6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Photography Canon EOS 300D/350D/400D/450D, Go Rebellionz - V2!, DigitalRebel XT/XTi/XSi/KISS Territory!

derek87
post Jan 29 2008, 10:42 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 29 2008, 10:28 AM)
This is one of those test shot. There's props on the background. No need much touch up, i did a few tweakings in lightroom, this is the results which i liked biggrin.gif
i see.. this is the result you wanna bring.. =) i tot you wanted a clean background..he hehe

This post has been edited by derek87: Jan 29 2008, 10:43 AM
derek87
post Jan 29 2008, 10:48 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(asrolsani @ Jan 29 2008, 10:45 AM)
wondering... why take picture with RAW instead of jpeg?
IMO... downside using RAW,
1. we need to use photoshop to view
2. more space for picture conversion to jpeg later
3. duplicate picture
good side maybe a lots also....
Use raw contains more detail... easier to tweak.... that's the reason lor..
derek87
post Jan 29 2008, 11:09 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Jan 29 2008, 10:55 AM)
sumtime use jpeg...sumtime use raw. but mostly use jpeg smile.gif
full time RaWr............ ;P
derek87
post Jan 29 2008, 11:38 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

I'll only shoot in jpeg if im running out of memory.. and i still have to shoot... =p
derek87
post Jan 30 2008, 03:14 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 30 2008, 12:34 AM)
er... simple fact about these stuffs...

Adobe RGB has a wider, or you can put it "hidden" color range. Colors may looked pale when u see it on monitor. Thus its meant for more advanced editing. But mess up the colors then you'll have to start over again, so careful tweaking is needed.

Its the opposite for sRGB. Has so so color range, easy during editing but you wont get the most out of your photos. Colors are "richer" on the surface for sRGB, but you wont get the most out of it.

I use Adobe RGB, then convert them with a ProPhotoRGB profile in Lightroom. Because ProPhotoRGB gives me the best almost accurate colors when i print them out. And if I want to post the photos online. I'll just convert the color profile to sRGB using photoshop once I edited everything.

Things you must know when before you do editing. CALIBRATE your monitor. Spend a few hundred on calibrating hardwares like the Spider2express or newer versions. There's a good calibrating hardware like the Huey Pro too. Cost alot more than the Spider2express. Once you finished calibrating your computer, you get more accurate colors.

Note that the internet uses sRGB, so if you post a photo online with a AdobeRGB as the color profile. Then you'll face risk of losing the colors. Here's an example:

So basicly:

#1: if you want to get the most out of your photos. Use AdobeRGB. It may look pale on your screen, but after a few adjustments, the colors are superb.

#2: Stick to sRGB if you rarely edit your photos, or you just do basic editing like levels and curves.

#3: Invest in a calibrating hardware. It comes with its own software so you can do easy step by steps on monitor calibration.

#4: Don't ask me about ProPhotoRGB. All i know that it has the widest color range known(for me). And the color quality of the print it produced is almost what i see on my monitor.

#5: Remember, if you wanna post your photos online and you're using the AdobeRGB profile. You can change them via photoshop. Go to Edit > Convert to Profile > Under "destination space" > select sRGB IEC 61966-2.1. Then save your photos. Then post them.

Hope this little info helps. smile.gif
WoW!!! HUGE BIG DIFFERENCE!!! THANKS... I HAVE LEARNT SOMETHING NEW TODAY.... I always thought it's the same... hahaa....
derek87
post Jan 30 2008, 01:23 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jan 30 2008, 10:42 AM)
Other than monitor calibration, we should check the output settings when printing a medium, meaning we have to check the output color profile. smile.gif
I wonder do you guys check that. sweat.gif

WoW... leng lui pic.. haha.. print for? tongue.gif hmm.... i have no experience printing photos out from my printer.. always go shop and develop.. =)
derek87
post Feb 1 2008, 01:27 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Feb 1 2008, 01:18 AM)
my try, red overdosed..

doh.gif Too red and underexposed d... reedit reedit... tongue.gif
derek87
post Feb 5 2008, 11:32 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(eagle.ng @ Feb 5 2008, 10:36 AM)
ha... you are so nice!!!    icon_rolleyes.gif
but price no drop yet!!!    sweat.gif
dun get new unit lor if beginner... get a used one first.... i will do that la..
derek87
post Mar 7 2008, 01:53 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Mar 7 2008, 01:50 PM)
Siggy is better than Tammy for the 70-300mm f4-5.6 Macro lens smile.gif
Wah.. till today still discussing this? LOL.. this has been discussed a lot of times.... siggy and tammy in terms of build, they are the same... it's only the exterior of it is different. =) That's what i think.
derek87
post Mar 11 2008, 01:29 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Mar 11 2008, 05:38 AM)
buy flash 1st lah.

If u get flash, u can do alot of thing dude.

Added on March 11, 2008, 5:41 am

go for Tamron brother.

Save ur pocket and this lens is much more sharp that 17-40L.

U can read through some review or test it yourself.

I tested already.

If u want to buy Tamron 17-50, pls buy from japan version dun not buy china assembly.
Eh... you sure about this? 17-40L f4 lose to tammy 17-50 f2.8? in sharpness? You gotta be kidding... how bout the focusing speed? i tried 17-40L, it's damn sharp.. focus also very fast.... but never tried the 17-50 f2.8...
derek87
post Mar 11 2008, 08:54 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(TaQ @ Mar 11 2008, 04:28 PM)
thanks for the very quick reply david biggrin.gif ...i am actually more curious about what are the limitations on 400d during picture taking ... compared to the 40d .... saying ... would it be possible for 40d to take some pics that 400d cant given that they have the same lense which is "average" at best and not exactly "perfect" for the conditions at hand .... cause i know that even a sony erricson k800i can take reasonabily good pics at the right conditions(of course they r NOT comparable to a dslr) ... so the whole idea of going to dslr is to take out those limitations .... where normal cams wil not suffice ... and thus from that ... whats are the limitations of 400d and 40d on lets say ... a all around lense such as 18mm-200mm sigma dc os .... ( favoring this lense over the kit - may just get body )
For me, lense does most of the jobs.. so lens upgrade is a need when you are really into dslrs...

Added on March 11, 2008, 8:56 pm
QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 11 2008, 02:36 PM)
No need to contest. Hehehee! The Tamron 17-50 F2.8 loses flat to ring USM and its noisy too. Like robots. However, for certain people focusing speed is not important if you're into general portraits. AF remains accurate in low light at F2.8 and marginally slower at F4. I've owned the lens before and that is what I have to say. Actually the performance does not differ by much. Because the AF operation is noisy, it gives the user an impression of slower AF. But I still say the ring USM is superior in many situations (depending on individual lens and model of course).
how bout sharpness? which one captures more details... my bet is to 17-40mm L. smile.gif

This post has been edited by derek87: Mar 11 2008, 08:56 PM
derek87
post Mar 13 2008, 10:42 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Mar 13 2008, 09:44 AM)
Hmmm the noise not bad, though its grainy but its not like the 350 where u can see color noise instead of film grain like noise biggrin.gif

But now im not sure whether im going to get the 450D in the future or not, doesnt seem like much of an improvement =/
Rad... dun change to 450D la... go to 40D.... rclxms.gif

When can we go out yamcha? when are you free? haha... been so long talking about that d..
derek87
post Mar 13 2008, 10:59 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Mar 13 2008, 10:50 AM)
Wait for '50D' to come out la....
I AM waiting for it... Now enough dough to buy 40D, but not enough to couple it with a good lens. So decided to buy a kit lens replacement first... So by the time 50D come out... hehe.. probably i'll be getting it...
derek87
post Mar 14 2008, 08:59 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Mar 13 2008, 01:32 PM)
derek: Next monday perhaps? go where lim teh? as long as its in kl laugh.gif

by the time i have enough for 40D i think the replacement for the 5D will be out liao, i can hunt for 2nd hand 5D tongue.gif
Monday ah...? macam cannot leh... work from 8.30 til 5.30pm. then gym... late night liao... How bout tuesday night or thursday(anytime coz it's public holiday)? Is sunway considered as KL too? LOL.. if no... KL where to yim cha.. you decide ler.... i anything one... can meet pro, go mars lim teh also nothing... rclxms.gif
derek87
post Mar 14 2008, 02:43 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 14 2008, 02:32 PM)
Yes... everything need light to autofocus.

The minimum that my 40D can do is in Vietname street, ISO1600, f1.2 where the shutter only 1/60

And yes, autofocusing was bad and hunting....

But now I know how to improve my autofocusing at nite liao.... hehehe...  brows.gif
VoIp.. if you know then share us how lor.... brows.gif
derek87
post Mar 14 2008, 02:53 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 14 2008, 02:46 PM)
Canon ST-E2 that supposed to act as wireless flash transmitter.

That thing is so light some more... WIth that, I no longer worry about very low light.... I think completely dark also on liao...  biggrin.gif

I tested at similar lighting... ISO1600, f1.2 that only give me around 1/60 to 1/125... autofocusing no longer hunting...  thumbup.gif

Oh... ya... it can act as master transmitter to command your flash gun too!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hmm.. So the ST E2 serve as two purposes la rite? ei.. how much did you buy it for ?
derek87
post Mar 14 2008, 02:57 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 14 2008, 02:55 PM)
It is designed with one purpose nia...

But because it transmitted those strong red light as autofocusing assist beam, and help a lot..., I tend to use it when I want to shoot with avaiable low light  cool2.gif

I like to use it... It looks pro like something interesting and high tech on your camera...  cool2.gif
I mean you used it for two purposes.. haha.

QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 14 2008, 02:56 PM)
How much you bought it TheVoip?
Yalor... you also haven say how much you bought it for... shakehead.gif
derek87
post Mar 14 2008, 03:15 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 14 2008, 03:13 PM)
I don't know why my friends said the flash beam too harsh. hahah
Coz you direct flash? Try bounce your flash.. and use stofen diffuser..
derek87
post Mar 14 2008, 03:22 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 14 2008, 03:19 PM)
Already use diffuser. Can't bounce anywhere ahaha cuz was taken at the field. tongue.gif
Then go buy a bounce card..

what bout the picture you took? was it over exposed? because maybe you over exposed it.. OR she looked directly into your flash. LOL laugh.gif

This post has been edited by derek87: Mar 14 2008, 03:23 PM
derek87
post Mar 15 2008, 10:21 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

J one selling me 580exII for RM1590. Do you guys think it's cheap enough to buy from there?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0443sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:56 PM