yes i oso encounter the same ting.
but i can surf website without dll torrent. then you may surf net.
wen u stop surf net then i just trigger dll torrent.
Wireless Broadband iZZinet Wireless Broadband Thread, iBurst Technology !
Feb 29 2008, 08:14 AM
1,860 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: KL |
yes i oso encounter the same ting.
but i can surf website without dll torrent. then you may surf net. wen u stop surf net then i just trigger dll torrent. |
Feb 29 2008, 08:19 AM
350 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Wait, are you suggesting that it's my torrents downloading that's causing the slowdown?
I'm getting 5kb/s download on uTorrent, so I don't think it's sucking up all the bandwidth. Unless there really isn't that much bandwidth to share in the first place. Anyway, I'll reboot, turn off uTorrent and see if there's any effect on my surfing speed. |
Mar 1 2008, 12:12 AM
3 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
hi eric,
thanks for your reply. I'm staying in Taman Miharja, the apartment next to Jusco Maluri. Just get iZZi for 1 week. What do you mean by setting up configuration problems? I mention b4 that when it dc, i have to plug out the terminal, then plug in again, then only i can get connected again, if i did not plug out the terminal when it dc, and just dial like that, i will b getting the same error message as below. (sorry, don't know y i couldn't do the screencaps, so i type it out for you) Error Connecitng to iZZI Connecting through WAN Miniport (PPPOE) Error 815: The braodband network connection could not be established on your computer because the remote server is not responding. This could be caused by an invalid value for the "Service NAme" field for this connection. Please contact your Internet Service Provider and inquire about the correct value for this field and update it in the Connection Properties. If you continue to receive error messages, you can enable logging for analysis. My question is - a) what is the 'valid value' for the service name? b) i now putting the terminal near window, ok, i'm getting 100% signal and d speed is ok, but after 20 min later it will dc again. Everyday I online from 8pm to 1130pm and surely get dc at least 5 times per night. Perharps you can advice me. Coz i email d sales ppl, they just say will refer to the technician and never reply my email. thanks. |
Mar 2 2008, 12:42 PM
321 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(kwackers @ Feb 29 2008, 07:57 AM) Ok, I'm curious to know if anyone has had a similar experience as I have: nothing wrong with your signal. It's because your area start to have more and more izzi user. One tower support 50 users, and 24 Mbps downstream. So, if all the 50 user use the service fully (p2p or ftp for example), your max speed will drop to half. (simple math). I signed up with iZZi, and during the first week, the speed was fantastic. But after the first week, my speed started dropping, to the point where it is now officially slower than what I used to get from Streamyx. And I'm not even talking about torrents. I'm just trying to surf the web and play Scrabulous on Facebook. And I'm sitting here, twiddling my thumbs, waiting for the damned pages to load. iZZi support has been pretty lousy. I took screenshots of my bandwidth speed tests and sent it to them nearly a month ago. Called a few times since then to follow-up, but they just keep saying that they've notified their tech people and they'll get back to me soon. I've got 100% signal strength, and I got really good speed during my first week of subscription, so I doubt it's an issue with my location, the coverage area, or any of my network settings. Nothing has changed. I never thought I'd encounter a broadband provider crappy enough to make me consider going back to Streamyx, but here I am. Comments? Suggestions? It happen to some of us, including me. Its only...i already fedup and let it be...as I did with streamyx before. Customer service...hmm...entahla labu. |
Mar 2 2008, 09:09 PM
14 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
My laptop is on the same table in the same room, but now I have difficulty getting a consistent high signal strength, compared to two weeks ago. Also, the bandwidth significantly dropped. Anyone around the Damansara Perdana area got the same problem?
Mar 3 2008, 03:05 AM
281 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, Malaysia |
Damansara perdana line had not been very stable all this while as there are other RF interruption that is built near to the base station.
Mar 3 2008, 11:11 PM
524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Mar 3 2008, 11:22 PM
currently, to my understanding, there is only izzi using RF...thats why even during rainy season, there are no interruption on the signal. Correct me if i am wrong.
Mar 3 2008, 11:37 PM
524 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Anodize @ Mar 3 2008, 11:22 PM) currently, to my understanding, there is only izzi using RF...thats why even during rainy season, there are no interruption on the signal. Correct me if i am wrong. I tried really hard to understand what you've just said. So, is there or is there not RF inteference, on basis of what you've said in an earlier posting (#26)? |
Mar 4 2008, 02:15 AM
well... to my understanding, there is RF interference but have to confirm with the technical ppl.
Mar 4 2008, 09:12 AM
3 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
Is I'm not mistaken... maybe there are some RF interference with that one use by Sri Pentas building.. and I heard izzi based tower are built at the same place too.BTW about bandwidth. it getting slow and slow now.. From my apartment at Flora Damansara, 7th floor, I only manage to get less than 300kbps only.. and the answer was very easy.. coz many people are using it already..
I also test it at my sister house at Pandan Indah, new based tower ( Feb 08 ) at 90% signal,the speed are around 600+kbps.. I'm wonder the speed if the signal was 100% huhu |
Mar 4 2008, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(zairol79 @ Mar 4 2008, 09:12 AM) Is I'm not mistaken... maybe there are some RF interference with that one use by Sri Pentas building.. and I heard izzi based tower are built at the same place too.BTW about bandwidth. it getting slow and slow now.. From my apartment at Flora Damansara, 7th floor, I only manage to get less than 300kbps only.. and the answer was very easy.. coz many people are using it already.. This is the the test of 100% signal in Pandan Indah.I also test it at my sister house at Pandan Indah, new based tower ( Feb 08 ) at 90% signal,the speed are around 600+kbps.. I'm wonder the speed if the signal was 100% huhu |
Mar 4 2008, 12:24 PM
439 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
i m also a subscriber of Izzi.Currently i mostly use it at Kepong.The fact is most of the time the connection is really bad,until i cant even open one page,eg google.Before i subscribed,the salesperson said that the coverage is quite ok in Kepong but in the end this is not true.I tried to email them on this problem but no reply from them.I think i will just discontinue my subscription and ask for refund.After all,it doesnt really worth it at all.
Mar 4 2008, 02:41 PM
Like i say it before. Many izzi sales person would focus on their sales. they do not care much about the feedback of their customer because its not their business. All they know is to hit their monthly target so that they could get extra cash. I do not encourage end users to buy directly without doing a test run first. Still, if anybody want to subscribe, kindly contact me.
Mar 4 2008, 05:40 PM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Hi Eric,
I considering of getting an izzipro to use with my two pc. Can it use with my existing router w/modem aztech dsl3100r? Thanks Steven |
Mar 4 2008, 06:53 PM
Izzipro could be used with routers but not a router modem. My suggestion would be for you to sell of that modem, buy an ethernet card so that you can link both PC together to go online using one as the main com. Else you will have to consider to buy a new router after selling your router modem.
Mar 4 2008, 07:01 PM
11,594 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Area 51 |
Got one for myself, apparently signal in Wangsa Maju is super duper strong, but terribly weak in USJ 5
Mar 4 2008, 07:18 PM
Cuz there is a tower in Wangsa Maju area while is USJ, the tower is at USJ 1. The distance between USJ 1 and USJ 5 is pretty far thus making the signal weaker.
Mar 4 2008, 10:02 PM
2,114 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: East |
QUOTE(Anodize @ Mar 3 2008, 11:22 PM) currently, to my understanding, there is only izzi using RF...thats why even during rainy season, there are no interruption on the signal. Correct me if i am wrong. U r right. RF is not interrupted by rain.QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Mar 4 2008, 07:01 PM) Got one for myself, apparently signal in Wangsa Maju is super duper strong, but terribly weak in USJ 5 Yes. WM very very strong BTW, i downgrded fr usb to slot d liao....n i feel slot one faster than usb...duno if its my hardware matter but surely the difference btw slot n usb is very big for me |
Mar 4 2008, 11:21 PM
i didn't know there is a downgrading service...
but since you feel that usb is slower than your pcmcia, i believe is your hardware that causes it. |
| Change to: | 0.0308sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:58 PM |