99 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Bottom

The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!

sep90
post Oct 29 2008, 01:56 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Oct 29 2008, 01:25 AM)
wah,so fast got from Jaben already,lolz.
lol i got a long time ago bro b4 sukhoi
i was the 1st batch who got it b4 the upgrade opamp version basically
then i poisoned sukhoi bout 3 months back and he waited patiently for it almost 1 and half months bro....
i got at same time with my millet hybrid max
btw i almost forgot r u interested in trying my hd650 recabled? cos akabane also wan to take the leap as well....lol
scy320
post Oct 29 2008, 02:02 AM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Oct 29 2008, 01:56 AM)
lol i got a long time ago bro b4 sukhoi
i was the 1st batch who got it b4 the upgrade opamp version basically
then i poisoned sukhoi bout 3 months back and he waited patiently for it almost 1 and half months bro....
i got at same time with my millet hybrid max
btw i almost forgot r u interested in trying my hd650 recabled? cos akabane also wan to take the leap as well....lol
i dont think im free on 2nd November,so maybe he can have a try 1st,lolz.
sep90
post Oct 29 2008, 02:17 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Oct 29 2008, 02:02 AM)
i dont think im free on 2nd November,so maybe he can have a try 1st,lolz.
lol dun worry i will be there for at least 2 week man
jus pm me if u r interested thumbup.gif
a whole new level of pure poison await u .........
scy320
post Oct 29 2008, 02:22 AM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(sep90 @ Oct 29 2008, 02:17 AM)
lol dun worry i will be there for at least 2 week man
jus pm me if u r interested  thumbup.gif
a whole new level of pure poison await u .........
haha,after u poison sukhoi now u target me d,lolz. brows.gif
abel
post Oct 29 2008, 08:51 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 27 2008, 06:32 PM)
what a dilemma! it is either the voltage not have or the capacitance not have.  Can I use 16V for 25V ?

Also the Nover capacitance as given above, how is the sound quality ? Anyone with experience on Nover.

should I choose FM Series. Anyone else interested to mod.

I am now split between Panasonic and ELNA SILMIC II. wat is your opinion.
-----

another question appear.

ultra fast diodes. any advantage compared to fast recovery ? price is easily double.

rgds.
for better voltage ... its already say Ultra Fast just check the model of the diode example UF4001 - the front written UF means Ultra Fast

ok for me Panasonic i normally put on the PSU section due the value is high and Elna Silmic hard to get on big value n the price ..... tongue.gif Elna Silmic or Silmic II i put on analog section like opamp coupling and clock , DAC try to couple with OS-CON ,

This post has been edited by abel: Oct 29 2008, 08:55 AM
empire23
post Oct 29 2008, 11:54 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

For diodes, i say, just bypass them ceramic capacitors to reduce diode noise and ringing. Better than spending on expensive shit like MUR820s.

Best would be to get 820s WITH sweet ceramics tongue.gif
abel
post Oct 29 2008, 03:16 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 29 2008, 11:54 AM)
For diodes, i say, just bypass them ceramic capacitors to reduce diode noise and ringing. Better than spending on expensive shit like MUR820s.

Best would be to get 820s WITH sweet ceramics tongue.gif
yeah i saw some ppl bypass with ceramic cap.

empire23
post Oct 29 2008, 04:28 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

^ cap leads too long lol.
ccschua
post Oct 29 2008, 06:41 PM

1,630 posts

What value of the cap, 22 pF ?
empire23
post Oct 29 2008, 07:15 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 29 2008, 06:41 PM)
What value of the cap, 22 pF ?
Ceramics usually have higher capacitance density than other caps like Micas, Polyprolyne and such, meaning that 22pF is an unlikely. Under the assumption that it's rated to 50V, i'd probably say it's 0.1 uF/100nF. Caps would be Kemet GoldMAX i figure from the shape.

Just got my first batch of stuff from my place in Malaysia. Another 10 boxes to go.

One is filled with blackgates brows.gif
ccschua
post Oct 29 2008, 07:40 PM

1,630 posts

I need 1 x 35V1000 and 1x 25V2200 black gate !

What is ringing? what which freq u hear ringing at the speaker ? bass, acoustic guitar, vocal or cymbals?

so if the ceramic cap is marked 22p on the casing, is it 22pF or 220pF?

What happen if I put 220pF in place of 22pF for the output noise killing cap of the ZERO DAC .

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 29 2008, 07:45 PM
empire23
post Oct 29 2008, 08:02 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 29 2008, 07:40 PM)
I need 1 x 35V1000 and 1x 25V2200 black gate !

What is ringing? what which freq u hear ringing at the speaker ? bass, acoustic guitar, vocal or cymbals?

so if the ceramic cap is marked 22p on the casing, is it 22pF or 220pF?

What happen if I put 220pF in place of 22pF for the output noise killing cap of the ZERO DAC .
Ringing is due to the switching action of the diode's depletion zone, i'm not sure where you hear ringing, i've never tried to listen to it before, but i have seen it's effects in really sensitive instrumentation amps.

Changes in capacitance aren't as important as changes in resistance as rule of thumb. If it's for the ground loop breaker, it shouldn't be an issue. If it's for the output filter, use the formula

F (Frequency of cutoff) = 1 / 2 pi R C

Do the math for each (one with 220pF and one with 22pF) and see if the cut off is acceptable. If you ask me the difference between 220pF and 22pF is small in inverse terms (the formula is an inverse, remember that), so i wouldn't worry. But in my opinion, a larger capacitor would mean a lower cutoff point, which will mean less noise, but if you go too low a cutoff point, you lose dynamics and the timbre of the high frequencies.
ccschua
post Oct 29 2008, 08:07 PM

1,630 posts

Hi empy,

I have a problem buying panasonic cap from Farnell, they are stupid to sell something at multiple of 5 (meaning cant buy 6, must be 5, 10, 15).

Can I know the stock main cap 25V2200uF KLE cap is taking in what voltage ? is it taking in at 17V or 15V ? Can I use 16V3300 cap ?

empire23
post Oct 29 2008, 08:23 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 29 2008, 08:07 PM)
Hi empy,

I have a problem buying panasonic cap from Farnell, they are stupid to sell something at multiple of 5 (meaning cant buy 6, must be 5, 10, 15).
Can I know the stock main cap 25V2200uF KLE cap is taking in what voltage ? is it taking in at 17V or 15V ? Can I use 16V3300 cap ?
I think it's 15 volts, that's the usual. But remember when a transformer is unloaded, the voltage can shoot up 50 percent which means 15 + 7.5 = 22.5, meaning 25v is the best voltage rating for the cap.
sep90
post Oct 30 2008, 01:25 AM

2,137 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Oct 29 2008, 02:22 AM)
haha,after u poison sukhoi now u target me d,lolz. brows.gif
well u will be poison definitely but on the other hand u will reach to another level of enlightment
lol tongue.gif
dun worry i look after u slowly ler
after we r all here for 1 thing lol rite?
either get poisoned or poison ppl thumbup.gif
abel
post Oct 30 2008, 09:44 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 29 2008, 08:07 PM)
Hi empy,

is no problem ... even my CD63 original just using 470uf 35v Elna Silmic i replace with Panasonic FC 3300uf 35v the bass are more deep and got more energy i found some on the website some mat salleh put 4700uf 35v tongue.gif the voltage better use the higher like empire say those voltage are normally unstable will load very high ... like my fren saw before he got using Voltage Regulator for his main plug to his equipment he saw his meter some time is go up to 260v AC and normal we only 220v-230v even sometime is low

This post has been edited by abel: Oct 30 2008, 09:49 AM
ccschua
post Oct 30 2008, 09:45 PM

1,630 posts

for some reasons, after checking I manage to find Panasonic FC at loose items.

So I am waiting for the Panasonic to arrive tomorow. : )
abel
post Oct 30 2008, 10:49 PM

571 posts

hehehehe good to hear that u put higher value i remember zero use 2 x 1000uf and 2 x 2200uf

i have 2 x 2200uf 25v

This post has been edited by abel: Oct 30 2008, 11:10 PM
ccschua
post Oct 30 2008, 10:54 PM

1,630 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Oct 30 2008, 10:49 PM)
hehehehe good to hear that u put higher value i remember zero use 2 x 1000uf and 2 x 2200uf
here is my item selection.

to those who want to mod, it is rock and roll.

http://my.farnell.com/jsp/home/homepage.jsp [just key in the part no]

Part Num. Quantity . Availability Line Price Description Mfr Part # Mfr Name
========= ========== ============ ========== ======================================== ============= ================
1219461 9 In Stock 12.69 CAPACITOR, RADIAL, 330UF, 16V; Applicati EEUFM1C331 PANASONIC
9692959 5 In Stock 4.00 CAPACITOR, 47UF, 50V; Application:High T ECA1HHG470 PANASONIC
1264871 2 In Stock 10.16 CAPACITOR, 22PF, 500V; Capacitance:22pF; CD15ED220DO3F CORNELL DUBILIER
1219466 8 In Stock 6.72 CAPACITOR, RADIAL, 100UF, 25V; Applicati EEUFM1E101 PANASONIC
9692070 5 In Stock 16.70 CAPACITOR, 1200UF, 16V; Application:Low EEUFC1C122 PANASONIC
3036467 4 In Stock 52.52 CAPACITOR, 3300UF 35V; Capacitance:3300µ EEUFC1V332. PANASONIC
1311569 2 In Stock 5.16 Silver Mica Capacitor; Capacitance:22pF; CD15ED220JO3F CORNELL DUBILIER

detail of mod, refer here.

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f6/frankenze...85/#post4843415

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f6/zero-mod-...69/#post4843227

This post has been edited by ccschua: Oct 30 2008, 11:16 PM
RAV4
post Oct 30 2008, 11:01 PM

859 posts

Chua, so you're buying on your own? Can you post the link here so I can order also? And this is to replace which part? Thanks.

Added on October 30, 2008, 11:09 pmOh, thanks for posting the list. How many pieces do I need for each?

This post has been edited by RAV4: Oct 30 2008, 11:09 PM

99 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:27 PM