silverhawk
post Apr 5 2008, 11:51 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(halglory @ Apr 4 2008, 10:03 AM)
my wife...eng ed, malay speaking preference, chinese ed mentality...
hahaha dude, that's like the worst combo tongue.gif

silverhawk
post Oct 10 2008, 03:36 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Oct 10 2008, 02:20 PM)
Are you sure about the sophistication part. More open minded means less sophisticated.  I mean open minded means every idea also accept. "Closed-minded" means think before accept. So how can you say that Chinese ed are less sophisticated.

Your definition of open/close minded is quite different from the norm. Open minded people can accept new/different ideas, close-minded people cannot. Its not about thinking before accepting, open minded people do that too, close minded people just stick to their believes despite contrary evidence or rationale. If you've never experienced handling close-minded people, you wouldn't know.

Well, elegant. If you are from a richer family, it does  not matter whether you are a chinese ed or a english ed. But the thing is chinese ed tends to pick clothes more conservatively. And also they do not just wear anything which could be good for some people.

laugh.gif You've obviously haven't seen how chinese-ed girls dress. Its not about being conservative, you'll see a lot of skin too. Its once again, in the mentality, and you simply cannot deny that english-ed girls tend to be more elegant and sophisticated. Why? Probably because they understand the concept of individuality, which doesn't really seem to exist in chinese education.

Go to friendster, and see how many lala muis you can find, these girls... all chinese ed. You will hardly find an english ed lala mui.

Who says chinese girls are like that. You saw 1 or 2 and you generalized it to everyone? You mean your mum told you this?

Yeah I know it is your opinion. But your opinion also shows what kind of a person you are.

cheers
Remember, your opinions tell what kind of person you are as well. Look at the way you just responded to his opinion, you think you're any better? It may be his opinion, but from my experience (I mix a lot with both sides), its true.
silverhawk
post Oct 11 2008, 01:58 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Oct 10 2008, 05:54 PM)
I would imagine that the close minded definition that you actually mentioned do not actually exist in the modern society. I mean if you are close minded as such, i really cannot see how you can survive at least at the professional level. To me, if a person do not accept an idea no matter how much proof has been shown to him or her  without even questioning why that idea is wrong or right this person is hopeless. I mean I do agree that beliefs play a big part in accepting an idea but at least that person should find out the relevancy of that idea and can decide to reject it based on their belief but to reject an idea outright is just unacceptable.

Yeah, perhaps I should research more.

laugh.gif Dude, you need to get out more often. Go on and chase the chinese ed women, you may be lucky for sometime, but eventually you'll meet their close minded parents, and oh boy, are you in for a world of headaches smile.gif G`luck on that laugh.gif

Well, I guess I am biased towards Asian Girls because contrary to what the earlier poster has said, I find Asians in general more sophisticated then non Asians. Even their education promotes sophistication. I guess you are English Ed, but if you do know Chinese education, you will find that they promote literature much more then English education. For us, it is more on cause and effect, but their education promotes deeper thinking towards life overall. I mean that guy is just totally degrading Chinese Ed people just based on a few. I find Chinese Ed people more cultured then English Ed. Chinese Ed ppl tend to be more determined. And it is totally wrong to say that they are not as educated as English Ed. I mean there is a reason why malay parents wants to sent their children to Chinese schools rite?

Promote sophistication? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif You REALLY REALLY need to get out more often and see the world man. Just look at how the typical english ed girl dresses and how a typical chinese ed girl dresses, and you'll see the difference in sophistication. Check out the fashion sense in Sungei Wang vs The Curve as a simple example smile.gif Unless your definition of sophistication is lala mui style.... then... I have nothing to say.

As for education, again you're dead wrong. I'm not chinese educated, but my cousins were, and from what I know from them, the education is heavily based on memorisation, and its has a very close minded approach. A leads to B, why? because teacher says so. Don't agree? want to voice your opinion? Cannot, you're not "qualified". This is very typical of the chinese social structure. I'm not sure how you can say chinese education promotes literature more than english education, its bloody ingrained in the education. I enjoy the literature discussions english ed people can have, I can pass a book to an english ed friend, and then have a discussion about the theme, the character building, the setting, the possible meanings, etc. I do that with a chinese ed (who can read english), and the discussion is often crappy.

You want more examples? Look into RWI, and notice those people who often post stupid things with broken english? Guess what sort of education they had? Yeap, chinese ed.

It is important for to know the different levels of chinese education and how people group them. For instance, my cousins may have went to a SRJK ©, and a national school after that, they are actually considered english ed due to their upbringing. There are lots of people like that, so you may have confused some english ed people as chinese ed. Its not so much about where they got the education, but the education which influenced their mindset. Some people are 50-50, some people are 70-30, some people are 90-10. This topic focuses on people who are much heavier on either end of the scale.

silverhawk
post Oct 13 2008, 09:34 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Oct 11 2008, 08:58 PM)
But dun u think that a majority of chinese ed people go into fields such as enginering and computer science? I mean you can never succeed in those fields if you do not have the creativity or analysis skills. It is hard to go further to without those skills.

They're mostly there because its a natural progression from their interests. Not to mention that these fields are considered lucrative by their parents. Engineering has a certain pedigree to it, like being a doctor, accountant, or lawyer. (The typical career paths chinese ed parents push their kids to).

That said, it doesn't mean they do well or that they have the necessary skills or mindset to handle the job. My experience has showed that most of them simply do not have what it takes, even if they managed to pass and get their degree.

But I always have the feeling that non chinese( I am from non Chinese background) education do not really promotes deep thinking as well. I mean as Silverhawk mentioned in his post on education, it is all about gaming the system. I think non chinese education is also guilty of that.

As I also mentioned in my posts here.. its not about what type of school you went to, but the kind of overall education you've received. Its a combination of schooling + parental education or any other educational influence.
silverhawk
post Oct 13 2008, 11:07 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(atrocitines @ Oct 13 2008, 10:37 PM)
english ed my foot. are you all of you guys/girls seriously from international schools? i for one doubt that. by the way, how do you differentiate between a chinese ed girl and a "eng ed" girl?
QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Oct 13 2008, 10:42 PM)
Actually, the term "government school" is more appropriate than "english educated"
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
you guys still don't understand that its not about the schools...
silverhawk
post Oct 14 2008, 02:07 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

england too powderful
silverhawk
post Oct 14 2008, 01:24 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(neuroticmind @ Oct 14 2008, 10:50 AM)
Banyak songeh la...
Girls are girls...
What's with this categorizing them into chinese or english ed?
EEG can also be ignorant about politics and such while CEG can pawn your ass talking about Anwar BS case..
EEG can be dumb, dependent and a TVB star wannabe while CEG can be the next Hilary Clinton..
EEG can also be lala and CEG a posh spice...

Haiz.. Complain complain complain...
Look into the mirror first la before compare and condemm ppl... sleep.gif

The categories exist, cause its true tongue.gif Not everyone fits the typical stereotype, but the stereotype does exist. It doesn't only apply to girls, the english-ed vs chinese-ed applies to guys as well.

And someone even come up with the term hybrid...  doh.gif
Pardon me french but nabeh, you think we girls are aliens ah?
I dunno about other girls la, but I think you're weird enough to be an alien tongue.gif
silverhawk
post Oct 14 2008, 02:14 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(neuroticmind @ Oct 14 2008, 01:29 PM)
Go die.. tongue.gif
I was complimenting you! sad.gif
silverhawk
post Oct 14 2008, 03:01 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(neuroticmind @ Oct 14 2008, 02:28 PM)
I'm weird.. sad.gif

That's why I like ya biggrin.gif
silverhawk
post Oct 14 2008, 03:24 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Oct 14 2008, 03:19 PM)
i am eng ed girl..but most of my bfs are chinese ed..hmm? opposites attract?.. but you cant really categorize them in their dressing..i am eng ed but i like to wear korean & taiwan clothing too..jz not to the extant taht it is too lala.sometimes i like to wear street,,sometimes punk, sometims girly..it's just clothes duhh it's used to express yourself .and as long as i can carry the style and it looks good on me..you cant really judge whether it sucks or not.. and because isnt it subjective and ignoreant to judge ppl's clothing jz because most ppl cant carry it off doesnt mean noone can..so hush bout how u guys hate certain style.. ok i get it you guys like gals to wear matured, feminine, high class clothes,, but thats not every girls cup of tea..at least not mine..i dont see myself a 20yr old tryin to dres like a 30 yr old..i'll get there when i get there..

-end- what a rant! pheww

wah a serious post from meru laugh.gif

silverhawk
post Oct 14 2008, 03:28 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Oct 14 2008, 03:27 PM)
apela...siok sendiri je...borinnnn alahhhh ya allllahhhhh
apa ni, sudah masuk islam ke? tongue.gif
silverhawk
post Oct 14 2008, 08:17 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Oct 14 2008, 05:35 PM)
i have friends who study eng ed..but they think like chinese ed ppl..meaning they suck at their english..and listen to chinese songs only..
hence why I've been telling you guys its not about where you study, but your overall upbringing and mentality.
silverhawk
post Nov 5 2008, 03:05 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(klaze @ Nov 5 2008, 12:37 AM)
yes is it i do survey before  icon_idea.gif
your survey got not enough people laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Nov 6 2008, 12:11 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Nov 5 2008, 09:20 PM)
is eng cultured... cultured... not ed... sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
what is culture if not a form of education? smile.gif

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Nov 5 2008, 11:45 PM)
mentality of chinese and eng cannot combine lar... if chinese love to eat bah kut teh and eng love burger so combine become bah kut burger...? rclxub.gif
why kenot? I enjoy both laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Nov 6 2008, 01:44 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(AHCK @ Nov 6 2008, 09:40 AM)
HAHA !  the underate part i din mean u bt soemone else .
N also ... where u live at technomancer???
frm wat i knw part of de ppl frm sri damansara n kepong are mostly chinese and eng  edu n i dun mean appearance wise .
i mean they can speak both eng n chinese , most of the time , they hav interst just like chinese edu girls like wtach some korean n taiwanese draama, listen to jay chou alot bt they hav de attitude just like eng edu girl where they are are open n not kiasu...

btw i htink im a chinese n eng edu guy... i can speak eng n chinese .
i wacth both asian drama series and english shows
attitude wise .... i aint kiasu n im open , but when someone pisses me off ill giv them a very hard time for good
i use to have lala hair bt now i have less lala hair ( dunno y i talk bt my hair ! ^^ " not relevant !) lol
you call that english?
silverhawk
post Nov 6 2008, 09:00 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Nov 6 2008, 08:53 PM)
our idea of english and the normal malaysian idea of english is very different. lol
hence the english ed. vs chinese ed. laugh.gif
I guess most people "think" they are english ed, but are really more to the chinese ed. spectrum.

This post has been edited by silverhawk: Nov 6 2008, 09:01 PM
silverhawk
post Dec 12 2008, 08:19 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(KirklandLee @ Dec 12 2008, 06:37 PM)
Anyway, bear in mind. Japanese people are also chinese people, they're language is the ancient language dialect in china.

If you want to say this, then we might as well say the chinese people are actually african people. All races, regardless of geographic location are somewhat related, so to call the Japanese people, Chinese people, is a display of incredible arrogance and ignorance. They have grown into their own culture and language thousands of years ago.

However, if you notice while they're in their teens of course it will be childish or immature thinking or thoughts.

Teens are immature, regardless of the way they're brought up laugh.gif

QUOTE(peinsama @ Dec 12 2008, 07:05 PM)
Put it this way, how do we actually describe a banana? Do we categorize them because of their level of education and language proficiency? Do we describe them because of the friends they hang out with? Or perhaps their family background? Or the chicks the guys hang out with? Regardless, this term 'banana' shouldn't be exist at all. It's true, we need a certain grouping so that we can easily identify them, but sadly, grouping only causes more hating, stereotyping and thinking narrowly towards one another nowadays. Not just english but chinese as well. Guess you ever heard the 'la la', 'ah beng', 'ah seng', term. We're trying so hard to be descriptive to ourselves and yet we forgot how our description might have as well hurt others. That's the flaw i sensed in each of us. Just like you said, natural. Sad isn't it? Which is why if we prolong such argument to find out which one is better over the other based on a certain quality or more as a point of reference, i don't think we are able to reach a conclusion unless there is no conclusion at all.

Bro, the term banana is very simple. Its a chinese who can't speak chinese. Yellow outside, white inside. You simply cannot escape grouping people, it will always exists whether you like it or not, and even you will do it yourself too. What you can do, is not judge people by the stereotypes. Don't be surprised however when majority of such people fit into their stereotypes tongue.gif

Besides, i'm proud to rojak three languages together laugh.gif

laugh.gif who isn't smile.gif I can't speak chinese properly, but I know enough words/phrases to mix it with malay and english tongue.gif
silverhawk
post Dec 12 2008, 08:25 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(KirklandLee @ Dec 12 2008, 08:21 PM)
Then I also can say we humans are actually apes. As we speak I am eating a banana.  biggrin.gif
you monkey!
silverhawk
post Dec 13 2008, 01:35 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(lux @ Dec 13 2008, 12:43 AM)
Are u a proud, self-declared banana? biggrin.gif In my book, as long as u're able to speak at least ONE dialect of Chinese, u're no banana. A banana is defined as someone who knows very very little to zero Chinese. But I wonder why are u so determined, even refusing to learn how to write? hmm.gif Actually, I would kinda disagree with ur comment that "teachers and parents "mind wash" them with very very negative and greedy thoughts". What do u mean by negative? The Chinese-ed people I know so far are so diligent, and are always continually striving to improve themselves personally and professionally that their dedication puts me to shame. blush.gif I also personally think that the reason Chinese-ed people seldom mix with other races is due to their environment. It shapes them. The ones who have a decent grasp of other languages do socialize and are open towards other races too. Also, I think the abundance of Chinese media that are readily available plays a role in their "narrow mindedness". They don't really need to keep in tune with other languages to survive in Malaysia, save for BM of course. English is only an option for them if they want to expand their horizons, but otherwise, they'll survive.

I agree that the chinese have their "own world" that they don't really need to socialise outside with other people. This isn't good really, but it does allow them to stay within their comfort zone. The Japanese are like this too, I wonder if its an Asian thing. I noticed that Chinese educated people tend to be less culturally curious, as in they don't really bother knowing and experiencing foreign culture.

and yes, you can't really beat/fault the diligence Chinese ed brings, its quite admirable really. Though most of the time, they work so hard... yet still can't seem to "get it". Their mindset creates very straight-forward values, sometimes completely missing the essence of things. The easiest way to see it is through fashion/sophistication. Something you can't really quantify with values.. but rather with feeling.

One thing that's gotten me to question about English-ed people...is their tendancy to adopt English names. As far as I know, not every Chinese person who has an English name is necessarily Christian. I have English-ed friends who tell me that being called by their Chinese name makes them feel uncomfortable, and unnerving. I really wonder what is up with that. It's as if they are ashamed of their Chinese roots, that's why they shun their Chinese names, and or refuse to speak/learn Chinese. Well, of course, not everyone is like that yeah. smile.gif

I've not qualms being called by my chinese name, actually my IC doesn't even have my English name laugh.gif and even that's only used by family/really close friends. I'm a pure banana too laugh.gif

That said though, its a pain in the ass if you don't have an english name. When you fill up forms, they split it up by first name/last name. With a chinese name, how are you going to fill that up? If you put First name: Phua, Last name: Chu Kang, they'll refer to you as "Mr. Chu Kang", if you do it the proper way, the name is then printed "Chu Kang Phua" which is just weird.

Now what is really hilarious, is chinese ed people adopting english names. They don't know the meaning of the word, and just because it sounds nice, the adopt it into their name. I've heard a girl introduce herself as "kinky" laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
silverhawk
post Dec 13 2008, 01:51 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(lux @ Dec 13 2008, 02:58 AM)
Okay, the thing about forms. Firstly, why on earth, in the first place, are Malaysians even adapting these "foreign" forms to be used locally? Of course, if it's international, that's forgivable la. Okay, one thing I really have to agree is the Chinese-eds' fascination with really strange and "unique" so-called-English names. I've heard a bunch of silly things, some sounding like they've been butchered brutally from a few different names, and others like "Ferry". Which is so gay. shakehead.gif But you've got to admit, they don't exactly take those names seriously.
QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Dec 13 2008, 12:31 PM)
Lol you don't say, I know people who their names are "Pikker" and "Stuyd"!!
Now WTF kind of names are those?!!! is it even english?! They're better off calling themselves "Pucker" and "Stupid"
Seriously...

laugh.gif One of the best names I heard recently... was "Jolin"... doesn't sound too bad ya? Well... its a guy tongue.gif Boy did we have a field day with that one laugh.gif He has since changed his name laugh.gif

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Dec 13 2008, 03:48 AM)
I wonder why do we need to compare english ed vs chinese ed when both of them don't mix anyway?

I for one, am english ed, sure as hell, never was, and never will be attracted to a chinese ed girl

and

I am pretty damn sure, it never happened before, and probably never will ever be that a chinese ed girl be attracted to an english ed guy... (well of course this is yet to be debated but then again the chances are so so slim)

So why not, lets just let the chinese ed guys have the chinese ed girls and the english ed girls have the english ed guys for the romance part,

and as for friends, lets just all be friendly and don't seclude yourself away just because of language barrier because we're all still people after all.

nod.gif

I mix with all, though I mix better with english ed people, I really have no problem mixing with Chinese ed at all as friends/romantically. Although chinese ed girls tend to have qualities which I do not want in a girl, not all girls are like that smile.gif Even english ed girls have undesirable qualities sometimes. Get to know the person, and you will more often than not, be surprised smile.gif

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Dec 13 2008, 12:42 PM)
define dating styles lol
what kind of dating style is considered chinese ed and what kind of style is considered english ed??
Now you got me interested lol, i never knew there were different 'styles' of dating haha
puhleese enlighten me

The difference is quite stark. How they act/express themselves on dates/in-private, how they handle problems etc. English ed girls tend to be more open, talkative, expressive and confrontational and chinese ed girls are the opposite. More closed, quiet and passive-aggressive. Once again, generalisations, but you can observe this really. Go to a mall, just sit down and watch couples passing by, you'll find the english ed looking ones are normally talking or something, but the chinese ed ones tend to be quite and girl usually has a "blank" expression on her face laugh.gif

Oh... and english ed guys tend to be more romantic tongue.gif I mention this earlier about how somethings have to be "felt", most of the chinese ed guys I know just "don't get" romance.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0591sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:20 AM