142 Pages « < 132 133 134 135 136 > » Bottom

Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

heavensea
post Feb 25 2016, 03:28 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Feb 25 2016, 09:03 AM)
Food trip will be all around the island. I'm not very good in food around the island.
I brought my friends to the places around Butterworth for food. Less tourists, and that's the thing we ate most of the times.

Heritage with murals around - u can do this for evening, when the sun goes down.
Museums around heritage area - u can do this during the sun shining very strongly, as this is indoor and air conditioned.

Bukit Bendera & Kek Lok Si is nearby. So you could do these 2 together. Recommend to go Bukit Bendera early in the morning. The breeze could be cooling sometimes, which I like it.

Batu Feringghi if you would like to relax by the beach.
Teluk Bahang National Park - it's less touristy. This is for those who love nature and go for hiking.
ESCAPE - For those who loves adventure.

You could do cafe hopping as well as bar hopping if you are into those lifestyle.
Thanks bro, it's very useful info since this's the first time I travel to Penang smile.gif

I might plan to go hatyai by driving after this, is it wise and "safe" to do so? I'm going there with girlfriend, another 3d2n?(or 2d1n is enough?)

This post has been edited by heavensea: Feb 25 2016, 03:55 PM
MizzLucy
post Mar 7 2016, 09:24 AM

Hi guys!

I really need some pointers here.

I'll be going to Penang for the first time end of this month (Arrive friday, back on Sunday). Will be staying at Hotel Neo+ Penang, Jalan Gurdwara.

I've tried researching on must-eat food and must-go places in Penang and it is too much that I don't think we are going to have enough time for that =(

I would really appreciate it if you can help me list down on must-eat food and must-go places in Penang. Preferably within walking distance from the hotel. If we have to get a taxi, how much on average does a taxi cost?

Thank you soooo much in advance =)

p/s
I've read about the Toy Museum in Jalan Tanjung Bunga, seem like a cool place to visit. Is it worth it? And if yes, is it really far from our hotel?
khengyi82
post Jun 7 2016, 05:09 PM

138 posts

hi.. just want ask where can buy taste yummy biscuit ?
GentleBillionaire
post Jun 9 2016, 02:27 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(khengyi82 @ Jun 7 2016, 05:09 PM)
What kind of biscuits do u mean? is it penang local famous biscuits like Ghee Hiang or Him Hiang? or some local souvenir shops?
GentleBillionaire
post Jun 9 2016, 02:33 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(MizzLucy @ Mar 7 2016, 09:24 AM)
Hi guys!

I'll be going to Penang for the first time end of this month (Arrive friday, back on Sunday). Will be staying at Hotel Neo+ Penang, Jalan Gurdwara.

I've tried researching on must-eat food and must-go places in Penang and it is too much that I don't think we are going to have enough time for that =(

I would really appreciate it if you can help me list down on must-eat food and must-go places in Penang. Preferably within walking distance from the hotel. If we have to get a taxi, how much on average does a taxi cost?

p/s
I've read about the Toy Museum in Jalan Tanjung Bunga, seem like a cool place to visit. Is it worth it? And if yes, is it really far from our hotel?
There's a Hin Bus Depot opposite your hotel & it's walking distance to Komtar. Other that that, street arts and murals are a bit far.

I'm not sure about taxi, but if you know where you wanna go, you may want to call Uber. Why not consider hire a local tour guide or driver for your 3D2N or 2D1N trip? We can plan for you! smile.gif PM how many of you coming?
RegentCid
post Jun 9 2016, 02:33 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(MizzLucy @ Mar 7 2016, 08:24 AM)
Hi guys!

p/s
Penang Taxi are slaughter people price same as KL. Used Uber.

From Your Hotel, Can walk to Penang Road Famous Teochew Chendul. Nasi Kandar Line Clear. Little India. Kuan Im Teng. Armenian Street wall painting. Chulia Street.
Shopping place will Avenue K near Komtar.
Night Food Market will be Lorong Baru. Near Sunway Hotel. Just walk along Macalister Road. At Maclister road also can buy famous Tambun Biscuit from Ghee Hiang 160.

Your Hotel are near to Rapid Penang 2nd Terminal. All Penang Bus must passed 2 placed, One at Komtar which near to your Hotel, Another one at Jetty (Weld Quay Terminal). Basically you can reach any part of Penang by Rapid Penang Bus at Komtar Terminal.

Those Toy Musuem are far from your Hotel. Reachable but waste some time at travelling plus your stay at Penang just too short. Better target Big places such as Kek Lok SI and Penang Hill.
Kek Lok SI area can try famous Laksa and Sister curry mee

QUOTE(khengyi82 @ Jun 7 2016, 04:09 PM)
Him Heang Sdn Bhd
162, Jalan Burma, George Town, 10050 George Town, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia

Ghee Hiang 160
216, Jalan Macalister, 10400, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia

This 2 are the best of the best

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jun 9 2016, 02:53 PM
elmolee
post Jun 29 2016, 01:53 PM

142 posts

Hi guys

Will be going to penang for 2 days 1 night with my elderly parents.
Accommodation will be an airbnb house located at Lebuh Clark. Any nice food or places to go nearby my accommodation?

GentleBillionaire
post Jun 30 2016, 10:43 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(elmolee @ Jun 29 2016, 01:53 PM)
Hi guys

Will be going to penang for 2 days 1 night with my elderly parents.
Accommodation will be an airbnb house located at Lebuh Clark. Any nice food or places to go nearby my accommodation?

Nearby your accommodation:
[FOODS]: New World Park (lunch), Chowrasta Market (breakfast), Red Garden (dinner), must also try Cendol at Penang Road, New Lane (dinner, not walking distance from your hotel)..

[PLACES]: KOMTAR, street arts in georgetwon heritage area, Little India, Beach Street (preferably Sunday morning), there are a lot of museums in Georgetwon area too..

I'd suggest u to rent a car or motorcycle(great experience) biggrin.gif
elmolee
post Jul 2 2016, 01:04 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(GentleBillionaire @ Jun 30 2016, 10:43 PM)
Nearby your accommodation:
[FOODS]: New World Park (lunch), Chowrasta Market (breakfast), Red Garden (dinner), must also try Cendol at Penang Road, New Lane (dinner, not walking distance from your hotel)..

[PLACES]: KOMTAR, street arts in georgetwon heritage area, Little India, Beach Street (preferably Sunday morning), there are a lot of museums in Georgetwon area too..

I'd suggest u to rent a car or motorcycle(great experience) biggrin.gif
Tq so much for your suggestions

Zeuss1220
post Jul 6 2016, 08:26 PM

469 posts

Guys, this may not be a travel question but I'm going to ask here anyway.

I moved to Penang last week and I'm stuck here for the Raya break. I was in Penang for 3 months internship last year so I've been around quite a fair bit already. People I know are either on vacation or balik kampung for the break, so I'm alone here for the whole break.

My temporary accom is not really cozy so I don't like to stay in my room. So I'm desperate for suggestions on things to do, places to go etc etc to keep me occupied, which is suitable for single person. I've tried going bars in Georgetown, but hasn't really worked out for me since I'm just sitting there alone, sipping on my beer.
TruthHurts
post Jul 7 2016, 11:27 PM

653 posts

Hi peps,

I will be solo travel to Penang maybe on 10 Aug 16 by bus from KL. I stay likely 2 to 3 days depend. Since i worked in Penang for 2 years wayyyy back in the 96 renegade youth. I wonder is the transport still the same ?

Target for memory lane.. Sunshine square are, bukit jambul, Sg.Dua road area, Komtar, Pulau Tikus and Gurney Drive, Kek Lok Si temple and others...

Also i like to know which Inn or place to stay for a forevah alone fag like me .. huhuhuuuu i prefer to stay near the Komtar area as main focal point.
GentleBillionaire
post Jul 10 2016, 07:08 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Zeuss1220 @ Jul 6 2016, 08:26 PM)
Guys, this may not be a travel question but I'm going to ask here anyway.

I moved to Penang last week and I'm stuck here for the Raya break. I was in Penang for 3 months internship last year so I've been around quite a fair bit already. People I know are either on vacation or balik kampung for the break, so I'm alone here for the whole break.

My temporary accom is not really cozy so I don't like to stay in my room. So I'm desperate for suggestions on things to do, places to go etc etc to keep me occupied, which is suitable for single person. I've tried going bars in Georgetown, but hasn't really worked out for me since I'm just sitting there alone, sipping on my beer.
Bro, try join some communities e.g. Toastmaster clubs or finding sports kaki..
GentleBillionaire
post Jul 10 2016, 07:09 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(TruthHurts @ Jul 7 2016, 11:27 PM)
Hi peps,

I will be solo travel to Penang maybe on 10 Aug 16 by bus from KL. I stay likely 2 to 3 days depend. Since i worked in Penang for 2 years wayyyy back in the 96 renegade youth. I wonder is the transport still the same ?

Target for memory lane.. Sunshine square are, bukit jambul, Sg.Dua road area, Komtar, Pulau Tikus and Gurney Drive, Kek Lok Si temple and others...

Also i like to know which Inn or place to stay for a forevah alone fag like me .. huhuhuuuu i prefer to stay near the Komtar area as main focal point.
let me know if you need a private guide.. this is for budget backpackers..
WanMB
post Jul 10 2016, 07:24 PM

62 posts

Hi guys, planning to do a SG to KL to Penang. How much budget do i need and what are the things to see or eat (halal) there? I'm planning to go to KL by flight and to Penang by train. Appreciate if any of you guys can advice biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by WanMB: Jul 10 2016, 07:24 PM
epicapple
post Sep 20 2016, 05:36 PM

120 posts

SO my girl and I (both non muslim, just to clear shit up) we're going down to Penang and looking for a cheap but comfortable hotel to stay in. Yes, im over the age of 18 just clueless about Penang. Tiny island but it has attitude problems. Will be driving down so parking would be nice to have around the hotel, Distance from "tourist spots" wouldnt be too much of a problem, driving anyways. Importance is just a comfortable place.

Also, non-muslims dont get raided by Jais or Jakim right? I do fine in KL, but I hear Penang is a sucker for this. I also know the answer to this question will either be a "yes" or a "yes, you idiot". Just making sure I actually get good rest brows.gif
Baconateer
post Sep 20 2016, 05:43 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

just search for any backpackers hostel...there are alot..

i recommend one hostel..rm65 per night..got aircon and personal bathroom..

75 travellers lodge..
Winning11
post Sep 21 2016, 05:56 PM

283 posts

Anyone who stayed in the heritage zone before? Will it be hard to find parking there? I'm planning to stay there on 29th sept to 1st oct. 29th and 30th will be on weekdays. So im hoping it will be easier to find parking on that two days.
munkeyflo
post Sep 25 2016, 06:43 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

Anyone wanna volunteer to start Penang V2?
lahart
post Feb 26 2017, 04:17 PM

93 posts

Plan to go penang
Want to stay georgetown but too many hotel too choose XD
Basicaly budget per night is below 180
any penang local or those had visited before can intro me some good food place that must try
ya i google edi but just too many place and food to eat all icon_question.gif
ryan18
post Feb 26 2017, 10:42 PM

2,406 posts

hotel? cititel express not bad nearby 1st avenue mall,can also check neo+,glow
food? I only know the penang road cendol lol, and maybe the nasi kandar

142 Pages « < 132 133 134 135 136 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:52 AM