124 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

--

jakesean
post Apr 7 2008, 05:32 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(victorvandort @ Apr 7 2008, 03:56 PM)
erm, how's the weather in australia? perth especially.. is it very cold in winter? and it's apparently very hot in summer, much hotter than malaysia.. ?
winter in perth isnt really "nice" tho.. well that's for me..... its so wet that u dont feel like going out or walk out.. usually it rains for like 5 days in a week.... its not really that cold in winter, temp ranges from maybe 10C-20C during the day, and it can go down to as low as about 3C, usually after midnight till about 6am in the morning.. thats the extreme..

if u want some detailed info on perth's temperature, u may want to refer here.... it shows the average temperatures for the past few years..

Added on April 7, 2008, 5:37 pm
QUOTE(ckwei @ Apr 7 2008, 05:08 PM)
the minimum that i've experienced in perth was 0c, but in actuality, it is not THAT cold. on the night of the 0c, which happened at around 3-4am and reverted back to 2-4c slightly after, i went out for a short stroll with a jacket n short pants. not really cold, unless the wind is blowing. 0c under a non-windy condition is much more bearable than a 6-8c on windy days.
i hate windy days.. i hate the wind.. vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

oh and i forgot.. electric blankets r really nice to use during winter.. ! brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by jakesean: Apr 7 2008, 05:38 PM
wyxyz
post Apr 7 2008, 05:59 PM

730 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 7 2008, 02:57 PM)
My problem, with your original statement, and many others, is that "wartevar" asked for advice on transfering money back to Malaysia, and everyone comes in and talks about TT'ing TO Malaysia. If you went to a doctor complaining of a headache and he did a open heart surgery on you, I doubt you'd be impressed either.

My second gripe on this thread, this forum and Malaysian's online in general, and I have brought up here and here, is that proper usage of English is none existant sometimes. If you want a casual conversation may I direct you here.

I don't expect English used in a thesis. I don't expect everyone here to be a IELTS 9. I'm not asking it to be enforced Lowyat.net wide; you can use your short forms in the Kopitiam. I'm not even asking for it to be enforced in the Education Essentials subforum. All i ask, is that all participants of the Studying in Australia thread, who persumably should have a IELTS score of 6, and are (considering) studying in Australia, to use proper English. And spell check before hitting "Add Reply". Is that too much to ask?

You are lucky that some of us have taken the trouble to put some basic points in the first few posts in v2 of this thread iteration. The original thread was at best, a collection of conversations.

And while KVReninem was the original starter of this thread, and has done a good job in maintaining the front page FAQ, he is by no means  the owner, moderator and the final voice in this thread.

What? Are you incapable of typing in proper English in ONE thread in this subforum?
if you don't like the 'wartevar' statement that i've typed out. just ignore it will ya? or just click the report button (for not using a very good english).
i bet somebody else will be more than generous to help to answer the question that i've asked earlier. <--wow! no short forms! rclxms.gif
i just did it! thumbup.gif

p.s: doh.gif

a helpful forumer is to inform the newbie in the thread and direct him/her to the right place but not 'whack' him/her on the spot for uncapable of reading.

haya
post Apr 7 2008, 08:03 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wyxyz @ Apr 7 2008, 05:59 PM)
if you don't like the 'wartevar' statement that i've typed out. just ignore it will ya? or just click the report button (for not using a very good english).
i bet somebody else will be more than generous to help to answer the question that i've asked earlier. <--wow! no short forms!  rclxms.gif 
i just did it!  thumbup.gif

p.s:  doh.gif

a helpful forumer is to inform the newbie in the thread and direct him/her to the right place but not 'whack' him/her on the spot for uncapable of reading.
As Cheesenium (and many other people will privately agree with me), the corruption of English can be hard to read. I just don't understand where people learn to type like that. I will accept if your grammar and vocabulary is not what you'd like to be, but spelling? No.

As much as I like it to be, it is currently not a violation of the Lowyat.net forum rules for using corrupted English. And in places where such a by-law is introduced (read: RWI), like everything else Malaysian, there is no enforcement. And I know how tough it is for the admins to manage and run a server. They don't have time to deal with petty matters like this. All I can do is make a stand.

And as a reflection to the ground situation in Malaysia, this generation expects to be spoonfed everywhere.

sounds familar, don't you think?

In other news, Brisbane's weather is beautiful these few days. Autumn has finally landed in Brisbane!

This post has been edited by haya: Apr 7 2008, 08:04 PM
Cheesenium
post Apr 7 2008, 08:39 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 7 2008, 08:03 PM)
As Cheesenium (and many other people will privately agree with me), the corruption of English can be hard to read. I just don't understand where people learn to type like that. I will accept if your grammar and vocabulary  is not what you'd like to be, but spelling? No.
Im not trying to show off or anything but what i dont understand is why people like to type like that.Cant they just type normally,rather than those weird "england" spelling.

I cant really understand those "england".Most of the time i just ignore that post.

Besides,my english isnt that good either.You can see lots of grammatical error in my post.For spellings,i have a spell checker to check for me.

It's getting cold.Do i need gloves to keep my hands warm?

s373n
post Apr 7 2008, 08:51 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 7 2008, 08:39 PM)
It's getting cold.Do i need gloves to keep my hands warm?
you can, if you want to biggrin.gif . I did brought one last year to keep me warm.
Cheesenium
post Apr 7 2008, 09:04 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Apr 7 2008, 08:51 PM)
you can, if you want to  biggrin.gif . I did brought one last year to keep me warm.
Then,i'll go and get one.Hate the feeling of my hands feeling cold due to cold weather.
PeNNyPupZ
post Apr 7 2008, 09:06 PM

79 posts

haha so cold you feel numb
Cheesenium
post Apr 7 2008, 09:43 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(PeNNyPupZ @ Apr 7 2008, 09:06 PM)
haha so cold you feel numb
Yeah,a bit.Whats worse is my land lord doesnt allow me to use the warm tap water for some unknown reason.My hands always feel cold after i wash my hands.
wyxyz
post Apr 7 2008, 09:48 PM

730 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 7 2008, 08:03 PM)
As Cheesenium (and many other people will privately agree with me), the corruption of English can be hard to read. I just don't understand where people learn to type like that. I will accept if your grammar and vocabulary is not what you'd like to be, but spelling? No.

As much as I like it to be, it is currently not a violation of the Lowyat.net forum rules for using corrupted English. And in places where such a by-law is introduced (read: RWI), like everything else Malaysian, there is no enforcement. And I know how tough it is for the admins to manage and run a server. They don't have time to deal with petty matters like this. All I can do is make a stand.

And as a reflection to the ground situation in Malaysia, this generation expects to be spoonfed everywhere.

In other news, Brisbane's weather is beautiful these few days. Autumn has finally landed in Brisbane!
don't come to conclusion straight away assuming that all malaysians are being spoonfed. it depends on the subject matter.
no point going on and on arguing on small matters. simple conclusion. if you don't like the post. just move on alright?

This post has been edited by wyxyz: Apr 7 2008, 10:05 PM
s373n
post Apr 7 2008, 10:36 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 7 2008, 09:43 PM)
Yeah,a bit.Whats worse is my land lord doesnt allow me to use the warm tap water for some unknown reason.My hands always feel cold after i wash my hands.
maybe he's stingy? uses more electricity ? biggrin.gif
QuackSilver
post Apr 7 2008, 10:44 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Apr 7 2008, 10:03 PM)
As Cheesenium (and many other people will privately agree with me), the corruption of English can be hard to read. I just don't understand where people learn to type like that. I will accept if your grammar and vocabulary  is not what you'd like to be, but spelling? No.

As much as I like it to be, it is currently not a violation of the Lowyat.net forum rules for using corrupted English. And in  places where such a by-law is introduced (read: RWI), like everything else Malaysian, there is no enforcement. And I know how tough it is for the admins to manage and run a server. They don't have time to deal with petty matters like this. All I can do is make a stand.

actually the weather has been beautiful ever since last December. wasn't hot at all during the summer months.

and please, stop the bickering. it's pointless
jakesean
post Apr 7 2008, 11:00 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 7 2008, 09:43 PM)
what? so how u normally take ur shower? cold water? wah.. flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif .. LOL.. or its just the tap? i assume its just the tap haha....

This post has been edited by jakesean: Apr 7 2008, 11:02 PM
onelove89
post Apr 8 2008, 12:36 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

I find perth weather quite nice somehow =D shoot, my hostel doesn't provide electric blankets xD Might have to get one myself for future usage =) how much isit? ><
Sesshoumaru
post Apr 8 2008, 03:40 AM

1,190 posts

Damage to the telco lines... sigh. Getting frequent DCs. Phone line without a tone, and just static in the background.

I raised my eyebrow in amusing when the lady on the Telstra hotline said "Someone will come somewhere between now.... *pause* ... and the 10th of April". The effect of this isn't as strong as you listening it than reading it but if you can somehow visualise and simulate it you'll be laughing. And it's a darn lady gwai lou.

Well I called on the 5th of April and it's still not being attended to. Getting agitated. I'm still paying for the phone and internet yet I keep getting DCed and I can't even receive/make phone calls.

And you don't need electric blankets, just a nice quilt would do. You might wanna concentrate more on your conscious state i.e awake especially studying.
TSKVReninem
post Apr 8 2008, 07:38 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 8 2008, 01:36 AM)
I find perth weather quite nice somehow =D shoot, my hostel doesn't provide electric blankets xD Might have to get one myself for future usage =) how much isit? ><
dun need electric blanket, a nice quilt will do. sometime, the electric quilt can be damaging to yourself too. whistling.gif with the electricity price.
empire23
post Apr 8 2008, 08:36 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Imma going to sunshine coast to get pics lol. Hope the autumn sun is as awesome as people say it is.
TSKVReninem
post Apr 8 2008, 10:07 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 8 2008, 09:36 AM)
Imma going to sunshine coast to get pics lol. Hope the autumn sun is as awesome as people say it is.
o.O ...cool..show us ya, havnt being going ard yet sad.gif
ckwei
post Apr 8 2008, 10:16 AM

Nacho Man(tm)
969 posts

sesshoumaru : give them a call back after u get your line working or after the technician has gone to your place. tell them of your problem, and you want the charges between the first day the problem surfaced until the day it was fixed removed. the proof will be the first day you made a call in, they have the record for that. if you argue hard enough, usually u'll get the charges recalculated.
TSKVReninem
post Apr 8 2008, 10:32 AM

IX
5,369 posts

guys, any idea how to claim back GST from ATO for computer stuffs?
n20nine
post Apr 8 2008, 12:24 PM

909 posts

anyone from melb uni? any experiences on CMC - carlton melb college, unilodge or arrow on swanston? was considering these few options...

124 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0275sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:26 PM