124 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Bottom

--

mwkh_hope
post May 31 2008, 08:30 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 29 2008, 02:15 PM)
Im still using Office 2000.Not ori one.

I really doubt that they gonna check every single software in your com.

I have like 10+ games,Maple,AutoCAD and the list goes on.

How are they going to check all of them?I even have an ori game that it like a pirated game.You dont even need to touch the CD Key at all.How are they going to differentiate the pirated copy and the original copy of that game?

If they are so concern about piracy,they might as well block BT since most people just download softwares from there.
Well, i don't think they will check, cause just imagine how many people on the plane to Aus, & how many officers are there working at the same time? (if 1 laptop need 10 min for 1 officer, 100 users = 1000min(16hrs +-) ) flex.gif hmm.gif

Aiyo at here, they won't block p2p, even block. u have smth called VPN.

I ISO all my necessary software like OS, OFfice, adobe product, autodesk software... then the rest all store in my portable hard disk where i put inside my check in luggage. tongue.gif

Added on May 31, 2008, 8:36 pm
QUOTE(kumahachi @ May 29 2008, 04:04 PM)
does anyone of you guys know whether it's legal to mail a portable hard disk from malaysia to aus?
Why don't u try to see Office works or d*** & smith.. they have promotion on hard disk.. i think is quite okie.. even m'sia might be cheap...

I'll start to get product from m'sia to sell at here... but now is peak period, doing it after final.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mwkh_hope: May 31 2008, 08:36 PM
QuackSilver
post Jun 1 2008, 12:35 AM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(haya @ May 31 2008, 09:37 PM)
Everyone coming to Australia should keep in mind it is a buyers market in most major regional capitals.Finding a place can be a nightmare.

If you want to stay on campus, it all depends on which college you want to be in. I've never had the luxury of staying in the Residential Colleges, but prices are about $250/wk on average.

My advice? I strongly recommend 1st time, 1st year students at least try to find university managed accomodation. Trying to fight with the Brisbane rental market will be murder. At least stay there for 6 moths, get used to the place and environment, and after sem 1 you might consider moving out.

Average rent for a room off campus minus utilities around the St Lucia area is about $150/wk.

And if you find "any units that could accommodate 1 person per unit" thats not unilodge, please tell me. biggrin.gif
you just gotta keep looking is all i can say wink.gif
+3kk!
post Jun 1 2008, 02:59 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 31 2008, 07:11 PM)
your relatives?
any friends?  wink.gif
relatives yes, but a student like me too

friends got also, a number of them

im asking them for help to find rooms

QUOTE(jiahuilee @ May 31 2008, 07:23 PM)
To be honest with you, it is really hard to find rooms when u are not here. about 2 years ago i was too looking for rooms available near nedlands which is in UWA area, and i had such trouble getting a room. My uncle who is a citizen here practically tried renting more than 10 houses for me but all were rejected. I was lucky enough to get a room through my dad's friend.

So it is best for you to come earlier to settle down. As for orientation, i think its crap for me, thats for UWA i am not too sure for Curtin.
dang, i was thinking of going late cause of my gf. aih
gtoforce
post Jun 1 2008, 07:36 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(haya @ May 31 2008, 07:37 PM)
Everyone coming to Australia should keep in mind it is a buyers market in most major regional capitals.Finding a place can be a nightmare.

If you want to stay on campus, it all depends on which college you want to be in. I've never had the luxury of staying in the Residential Colleges, but prices are about $250/wk on average.

My advice? I strongly recommend 1st time, 1st year students at least try to find university managed accomodation. Trying to fight with the Brisbane rental market will be murder. At least stay there for 6 moths, get used to the place and environment, and after sem 1 you might consider moving out.

Average rent for a room off campus minus utilities around the St Lucia area is about $150/wk.

And if you find "any units that could accommodate 1 person per unit" thats not unilodge, please tell me. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Jun 1 2008, 12:35 AM)
you just gotta keep looking is all i can say wink.gif
darn
250aud is a lot cuz my sis renting in adelaide only paid aud80/ laugh.gif laugh.gif

maybe i'll keep on asking UQ's accommodation services for help on renting etc.
dont they have like residential places for postgraduate students like me ka?
haiz...haha ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
ujah
post Jun 1 2008, 09:29 AM

357 posts

hai, is there have "film study" or likely "cinematography" in australia?
if you guys know what uni should i go?
thx smile.gif
zltan
post Jun 1 2008, 09:45 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Jun 1 2008, 07:36 AM)
darn
250aud is a lot cuz my sis renting in adelaide only paid aud80/  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

haiz...haha  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif
Comparing Adelaide and Brisbane is like comparing Ipoh and KL.
QuackSilver
post Jun 1 2008, 01:14 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Jun 1 2008, 09:36 AM)
darn
250aud is a lot cuz my sis renting in adelaide only paid aud80/  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

haiz...haha  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif
what you can do is come early, attend the orientation talk on renting. its REALLY helpful. plus once you attend that you can ask accommodation services to get someone to drive you around to look at places to rent, FOC

and no i dont think they have residential colleges just for postgrads here in UQ

anyway, have you been to the UQ accommodation website? here are some links to it

http://accommodation.uq.edu.au/
http://accommodation.uq.edu.au/guidetorenting/index.html
http://accommodation.uq.edu.au/offcampus/a...tion/index.html

just read the content in these links. helped me a few years back when i first arrived wink.gif

TSKVReninem
post Jun 1 2008, 02:45 PM

IX
5,369 posts

[quote=kb2005,May 31 2008, 08:47 PM]
Yes, you can do that. Nothing illegal unless your hdd contain illegal information such as illegal software and etc...

[quote=mwkh_hope,May 31 2008, 09:30 PM]
Well, i don't think they will check, cause just imagine how many people on the plane to Aus, & how many officers are there working at the same time? (if 1 laptop need 10 min for 1 officer, 100 users = 1000min(16hrs +-) ) flex.gif hmm.gif

Aiyo at here, they won't block p2p, even block. u have smth called VPN.

I ISO all my necessary software like OS, OFfice, adobe product, autodesk software... then the rest all store in my portable hard disk where i put inside my check in luggage. tongue.gif

Added on May 31, 2008, 8:36 pm
Why don't u try to see Office works or d*** & smith.. they have promotion on hard disk.. i think is quite okie.. even m'sia might be cheap...

I'll start to get product from m'sia to sell at here... but now is peak period, doing it after final.. tongue.gif

[/quote]

lols...illegal ..not illegal..you also can get down here. via locally as in friends or lect.
it cant be fix.bittorrent is ruling the world in 2 yrs time in distribution of data/softwares and media content; revolution cant be stop.
the only harm is stuff like swords, ninja stuff those can harm ppl physically or the environment in aus.
why would quarantine zone size up just few software in hdd?
beware of child porn, tats big nono in australia.

[quote=+3kk!,Jun 1 2008, 03:59 AM]
relatives yes, but a student like me too

friends got also, a number of them

im asking them for help to find rooms
dang, i was thinking of going late cause of my gf. aih

[/quote]

asyik gf bf stuff..you want it, you come earlier. back home stuff can slowly settle.
it seem like you have place to bump up when you are here in perth; stay few weeks in your cousin/frens space then.You got to do recon on ground before you can get a place..dont expect things drop down for you in this forum. Most forumer can give you what/ which/ suggestion... so yea, decide properly.

[QUOTE][quote=gtoforce,Jun 1 2008, 08:36 AM]
darn
250aud is a lot cuz my sis renting in adelaide only paid aud80/ laugh.gif laugh.gif

haiz...haha ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

[/quote]
[/QUOTE]

250 is alot... yes..for single..if 2 person share is consider cheap.
average price in NSW and VIC is more than you get in QLD or WA/SA.

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jun 1 2008, 02:52 PM
powercolor
post Jun 1 2008, 11:28 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(maskot @ May 27 2008, 09:16 AM)
is there anything less than 1000 assie dollar per month ??  brows.gif
more than 1000 aussie dollar per month as in 2++ per week for studio room ... is this normal ???  rclxub.gif
yeah right...change to our currency will be more expensive cry.gif ...huhu...but..is there any other way??? rclxub.gif

Added on June 1, 2008, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(maskot @ May 27 2008, 09:16 AM)
is there anything less than 1000 assie dollar per month ??  brows.gif
more than 1000 aussie dollar per month as in 2++ per week for studio room ... is this normal ???  rclxub.gif
yeah right...change to our currency will be more expensive cry.gif ...huhu...but..is there any other way??? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by powercolor: Jun 1 2008, 11:29 PM
gtoforce
post Jun 2 2008, 01:47 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Jun 1 2008, 09:45 AM)
Comparing Adelaide and Brisbane is like comparing Ipoh and KL.
i noticed that
i just got back from adelaide last nite
i was in melbourne,gold coast, brisbane and lastly adelaide visiting my sis
i mean it was my 4th time in adelaide and i dun think i can survive there...its uptight and boring
aha

QUOTE(QuackSilver @ Jun 1 2008, 01:14 PM)
what you can do is come early, attend the orientation talk on renting. its REALLY helpful. plus once you attend that you can ask accommodation services to get someone to drive you around to look at places to rent, FOC

and no i dont think they have residential colleges just for postgrads here in UQ

anyway, have you been to the UQ accommodation website? here are some links to it

http://accommodation.uq.edu.au/
http://accommodation.uq.edu.au/guidetorenting/index.html
http://accommodation.uq.edu.au/offcampus/a...tion/index.html

just read the content in these links. helped me a few years back when i first arrived wink.gif
yeah
my mum's working with qantas
so australia is totally a no brainer
my dad already planned to go early but i havent got the unconditional offer yet cuz im yet to send my final stuffs to meet the conditional offer...thats all thats left
i've read through the accommodation sites
thanx mate
haha...am also looking for off campus as well
but i'd wait for the unconditional offer and the rental briefing
my sis' friends in UQ doing undergrads said its hard to find like minded friends in postgrad cuz of the amount of students
aha...oh well

chris_c28
post Jun 2 2008, 09:33 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 1 2008, 02:45 PM)
lols...illegal ..not illegal..you also can get down here. via locally as in friends or lect.
it cant be fix.bittorrent is ruling the world in 2 yrs time in distribution of data/softwares and media content; revolution cant be stop.
the only harm is stuff like swords, ninja stuff those can harm ppl physically or the environment in aus.
This is exactly the problem. If you can't afford the commercial software, DON'T USE IT. There are FREE alternatives for you, which works just as well.
Software developers spend considerable time and effort developing these applications and they deserve respect and compensation for their work (you would pay to see a doctor wouldn't you?). Just because it is easy to pirate these software doesn't make it right to do so.

If you had no support for such software, do you think society will be able to progress as it has? The software industry has contributed more to society in the past 4 decades than most others have managed to.

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jun 2 2008, 09:35 AM
jakesean
post Jun 2 2008, 11:03 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 1 2008, 02:45 PM)
haha u watch border security one or not? last time on one of the episodes, 1 traveller got his notebook checked for porn.. n he had to show the customs every porn clip he had on his notebook.. amazing..
TSKVReninem
post Jun 2 2008, 01:50 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Jun 2 2008, 02:47 AM)
i noticed that
i just got back from adelaide last nite
i was in melbourne,gold coast, brisbane and lastly adelaide visiting my sis
i mean it was my 4th time in adelaide and i dun think i can survive there...its uptight and boring
aha
yeah
my mum's working with qantas
so australia is totally a no brainer
my dad already planned to go early but i havent got the unconditional offer yet cuz im yet to send my final stuffs to meet the conditional offer...thats all thats left
i've read through the accommodation sites
thanx mate
haha...am also looking for off campus as well
but i'd wait for the unconditional offer and the rental briefing
my sis' friends in UQ doing undergrads said its hard to find like minded friends in postgrad cuz of the amount of students
aha...oh well
qantas cutting job soon whistling.gif due to the dixon failed to hedge against fuel price, it is same case like old MAS and current Qantas laugh.gif

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jun 2 2008, 10:33 AM)
This is exactly the problem. If you can't afford the commercial software, DON'T USE IT. There are FREE alternatives for you, which works just as well.
Software developers spend considerable time and effort developing these applications and they deserve respect and compensation for their work (you would pay to see a doctor wouldn't you?). Just because it is easy to pirate these software doesn't make it right to do so.

If you had no support for such software, do you think society will be able to progress as it has? The software industry has contributed more to society in the past 4 decades than most others have managed to.
yes i do see the impact on society, it is important to recognise them but what it cost a bomb to have such software when it is best at it is buggy?
best example>archicad 10-11..buggy indeed..BIM software..autodesk still work better.

QUOTE(jakesean @ Jun 2 2008, 12:03 PM)
haha u watch border security one or not? last time on one of the episodes, 1 traveller got his notebook checked for porn.. n he had to show the customs every porn clip he had on his notebook.. amazing..
lols..really..then dont store porn thumbup.gif
Cheesenium
post Jun 2 2008, 02:09 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jun 2 2008, 09:33 AM)

Kinda agree with you.

If you cant afford originals,find free alternatives.If i still cant free alternatives,time to pirate. tongue.gif

I have been doing this for games for years.If i want a game,save,save and save to a copy.I dont BT games and trying to avoid buying pirated if possible.Developers spend a lot of time to make these software and we should show them some appreciation by buying originals.Thats the least i can do.

If i have money(ie 10k),i'll buy original single license for AutoCAD too.It's gonna be an important software to me and i want it to work well.
haya
post Jun 2 2008, 02:12 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 2 2008, 01:50 PM)
yes i do see the impact on society, it is important to recognise them but what it cost a bomb to have such software when it is best at it is buggy?
best example>archicad 10-11..buggy indeed..BIM software..autodesk still work better.
I understand that software can be buggy, but lets be honest: who knows how to make bug-free software? All we can do is to reduce the number of bugs.

Sure, in an ideal world, we can make bug-less software. Unfortunately reality kicks in. Coders need to eat and be paid. The marketing department needs a release date. When you have external, commercial pressures, sometimes compromises have to be made.

I'm not defending badly written software. I just want to say that when coders do a good job, no one says anything, but when there 1 small error, we get brickbats left, right and centre.

And for porn, why bring it into Australia when you can openly buy it? If immigration officers do check, their main concern is child porn/pedophilia, NOT commercial porn.

But then, the only thing worst than porn is Hahiru porn.

Good God, what is the world coming to?!
TSKVReninem
post Jun 2 2008, 02:28 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jun 2 2008, 03:12 PM)
I understand that software can be buggy, but lets be honest: who knows how to make bug-free software? All we can do is to reduce the number of bugs.

Sure, in an ideal world, we can make bug-less software. Unfortunately reality kicks in. Coders need to eat and be paid. The marketing department needs a release date. When you have external, commercial pressures, sometimes compromises have to be made.

I'm not defending badly written software. I just want to say that when coders do a good job, no one says anything, but when there 1 small error, we get brickbats left, right and centre.

And for porn, why bring it into Australia when you can openly buy it? If immigration officers do check, their main concern is child porn/pedophilia, NOT commercial porn.

But then, the only thing worst than porn is Hahiru porn.

Good God, what is the world coming to?!
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif onya..forgot to say...

forgwt about Hahiru whistling.gif
zltan
post Jun 2 2008, 03:28 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 2 2008, 02:28 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  onya..forgot to say...

forgwt about Hahiru  whistling.gif
Ahem.... getting a bit out of topic here. Its studying in Australia. blush.gif

Anyway, customs are unlikely to check students' laptops since there are so many, they are more likely to check other visitors who aren't students.

This post has been edited by zltan: Jun 2 2008, 03:30 PM
TSKVReninem
post Jun 2 2008, 04:49 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Jun 2 2008, 04:28 PM)

Anyway, customs are unlikely to check students' laptops since there are so many, they are more likely to check other visitors who aren't students.
ahhaa...
well, incase studying in aus gone haywire/lonely rolleyes.gif
jakesean
post Jun 2 2008, 08:31 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Jun 2 2008, 03:28 PM)

this is good info for those who are coming in into australia, to study or visit.... smile.gif .. lets warn them all brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by jakesean: Jun 2 2008, 08:32 PM
TSKVReninem
post Jun 3 2008, 10:11 AM

IX
5,369 posts

Winter arrived !!
cold !! icon_question.gif

124 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled