this topic really attracted me coz i was once almost conned by them. now this happened several years back and it's still quite fresh in my mind.
i was a college student and used to live in the hostel, and i was very close to my next door roommate, Michelle.
Michelle had this guy classmate (Ralph) who always ask her out, but she didnt go. Now Michelle is a party girl so one day, he asked her out to a party. He said it was his 'part-time job' boss party and he could bring anyone. And so he told Michelle that she could bring anyone too.
So she took me along.
When we arrived there (i really cant remember the place), the place was filled with 90% young people & 10% older people, in total about 70-80 people. Music was loud. Alot of drinks. It was a private karaoke lounge if not mistaken.
Everyone greeted us when we walked in. EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM was SOOOOO FRIENDLY to us. I have never experienced that in my life! Never felt so welcome before..
So we ate, dance, drink sang a bday song, bla bla bla... Occasionally they shouted their MLM cheer (but we didnt know what it was all about and we didnt care coz we were having fun)... Some really hot guys took our phone numbers but NOBODY talked bout business that night. one of them was Patrick.
When we were leaving, we waited at the lobby (Me, Michelle and Ralph). We were going to take a taxi. It was pretty obvious the taxi stand was down the road, but Ralph insisted that hiring a cab at the lobby will be easy. That was when we saw the rest of the people waiting for jockey to bring their flashy cars, BMW, AUDI, MERC, you name it. Me and Michelle was thinking like wow! we just scored ourselves some rich guys. but we didnt realise that was a tactic..
Ok, so over the next few days, Ralph didnt really bother us, until about 1 week later he did a follow up with us by having tea with us. Of course we asked him where he got to know those people (him being a student himself) and what to the rich hot guys work as. He didnt tell us. He said if we are interested to know more, he will bring us to their work place.
We went to HLA the very next day. everyone was dressed in suit and tie. So damn smart lor.. I saw Patrick again, and attempted to smile at him, but he clearly didnt remember me at all. Then i realise got something fishy d..
They took us into the 'meeting hall', we there were many small tables and about 3-4 people per table. mostly chinese. and they sat us down on 1 table and started telling us about LB. Took us to tour around the office.. show us Estebel products and all the oils and lamps from the cheap to the most expensive. even went up to the Duke rooms. and then i realised wah.. Patrick is an Arch Duke... *fall in love* straight... and NOBODY talked about money that day..
coupla days later, Ralph asked us out again to the office. Me and Michelle were quite interested to learn more and earn more. So we went.
Was briefed by 2 girls (Sylvia and 1 more cant remember her name) and they told us about the RM2345 + RM150 thing.. we were quite surprised and kinda demotivated la... where got so much money... they ask us to go back and think about it and then let them know if we are interested.
After that day, Sylvia kept asking us out to go clubbing. We also kept going la.. And everytime we wondered, wah they got so much money... and each time also me and Michelle no need to pay.. This went on about 2-3 weeks.
Then she kept making appointment with us to go back to their office to discuss further.. we kept hesitating but one day we decided to go back la. They really seem like they have alot of money.
So we told them we dont have the money.. then they made a loud announcement half way thru the discussion. "This is our COUNT SYLVIA who just made RM10k last month!" and everyone in the hall cheered.
walaueh we were so greedy we were so interested. and they said they cannot help us financially but they can help us to think of ways to raise the money:
step 1 - ask from parents
if step 1 fail, step 2 - ask from friends
if step 2 fail, step 3 - sell off your computer and mobile phone (they said CONFIRM can get it back within 2 months)
if step 1,2,3 fail, skip 1 semester and use the money to pay (but dont tell parents).
when i heard that.. i became suspicious d. but i pretend like im still interested and still continue to feed on their free clubbing la..
i then got to know a guy, BeXXXX, who was a Duke. He is from another group. He kept asking me to go out with him. I was thinking he wana tarik me and put me under his team.
But it turned out, he liked me and he told me not to fall for the scheme. He said that everyone there is just putting a show. One BMW is shared and maintained by 3-4 people and they take turns to drive them. Most of them are in debt, especially the 'COUNT' and Marquie. BeXXXX is also driving a BMW but he is also a banker so his BMW is paid using his salary la. He is there to earn some very rewarding extra money.. he also said, first they will persuade you to sign up for RM2345 + RM150. but after signing up, they will tell u RM30k level gives you a higher % in return... in the end who earn? the arch dukes and of coz, steven yeam.
So in the end, me and michelle stopped going to their office. Sylvia and Ralph kept calling us, we rejected her and told her we were not interested to do business..
In the end after that semester, Ralph quit his studies to focus on his 'business'. I am not sure what happened to him after that or how he ended up. Maybe one of the arch dukes? Maybe not? I dont know.. but i thank god he sent me BeXXXX to wake me up. I almost fell for the trap.
You are right, I was about 20 years old, and they target people around that age coz we are very very much easier to influence.
So anyway, thanks for reading =) and please.. warn all ur friends who might fall into their trap!
Lampe Berger & Estebel Issues V III, Beware of DCHL,SYN and RZ Corporation!
Feb 22 2013, 02:26 PM
0.2303sec
5 queries