16 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Ask Pizzaboy Anything., While He Chases A SEA Games Placement.

shanecross
post Nov 28 2008, 07:27 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(Desvaro @ Nov 24 2008, 02:49 PM)
Thank you for the help with my front squat questions.

I wish you all the best in your weightlifting journey.

Who knows you might just win a medal in the olympics, then we'll have to call you DATUK Pizzaboy
We all don't mind the medal, but the datuk thing..don't.Hahaha..If we start chanting Malaysia Boleh....The Islamic Department might pop by and catch you...ya know...ya can't chant....
mofonyx
post Nov 28 2008, 07:35 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

So it is possible to get down without the butt wink.

But in the meantime while I work on my flexibility, I should avoid the butt wink?
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 29 2008, 04:32 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 28 2008, 07:27 PM)
We all don't mind the medal, but the datuk thing..don't.Hahaha..If we start chanting Malaysia Boleh....The Islamic Department might pop by and catch you...ya know...ya can't chant....
I really won't want to be called "Datuk"
If I get grandchildren, I'll tell them if they ever dare to call me datuk, they'll get no angpau

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Nov 28 2008, 07:35 PM)
So it is possible to get down without the butt wink.

But in the meantime while I work on my flexibility, I should avoid the butt wink?
It is of course possible. Personally, this is what I tried and almost fixed my butt wink immediately.

Chest high up
Arms close to shoulders when gripping
Super arch my back
Imagine your knees going DOWN.

And a lot of front squats
Front squats somehow or rather teach your body the groove to sit down without the butt wink.

And stretching will help a lot
Personally, I believe a lot in active stretching and have the weights press you down to the right position while you comfortably sit.
Keep asking, until you get this right. Keep me updated please.
mofonyx
post Nov 29 2008, 09:47 AM

2,394 posts

Okay, I'm just afraid with over 100kg on my back I may start injuring myself. However, I'm oblivious to any strain whatsoever.

Understandably, an olympic/commonwealth lifter should have increased flexibility.

What do you do to increase your flexibility? Any recommended sureshot stretches?

Also, what do you mean imagine my knees going down? My motion is mostly hips (i.e. the nonsensical knees not moving too far forward actually applies to me) which brings me low enough.

Added on November 29, 2008, 9:48 amOh I forgot, isn't cold stretching actually detrimental? Do you do a short run/walk before stretching or is it okay?

This post has been edited by mofonyx: Nov 29 2008, 09:48 AM
TSpizzaboy
post Nov 30 2008, 05:51 PM

9,495 posts

Just imagine your knees, breaking through your shins. Okay that sounds gory, but basically like that. Just imagine your knees, going right through your shins, while your chest is up and your back is arched.

Cold stretching actually means you can't get the full ROM and if you try too hard to stretch past it, you may actually tear. So usually, I prefer to do it when I'm slightly warmer, so yeah a jog would usually do well.

And don't do ballistic stretch where you keep bouncing bouncing like that. It makes no purpose as your muscles are supposed to be held in a certain stretch for at least 5 seconds before your body tells itself to relax (remember, body is a self defence mechanism) and that it's not a threat.

So hold a stretch for at least 5 seconds and increase the stretching time as you get more flexible.
mofonyx
post Nov 30 2008, 08:35 PM

2,394 posts

Thanks. I need to contract my muscles for an 'active stretch' amirite?
TSpizzaboy
post Dec 1 2008, 02:18 AM

9,495 posts

http://www.fortified-iron.com/forum/index....235041077&st=25

You must always relax your muscles for it to stretch.
Google up terms that you don't understand. You'll learn more, much more than when I spoon feed you.
mofonyx
post Dec 1 2008, 02:23 AM

2,394 posts

Cheers. Also I heard that Jenhan made his trip down this weekend to see you, so thanks for that.

TSpizzaboy
post Dec 1 2008, 12:02 PM

9,495 posts

Yeah, but he didn't update me on anything about how he feels, if he's learned anything, anything that he needs cleared and explained.
He didn't really ask much, not even about nutrition. Weird
mofonyx
post Dec 2 2008, 09:04 AM

2,394 posts

Well being a novice, he kinda didn't know what to ask or what to be taught. I told him to get the big 5 out of you because that's what Rippetoe consisted of. It seemed like he wasn't able to get around learning the Pendlay Row or (regular) Squats because he didn't know what to ask.

I doubt it was him being disinterested, it was more of him being unsure of what's going on or what needs to be known.

TSpizzaboy
post Dec 2 2008, 12:02 PM

9,495 posts

I didn't teach him the row because it always takes forever to teach. I just taught him the chest supported dumbbell rows...imperfect in comparison, but much easier to teach. As long as he learns to activate his back and not his arms, it's alright I believe.

And then when he figures out how to do it right, he'll be able to use a barbell. But in commercial gyms, it's a lil complicated to do this.

I recommended him to do the front squats, so the moment he does a back squat, his body'll automatically know what to do. I don't have his contacts apart from his phone number, but ask him to PM me his email and MSN.
mofonyx
post Dec 2 2008, 08:13 PM

2,394 posts

Yeah, I kinda relayed the same sort of information that you taught him a more complex lift, which is the front squat and he will automatically know what a back squat should feel like, which is good.

I'll let him know you're around to give advice.
kenlimfornication
post Dec 4 2008, 05:30 PM

729 posts

Wassap pizzaboy!
TSpizzaboy
post Dec 4 2008, 07:46 PM

9,495 posts

Wassap ken Limfornication!
mofonyx
post Dec 10 2008, 08:16 AM

2,394 posts

Flexibility has increased, I believe my squat form is gradually improving.

It may also be attributed to a more proper start position (chest out more prominently, closer bar grip, ass out more, and head looking downwards).

Doesn't matter how I got to a better form, as long as it's here, eh?

Added on December 10, 2008, 8:17 amquestion for you: what does your waistline measure?

This post has been edited by mofonyx: Dec 10 2008, 08:17 AM
kaypopotamus
post Dec 11 2008, 12:11 AM

PIZZABOY...i've finally found this thread. super noob. anyways..i'll PM you about my contacts. dude, i am not disinterested in anyway, i am just as mofonyx says, unsure and lost at the moment but i'll be getting there dude, all thanks to pizzaboy.
gsuwizard
post Dec 15 2008, 08:36 PM

36 posts

hi pizzaboy!

What's the different between weight gainers and whey protein?

i'm noobs and still learning bout dis weight training stuff.Sory if the question sounds stupid
Icy-Flow
post Dec 24 2008, 07:31 PM

When comes to Barbell(Straight bar), they have Olympic Barbell and the Standard Barbell. Olympics require 2" weight plates to fit inside and Standard barbells only fits for 1" weight plates which is standard. Olympic barbells are mostly longer and heavier than Standard barbell. The weight capacity for Olympic barbell is also far more higher than Standard Barbell. Since I already bought all my weight plates and bars the standard one, I don't feel like investing into Olympic's(Cost a bomb and need to renew all my 1" plates into 2" plates ZOMG). May I ask any experienced user here who use Standard Barbell have experienced with bending? Actually my target is to reach 200kg for the Standard Barbell but I am afraid it will bend. I bought my barbell in Fitness Concept, 60" Standard Barbell which weigh around 7kg. Any suggestion or solution? Thanks for helping.
Kyoyagami
post Jan 5 2009, 12:00 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Eh dude, is there such thing as a DIY dumbbell using simple materials?

Got a link to help me with that?
TSpizzaboy
post Jan 5 2009, 12:30 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ Dec 10 2008, 08:16 AM)
Flexibility has increased, I believe my squat form is gradually improving.

It may also be attributed to a more proper start position (chest out more prominently, closer bar grip, ass out more, and head looking downwards).

Doesn't matter how I got to a better form, as long as it's here, eh?

Added on December 10, 2008, 8:17 amquestion for you: what does your waistline measure?
My waistline's around 30" to 31" most of the time. If I drop to 75KG, it'll usually be about 30"

QUOTE(gsuwizard @ Dec 15 2008, 08:36 PM)
hi pizzaboy!

What's the different between weight gainers and whey protein?

i'm noobs and still learning bout dis weight training stuff.Sory if the question sounds stupid
Weight gainers makes you pay for protein and loads of sugar and carbo and a lil fat content here and there for the added calorie count. Also their serving size is 2 scoops. That's why you see it has about 40gms of protein per serving.

Protein makes you pay for protein. Just pure simple protein, with a bit of BCAA and leucine and a bunch of other vitamins. And usually per serving, you'll get bout 24 grams/scoop.

QUOTE(Icy-Flow @ Dec 24 2008, 07:31 PM)
When comes to Barbell(Straight bar), they have Olympic Barbell and the Standard Barbell. Olympics require 2" weight plates to fit inside and Standard barbells only fits for 1" weight plates which is standard. Olympic barbells are mostly longer and heavier than Standard barbell. The weight capacity for Olympic barbell is also far more higher than Standard Barbell. Since I already bought all my weight plates and bars the standard one, I don't feel like investing into Olympic's(Cost a bomb and need to renew all my 1" plates into 2" plates ZOMG). May I ask any experienced user here who use Standard Barbell have experienced with bending? Actually my target is to reach 200kg for the Standard Barbell but I am afraid it will bend. I bought my barbell in Fitness Concept, 60" Standard Barbell which weigh around 7kg. Any suggestion or solution? Thanks for helping.
It won't take 200KG. I squatted with 160KG with a standard barbell once, it bent right in the middle. Then I ran out of the gym.

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 5 2009, 12:00 PM)
Eh dude, is there such thing as a DIY dumbbell using simple materials?

Got a link to help me with that?
Google, "DIY DUmbbell
http://www.rosstraining.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=157

Rosstraining's down at the moment. Wait till it goes up again.

Added on January 5, 2009, 12:33 pmuser posted image

http://patrickhdonnelly.blogspot.com/2008/...-dumbbells.html

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Jan 5 2009, 12:33 PM

16 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:55 AM