10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

SAMPERTH
post Jun 12 2008, 07:10 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(yscagro @ Jun 12 2008, 05:10 AM)
hi samperth....u own the turtle in ur avatar pic??? how big already??? how much u bought it???
i wan to buy, but expensive.....sad.gif cost me around rm1k+
or u hav any recommended place that sell cheap?
Use to have now no more that one in my avatar not mine !! That one is almost 20 inch long and belong to a friend of mine !!

RM 1k ?? I use to pay RM 250 a pc like 10 yrs ago but a recent offer came in around the RM 500 mark ( offered to my cousin in Malaysia for a 3 incher )
SAMPERTH
post Jun 13 2008, 07:36 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(yscagro @ Jun 13 2008, 07:51 PM)
hi uzairi.... buthen the shop that selling the turtle already having a good n powerfull filter....
but still the parasites cover all over its body.....
The parasite as in many short cocoon like brown stuff on the shell ?? and a tiny red worm inside ( I am guessing blood worm ) ??

That one easy to clean just hose them off and with a bit of scrubing and all gone its the green stuff thats hard to get rid but theres a simple way if you do decide to get it !!
SAMPERTH
post Jun 13 2008, 10:45 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(klaze @ Jun 13 2008, 10:29 PM)
samperth u selling gator snapper ?
Me ? NO !! I cant as I am owning none !!

You people must have mistaken me for someone I know ie my avatar's Ally Snapper 's owner - another guy name SAM as well !!

He have some CB offsprings from that Ally Snapper ( I think he selling RM 250 - 300 a pc ) early this year !! and more due to hatch soon ( many more as he has 6 - 8 breeding Female if I am not wrong )
From what I remember he told me they average 12 - 25 eggs per clutch per year !!!

He reads this forum but dont post ( I am his voice in this forum ) If you guys know him from MF , contact him direct ie. Email or MSN ....etc
SAMPERTH
post Jun 18 2008, 06:56 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Jun 18 2008, 02:43 PM)
halo, want to ask a lousy question.. cos my friend hv this turtles, but i totally no idea about them..

they are this small small green color turtles, about 4cm when bough them..

what is their real name? and how big they can grow? cos i need to do some reserch to setup a tank for them.. but i hv no idea what turtles are they. thanks.
QUOTE(mikelim2020 @ Jun 18 2008, 07:18 PM)
nezu, u can ask me through msn.. they are call Red Eared Terrapin.. they can grow till as big as a laptop..
Just a slight more information - Beside Red Eared Terrapin they are also know as Red-eared Slider Trachemys scripta elegans
Only some female grow to almost Laptop size

Most max out at 9 - 10 inches with male no larger than 6 - 7 inches !!

SAMPERTH
post Jun 23 2008, 06:20 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(LANuke @ Jun 23 2008, 06:32 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

is there any other type of tortoise got banned from this country also?
I think all got ban unless they are imported properly ( WC or CB with CITES ) and come with a license !! ie Red footed , Sulcata , Hingeback , Leopard

SAMPERTH
post Jul 2 2008, 01:36 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 2 2008, 10:58 AM)
So mafan meh?
i think i wanna custom make a tank, drill a hole... so i can empty the water and fill fresh water in 10 secs.
Also, how to give it an area to bask? what do i need to buy ?
Keeping pets are always very mafan !!!

Added on July 2, 2008, 10:25 amAlso, his nails too long lah... how?? cry.gif
If very long ( nails , front limbs especially ) chances that you got a Male !! nothing you can do about that but get another one ( a female but they grow larger ie double that of a max out Male )
SAMPERTH
post Jul 3 2008, 12:46 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Jul 2 2008, 09:30 PM)
Anyone have experience with Home Hinged back tortoise? Care to share wink.gif?
Not an easy sp to deal with - all Hinged-back included
Unless you can get them as CB - But all sold in market are WC !!!

Most if not all come with many extras !!!

The seller may assure you this and that ( Injected with antibiotic , wormed ...etc ) and even thou they look OK ( eating and active ...etc ) but they just waste away after a while VERY FEW EXCEPTION !!!!!!!

The Maxinum period one of my friend kept is about a year or so !!!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 4 2008, 06:08 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(Pach @ Jul 4 2008, 06:38 PM)
Just wanna share with u guys..... this is my star tortoise (as per attached). He already 3 years old. When i bought him, is still a baby...
Love him soooo much.

[attachmentid=517818][attachmentid=517818]

NICE but let me guess he cant lift his shell off the ground walking on all fours and draging it as he moves around !!

SAMPERTH
post Jul 4 2008, 06:15 PM

517 posts

May I know the sex of the following ?? Just got it about 2 weeks ago !!

[attachmentid=517836]

THANKS and yes I AM BACK in Malaysia already and into chelonian hobby again !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 4 2008, 06:38 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Jul 3 2008, 04:51 PM)
Compared to impressa, which one is more hardy ?
Depends will check with my friend and get back to you on this !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 4 2008, 09:01 PM

517 posts

Depending on size of whole animals ( pic do help ) causes of cracks
Fiberglass is the best and cheapest way !! Even thou there are other ways ie. drilling and securing some screws and tieing the shell togather ....etc

Do refer to below link

http://www.anapsid.org/shellrepair.html

Added on July 4, 2008, 9:03 pm
QUOTE(beardiekid @ Jul 4 2008, 10:00 PM)
Dude.... WTF DID U DO TO IT?
Maybe a WC animals that eddie88 came across in shop !!!
Must it be his to start with ??

- Could be from animal attack ie dog
- Bad bad fall !!!

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 4 2008, 09:03 PM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 07:29 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 6 2008, 12:17 PM)
So today i took my RES out to bask....
But he doesn't want to bask... he prefers to go to a shady place

Sorry for pic quality
The pics says it all your RES is indeed a Male !!!
As you also mention your RES as a he ( I mention in previous post that your RES has a high possibility of being a MALE ) - Dont be so stupid as to go trim his nails

They are supposed to be long to
- " stratch " the female's face to arouse her
- Hold on to female while trying to mate

Thats chelonian first instinct to hide when released !! Thgus going to hide in shady place is normal !!!

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 7 2008, 07:30 AM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 12:54 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 7 2008, 10:09 AM)
How u know male?
i didn't even show u the underpart.
Just "guessing " LOL so whats the actual answer !!

A pic of its tail or underside will be great !! But anyhow answer should be the same look at pic 1 user posted image
and Pic 2 user posted image

!!!!!!!!!!!!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 01:33 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 7 2008, 02:10 PM)
Ok, couple of things i need to buy....

- Sand
- UV Lamp
- Cage (like the one in pic)

Anyone know where i can get?
Went to that safari shop in curve, no lamp also...
and 1 small packet of sand costs RM70.... any cheaper alternative ?
Just for your infor , That " cage " is actually a play-pen for dogs sold by the panel ( use at least 4 or more to make a size-able enclosure for them depending on the size of Star !! Or you could get a set of 6 panel that come with a door too !!

Added on July 7, 2008, 1:37 pmhttp://www.classicpetshop.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.browse&category_id=10&Itemid=34

Something that may interest you in your quest for that " cage "

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 7 2008, 01:37 PM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 01:52 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 7 2008, 02:48 PM)
Lamp and sand how??
This 2 urgent weii....

and i plan to grab a couple more RES...
saw the babies small like 20 cent coins... so cute
If you placing the whole setup outside Why you need UV lamp ?? The sun give the best UV !!! The sand use those sold in Aquarium shop ( if you insist using them ) I personally wont want to use them - Mention in previous posts many times over !! DO SOME research before diving into any thing

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Be more polite and people may answer properly and nicely DONT weii here and Weii there PPL got Nic / Name you know !!

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Jul 7 2008, 01:54 PM
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 02:14 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 7 2008, 03:06 PM)
LMAO...
u misunderstand me....
the weii is a joking tone...  sweat.gif

So i read that i need coarse builder's sand....
this is the sand they use to make cement ?
Coarser sand has a lesser chance of causing impaction BUT the possibility are still there !!!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 02:46 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 7 2008, 03:21 PM)
so what do u suggest ?
A bit more information ie where you intend to place the whole enclosure ( Indoor or outdoor on Lawn ) !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 03:01 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(scaleslithers @ Jul 7 2008, 03:47 PM)
Your very cheap tort (lol!) looks like a female...I think.
LOL thats what the seller claim and me and my fren's thought as well !! But "she " is still a few more years away from productive age so no 100% till she finally drop an egg or two !!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 04:05 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 7 2008, 04:24 PM)
Planning to put in a stock tank

No idea if i should put outside as it'll get too hot in the afternoon and too cold at night.
So most prolly be indoors but i'll take it out every once in awhile.
That stock tank if equiped with a overhead or outside filter will be great for your RES !!

If for Star a 100 or even 200 Gallon will be nice for a few - anything over 200 gallon will be too high / deep to operate ie getting in or out or taking your Tort in or out !!!!
SAMPERTH
post Jul 7 2008, 05:56 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Jul 7 2008, 04:24 PM)
Planning to put in a stock tank

No idea if i should put outside as it'll get too hot in the afternoon and too cold at night.
So most prolly be indoors but i'll take it out every once in awhile.
http://www.bnhmanufacturer.com/water_stora...k_malaysia.html

I use both the Square and the Cylindrical one for my turtles thats beside the Guppy brand rectangle type tank !!

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0488sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:29 PM