--

jakesean
post Feb 4 2008, 03:48 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(jiahuilee @ Feb 1 2008, 10:39 PM)

I am studying in UWA engineering 2nd year student.

Willing to provide any information related to UWA or perth!

Cheers!
i'm willing help u out with additional infos on Perth, also on Curtin, Curtin Business School ! biggrin.gif

currently doing my 3rd year in Commerce (IT & IS) in Curtin.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

anyone else from Perth?? hehehe
jakesean
post Feb 4 2008, 07:33 PM

1,361 posts

previously for the Turbocharge plan, they too offer students another special bonus - 400 free sms per top up of at least $30.. dont know whether they do still have it or not.. have to check it out.. i lost my optus simcard.. so there goes my additional student bonus from the turbocharge plan..
jakesean
post Feb 5 2008, 03:59 AM

1,361 posts

oh, and TS, dun forget to mention that house rents are charged as per weekly basis, unlike malaysia/singapore; monthly....

so for those who do not know, like what ckwei said,
    QUOTE(ckwei)
    Prices range from around 110-150 per room, or about 350-500 for a 2-3 bedroom unit.
for example, that's like 110-150 per room, per week...
jakesean
post Feb 7 2008, 03:58 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Feb 7 2008, 01:56 PM)
Gong Xi Fa Cai everyone... going back to Melbourne tomorrow night, kinda feeling sien since most of my friends are back for the CNY celebrations. Oh well, at least I'm gonna get to use my ADSL2 instead of slow-moe streamyx.

Oh yeah, I checked my SIA student ticket and I did get 40kg of baggage instead of 30. The student ticket is a tad more expensive than the standard 20kg ticket, but 20kg is seriously not enough for me since the suitcase itself is almost reaching 10kg.
how much u paid for your ticket?
jakesean
post Feb 14 2008, 01:46 AM

1,361 posts

2 more weeks for me.. perth, here i come cry.gif cry.gif

haihs.. damn sad.. no more hawker food cry.gif no more cheap stuff.. cry.gif

no more mat rempits rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif brows.gif brows.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jakesean: Feb 14 2008, 01:46 AM
jakesean
post Mar 16 2008, 07:59 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(victorvandort @ Mar 15 2008, 12:12 AM)
I will be going to study in Curtin University of Tech this coming July.. But I am kinda concerned about accomodation, can anyone help me? give my some contacts or something?
By the way, is it tough, I am taking Bachelor of Commerce.. Anyone in it?
Thanks!
accomodation is quite easy to get.. if ur coming alone, then its best and safer if u apply for the hostel first.. at least u have somewhere to stay, u dont wanna be left outside in july since its gonna be quite wet and cold.... or if u have friends studying here already, try crashing with them at their place for a few days... it may take up to a week if ur looking for a place, and if ur lucky, maybe u can find a place within 2-3 days.. anyways there r lots of room for rents adverts posted up on the bulletin boards in curtin business school (CBS), the place where u will usually have ur lectures/labs if ur doing commerce..

im in my final year in curtin, also doing commerce.. wat r the majors that ur planning to do?

This post has been edited by jakesean: Mar 16 2008, 08:04 PM
jakesean
post Mar 29 2008, 04:03 PM

1,361 posts

who's supporting earth hour today? hehehehe..
jakesean
post Mar 29 2008, 09:35 PM

1,361 posts

hmm.. i turned my lights off, but watched movie on my lappy... duno that counts or not.. haha.. at least i turned my lights off.. haha..
jakesean
post Mar 29 2008, 09:59 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(victorvandort @ Mar 29 2008, 09:46 PM)
anyone from curtin university perth here? just curious, how do we go about connecting to the internet over there? is it free, inclusive in the rental,  or do we have to pay an additional amount?

how about the connection in the university grounds itself? is it accessible by anyone?
not everyone tho.. only staffs and students of curtin uni.. i dont think CIC or canning college students has access to the wireless access points.. well that was a few years ago, not really sure about now..

its free.. all u have to do is setup ur wireless.. i'll try to get the guide book for u.. else u can just go to the library, on level 6 theres a few rooms for laptops and u can connect to the internet using the provided LAN cables..

ah here it is.. Wireless networking at Curtin

This post has been edited by jakesean: Mar 29 2008, 10:06 PM
jakesean
post Mar 29 2008, 10:47 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Mar 29 2008, 10:26 PM)
hey jakesean, are you an ex-CIC student?
yes i am.. in 2006..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Mar 29 2008, 10:47 PM
jakesean
post Mar 29 2008, 11:08 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Mar 29 2008, 11:02 PM)
in CERT IV course?
yeap.. and diploma.. both within a year.. =) .. CIC allowed me to skip 1 of my semester coz of my results.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
jakesean
post Mar 29 2008, 11:32 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Mar 29 2008, 11:21 PM)
biggrin.gif , yeah about that, just about to ask you ! Is it easy?
I wish to skip to Diploma too cause I also have the 70% jump option.
whether its easy or not, it depends on u.. i can say that its seriously quite easy for me.. i dun think u can skip diploma, u can only skip the 2nd semester of cert 4.. cant skip diploma i think, anyway u have to go thru 2 sems for diploma only so its not too bad.. i wouldnt wanna skip the diploma course if i were u.. wat course ur gonna do??..
jakesean
post Mar 30 2008, 04:18 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Mar 30 2008, 01:47 PM)
These are the subjects that I'm taking up this trimester (CERT 4 Trimester 1)

Information Design
Introduction to Computing
Business Mathematics
Communications I

are they considered easy subjects to gain average of 70% and above?

I'm going to take up Diploma in I.T.
for me rite, info design is quite easy - exam was open book type... not sure abt now.., intro to computing is super easy - waste of time, bus maths is like form 3 maths, also damn easy.. communications I, no idea.. didnt do that one.. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(victorvandort @ Mar 30 2008, 03:37 PM)
okay thanks jakesean.
just curious, how about the connection in the on-campus accomodation? would u have any idea whether it is included in the rental fees, or would i have to pay an extra for the connection?
u mean the hostels? not really sure.. i stay outside.. previously i have a few frens that were staying in the hostels.. whether they had to pay extra for the internet or not, not really sure..
jakesean
post Mar 30 2008, 08:09 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 30 2008, 07:15 PM)
I feel it's ridiculous to wait till 12 to download something that is 50MB.Thats the main reason i have been sleeping at 2 for my Easter break.Then,at the end of the month,i have used up 99% of peak cap and 50%+ for off peak.

It's annoying.Cant they just put it at 10 or 11?The current time is encouraging people to sleep late.
y not use some timer? i set my stuff to start downloading after 2am.. so i can sleep early and not worrying about the downloads.. hehe..
jakesean
post Mar 30 2008, 08:17 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Mar 30 2008, 08:03 PM)
I see, nice.
I'm having a Practical Written Test (Project: 1 & 2) on Info Design this Wed, I think it's an open book-type.  tongue.gif
Can you briefly tell me what will be the questions asking for?
If you forgot, please tell me the exam structure eg: fill in the blank? true or false questions? etc

I really need your help on Intro to computing too.  notworthy.gif
erm.. to tell u the truth, i never did study anything for info design.. since its an open book, i refer to the index section and get the answer.. brows.gif brows.gif .. i think its fill in the blanks, n a few others.. 2 yrs already le i forgot liao.. intro to computing is so simple la.. just write watever u know about computer stuff n convince the lecturer that u know ur stuff.. he'll give u the marks.. easy..

anyway, my best advice for u is go study, and follow up the weekly tutorial work... if u do that every week u'll be fine.. no need to worry about so many stuff.. lots of ppl fail coz they dun give a damn about following up the weekly tutorials/exercises.. its so easy to score, so easy to pass, and even easier to fail.. nothing is hard in CIC from what i've experienced.. dont depend 100% on tips coz most of the time they're just waste of time.. even when lecturer's give u tips, u can of course look onto that area, but dun neglect other parts..

Added on March 30, 2008, 8:19 pm
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 30 2008, 08:12 PM)
Which program you use?My downloads are quite small most of the time.About 50-1GB.

I prefer to wait for it and check it out as soon as it's finish.
duno wor.. i use uTorrent for my movies n series.... i prefer to download it at nite, n watch when i get up or after coming back from uni, or after work..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Mar 30 2008, 08:19 PM
jakesean
post Mar 30 2008, 08:37 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(s373n @ Mar 30 2008, 08:25 PM)
okay, thank you so much for the information. notworthy.gif
I really want to skip the next trimester so much.  blush.gif

If I have any enquiries, can I ask you some other time?
sure thing, no problem.. as a "senior" (..hahahaha) in curtin i'll try my best to provide anyone with info if asked..
jakesean
post Mar 30 2008, 09:23 PM

1,361 posts

im in curtin uni! wohoo!

how come nobody gonna do sig for students in aus ah?

jakesean
post Mar 31 2008, 08:08 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Mar 31 2008, 03:24 PM)
ki siao today at perth whole day raining >< so cold, din bring jacket. and my exam was held in a room with air conditioning on full blast =.= crazy...
damn shiok!.. i slept the whole day! woke up, went to get some indo mie, came back n sleep somemore.. haha..
jakesean
post Apr 1 2008, 05:49 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(discoinferno1 @ Apr 1 2008, 05:39 PM)
ah, i see. clears up what i had in mind quite a bit.
btw, with the $15/hr, 6k per year is easily attainable, i guess i'll have to pay tax then. haha
if u wanna get paid good, then its best to try and avoid the asian employers... if u dont wanna get taxed, then u may opt out to work for them.. some of them dont really have records for u (i.e. doing it illegally whereby u may work for > 20 hours per week, no tax, etc) .. but on the downside, if u get caught working for > 20 hrs /week for a long period of time, worse case scenario is that u'll be sent back to your home country...

for me i've worked for >20 hours /week, for a few times, and never got caught.. lucky me! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ..

This post has been edited by jakesean: Apr 1 2008, 05:55 PM
jakesean
post Apr 1 2008, 07:12 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Apr 1 2008, 05:53 PM)
Do NOT, I repeat, DO NOT take the risk. Being deported is a serious matter...i.e, no more visits to Australia-not as a student, business trip or even as a tourist-entire records tarnished forever, and it will be hell for your other family members who are interested in coming to Australia. Also, you'll be wasting your whole degree.
haha .. yes it is damn risky.. not banned from australia forever, but for 3 years only.. unless they've changed the rules.. anyways, to the new comers, better not try it..

there was once my lecturer told me that the education department cought some guy, working for 70hrs+ a week, and attending all his class.. amazing eh.. haha..

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:36 PM