10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V6), Will AMD alive??

ah_khoo
post Feb 25 2008, 09:03 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 25 2008, 08:33 AM)
Changed, yet still shows something like that, but if I insist to continue to windows even the message appear, it act normally, only everything will go back to default... means that the FSB = 200, etc etc...
wat bios d board is loaded with currently? try to flash to 0605, latest one are quite buggy to me. everything back to default becoz d system is unstable. smile.gif

put htt to 200 and crank up d cpu multi. if not playin w multi buy b.e for wat... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Feb 25 2008, 09:06 AM
ah_khoo
post Feb 25 2008, 10:09 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 25 2008, 09:49 AM)
5000+ BE can go up to 4Ghz and above lar...

Why not 3.3GHz?? Only need a better cooling on the proc.

bro, if most b.e can hit 4.0GHz easily we should see some have done that here... those found in d net mite be of golden batch. "normal" 5000+ b.e usually walled @ 3.2GHz or near that range.  smile.gif

Added on February 25, 2008, 9:54 am
Wokey wokey, 2 big bro scolded me sad.gif tongue.gif joking lar... sweat.gif

@ ah_khoo,
You mean the old bios? Current one is the new one.. I think Biostar officially released 3 type only... I'll check it out later...
Btw, the reason i lowered my multiplier because I want to OC my RAM in stable status lar... Everytime over 3GHz and orthos fail.

tongue.gif since the start I already ignored my RAM OC and push my limit...
It's as same as reviewed stated.

Stock Vcore @ 3.1GHz (15.5X200)
Vcore +0.05 @ 3.2GHz (16X200)

Above than this I don't dare to try as I had only stock cooler sweat.gif Somebody, donate me some crappy cooler please notworthy.gif laugh.gif sweat.gif
go to rebelheaven's forum to download d 0605 bios. wink.gif

since ur limited by ya coolin, u can:

- try to find how far ya chip can go w stock voltage.
- play w d cpu multi by not touchin d htt, oc sometimes are limited by high htt. by usin lower htt, u won't be hittin d wall so early.

ya ram is of wat chippies? blink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Feb 25 2008, 10:22 AM
ah_khoo
post Feb 25 2008, 12:40 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 25 2008, 12:22 PM)
sweat.gif What my problem?? Don't have any problem sleep.gif
Since the beginning, someone said 5000+ BE cannot reach 3.3Ghz.... So I deny that phrases only lor.. then the story continues laugh.gif
reachin certain speed is one thing, passing orthos is another. for me, highest clock is just for benchin purpose, on 24/7, i wud run d settin that passed orthos. smile.gif

just get a hyper tx will do if ur not goin for mad oc, cheap & gud. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Feb 25 2008, 12:41 PM
ah_khoo
post Feb 25 2008, 01:30 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Feb 25 2008, 01:23 PM)
IFX-14 ? Monster cooler there ! Thinking of getting that one but not in the moment, somehow its kinda overprice.

Anyway damn sad weyh lotsa 4000+ Brisbane G1 surpass me, used to be second behind beast not at 6th place dah cry.gif
why bother while u already got ya hands on super f3. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 25 2008, 04:46 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Feb 25 2008, 04:13 PM)
dun have the mood..
bro, when wanna change platform?? or still love amd.. for me i still love amd, coz of the oc step that make it more interesting..

for intel:
when have good cooling+money.. sure can.. drool.gif
intel oc veli fast to get bored leh... yawn.gif

amd more challengin... brows.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 26 2008, 10:30 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Feb 26 2008, 09:27 AM)
why suddenly calling my name..noobie onli..  blink.gif
i think to stay patiently..waa amd plz come out with new gems.. i want.. laugh.gif
dun expects too much from amd bro, i just hope that they can produce good oc chips like d f3s. performance wise aint matter to me much as i'm not a figures addict... laugh.gif

b2 batch of phenoms were really a let down, i'm expectin atleast 40 ~ 50% of oc can be done but... doh.gif fingers crossed till d afforable tri-core available. w/ d defective core 02 disabled, hopefully they can clock better. oc just for d sake of fun, not after figures as not matter how far we push, d current amd chips can't compite w intel chips. if figures (which doesn't mean much in day to day usage) really THAT important, then one should not go for amd (not untill they come out w better architecture). smile.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 26 2008, 07:00 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Feb 26 2008, 05:12 PM)
even if AMD solve the TLB bug, still it need to sacrifice the performance...
we can see it through the TLB patch...
even the up coming B3 still got the TLB bug...
even the up coming triple core B2 still got the TLB bug...
even the Phenom 9600 BE max can go up to 2.6ghz...
AMD lost to Intel not juz in performance, even in Efficiency...

lookie here:

http://en.thethirdmedia.com/Article/200801...w7315c12p1.html

the upcoming intel nehelem some rumour say that it will not use FSB anymore... some say that it will use something like the AMD HTT...
somemore problem for AMD...
with their 5 billion debt for buying ATi, i dun think AMD could survive... but as long as there are still unbreakable AMD fans, hopefully AMD can last a while longer...
even i read somewhere that IBM will maybe buying AMD (rumours.. not sure whether its true or not..)

well for those who wants performance, better switch sides juz for a while until AMD can get back on its feet... hehehehe...
AMD disappoint me... waited for phenom hoping that it will at least be OCable to 3.6 or maybe 4.0 but... haih...
and yes.. to OC AMD is thrilling... still remember back in the old AthlonXp days...
but.. but... i like AMD... before this it never disappoint me... still doubting myself whether go to the darkside or not... haih...

Added on February 26, 2008, 5:14 pm

i dun think that the upcoming tri-core can clock better... they are still using the B2 batch for the tri-core...
well.. we can wait and see... coming soon Q2-Q3 2008
fyi bro, i just switched back from intel to amd, thou it was just an e2140, but after oc it managed swept most of d f3 in terms of super pi and some other benchmark softwares. but still i prefer amd in term of $$$ (realistic am i tongue.gif ), other than that oc w intel is just too bored for me, mebe d oc was effortless thats i can't find much joy playin w it. biggrin.gif

for sure amd won't catch up w intel (in term of performance, but $$$ wise brows.gif ) so soon, even w b3 users still need to accept d fact intel is far more superior. amd will survive for sure, else intel will monopolize d cpu market which is something shouldn't happened (else intel will sell their chips @ even higher $$$). nod.gif

as for d tri-core, i just hope that there'll be few batches that can clock like d f3 we have here. ofcoz am not askin all tri-core phenoms can clock like mad coz that's too imposible. imagine all am2 x2 can clock like f3, will there be ppl buyin higher / highest end like be or x2 5x00/6x00... smile.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Feb 26 2008, 07:01 PM
ah_khoo
post Feb 26 2008, 08:14 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Feb 26 2008, 07:49 PM)
err.. about the post before got some mistake.. the B3 batch confirm no TLB bug... sorry...  wrong info.. heheheh
so we wait for the B3 batch to come out..
I'm holding out for the B3. I'm giving AMD until June for this. At that point, I will upgrade to whatever is fastest between Intel and AMD for less than $300. If the Phenom B3 can overclock to 3+ ghz, then I will probably go with that over an E8500, but if not then a 4.3ghz E8500 here I come.

E21xx series are little intel monster.. cheap and 100% OCable... for the E2160 can reached to 3.0ghz with its stock vcore... 3.2ghz @ 1.45 and 3.6ghz @ 1.5 above(depend on luck)
intel nowdays are almost easy to OC (tested with roomate rig E6600... hehehehe...)

for the tri-core proc, AMD will be using the B2 batch and i doubt it can clock like F3...
im also not asking for phenom to be able to clock like F3 juz at least 50-90% OCable...
other than d tlb bugs, defective core 02 is d reason behind d incapability of b2 phenoms to clock high. some reported that d defective core can't even run stock speed stablely, let alone overclocked speed. hopefully tri-core phenoms (actually just a b2 phenoms w one core disabled) can clock better. smile.gif

i'll be happy if i can get a 3.0GHz tri-core phenoms (not w/ insane voltage for sure). laugh.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 27 2008, 09:20 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(sempronic @ Feb 27 2008, 08:53 AM)
the OC capabilities is not great coz Phenom originally design for a server usage....
maybe AMD thinking that why server need to OC?? sweat.gif

They should not forget about thier FAN & Overclocker.....WE NEED TO OC COZ IT REALLY TEMTING!!! drool.gif  drool.gif
previous At the time they compete with P4, the Athlon XP sure kicking ass killer for the Barton core.
Then AMD keep improving till the 64bit out...then intel copy the 64bit technology.....so AMD should make some killer proc....dont forget all the FAN & the Overclocker.... tongue.gif
bro, phenom are for desktop, barcelona are for servers. smile.gif

if tri-core phenoms are sellin @ price of intel e2x00 series, i'm quite sure there'll be users from intel jump ship to amd again (but provided they fix d tlb thingy and can clock better, not 2.5 / 2.6GHz only)... nod.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 27 2008, 12:01 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Feb 27 2008, 09:57 AM)
it maybe can be clock better but i doubt the performance could even match C2Q... well at least it OC able...

AMD should do to phenom juz like wat they do to Barcelona...
when the TLB was found, all the shipped barcelona was taken back but phenom was still on sale int the market...
some pros say that AMD announce the TLB issues maybe juz to cover up the bad performance of the phenom...
i think the TLB issues should not be announce coz TLB prob is kinda hard to occur unless the computer uses heavy load... combination of activities... usually we see this on servers...
for sure phenoms can't match c2q, they even have problem to catch up w c2d i supposed. AMD have to announce d tlb problem else companies / comsumer can sue them for sellin defective products. sweat.gif

well, d unmatched performance is expected, wat i want is oc'able chips, am not askin too much, am i? tongue.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 27 2008, 04:26 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Feb 27 2008, 04:25 PM)
Any Recommendation For AM2 Motherboard..

My Mobo Seems Failure..

Haven Sent For Testing Yet....
what kinda failure ur referrin to bro? mind to tell more bout ya problem? smile.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 27 2008, 05:40 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

yup, prepare yaslf for d 3-core phenom or even b3 quaddies... drool.gif

no point goin backward since d am2+ boards are available now. wink.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 27 2008, 11:25 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 27 2008, 10:36 PM)
here's the deal ...
last time i ran 3 hours of stable orthos and another 2 hours to confirm

today, i tried running orthos and its stopped at 9minutes, 7minutes and 7minutes respectively .. all 3 of those test ended up with failure in core #1 (i assume 1st core called #0)

is it that core faulty odi ??  sweat.gif
nope, it's not faulty. actually it's kinda normal (atleast in my case). i got experienced that i can do certain clock at certain speed stable on one day, but after few day of usage, that certain speed is no longer prime stable with d certain voltage. this show how strong a chip is, if ya chip is strong enough, it can sustain d oc clock, if not, it'll simply failed. smile.gif

other than that, temperature might greatly affect d stabilty of overclocked chip. wink.gif

pls correct me if i'm wrong... notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Feb 27 2008, 11:25 PM
ah_khoo
post Feb 28 2008, 11:05 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(tictac @ Feb 28 2008, 10:57 AM)
why so many biostar fan here? sweat.gif
coz' they are affordable & gud bro. any chance for u to mod d bios for us? brows.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 28 2008, 03:04 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Feb 28 2008, 02:36 PM)
i cant run 3dmark06 on 2900XT in winXP..but win vista no problem...

@casperisto,i just sold your card la..hoho..
prolly dot net frame work thingy? smile.gif
ah_khoo
post Feb 28 2008, 11:03 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Feb 28 2008, 10:42 PM)
Want Update Urs Guyz Here..

That ASUS M2NE Really High Failure Rate...

Just Sent My Mobo To Czone..

They Tested..My Display Card Slot No Problem.

But The Problem Is Can't Install OS, Keep Hanging...
asus's bios is a 'lil bit tricky, u gotta play w/ it for sometimes b4 get used to it. try to google around which bios is d most stable one & flash ya board w it, remember, d latest is not always d most stable one. had some hardtime dealin w d bios back in s939 days w their x-fire board. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Feb 28 2008, 11:07 PM
ah_khoo
post Feb 29 2008, 07:42 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

there's always quite b4 d storm... brows.gif

ah_khoo
post Feb 29 2008, 07:58 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Feb 29 2008, 07:48 PM)
adiccted edi sweat.gif
because someone spread d decease here loh... whistling.gif

anyway, d pair aint doin so well on previous owner, 1000 @ 5-5-5-x. hmmm... hopefully my lauyah f3 can brin out d best outta it. may d force be w me... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Feb 29 2008, 08:08 PM
ah_khoo
post Feb 29 2008, 08:07 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Feb 29 2008, 08:01 PM)
previous owner dunno to oc sweat.gif laugh.gif
i dunno how to oc too mah... wub.gif

he's sorta gamer than a overclocker, just hope for d best, but i'm not expectin too much, 1100 will do... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Feb 29 2008, 08:08 PM
ah_khoo
post Feb 29 2008, 08:15 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Feb 29 2008, 08:09 PM)
my proc still cant push more than 2.5ghz.. cry.gif

not even boot when im doing 240*11..1.392v..vdimm 2.1v..
pls state ya config detail so that sifus here can help u... smile.gif

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:34 AM