124 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

--

Cheesenium
post Apr 17 2008, 09:34 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Apr 17 2008, 06:02 PM)
Chill brother... 60% ain't exactly that bad. sweat.gif Gambate !!
Not happy lah cause the things they ask is A-levels stuff,except it's harder.

I should be able to do it.
haya
post Apr 18 2008, 10:43 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Apr 17 2008, 09:08 PM)
Native speakers are exempted from IELTS. However, how do they decide who's a native speaker? If I've been speaking and using English all my life, am I not a native speaker (despite the colour of my skin). I guess this is the point where your nationality betrays you.
This is where a line has to be drawn between a student and a immigrant.

International students, who want to study in Australia, need to have proof of proficency in the English language. There can be many ways of fulfilling this requirement. Doing Year 12 in Australia, taking English in A-levels, English in Norway Vitnemal, Englisch Thema in Germany's Abitur, the list goes on. Some uni's will take benchmark your English based on these qualifications. Others will just want a international benchmark, such as IELTS and/or TOFEL. Again, this is done on a case by case basis by individual universities. I know for a fact that CQU will use A level English for their benchmarking purposes, while QUT and UQ will ask you to take IELTS, even if you have done English at A levels.

I persume this where where chris_c28 says that native English speakers can be excempted from taking IELTS.

All immigrants however, have to take IELTS, regardless of country of origin. I know some pomps and scots, as immigrants, who had to take IELTS to get Australian citizenship.

Hope this clears the air a bit.
babiix
post Apr 18 2008, 04:28 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 16 2008, 07:50 PM)
Ok,i guess im ok.Im doing all these so far.

Kinda pissed today,i got a bloody 60% for a physics quiz even though i can do all the tut questions and understand the concepts.Im gonna dig more questions before i attempt it again. vmad.gif
Lol, how much does that test contribute to your score for the subject?
TSKVReninem
post Apr 19 2008, 10:32 AM

IX
5,369 posts

babiiix.. ololo..

its saturday...bored mate!
Cheesenium
post Apr 19 2008, 12:07 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(babiix @ Apr 18 2008, 04:28 PM)
Lol, how much does that test contribute to your score for the subject?
It's one 2%.Thats why i dont care adi.

Yeah,it's saturday.Another busy saturday.
manutd6389
post Apr 19 2008, 02:52 PM

Glory Glory Man Utd
1,638 posts

1 week of study break!
and its darn cold in perth at the moment!
cold till dun feel like getting out of bed
SeeD
post Apr 19 2008, 07:47 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

Anybody here applied online to UNSW before?
babiix
post Apr 19 2008, 08:09 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 19 2008, 12:07 PM)
It's one 2%.Thats why i dont care adi.

Yeah,it's saturday.Another busy saturday.
LOL that's nothing! All of my tests are worth 30% etc. Which uni are you at? Melb?
Cheesenium
post Apr 19 2008, 08:09 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Apr 19 2008, 07:47 PM)
Anybody here applied online to UNSW before?
No,i applied with IDP.

I think the online application is almost the same as paper application.I did apply online half way then stopped.
SeeD
post Apr 19 2008, 08:25 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

Ugh, LOL I'm stuck half way at the course selection page.
I got conditional admit, but when I press continue, it says "THere are no valid courses for you to choose from".
I have outstanding documents though, my Final Results and Proof that I've completed my diploma. But I'm yet to receive those until maybe ... June or something.

I previously applied from IDP as well, but the documents never reached UNSW, they only reach ANU.
TSKVReninem
post Apr 19 2008, 08:28 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Apr 19 2008, 09:25 PM)
I got conditional admit, but when I press continue, it says "THere are no valid courses for you to choose from".
I have outstanding documents though, my Final Results and Proof that I've completed my diploma. But I'm yet to receive those until maybe ... June or something.

I previously applied from IDP as well, but the documents never reached UNSW, they only reach ANU.
try asked the IDP for the updates of the unsw course.tell them your problem.

Cheesenium
post Apr 19 2008, 08:34 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Apr 19 2008, 08:25 PM)

Dont worry,it will take some time to get there.
SeeD
post Apr 19 2008, 08:52 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Apr 19 2008, 08:28 PM)
try asked the IDP for the updates of the unsw course.tell them your problem.
Erm, IDP is not in charge now. The application I sent through IDP did not reach, I paid a 50 AD(application fee) + RM156(DHL) for the online one. laugh.gif
Damn sad T.T

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Apr 19 2008, 08:34 PM)
Dont worry,it will take some time to get there.
I hope so, because it has been 2 days. I emailed them but no replies yet.
kiradesu
post Apr 19 2008, 08:58 PM

QUOTE(Cruzer @ Jan 30 2008, 03:11 PM)
YES u need IELTS unless u did SAM (correct me if im wrong )
I did sam but took ielts also
chris_c28
post Apr 19 2008, 11:36 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Apr 19 2008, 08:52 PM)
I hope so, because it has been 2 days. I emailed them but no replies yet.
Have you tried calling them?

https://my.unsw.edu.au/student/StudentContactsPage.html

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Apr 19 2008, 11:36 PM
onelove89
post Apr 19 2008, 11:59 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(manutd6389 @ Apr 19 2008, 02:52 PM)
1 week of study break!
and its darn cold in perth at the moment!
cold till dun feel like getting out of bed
i agree its getting chilly, quite cooling in the day and evening, but night time >.< super cold. yeah I tend to slack in bed and sleep overtime, but my school starts in 2 days time =.= I'm so dead if i cant get up. XD
kumahachi
post Apr 20 2008, 12:15 AM

81 posts

levi's at dfo today was so CHEAP.. hahaha.. 50% off on everything! i bought a pair of jeans for $25 tongue.gif
jakesean
post Apr 20 2008, 12:23 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 19 2008, 11:59 PM)
i agree its getting chilly, quite cooling in the day and evening, but night time >.< super cold. yeah I tend to slack in bed and sleep overtime, but my school starts in 2 days time =.= I'm so dead if i cant get up. XD
lol.. i went for badminton today.. so cold n i wore shorts n cycled there.. suffer like mad..
TSKVReninem
post Apr 20 2008, 08:05 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kumahachi @ Apr 20 2008, 01:15 AM)
levi's at dfo today was so CHEAP.. hahaha.. 50% off on everything! i bought a pair of jeans for $25 tongue.gif
melbourne?
manutd6389
post Apr 20 2008, 09:38 AM

Glory Glory Man Utd
1,638 posts

QUOTE(kumahachi @ Apr 20 2008, 12:15 AM)
Hey, thats darn cheap isnt it!
gosh!

124 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0682sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:56 PM