The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!
abel
Oct 30 2008, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(RAV4 @ Oct 30 2008, 11:01 PM) Chua, so you're buying on your own? Can you post the link here so I can order also? And this is to replace which part? Thanks. Added on October 30, 2008, 11:09 pmOh, thanks for posting the list. How many pieces do I need for each? just get from farnell my cap collection but empire is got alot more hehehe empire u got any blackgate left hehehe  i wanna keep some This post has been edited by abel: Oct 30 2008, 11:49 PM
ccschua
Oct 31 2008, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(abel @ Oct 30 2008, 11:12 PM) just get from farnell my cap collection but empire is got alot more hehehe empire u got any blackgate left hehehe  i wanna keep some Farnell is superfast. order yesterday, today arrive all the way from singapore. They even send in 1 item (worth 10 rm ) all the way from USA without additional costs. See that little double heart. that is the silver mica. I am going back to putting cap where people snip it. This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 31 2008, 07:52 PM
LittleGhost
Oct 31 2008, 07:53 PM
^that's what i'm telling the farnell skeptics for 10000 years.
Farnell kicks ass, tough there's a learning curve before you know how to make use of it.
EDIT: Eh? You ordered Pana FCs? The FMs are better leh.
This post has been edited by LittleGhost: Oct 31 2008, 07:53 PM
ccschua
Oct 31 2008, 07:56 PM
Hi little,
I have a project to mod the USB-spdif converter, which I rightly see in your sig.
Can I know what clock u see for the PCM2702E? Is it a separate power source or u use the souce from USB ?
Do u mod the on board cap / XO ?
Do u know where to get XO with 10ppm, cheap and good.
FiSHjIGN
Nov 1 2008, 01:31 AM

Do you guys have a direct link on farnell to an ALPS volume pot that will fit the ZERO? I got the RK27 model but it doesn't fit :/ The box is too big.
ccschua
Nov 1 2008, 01:50 AM
I have a difficulty to remove the capacitor. My first experiment is to replace the 10uF Nichicon muse in the USB->spdif converter to 100uF Panasonic FC.
Tried very hard to remove the cap but it just dont come out, though I had suck out the solder. At the end, the cap is broken.
empire23
Nov 1 2008, 05:42 AM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 1 2008, 01:50 AM) I have a difficulty to remove the capacitor. My first experiment is to replace the 10uF Nichicon muse in the USB->spdif converter to 100uF Panasonic FC. Tried very hard to remove the cap but it just dont come out, though I had suck out the solder. At the end, the cap is broken. Hurr, try removing the capacitor by heating one pad and then tilting it to one side, repeat the process for the other side and keep cycling until cap comes out. Works for me.
abel
Nov 1 2008, 07:06 AM
QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 1 2008, 05:42 AM) Hurr, try removing the capacitor by heating one pad and then tilting it to one side, repeat the process for the other side and keep cycling until cap comes out. Works for me. yeah and dont put ur solder gun too long at the pad will spoil ur pad just heating for 1-2 sec ermm Nichicon MUSE is good enuf y change to FC hehehe Added on November 1, 2008, 7:14 amQUOTE(FiSHjIGN @ Nov 1 2008, 01:31 AM) Do you guys have a direct link on farnell to an ALPS volume pot that will fit the ZERO? I got the RK27 model but it doesn't fit :/ The box is too big. http://my.farnell.com/jsp/search/browse.js...1&Ntt=ALPS&Ntx=This post has been edited by abel: Nov 1 2008, 07:14 AM
ccschua
Nov 1 2008, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 1 2008, 05:42 AM) Hurr, try removing the capacitor by heating one pad and then tilting it to one side, repeat the process for the other side and keep cycling until cap comes out. Works for me. For those beginners trying to DIY the solder job, here is the great guide. Never know tower can stop the wiggling and a magnifier not for old man but a open copper track ... http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f6/frankenze...tml#post4931453isnt it fun to see some photos. he really take pain to insulate the leads !!! also the green sausage dont have polarity right.     This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 1 2008, 07:39 AM
LittleGhost
Nov 1 2008, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 31 2008, 07:56 PM) Hi little, I have a project to mod the USB-spdif converter, which I rightly see in your sig. Can I know what clock u see for the PCM2702E? Is it a separate power source or u use the souce from USB ? Do u mod the on board cap / XO ? Do u know where to get XO with 10ppm, cheap and good. it's a miniUSB powered DAC akin to AlienDAC/BantamDAC. Nah, I didnt mod the on board caps, it's all Panasonic FMs. Probably going to change the output caps to purely film in the future though.
empire23
Nov 1 2008, 09:08 AM
Team Island Hopper
ccschua
Nov 1 2008, 11:08 AM
I think it is better I use solder wick, in order not to spoil the pad.
GodLuvSxS
Nov 2 2008, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(abel @ Nov 1 2008, 09:59 PM) my CD63 mod now waiting my clock to arrived   Dont worry, the stuff is going to reach very soon  Cant wait to see it's impact did on your CD63 ...
ccschua
Nov 3 2008, 10:26 PM
I was having a tough time trying to replace the caps. But in the end, it is fun. I was extra careful, in fact, after each step, i bring it to the amp and test, remove, and back and forth. 
TSmADmAN
Nov 3 2008, 10:28 PM
haiyaaaaaaa....dont la just post like that bro.....
tell us the result man! how u think of the mod??
are the mods the same as mine?
ccschua
Nov 3 2008, 10:35 PM
well , this is only phase 1 mod. I almost give up, lucky got abel help. I am more interested into this mod, putting a lot of green sausage underneath the PCB for the power supply bypass. http://cgi.ebay.com/K42Y-2-0-033uF-500V-PI...id=p3286.c0.m14 Added on November 6, 2008, 12:17 amHi Empy, I would hope u can explain about the pink arrow (missing components or underneath ?) and red arrow (replace resisor with cap ? why ) what is the purpose replace tantalum at the OPA cap ?  tks. This post has been edited by ccschua: Nov 6 2008, 09:33 PM
RAV4
Nov 6 2008, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(ccschua @ Nov 3 2008, 10:35 PM) well , this is only phase 1 mod. I almost give up, lucky got abel help. I am more interested into this mod, putting a lot of green sausage underneath the PCB for the power supply bypass. http://cgi.ebay.com/K42Y-2-0-033uF-500V-PI...id=p3286.c0.m14Hi Chua, if you want, I can share with you to split the shipping since 1 pack has 30 pieces.
ccschua
Nov 6 2008, 09:30 PM
OK, I am done. I had a singapore guy bought 10 from me, and 10 for u.
rgds
abel
Nov 8 2008, 06:33 PM
singapore ... not russian meh hehehe? This post has been edited by abel: Nov 8 2008, 06:48 PM