125 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

^^ Cat Lovers V.2 ^^, - meow meow -

pinkdalmation
post May 20 2008, 09:44 PM

229 posts

hi, i dont know if im posting in the right place.. but going to try anyway smile.gif

how many of you has kept yur cat up to the day it died? or did you have it put down when it just became too old? or will it just hilangkan diri when its time?

My cat is coming to 14 now. i had her since primary school, i've finished uni and started working adi.. The past few months its very noticable that shes aged, her fur (she's a persian mix) is now brown instead of black and she has white hair! She prefers to use the door instead of jump and she's being losing weight and hair even though i feed her in small portions throughout the day. She also tends to drool and has athritis ..

I know she's almost as old as cats get, so when is it time to let go? should i just wait till nature takes it course or put her down when it comes to the point she cannot walk/see properly anymore?
please help..

TSelfreakz
post May 20 2008, 10:19 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ May 20 2008, 09:44 PM)
hi, i dont know if im posting in the right place.. but going to try anyway smile.gif

how many of you has kept yur cat up to the day it died? or did you have it put down when it just became too old? or will it just hilangkan diri when its time?

My cat is coming to 14 now. i had her since primary school, i've finished uni and started working adi.. The past few months its very noticable that shes aged, her fur (she's a persian mix) is now brown instead of black and she has white hair! She prefers to use the door instead of jump and she's being losing weight and hair even though i feed her in small portions throughout the day. She also tends to drool and has athritis ..

I know she's almost as old as cats get, so when is it time to let go? should i just wait till nature takes it course or put her down when it comes to the point she cannot walk/see properly anymore?
please help..
Just let the nature do everything. I kept my cat from day 1 till died by itself from sickness. Unless your cat suffer from bad sickness that look terrible. If i have this condition, i will ask the vet to let my cat sleep rather than suffering for that pain.

but if you have 14 years old cat that still active without any sickness or infection, then just let it breath the air. why need to shut her/him down while she is not suffering.

all you need to do is frequent medical check up (IF YOU LOVE YOUR CAT, MORE THAN YOU MONEY LAH tongue.gif).. ehehe you know lah, animal check up sometimes more expensive than human. Let the vet determine if you have healthy cat or not. If she is healthy, with normal sign of that fur color and losing weight, than its alright. just let her spend more time, let god do the job.

you should be proud to have 14 years old cat you know... not all cat lovers get to spend this long period of time with their love ones... my beloved cat past away when she is 1 year old sad.gif that is even said... i wish i spend 14 years with my cat cry.gif
sangrenab
post May 20 2008, 11:02 PM

59 posts

I agree with elfreakz (btw, COMEL NYA KUCING HITAM YOU!). Just cherish her while she is still around. You are lucky to have a cat that long time with you. I pray the Cat would be too (he's supposedly 8 - 9, so he is kinda old already sad.gif )
pinkdalmation
post May 20 2008, 11:05 PM

229 posts

oh, im definitely keeping her for as long as i can . . . im just wondering .. if i have to eventually put her down .. when will i know its time ? cos i dont want to keep her around if she's suffering . .
sangrenab
post May 20 2008, 11:08 PM

59 posts

In that case, bring her for a check up with the vet. I'm sure they would know what's best for your cat and would offer you advise to help you decide. I pray that she would be alrite!
TSelfreakz
post May 20 2008, 11:13 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ May 20 2008, 11:05 PM)
oh, im definitely keeping her for as long as i can . . . im just wondering .. if i have to eventually put her down .. when will i know its time ? cos i dont want to keep her around if she's suffering . .
suffering i meant before is like accident, bleeding, organ failure. this is some example of serious sickness, that sometimes do not have any cure, if there is cure it will cost very high. So some owner i know, when they have this sickness that makes their cat painful - like cannot eat properly, cannot move, uncontrol poo and pee, they will want the vet to put this cat on sleep, because they cannot see this cat suffering till death. that is the reason why you must bring your cat to the vet for medical check up. So you know your cat better. The vet will advise what you should or should not do to this age of cat. They might advise what to eat. Because at this age, a cat will have different diet from younger adult cat. Since you mention just now, you found out that the fur is falling, change color and weight drop down. You really need to know your cat health. If that cat is outdoor, you might want him/her to be inside with you (become indoor).
TSelfreakz
post May 20 2008, 11:19 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(sangrenab @ May 20 2008, 11:02 PM)
I agree with elfreakz (btw, COMEL NYA KUCING HITAM YOU!).
Thanks for the compliment blush.gif

pinkdalmation
post May 20 2008, 11:30 PM

229 posts

i guess its time to take her to the vet . . sigh. . very stressful for me and my cat . .

btw, my cat looks a little like yours!

taken last year .. she used to be pure black, now she's kind of 'faded'

This post has been edited by pinkdalmation: May 20 2008, 11:31 PM
TSelfreakz
post May 20 2008, 11:45 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ May 20 2008, 11:30 PM)
i guess its time to take her to the vet . . sigh. . very stressful for me and my cat . .

Gosh! Your 14 years old cat is so cute and beautiful!! I love the color! from that picture, i can see you taking well care of her icon_rolleyes.gif

I wish she will have longer life notworthy.gif
pinkdalmation
post May 21 2008, 12:58 AM

229 posts

thanks ! smile.gif
i hope so too
krayzee_wu82
post May 21 2008, 08:01 AM

341 posts

ye la...
14years old cat,still look cute...
[the][matrix]
post May 21 2008, 08:46 AM

ancient and still alive
1,170 posts

seramnyer....but beautiful wub.gif wub.gif

Added on May 21, 2008, 8:47 am
QUOTE(elfreakz @ May 20 2008, 08:18 PM)
Susah also kan. Cos mind put in the cat room, they normally sleep on that box. jadi katil pula dah tongue.gif

Saw at my friend house, that box become shelf heheheh tongue.gif

Here are my boxes....

kemasnyee....tula kan...mcm tu la risiko banyak kucing kan icon_idea.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [the][matrix]: May 21 2008, 08:47 AM
TSelfreakz
post May 21 2008, 10:02 AM

3,905 posts

QUOTE([the)
[matrix],May 21 2008, 08:46 AM]kemasnyee....tula kan...mcm tu la risiko banyak kucing kan icon_idea.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
no lah, its not risiko to have a cats. when you love them, all the hard things will be easy. my cats cherish my day for all years. Tengah ada masalah pun rasa tenang saja balik rumah. alhamdulillah their prayer makes me never feel to hard. tak elok cakap kucing = risiko. nothing is impossible lah wink.gif

Last time i stay in this small house with 2 rooms. There are 6 cats that time. Then I move to a bigger house. My friends said - "why do you need to waste your money to rent a bigger house? by not doing that you can spend your money - having fun, clubbing, enjoy, holiday, shopping". laugh.gif My answer is "No, i do not want to, i have big family, i rather spend my cents on them" icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by elfreakz: May 21 2008, 10:07 AM
[the][matrix]
post May 21 2008, 10:41 AM

ancient and still alive
1,170 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ May 21 2008, 10:02 AM)
no lah, its not risiko to have a cats. when you love them, all the hard things will be easy. my cats cherish my day for all years. Tengah ada masalah pun rasa tenang saja balik rumah. alhamdulillah their prayer makes me never feel to hard. tak elok cakap kucing = risiko. nothing is impossible lah  wink.gif

Last time i stay in this small house with 2 rooms. There are 6 cats that time. Then I move to a bigger house. My friends said - "why do you need to waste your money to rent a bigger house? by not doing that you can spend your money - having fun, clubbing, enjoy, holiday, shopping".  laugh.gif My answer is "No, i do not want to, i have big family, i rather spend my cents on them"  icon_rolleyes.gif
ups.... tongue.gif .....hahaha...betul ckp u...balek kerja tgk putih n anjas rasa hepi...lagila kalau ajak diorang jalan2...huhuhu..yg best kat diorang tu kan, suke sangat main kejar-kejar. My wife pon jelous sbb diorang x nak kejar dia laugh.gif laugh.gif
krayzee_wu82
post May 21 2008, 10:44 AM

341 posts

uhuhuhuhuh...
sebut pasal kejar2...rindu plak kat jack n jill aku...
dulu before jack hilang,jill selalu main kejar2 dgn jack...
aku tgh baring tgk tv,selamber jer diorg pijak muka aku....
nakal betul....
sillylupie
post May 21 2008, 11:45 AM

What a beautiful 14-year old cat! You are doing a good job taking care of her! Her "faded" looks more like hair "highlights" to me, very up-to-date!
sangrenab
post May 21 2008, 11:56 AM

59 posts

alaa comel nya. i could almost imagine touching the fur and hearing her purring. alaa, how i wish for a cat therapy now kan. (is sick with fever and flu T_______T)
krynzpeaches
post May 21 2008, 11:56 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ May 20 2008, 08:18 PM)
Susah also kan. Cos mind put in the cat room, they normally sleep on that box. jadi katil pula dah tongue.gif

Saw at my friend house, that box become shelf heheheh tongue.gif

Here are my boxes....

Wahaha, sooo kemas tongue.gif

I don't have a cat room cuz I already have a glider room... Oren and Mia occupies the back portion of my kitchen and balcony, all their stuffs are there.

I told my husband about saving on the food with buying it in bulk, he said we should try, but first have to find a good BIG airtight container smile.gif

The one I use to keep my "beras" is airtight, but it can only keep up to 7kg je...

-----

pinkdalmation,

I think it is wonderful that your cat is living her life to the max. You have taken good care of her smile.gif

I have to agree with elf, let nature take its course as long as she is healthy. If there is no real suffering or pain, there is no need to put her down.

I hope her check ups will turn out fine smile.gif

My friend's cat is now 7 years old and he looks much-much more worst than your cat(not that I'm saying he's dying or what lar... but he just looks older, more scraggy, losing teeth, floppy ears, etc...)

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: May 21 2008, 12:08 PM
krayzee_wu82
post May 21 2008, 01:21 PM

341 posts

"the RIG is MINE....!!"

hehehe...ini kucing neighbour i...
selalu datang umah i tumpang makan jer....

This post has been edited by krayzee_wu82: May 21 2008, 01:25 PM
mADmAN
post May 21 2008, 01:41 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ May 20 2008, 09:44 PM)

please help..
i understand how u feel, i have 2 cats which are old...1 is 11 years old and the other is 18 (yes, eighteen).

thankfully theyre both still very heatlthy even though they barely get any exercise. the 11 year old is a fat persian mix so naturally hes lazy... but the 18 year old is still quite strong.. no sickness (except for a tumor on her leg) and can still jump up my bed with no problems (the 11 year old cant).

my 18 year old has lost her shine on her coat. and of course nowadays she just sleeps most of the time. knowing how old she is scares the shit out of me...i cant imagine life without her because shes been MY cat and mine alone since we got her when she was a few months old... through out her entire life shes been loyal only to me. she doesnt even bother with the other people in the house. heck...shes been sleeping with me everynight for the past 5-6 years.

imho, since ur cat is really showing signs of ageing, i guess periodic visits to the vet would be a good idea. mebbe can help fix up some of its ailments. u wont know if shes suffering... so with periodic visits, the vet can advise u if and when she needs to be put down.... until then.. keep her safe, cherish her and love her for as long as u can.

also, what are u feeding her? it would be good to feed her cat food for old/ mature cats. only problem is theyre expensive and not easy to get... and for some reason my cats dont really like it doh.gif

Added on May 21, 2008, 1:43 pm
QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ May 21 2008, 11:56 AM)
I told my husband about saving on the food with buying it in bulk, he said we should try, but first have to find a good BIG airtight container smile.gif

The one I use to keep my "beras" is airtight, but it can only keep up to 7kg je...
Royal Canin sells their cat food in barrels...though i cant remember how big they are. if im not mistaken my sis buys them from a pet shop in hartamas

This post has been edited by mADmAN: May 21 2008, 01:43 PM

125 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:04 PM