 ride,pair of hat),
but still can get discount, b8 i think is around 1200 for a set.

i bought the paiste individualy..i dont know whether it came in
set or not. i think the paiste alpha series came in a set, but i dont
know the price and never test it before.

saru88
post Apr 10 2008, 01:06 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

B8 need around 1200rm?!
wow... i asked my fren, he said around 900rm..
i noe paiste 101 is 700rm... the price is quoted from bentley..
but they currently out of stock for paiste 201...
for sabian b8, im not sure where can i get the best deal...

as i said, my budget for cymbals is around 700-900rm...
budget so tight...

if im getting Peace or GC drums... cymbals i buy zildjian titanium oso no prob.. lolx...
kari_convention
post Apr 10 2008, 01:15 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Apr 10 2008, 01:06 AM)
B8 need around 1200rm?!

budget so tight...

if im getting Peace or GC drums... cymbals i buy zildjian titanium oso no prob.. lolx...
Zildjian titanium or the ZXT sounds awful. i'd prefer playing brass cymbal rather than playing on that super metallic sounding cymbal.
albarb
post Apr 10 2008, 01:35 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Apr 10 2008, 01:06 AM)
B8 need around 1200rm?!

budget so tight...

bro, last 2 years my friend recommend me not to buy the peace drum, i never try it b4..but it looks like they try to copy pearl...go for pdp, entry level is quite reasonable and ok.

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0389sec    1.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:04 AM