Best Blueray Disc Player - PS3, HD DVD lost, buying a good BR-D player?
Mar 5 2008, 08:26 PM
2,220 posts Joined: May 2007 |
till then ... PS3 is the cheapest BD player in the market
Mar 5 2008, 09:19 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
Mar 5 2008, 09:20 PM
410 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Mar 5 2008, 10:29 PM
4,000 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: SomeWhereNearU |
very soon
i bet 12 months |
Mar 6 2008, 01:03 AM
Mar 6 2008, 01:31 AM
1,611 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - Bak Kut Teh Valley - |
is the DVD upscalling quality better on the PS3 better compare to normal dvd player ?
what is the price for the PS3 now? if buy now will it be possible to modify later when ahem blue ray game out? This post has been edited by jimjim: Mar 6 2008, 01:32 AM |
Mar 6 2008, 08:30 AM
Mar 7 2008, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(jimjim @ Mar 6 2008, 01:31 AM) is the DVD upscalling quality better on the PS3 better compare to normal dvd player ? Aiyo ...... why you always think of pirate games aje, buy a second hand one lah, here got many ppl selling original used games, the price is quite reasonable. A blank blu-ray disc is RM80 like dat, you think you're going to pay that amount for a pirate game? what is the price for the PS3 now? if buy now will it be possible to modify later when ahem blue ray game out? QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 6 2008, 08:30 AM) cannot be so fast gua .... but early stage the price i pressume is 50% off some thing like 1k++ If got also, the most Profile 1.0 player aje, Cap Ayam players normally are stripped down versions.wont be like 200-300RM per player |
Mar 9 2008, 12:12 AM
1,611 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - Bak Kut Teh Valley - |
btw, can the ps3 play ahem dvd?
curious, why ppl say PS3 has yet to be launch in malaysia? but we can already purchase it? This post has been edited by jimjim: Mar 9 2008, 12:12 AM |
Mar 10 2008, 11:10 PM
503 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: P.J. |
it worse than cheapo dvd players..
http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/dvd-player-...ps3-fw-2.1.html "Our cadence tests consist of very high detail test patterns. Some may call this a disadvantage for some players, but we've always used the same patterns for our tests, and we've seen a wide range of results regardless of price point. Nearly every player I test has no issues at all with some of the more basic tests, such as de-interlacing content with perfect 2-3 flags. Since even most inexpensive DVD players are flag based, this test is passed nearly 99% of the time. The Sony PS3 continues to have extremely poor results in our SD DVD tests. The fact of the matter is, it just cannot lock onto a high resolution test pattern for any of our cadence tests. This is worse performance than we see with even sub-$50 players at your local big box store. One could argue that the player will probably do just fine with real world content since it probably doesn't have as high detail as our test patterns, but I think that argument would mainly come from those trying to justify their purchase. If I can get nearly every DVD player out there to pass these tests, why won't this one? Like most game consoles, the PS3 is not what I would call a preferred video playback solution for standard DVDs. However, it is far and away one of the best Blu-ray players on the market today and an outstanding value for those looking to add HD support to their home theater system. But I would still recommend a higher quality stand alone DVD player for the more demanding home theater enthusiast." QUOTE(jimjim @ Mar 6 2008, 01:31 AM) |
Mar 11 2008, 09:45 AM
410 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(andyz @ Mar 10 2008, 11:10 PM) it worse than cheapo dvd players.. IMO use the PS3 as Bluray player only lah... why want to use it for DVD. Play DVD too much will risk spoiling the lens then problem lor... http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/dvd-player-...ps3-fw-2.1.html "Our cadence tests consist of very high detail test patterns. Some may call this a disadvantage for some players, but we've always used the same patterns for our tests, and we've seen a wide range of results regardless of price point. Nearly every player I test has no issues at all with some of the more basic tests, such as de-interlacing content with perfect 2-3 flags. Since even most inexpensive DVD players are flag based, this test is passed nearly 99% of the time. The Sony PS3 continues to have extremely poor results in our SD DVD tests. The fact of the matter is, it just cannot lock onto a high resolution test pattern for any of our cadence tests. This is worse performance than we see with even sub-$50 players at your local big box store. One could argue that the player will probably do just fine with real world content since it probably doesn't have as high detail as our test patterns, but I think that argument would mainly come from those trying to justify their purchase. If I can get nearly every DVD player out there to pass these tests, why won't this one? Like most game consoles, the PS3 is not what I would call a preferred video playback solution for standard DVDs. However, it is far and away one of the best Blu-ray players on the market today and an outstanding value for those looking to add HD support to their home theater system. But I would still recommend a higher quality stand alone DVD player for the more demanding home theater enthusiast." |
Mar 11 2008, 10:30 AM
727 posts Joined: May 2005 From: KL |
all item have lifespand.... just use normal/hdmi player for dvd lah
Mar 11 2008, 10:42 AM
the BD lense also got lifespan ger
Mar 11 2008, 01:26 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(andyz @ Mar 10 2008, 11:10 PM) it worse than cheapo dvd players.. they were refering to one of the test " cadence test"... don't think a normal lay person knows what is a cadence test also..http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/dvd-player-...ps3-fw-2.1.html "Our cadence tests consist of very high detail test patterns. Some may call this a disadvantage for some players, but we've always used the same patterns for our tests, and we've seen a wide range of results regardless of price point. Nearly every player I test has no issues at all with some of the more basic tests, such as de-interlacing content with perfect 2-3 flags. Since even most inexpensive DVD players are flag based, this test is passed nearly 99% of the time. The Sony PS3 continues to have extremely poor results in our SD DVD tests. The fact of the matter is, it just cannot lock onto a high resolution test pattern for any of our cadence tests. This is worse performance than we see with even sub-$50 players at your local big box store. One could argue that the player will probably do just fine with real world content since it probably doesn't have as high detail as our test patterns, but I think that argument would mainly come from those trying to justify their purchase. If I can get nearly every DVD player out there to pass these tests, why won't this one? Like most game consoles, the PS3 is not what I would call a preferred video playback solution for standard DVDs. However, it is far and away one of the best Blu-ray players on the market today and an outstanding value for those looking to add HD support to their home theater system. But I would still recommend a higher quality stand alone DVD player for the more demanding home theater enthusiast." |
Mar 11 2008, 04:22 PM
aris sifu
wat is tat ? |
Mar 11 2008, 04:51 PM
727 posts Joined: May 2005 From: KL |
tak faham also
Mar 11 2008, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 11 2008, 04:22 PM) 2:3 pulldown flag, if you miss the flag (each interlaced movie should have proper flags to tell the player which frame to use to reconstruct back a progressive frame), then the deinterlacing goes wrong, you will see more deinterlacing artifacts.. i.e. like hair combing artifacts etc..if you watching unker ho movies, I think most of the flags are wrong, unless they did a 1:1 transfer (say like ISO or NRG file) (highly unlikely since they would have to he houdini to fit 6-8GBs DVD9 into a single layer 4.7GB disc) Added on March 11, 2008, 5:50 pmmany players usually fail this test (on difficult scenes on test DVDs), but most did not really show up as severe video artifacts in real world DVD watching experiences anyway.. This post has been edited by ar188: Mar 11 2008, 05:50 PM |
Mar 11 2008, 06:24 PM
106 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
New Blu-ray 2.0 spec makes PS3 the most future-proof player
http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20080...oof-player.html How about above statement? |
Mar 11 2008, 07:00 PM
I think shouldn't obsess to much about going profile 2.0..
the main movie of what ever profile we bought plays as advertised.. that's most important.. other 1.1/2 extra features are secondary.. |
Mar 11 2008, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 11 2008, 05:49 PM) 2:3 pulldown flag, if you miss the flag (each interlaced movie should have proper flags to tell the player which frame to use to reconstruct back a progressive frame), then the deinterlacing goes wrong, you will see more deinterlacing artifacts.. i.e. like hair combing artifacts etc.. fuyooo..the 2:3pulldown thingie so important ger?? KENG wor sifuif you watching unker ho movies, I think most of the flags are wrong, unless they did a 1:1 transfer (say like ISO or NRG file) (highly unlikely since they would have to he houdini to fit 6-8GBs DVD9 into a single layer 4.7GB disc) Added on March 11, 2008, 5:50 pmmany players usually fail this test (on difficult scenes on test DVDs), but most did not really show up as severe video artifacts in real world DVD watching experiences anyway.. btw..how to test it on peasant sammy DVDP? |
| Change to: | 0.0170sec
5 queries
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:04 AM |