QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 29 2015, 03:18 PM)
Nope not yet bro, anything special there?Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides
Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides
Dec 29 2015, 10:19 PM
86 posts Joined: Oct 2015 |
Dec 29 2015, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(Doku_Kinoko @ Dec 29 2015, 07:35 PM) First of all, welcome to Penang! =)) Firstly thanks for the extremely insightful reply hahaNot sure if you're Muslim but looking at your food choices it seems like you could be one. But do correct me if I'm wrong ya! (Which I could very well be haha) Restoran Kapitan @ Chulia Street (Within walking distance from where you're currently staying. Famous for tandoori and nasi briyani) Mee Sotong Hameed Pata @ Padang Kota Lama (Also within walking distance from Love Lane. This is a food court beside the field. Just look for the stall with the longest queue. Closes on Sunday though. The coconut shake right beside the mee sotong stall is also nice!) Air itam laksa, as others have mentioned =)) Penang Road Cendol and laksa @Lebuh Keng Kwee (I really love the cendol here! Dayummm ) And many many more. Do comment if you need more suggestions! For epic sceneries you can go up to Penang Hill where you can have spectacular views of the entire Penang Island =)) It is quite tourist-y and the queues can get quite long especially during peak seasons as of now but it is quite worth it IMO. Recommend to take the tram at around 4 p.m. and stay till the sky turns dark so you get to see how Penang's like both in day and nighttime. New Year spot in Penang includes Padang Kota Lama and Straits Quay.. Not too sure about any other "hotspots" I haven't tried any of those yet. I tried this dalcha food (a stall) and it was nice. Shall try those suggestions u have given. What about the best Chinese and Thai food (non pork/lard?) Indian food, I'm looking for the best and mist popular chettinad/banana leaf kinda meals u got here. Also, any suggestions for the Malay rendang? OK penang Hill is in the mission list. Any beautiful temples, structures that look WOW? For new year, I'm kinda bored with the clubbing routine. I want something beautiful, cheerful and different for new year. Somewhere to celebrate without intoxication perhaps? Haha Oh yeah, and is there any recommend places to meet new people, ahem ahem, for company? It CAN get lonely sometimes. Thanks again! |
Dec 30 2015, 02:50 AM
8 posts Joined: Dec 2015 From: Penang |
QUOTE(brightshade @ Dec 29 2015, 10:26 PM) Firstly thanks for the extremely insightful reply haha You're welcome, brightshade! =)) For banana leaf you can try Sri Ananda Bahwan in Little India, which is also within walking distance from Love Lane. Uhm I guess Penang is indeed kinda small. HahahI haven't tried any of those yet. I tried this dalcha food (a stall) and it was nice. Shall try those suggestions u have given. What about the best Chinese and Thai food (non pork/lard?) Indian food, I'm looking for the best and mist popular chettinad/banana leaf kinda meals u got here. Also, any suggestions for the Malay rendang? OK penang Hill is in the mission list. Any beautiful temples, structures that look WOW? For new year, I'm kinda bored with the clubbing routine. I want something beautiful, cheerful and different for new year. Somewhere to celebrate without intoxication perhaps? Haha Oh yeah, and is there any recommend places to meet new people, ahem ahem, for company? It CAN get lonely sometimes. Thanks again! Not too sure about Malay rendang and pork free thai food.. Hmm maybe some other Penangites here can help? Pork free chinese food is indeed hard to come by here. Most of the famous delicacies like Char Koay Teow, Hokkien Mee, Loh Mee etc are non-halal. I remember having a big headache when my Muslim friend came for a visit last month haha. But we came across Bee Hwa Cafe in Lebuh Dickens which serves pork-free version of Chinese food (Pretty close to the cendol place which I mentioned earlier). One dish which particularly stood out was the Hokkien Mee (Prawn noodles soup). I heard that the Char Koay Teow is also nice though. Also, there is a roadside stall selling fresh and delicious samosa nearby which you would not want to miss. The best route would be to go to Bee Hwa cafe first, then pick up some yummy samosa on your way to the Penang Road Teochew Cendol place. And also a bowl of assam laksa, if there is still room in your stomach =) Oh and the main bus terminal, Komtar is just a few steps away as well=)) For beautiful temples I would suggest Kek Lok Si Temple (https://www.google.com/search?q=kek+lok+si+temple&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=643&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjLy9aK2IHKAhVHCo4KHURKDjgQ_AUIBygC) which is very close to Penang Hill. Could easily combine Penang Hill + Kek Lok Si temple for a half/full day trip. If you're interested in New Year countdown then it would be Padang Kota Lama or Straits Quay. Straits Quay on its own is quite a cool place to be in, considering that there are plenty of restaurants and bars or you can just take a stroll and look at the yachts there. The New Year Countdown there will start at 8 p.m. this year (https://www.facebook.com/StraitsQuay/photos/a.175843579099126.47311.174240635926087/1288614927821980/?type=3&theater) so you can just join in the crowds. Or you can go to the bars nearby if you change your mind later on =)) P/S: While you're in Penang it is worth looking into the Peranakan or Baba Nyonya culture, which is unique to Penang, Malacca and Singapore. Perhaps a visit to Peranakan Mansion and yes definitely try some Peranakan food, which is basically a combination of Chinese and Malay cuisine. You can try the pork free version at Ivy's Nyonya Kitchen, Chow Thye Road or Hainantown Restaurant at Weld Quay (Slightly pricey). This post has been edited by Doku_Kinoko: Dec 30 2015, 11:40 AM |
Dec 30 2015, 08:17 AM
3,580 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
Dec 30 2015, 08:50 AM
1,215 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: Penang Island |
welcome to penang,
these days penang have alot of those musuem museum thing that u can go take picture and have fun with friend (taking picture fun only). But all need to pay admission fees with min RM15 - RM20. sg are ( tepi masjid sg ara) got famous tomyam halal restaurant u can try but sg ara is far from town area.. ( more towards industrial are/housing area) enjoy your holiday |
Dec 30 2015, 02:23 PM
109 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Hi all penang expert, needed a 3 day 2 night itenary. Travelling 10th Feb 2016. Staying in 1926 Heritage Georgetown. Having a senior citizen and a teenage. Looking for shop and food. Thankz.
Dec 31 2015, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Doku_Kinoko @ Dec 30 2015, 02:50 AM) You're welcome, brightshade! =)) For banana leaf you can try Sri Ananda Bahwan in Little India, which is also within walking distance from Love Lane. Uhm I guess Penang is indeed kinda small. Hahah Not too sure about Malay rendang and pork free thai food.. Hmm maybe some other Penangites here can help? Pork free chinese food is indeed hard to come by here. Most of the famous delicacies like Char Koay Teow, Hokkien Mee, Loh Mee etc are non-halal. I remember having a big headache when my Muslim friend came for a visit last month haha. But we came across Bee Hwa Cafe in Lebuh Dickens which serves pork-free version of Chinese food (Pretty close to the cendol place which I mentioned earlier). One dish which particularly stood out was the Hokkien Mee (Prawn noodles soup). I heard that the Char Koay Teow is also nice though. Also, there is a roadside stall selling fresh and delicious samosa nearby which you would not want to miss. The best route would be to go to Bee Hwa cafe first, then pick up some yummy samosa on your way to the Penang Road Teochew Cendol place. And also a bowl of assam laksa, if there is still room in your stomach =) Oh and the main bus terminal, Komtar is just a few steps away as well=)) For beautiful temples I would suggest Kek Lok Si Temple (https://www.google.com/search?q=kek+lok+si+temple&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=643&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjLy9aK2IHKAhVHCo4KHURKDjgQ_AUIBygC) which is very close to Penang Hill. Could easily combine Penang Hill + Kek Lok Si temple for a half/full day trip. If you're interested in New Year countdown then it would be Padang Kota Lama or Straits Quay. Straits Quay on its own is quite a cool place to be in, considering that there are plenty of restaurants and bars or you can just take a stroll and look at the yachts there. The New Year Countdown there will start at 8 p.m. this year (https://www.facebook.com/StraitsQuay/photos/a.175843579099126.47311.174240635926087/1288614927821980/?type=3&theater) so you can just join in the crowds. Or you can go to the bars nearby if you change your mind later on =)) P/S: While you're in Penang it is worth looking into the Peranakan or Baba Nyonya culture, which is unique to Penang, Malacca and Singapore. Perhaps a visit to Peranakan Mansion and yes definitely try some Peranakan food, which is basically a combination of Chinese and Malay cuisine. You can try the pork free version at Ivy's Nyonya Kitchen, Chow Thye Road or Hainantown Restaurant at Weld Quay (Slightly pricey). QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 30 2015, 08:17 AM) toh soon have a simple menu...search around for whats famous air itam is famous for laksa and if u go sunday, its full of ppl...its a market QUOTE(yahiko @ Dec 30 2015, 08:50 AM) welcome to penang, Thank u all for your insightful replies! these days penang have alot of those musuem museum thing that u can go take picture and have fun with friend (taking picture fun only). But all need to pay admission fees with min RM15 - RM20. sg are ( tepi masjid sg ara) got famous tomyam halal restaurant u can try but sg ara is far from town area.. ( more towards industrial are/housing area) enjoy your holiday For new years celebration, which is closer to Georgetown? |
Jan 2 2016, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(chng5255 @ Dec 30 2015, 02:23 PM) Hi all penang expert, needed a 3 day 2 night itenary. Travelling 10th Feb 2016. Staying in 1926 Heritage Georgetown. Having a senior citizen and a teenage. Looking for shop and food. Thankz. Hello =) For shopping malls the better quality ones would be Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon which are close to where you'd be staying.Or Prangin mall(Cheaper clothing)/1st Avenue(Quite small.. But has the basic common brands like H&M, Cotton On, Brands Outlet, Padini) /KOMTAR (nothing much here) in the town area. Queensbay mall is also fine but you'd need to travel a bit and considering that you only have 3D2N, time might be an issue but if it's solely a shopping trip, yeap do go ahead =)) For food.. If you're looking for hawker food you can try Bee Hooi Restaurant close to where you'd be staying. Here is the link: https://foursquare.com/v/bee-hooi-restauran...37ca59357d7ae92 Definitely less touristy and the fried oyster, wantan mee, char koay teow, loh mee and chicken rice there are yummmy! =) Another hawker place to go to would be Cecil Street Market Food Court for lunch. Go for the curry mee, duck meat koay teow th'ng and pasembur. These 3 are the must trys! Also less touristy but full of local crowd! Others which are worth trying would be New Lane Food Court (quite touristy and food is slightly more expensive but taste is still good. Lotsa varieties). For chu char Tek Sen Restaurant is good =) If I'm not mistaken there is a really popular char koay kak stall close to the hotel you'd be staying at. And also apam balik or something. Do comment if you need more recommendation for food! =) For things to do you can check out Tripadvisor =)) |
Jan 2 2016, 04:05 PM
Jan 4 2016, 10:53 AM
24 posts Joined: Dec 2015 |
Visit Penang with my daughter 3 years old and 2 years old . last Thursday to Saturday .
Stay at batu feringgi, jalan2 at pasar malam, visit bukit bendera hang out at padang kota lama , jalan2 Georgetown cari jeruk Chowrasta is a must . I'm a book lover . 2 days hunting for pasembor . at gurney drive very pack , no parking .. The next day I came too early stall belum bukak . Found my pasembor at lebuh union .easy parking, not many people there , beside pasembor got sell roti bakar that you dip in half boiled egg . So many mat rempit with rxz . convoi everywhere . |
Jan 5 2016, 11:43 AM
466 posts Joined: Feb 2013 From: Jesselton, North Borneo |
Hi, I'm going to travel to penang this week with my wife. My last visit was in year 2006!
can recommend me place to find camera shops? pc hardware? sports shoes? Is it recommend to rent a car? Will be staying around armenian street. |
Jan 6 2016, 03:35 AM
QUOTE(Aivihc @ Jan 5 2016, 11:43 AM) Hi, I'm going to travel to penang this week with my wife. My last visit was in year 2006! For all those three items that you mentioned, you should have no problem finding them in KOMTAR (ICT section)/Prangin Mall/ 1st Avenue (for sports shoes). All these malls are linked to one another and are within walking distance from where you'd be staying.can recommend me place to find camera shops? pc hardware? sports shoes? Is it recommend to rent a car? Will be staying around armenian street. Heard that there are several camera shops along Penang Road as well. Close to Komtar so you can walk there no probs =)) For more options you can also take rapid bus 101, 103, 104, 10 to Gurney Plaza from Komtar bus terminal. Or rapid 304, 102 if you are waiting at the Penang Road Station. Armenian street is kinda close to KOMTAR so it should be convenient to move around using rapid penang. And plenty of good makan places around as well so I don't see a need to rent a car (Which costs around rm 90-100 per day not including parking fee/petrol..). In case you get tired/lost in the middle of no where, can just use your phone to get an Uber driver to pick you up =)) You can also browse through tripadvisor to see if there is any new attraction that you/your wife would wanna visit yaa. Have fun! 😊 This post has been edited by Doku_Kinoko: Jan 6 2016, 03:36 AM |
Jan 6 2016, 01:03 PM
466 posts Joined: Feb 2013 From: Jesselton, North Borneo |
QUOTE(Doku_Kinoko @ Jan 6 2016, 03:35 AM) For all those three items that you mentioned, you should have no problem finding them in KOMTAR (ICT section)/Prangin Mall/ 1st Avenue (for sports shoes). All these malls are linked to one another and are within walking distance from where you'd be staying. Thank you! Heard that there are several camera shops along Penang Road as well. Close to Komtar so you can walk there no probs =)) For more options you can also take rapid bus 101, 103, 104, 10 to Gurney Plaza from Komtar bus terminal. Or rapid 304, 102 if you are waiting at the Penang Road Station. Armenian street is kinda close to KOMTAR so it should be convenient to move around using rapid penang. And plenty of good makan places around as well so I don't see a need to rent a car (Which costs around rm 90-100 per day not including parking fee/petrol..). In case you get tired/lost in the middle of no where, can just use your phone to get an Uber driver to pick you up =)) You can also browse through tripadvisor to see if there is any new attraction that you/your wife would wanna visit yaa. Have fun! 😊 |
Jan 9 2016, 09:22 PM
109 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(Doku_Kinoko @ Jan 2 2016, 04:03 PM) Hello =) For shopping malls the better quality ones would be Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon which are close to where you'd be staying. Thanks for the helpful recommendations. I will appreciate if you can specify each for brunch, dinner or supper? My father ( senior citizen as mentioned) loves to hunt for food.while traveling.Or Prangin mall(Cheaper clothing)/1st Avenue(Quite small.. But has the basic common brands like H&M, Cotton On, Brands Outlet, Padini) /KOMTAR (nothing much here) in the town area. Queensbay mall is also fine but you'd need to travel a bit and considering that you only have 3D2N, time might be an issue but if it's solely a shopping trip, yeap do go ahead =)) For food.. If you're looking for hawker food you can try Bee Hooi Restaurant close to where you'd be staying. Here is the link: https://foursquare.com/v/bee-hooi-restauran...37ca59357d7ae92 Definitely less touristy and the fried oyster, wantan mee, char koay teow, loh mee and chicken rice there are yummmy! =) Another hawker place to go to would be Cecil Street Market Food Court for lunch. Go for the curry mee, duck meat koay teow th'ng and pasembur. These 3 are the must trys! Also less touristy but full of local crowd! Others which are worth trying would be New Lane Food Court (quite touristy and food is slightly more expensive but taste is still good. Lotsa varieties). For chu char Tek Sen Restaurant is good =) If I'm not mistaken there is a really popular char koay kak stall close to the hotel you'd be staying at. And also apam balik or something. Do comment if you need more recommendation for food! =) For things to do you can check out Tripadvisor =)) This post has been edited by chng5255: Jan 9 2016, 09:23 PM |
Jan 16 2016, 03:56 PM
1,061 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Hi guys, any recommended place to stay? Budget roughly <RM130 For two pack
Going near end of February, go by flight rent a car there, hopefully a hotel that provide car park and RM100 per day is it normal for car rental? Thanks alot found 3 hotel Armenian Street Heritage Hotel Chulia Herritage wassup youth hostel This post has been edited by ljf123: Jan 16 2016, 05:02 PM |
Jan 23 2016, 02:29 PM
1,363 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
hey guys, what are the cruise now docking at penang? I heard no more star cruise, true??
Looking for big ship with casino. Any recommendation? |
Feb 23 2016, 01:03 PM
9,616 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Hi guys, 3d2n enough to jalanx2 and relax at Penang?
Feb 24 2016, 10:26 AM
1,438 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Feb 24 2016, 12:23 PM
9,616 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
Feb 25 2016, 09:03 AM
1,438 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(heavensea @ Feb 24 2016, 12:23 PM) Food trip will be all around the island. I'm not very good in food around the island. I brought my friends to the places around Butterworth for food. Less tourists, and that's the thing we ate most of the times. Heritage with murals around - u can do this for evening, when the sun goes down. Museums around heritage area - u can do this during the sun shining very strongly, as this is indoor and air conditioned. Bukit Bendera & Kek Lok Si is nearby. So you could do these 2 together. Recommend to go Bukit Bendera early in the morning. The breeze could be cooling sometimes, which I like it. Batu Feringghi if you would like to relax by the beach. Teluk Bahang National Park - it's less touristy. This is for those who love nature and go for hiking. ESCAPE - For those who loves adventure. You could do cafe hopping as well as bar hopping if you are into those lifestyle. |
| Change to: | 0.0394sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:49 AM |