an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

Compaq CQ40 series...

but the monitor is 14"...
astria
post Nov 24 2008, 12:03 AM

22,158 posts

for the price of the Sony and Dell, i suggest u top up a bit more for BenQ S42...
astria
post Nov 24 2008, 12:57 AM

22,158 posts

low spec??? lol, the CPU and graphic of S42 pwns any of the 4 notebooks u listed here...

if u insist on either of the 4, i would take Acer 4930G, average CPU with average graphic
astria
post Nov 24 2008, 06:42 AM

22,158 posts

C2D P8400, GeForce 9600M GT, 2GB RAM
astria
post Nov 24 2008, 12:34 PM

22,158 posts

during PC fair...

now most are selling the P8400 one... i heard is RM3299...

P8600 one is RM3499...
astria
post Nov 24 2008, 04:44 PM

22,158 posts

for budget, CQ40 is a good choice...
astria
post Nov 25 2008, 01:17 AM

22,158 posts

for girl and not too heavy...

considered Nettops before???
astria
post Nov 25 2008, 12:29 PM

22,158 posts

can't find R58, but for R43, the graphic is: SiS Mirageā„¢ 3+ Shared(max. to 256MB)

u 'll regret getting it... it's worse than GMA...
astria
post Nov 25 2008, 03:45 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(fr4nz7 @ Nov 25 2008, 03:05 PM)
Nettops...neverheard
more detail plz
those like EEE PC, Wind, Aspire One...

8.9" or 10" monitor, weight dun exceed 1.5kg

spec wise, it's not as powerful as a full fledge laptop, but biggest advantage is weight, mobility, price and battery life...

Added on November 25, 2008, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(PCHo @ Nov 25 2008, 02:39 PM)
Thinking of getting a laptop soon.
So need some help or advice here.

Torn between getting a Eee PC for its extreme mobility...
and BenQ's S42 for its performance and features...

Any users here who can tell me the pros and cons of owning either one?
My applications for the laptop would be mostly for surfing the internet, watching movies, editing photos and maybe some old school games like Starcraft or Diablo 2.

My biggest concerns, listed by priority would be:
1) Mobility (smaller size & weight below 2kg would b nice)
2) Performance (multiple webpages, photo editing & games)
3) Storage (more of course better)
4) Heat (I might on my laptop 24 hours a day)

I know striking a balance between all my priorities is no easy task.
But I was hoping someone with experience in laptops might have better suggestions since this would b my 1st laptop purchase.

Thanks in advance~!
icon_rolleyes.gif
Nettop satisfy 1) and 4)

S42 satisfy 2), 3) and 4)

most 13" laptops have a much weaker graphic then S42...

or perhaps Asus N10J, Nettop spec, but with 320GB HDD and GeForce 9300M GS... dun expect gaming will be great though...

personally i will still prefer S42

Added on November 25, 2008, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(osxchd @ Nov 25 2008, 12:40 PM)
okok... from the website r58 is IntelĀ® GMA X4500HD
better then R43, but 15" with GMA juz looks funny to me...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 25 2008, 03:48 PM
astria
post Nov 26 2008, 04:18 PM

22,158 posts

real special...

Pentium Dual Core, thx...

i though all dv5 use Montevina T9000s instead???
astria
post Nov 26 2008, 04:25 PM

22,158 posts

can, but dun expect very good performance even when used with 9600M GT...

i suggest u look for non-special model instead... they come with the latest 45nm C2D T9000s

or BenQ S42, pretty good price/performance ratio (C2D P8400 + 9600M GT)

Added on November 26, 2008, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(osxchd @ Nov 26 2008, 04:21 PM)
any1 recommend asus?
Asus is good, especially their warranty... 2 yr int'l warranty...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 26 2008, 04:26 PM
astria
post Nov 26 2008, 09:10 PM

22,158 posts

i remember ur budget is 2k rit???

actually i think Compaq CQ40 should be a better deal for u... the integrated graphic is better than Intel's, thus allowing for some light gaming as well...
astria
post Nov 26 2008, 11:00 PM

22,158 posts

look for john...

go lookf for him under the BenQ S41/S42 thread...
astria
post Nov 28 2008, 02:04 PM

22,158 posts

any laptops can game, it's juz a mater of how smooth and high setting it is...

17"??? prepare to fork out at least 7k to get it.. not to mention building up some muscles if u need to carry it around often...

other choices are:

Asus G50V - 15.4", 9700M GT, approx. RM6k
BenQ S42 - 14.1", 9600M GT, approx. RM3.4k
Compaq CQ40 - 14.1", HD 3450, RM2k+
astria
post Nov 28 2008, 06:48 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Jaroque @ Nov 28 2008, 02:16 PM)
lol no nid 7k...M1730 only 6.9k on website and about 6k+ from the dealers in LYN....
8600M GT/8700M GT = timebomb...

nuff said...

Added on November 28, 2008, 6:50 pm
QUOTE(he-sham @ Nov 28 2008, 02:45 PM)
i need a suggestion....

budget rm3000

good mobility & portability is a must (that mean screen must be not more than 13")

decent graphic card...

no heat problem...

long battery life..

if possible comes with 250GB harddisk...

last but not least, HDMI & VGA output (or s-video)...
besides the graphic card, HDMI and 250GB HDD, a Netbook fits ur requirement...

or top up a bit for BenQ S42, but that's a 14"...

or else u need to top up for quite an amount for makers like Sony and Fujitsu...

Added on November 28, 2008, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(Princess90 @ Nov 28 2008, 04:00 PM)
Actually for playing games, is it d graphic card that matters or wat other things?
Sum suggestions on those model for light gaming like sims or maple or ro those games.
Thanks....
depends on wat games u play...

latest games, GPU is top priority, next comes the CPU...

but for stuff like maple and RO, well, integrated graphic will do the job well...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 28 2008, 06:51 PM
astria
post Nov 28 2008, 11:10 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(moyong @ Nov 28 2008, 08:18 PM)
hi all,

can someone recommend me a suitable laptop.

im really new in laptops, don't really research about it. (am a desktop person)

but recently i need to get a laptop and now im all clueless and confused.

i plan to get one on the next pc fair which is few weeks from now. ok im cutting the crap, here are my needs.

budget >3.5k

Purpose = mid gaming, not too fancy since its just a laptop.

Screen = 15" or 14" should do just fine

Addtional. was thinking of getting a white laptop (cover)

since its a laptop and im new, should i get a lightweight laptop or just ignore the weight issue?

see the words "gaming", "3.5k" and "14", BenQ S42!!!
astria
post Nov 29 2008, 07:00 PM

22,158 posts

for the 2 above

Compaq CQ40 series
astria
post Nov 30 2008, 10:46 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Nov 30 2008, 10:44 PM)
Not for gaming but rather for portability, screen size 16 / 17 also nevermind
this is quite contradicting...

for ur info a 16"/17" lappy will weight approx 3kg...

portability??? i doubt so...
astria
post Dec 1 2008, 03:30 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 1 2008, 01:08 AM)
Oops. Then recommend me anything that can surf net and watch movie from Dell or HP.
i think Compaq (considered HP i believe, lol) CQ40/CQ45 series is a pretty nice laptop... weight might be slightly heavier since it's a 14" lappy...
astria
post Dec 2 2008, 10:45 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(molo_o @ Dec 2 2008, 08:16 PM)
i'm thinking of buying hp pavilion tx2520au but its processor (amd athlon 1.99) is really a major drawback for me.do you think it will affect the laptop's performance??
btw, i need a light laptop with a 12' inch screen (if possible) and more durable built

thx.clueless n confused here rclxub.gif
no budget no talk...

Added on December 2, 2008, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(eLmeRxD @ Dec 2 2008, 09:39 PM)
Hi all!

Im looking for a laptop that for student use and can play some game Dota / CounterStrike in hight setting with smooth. Budget max RM3k. 14'-15'. prefer HP compaq, benQ. i found a lappy with is CQ45 127TX, izzit good for me? please recommend me a lappy! tq all sifu!
i think Compaq CQ40 is a better choice...

This post has been edited by astria: Dec 2 2008, 10:46 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0229sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:21 AM