6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!

TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 12:11 AM, updated 17y ago

10,530 posts

ok children....giving u some teaser pix first of a DAC that ive been testing these past few days...still in the middle of burning in. so pix first...

reviews are gonna take awhile...wanna let it burn in first..also very busy now...next week office moving...so not much time to sit and listen. anyway...on with pr0n.

would like to thank the person who supplied me the DAC in confidence and giving me a chance to test it out. wont reveal who he is....will let him do it himself if he wants to be known. thanks for the chance bro notworthy.gif

BULK THREAD - go order!!! biggrin.gif

ZERO DAC @ Head-Fi ( friggin long thread & fast growing sweat.gif )

Duh BoX icon_idea.gif

PeEkAbOo! comes with optical cable

the optical cable...brand is Choseal. for those Jln Pasar regulars, u shoud have seen this brand at a few shops.
just in case someone who can read chinese is curious what it says at the back biggrin.gif

the DAC itself and how its packed. with plastic styrofoam like thingy and some styrofoam-ish case to protect it.

the entire package... Manual (in Chinese), DAC, Power cable, Optical cable

front view....doesnt it look like a certain Z product??

belakang mari view...aka back view la.

top view...small vents to let out hot air. suitable enough as the unit isnt very hot (could be its directly under aircond heh)

bottom view...some foam like feets. wont scratch the surface and easy to move around.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 22 2008, 03:18 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 12:12 AM

10,530 posts

time for some nekkid pictures drool.gif brows.gif

full topless view...

the DAC section

the DAC opamp. cant see from the pix so i wrote it down biggrin.gif

the next few pictures are for those who has a fetish for capacitors... so here u go biggrin.gif
(all the blue caps are of the same brand some kekekkekekeek brand laugh.gif )

AMP section

the opamp

the caps...which is written ELNA on it.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 22 2008, 12:14 AM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 12:13 AM

10,530 posts

since people waiting for review......heres some points first...

soundstage is MUCH wider than my Fubar II + Cute Battery amp. which makes the sound sig a lil laid back. it also sounds "thicker" and has more body compared to my current setup. the highs arent piercing especially on my DT990 which is known to have very prominent highs (so it helps to tame it abit). thumbup.gif

1 point though... compared to my Fubar II + Cute Battery II amp, the bass is SLIGHTLY lesser. which makes the double pedal bass slam for METAL abit lacking. but if ur music is NOT metal, i.e hip hop, fengtau, R&B etc etc. then this would do you good thumbup.gif

EDIT: just to make things clear, this is still very good for metal. but im sort of a basshead. hence the comment on the above paragraph. also because im used to my current setup....but after a short while u get used to it. the difference is bass is very minimal.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 23 2008, 05:25 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 12:13 AM

10,530 posts

ZERO DAC Owners List....

mADmAN
Kyl3
ccschua
Andiboi
dark_evilz
kwekeugene
stormspider
abel
thh1212
gatevalve
kukarchoon
leshita87

LET THE SPAM BEGIN!!!

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 7 2008, 04:09 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 12:45 AM

10,530 posts

copied from the head-fi thread

Specifications of the ZERO 24 BIT/192KHz DAC/Headphone Amp/Pre-Amp:
Receive chip: CS8416
Decode chip: AD1852
Analog operational amplifier chip: OPA2604
Signal to noise ratio: 120dB
Total harmonic distortion: 0.0005%
Dynamic range: 117dB
Frequency response: 20Hz - 30 kHz
Analog output level: 2V
Input interface:
One independent digital fiber input
One independent digital coaxial input
One RCA analog signal unbalanced output
One 6.3mm headphone signal output
Time delay switch for ON/OFF protection circuit
Individual PCB design for future upgrade capability
Hi End components and IC (less than 1% tolerance)
Separate and individual voltage regulators
Dual Mono Amp design
Double face PCB for reducing size
TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 07:11 PM

10,530 posts

not gonna say anything about the price yet brows.gif

lets just say its damn bang for buck.....

and as of right now...i like it man...seriously. will do better review later on... biggrin.gif

Added on January 22, 2008, 7:11 pm
QUOTE(empire23 @ Jan 22 2008, 09:15 AM)
Major parts upgrade required lol, gogogogo, add in new Elna caps, MUR820 diodes, tantalum stability caps, extra decoupling and takamisawa relays!
that my friend, would be a job for you tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 22 2008, 07:11 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 08:25 PM

10,530 posts

boys and girls.... BULK THREAD is up!!!

order urs NOW!!! rclxm9.gif

TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 08:42 PM

10,530 posts

SOURCE

some opamps tested in the ZERO....long list (quoted from head-fi)

QUOTE(ijan @ Jan 22 2008, 08:32 PM)
AD1852, OPA2604, basically Zhaolu AD, but Zhaolu has better approach at selecting components. Plus, the circuit is almost identical to the basic DAC circuit that is even apllied to Zhaolu, cept the dac buffer/pre-amp stage consist of only one opamp rather than two, meaning signal is non-balanced (zhaolu 2.5 and higher model do not haf balanced output but aminot mod would enable balanced).

Headphone out is also a simple buffered class-b output, almost similar..but then agian, everything is very similar in the audio electronic world.

The cache factor would be the price..but i bought a Zhaolu D2.5A (keep in mind, ac in-line filter, better regulation and board design, all capacitors are branded boutique capacitors, implementation is much better) at..- EDIT : I din know a bulk is on, so I wont bother -
laugh.gif i dont speak ur language man...but i guessing ur saying the Zhaolu is better. wont be surprised honestly. but considering those damn things are difficult to get now... i think this is actually quite a steal. it really does sound good (too lazy to write review right now tongue.gif )

the unit i have is on loan....heck, i just might buy it off laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 22 2008, 08:46 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 09:49 PM

10,530 posts

WAH......senang senang hati only wanna setup appointment for me?? laugh.gif

not free this weekend. need to work cry.gif

but no worries...next week i got dental surgery (removing widsom tooth) so meaning i got few days MC!!! laugh.gif

EDIT: crap....just remembered...next week moving office so my surgery oso have to delay doh.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 22 2008, 09:51 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 23 2008, 03:10 PM

10,530 posts

would love to have a chance to have a go at the DAH1 man... of all the DACs so far thats the one thats enticed me the most tongue.gif

as for scheduling....almost everyone knows im constantly working. even today public holiday oso im in the office doh.gif

Added on January 23, 2008, 3:10 pmempy.... when u leaving?

and how long would the mod take

also estimated cost. brows.gif

(DAC isnt mine (yet?) still undecided to buy or not to buy. very tempting but we'll see biggrin.gif)

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 23 2008, 03:11 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 23 2008, 03:52 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jan 23 2008, 03:35 PM)
Considering the price is cheaper than your current fu2, that's downgrade man!

cant say like that man....price is not a determining factor of which is good or bad.

take Alien USB DAC for example. taht little bugger is cheap and can sound a whole lot better than most creative cards at more than twice the price.

like scotties been saying...its the implementation....

but like i also said in another thread...if i pick up the ZERO it wont be replacing my Fubar. ill still be looking around for a good DAC to fulfill all my requirements.

also like i said...there are pros and cons. which ill probably explain better in my review (once i find the time and energy to write it)
TSmADmAN
post Jan 23 2008, 05:20 PM

10,530 posts

dammit...i really wish i could write the review man...i do.

but im so busy right now.... even today public holiday have to work cry.gif

seriously, i would recommend getting it.

okok some points first....
soundstage is MUCH wider than my Fubar II + Cute Battery amp. which makes the sound sig a lil laid back. it also sounds "thicker" and has more body compared to my current setup. the highs arent piercing especially on my DT990 which is known to have very prominent highs (so it helps to tame it abit). thumbup.gif

1 point though... compared to my Fubar II + Cute Battery II amp, the bass is SLIGHTLY lesser. which makes the double pedal bass slam for METAL abit lacking. but if ur music is NOT metal, i.e hip hop, fengtau, R&B etc etc. then this would do you good thumbup.gif

EDIT: just to make things clear, this is still very good for metal. but im sort of a basshead. hence the comment on the above paragraph. also because im used to my current setup....but after a short while u get used to it. the difference is bass is very minimal.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 23 2008, 05:24 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 23 2008, 06:23 PM

10,530 posts

whoah....that doesnt leave me much time to gather the cash.....will see how it goes....currently the amp still doesnt belong to me so modding something that aint mine...aint nice laugh.gif

will let u know....tempting hmm.gif

Added on January 23, 2008, 6:26 pmoh by the way....is it possible to mod this to be able to accept USB input????

although i doubt it, that mod would be interesting brows.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 23 2008, 06:26 PM
TSmADmAN
post Jan 23 2008, 09:13 PM

10,530 posts

shocking.gif very doable? damn....lemme know of the availability of the stuff and cost as well....

damn this is gonna be interesting drool.gif

decided i confirm gonna send to u for the RM300 mods though biggrin.gif
TSmADmAN
post Jan 24 2008, 05:16 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(yuheng @ Jan 24 2008, 05:13 PM)
good luck dude, good DAC i shall said, as ZL ex owner, i will say...DAC make ur sound experience different, madman, when u wanna come over to my house, and get poisoned from my AMP???
hmm.gif

wait laaaaaa....super busy now...until my dental surgery oso have to postpone doh.gif

ill definitely come over to ur place man....need to change my mylars laugh.gif
TSmADmAN
post Jan 25 2008, 10:51 PM

10,530 posts

been listening to my Fubar + Cute amp the past few days.....

switched back to the ZERO....damn the mids really came out man.... drool.gif
TSmADmAN
post Jan 26 2008, 07:52 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Jan 26 2008, 05:10 PM)
need a better source now but the size of this thing is drawing me back sad.gif
should i go for it?
width = 8 3/4 inches
length = 9 1/2 inches
height = 3 inches

weight = dun have weighing scale la tongue.gif

i currently place mine on top of my office's pc chapalang case. the ZERO's feet nicely fits the width of the case.
TSmADmAN
post Jan 26 2008, 08:04 PM

10,530 posts

not really la....the difference in bass between my Fubar II + Cute Battery II amp vs Zero is VERY minimal.

i noticed it coz i listen to metal...which isnt easy to get the bass kick in the first place.

other type of songs u probably wont notice it.
TSmADmAN
post Feb 1 2008, 02:42 AM

10,530 posts

guys...so sorry...me in the middle of moving office right now....so alot of things to do. need to setup cubicles, desks etc etc. so busy..now oso just only got home.

ive also confirmed a Maya44 with akabane. so hopefully he reads the PM i just sent him and mebbe can get the Maya44 tomorrow (friday) or saturday. then i can use the digital output on the card instead of the crappy mobo im using now.

as for ZERO vs HD2...dunno...never heard the HD2 before.

but... ZERO vs Fubar II+Cute Battery II amp... that one i know.

to simply put. the ZERO at almost 1/3 the price of the Fubar II+Cute Battery II, can seriously compete with them. there are some aspects where the ZERO is better...and there are some aspects where the Fubar is better. but the price point of the ZERO is a HUGE advantage imho.

@empire23
bro. any chance ur dropping by Mid Valley? can pass u the unit. too busy to come out and play right now due to moving office. if can, gimme a buzz @ 0126596370.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Feb 1 2008, 02:42 AM
TSmADmAN
post Feb 8 2008, 05:00 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Feb 8 2008, 04:35 PM)
are u positively sure bout that??  hmm.gif  coz i juz happen to read few info that it can... juz need a right converter or cable.. so thats y i'm here to ask....  smile.gif
how about quoting that info u found? or mebbe post a link to it.

u can see from the pix in the front page that the zeros input is only optical or coaxial. doesnt support analog input.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:05 AM